ABS on 4WDs

Submitted: Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:45
ThreadID: 28436 Views:2558 Replies:16 FollowUps:16
Is ABS on 4WD a hassle off road? My existing 4WD does not have it, but looking at new 4WDs many models now have this as standard

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:48

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:48
Nissan V Yota
Engel V Waeco

ABS V NonABS

You will get as many answer for as, against.

I have ABS on mine , and have not had any problems.

I would MUCH prefer to have ABS on road then not. How often will you be on normal Roads ?

Do what others have done , and just disable the ABS offroad.

Best of both then
AnswerID: 141289

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:55

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 10:55
I have one 4wd with ABS and the other without - I have had no problems with the ABS car.
AnswerID: 141292

Reply By: stevesub - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:34

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:34
Same as us, 1 4WD with ABS, 2 without. No problems either way offroad and we prefer ABS on road. The only problem you may have with ABS that I have found when racing a ABS equipped car on grass is that the ABS can in EXTREME situations be fooled into thinking that the brakes need to be in the off mode all the time and the end result is no braking. However if you get this happening when you are off roading in your 4WD, you should be thinking of taking up motorsport instead - or pull the ABS fuse.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 141298

Reply By: Vince NSW - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:35

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:35
My ABS is wpnderfull on the blacktop, but offroad on the dirt it is a pain.
The ABS runs off it's own fuse that now keeps falling out whenever I get onto dirt, Problem solved.
To answer your question. Get the Mod with ABS and disable in the bush. You wont forget to reconnect as there is a Great Big light on the dash to tell you.
Vince
AnswerID: 141299

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:40

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:40
I would be inclined to have a "blown" fuse for this purpose , rather then a missing fuse.

Easier to explain , if , it goes , a little wrong.
FollowupID: 394948

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:57

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:57
I got so sick of mine that I replaced the blade fuse with a small part I made up using a piece of PCB, soldered 2 pins and 2 wires to it, installed an in-line fuse and terminated the 2 wires at a toggle switch. Now, as soon as I hit the gravel, I flick the switch....the idiot light on the dash cluster lights up to tell me the ABS is not working and then I'M the one whose back in control of the brakes....NOT SOME BLOODY HALF-WIT COMPUTER!!!! I agree that ABS is great on bitumen and some of the newer vehicles probably have good ABS on gravel too....but I nearly bleep myself when i was trying to get my 4T (+) rig to slow down from 80kph as I approached many of the several dips that are on the track to Cape York.....
The problem is that you go through heaps of these DIPS along the way; 10 of them will be very good at the bottom and you think, "why bother slowing down?"........so then you approach one at 80kph, only to find that it's a foot wide x 6" drop off at the bottom. Hit the ABS skids and NUFFIN happens!!!!! SCARY CHIT!!!!!
FollowupID: 394951

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:50

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 11:50
DaveB,

"Is ABS on 4WD a hassle off road?"

In my opinion YES. I used to drive a car with ABS and since changing over to the Jack which doesn't have it, I find I have much more feel and control, especially on wet or muddy surfaces.

The solution is to learn how to apply the brakes. You need to ease the pedal on (even quickly) rather than stomp it. My vehicle is an automatic and I always use the left foot to brake. This is probably a habit left over from my racing days, (karting) but it is still applicable now.

Also, when I did a safety driving course many years ago, the instructor was most impressed with the left foot braking technique. They actually advise everyone to use this technique on any vehicle with automatic transmission.

I certainly have better "touch" with my left foot than what I would with my right and it leaves the "accelerator" foot free to feather/control the throttle when required.

AnswerID: 141301

Reply By: brian - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 12:49

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 12:49
My gu patrol was a nightmare with ABS on dirt particularly with van on the back,updated to the next model without abs for that reason alone,made the mistake of asking the dealer how to disconect ABS he told me you couldnt,didnt realise you could remove fuse at the time.Too many scary moments with ABS off road for me
AnswerID: 141304

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 13:01

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 13:01
I'll start this post by saying . . . this is NOT directed at ANYONE . . . it is a "general" comment and should be treated as such.

WTF would you buy a brand new vehicle , available with ALL the safety gear to protect your family , and then OPT out of it , because "some" people have trouble offroad.

HOW OFTEN does your vehicle go offroad ?

Probably less then 10% of its life. The Other 90% is one the road like every other vehicle , and should be treated as such.

I can tell you , if I was hit by a brand new vehicle that didn't have ABS "because its a PITA offroad" , I would throttle the prick.

BY ALL MEANS DISABLE THE BLOODY thing offroad , but , do yourself and OTHERS a favour , by getting whatever safety devices you can.

IMO , SAFETY should NOT be an option.
AnswerID: 141308

Follow Up By: brian - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 13:33

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 13:33
Hello flappa i think you will find that most agree with you,i do.I dont think the replies above suggested disabling ABS on road,only off road where we have found ABS to be decidedly unsafe
FollowupID: 394960

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 13:43

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 13:43
No , I'm not suggesting that that is the case but , as I said , why , given the option , would you NOT have it for onroad purposes.

Further , I TOTALLY disagree that it IS unsafe. I have never had a problem and its saved my butt , on road , a few times.

Thats what I'm suggesting . . . why would you compromise yours and others safety ,by NOT getting ABS , because of the view , and thats all it is , that its unsafe offroad.

A FAR smarter move would be to get it , and then disable it offroad. Afterall , its as simple as pulling a fuse.

IF , you buy the vehicle for reasons OTHER then strictly ABS , then thats your choice. I just think its silly to base a WHOLE decision based on ABS or Not , offroad.
FollowupID: 394961

Reply By: drivesafe - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 14:10

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 14:10
Like flappa’s post, this is not aimed at anyone in particular.

When I bought my first 4x4, it was also the first time I had had a vehicle with ABS.

The dealership that I bought the vehicle from, after enquiring if I had had a 4x4 before, suggested that their head mechanic, who was also an experienced off roader, take me for a drive and show me the differences between a 4x4 and a conventional vehicle.

One of the many things we covered was the fact that, as the Disco had ABS, when driving off road I should allow about 30% more distance to break in, than with normal brakes.

At the time it didn’t mean much as I was more interested in getting under way with my new toy.

After a very short time I felt the same as many here, that it would be better to have the ABS disabled when off roading so I asked a mate who was well into LRs just how to go about doing this.

His reply is probably of interest to all. At the time he was test driving 4x4s for one of the off road mags. He said “The only reason anybody would want to disable the ABS is because they have absolutely no idea of how to drive how in the first place, and that’s a car or 4x4”.

He then asked, “Which would I prefer, sliding uncontrollably side wards into a tree at 40 kph and probably rolling it, or hitting the tree head on at 60 kph”. You will have a far, far better chance of surviving a head-on at 60 than you will hitting the tree at 20 let alone 40 kph.

Furthermore, as Sand man posted, if you learn how to use the ABS braking properly, you can dramatically reduce that 30% difference but still have far better control of the vehicle.

Leave the ABS operating and go and learn to drive your vehicle safely in the first place. It’s to your benefit as much as it is to the benefit of everybody else.

AnswerID: 141323

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 15:13

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 15:13
G'day mate,
What you say is true, of course.
However, I'm still glad I have wired in a switch to give me the option....
.....Picture this:
I was driving along a good quality section of blacktop between Morgan and Eudunda (SA) with camper trailer on the back of the patrol. I had the family on board and the young bloke needed to go to the dunny. If you have experience with little kids, you'll know that you have to find a place to pull over and FAST. No worries; except that I had a Kenworth right up my clacker and (having great respect for these blokes and their need to keep the road-ranger box on the boil), I didn't want to stuff him around. I spotted a rest area which had a shallow angle of ingress (meaning I didn't have to slow right down to leave the road) and I indicated to turn off the road. Realising the gravel rest area wasn't terribly long, I knew I'd have to get onto the WHOA peddle fairly seriously as soon as I got out of the big fella's way. I flicked the switch on the ABS and was able to give the brakes a fairly decent massage and pulled up in a controlled manner MUCH MUCH more quickly than I would have been able to with the ABS functional.
Brilliant on the bitumen.....lethal on gravel (or potentially so unless you drive more cautiously in the first place).....the unfortunate thing about emergency braking situations is that they usually present themselves when you least expect them.....after all, if we were expecting NOT to have to brake suddenly and anticipated the problem, then there wouldn't BE any emergencies, eh?
FollowupID: 394974

Follow Up By: Member - Landie - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 16:30

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 16:30
Hear what you are saying, but as the Kenworth was behind you I would have left him to drive his own vehicle and considered the safety of mine first. No need for extreme braking just indicate and slow down, surely much safer?
FollowupID: 394988

Reply By: OMN - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 14:21

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 14:21
Like some of you hear i had heard ABS was bad on the gravel and mud, so when up at Sheepyard FLat over the Cup weekend in Melbourne i tried it out where it ahd been raiinging and the track was slightly downhill with plenty of room.

I hit the brakes reasonably hard and YEP the 100 Series simply kept on goign, hardly slowed tool it an absolute age to stop. Without ABS it woudl have jsut dived in and grabbed the bottom of the road and pulled up in a third the distance.

I proved to myself what could ahppen if i had to hit the brakes hard and quick in slippery mcuk.

Easiest way to combat i decided was to drive slower in the first place so it becomes significantly less of an issue.

The bit about pullign out fuses etc is what if you forget to put it back in? In daylight that light might not be that easy to see and then all insurances etc would be void as well as any warranty issues.

If you did go down the switch path you may well automatically have voided your insurance regardless of whether you had the ABS switched on or off in the case of an accident.

I had that checked out wiht an insurance broker and insurer off the record and they said they ahd had cases of it beign done and an accident so be very wary of makign any changes like that permanent as it obvioulsy can be checked if the car is involved in an accident.

For me i just am going to try keeping it nice and slow when the conditions get that interesting and feather rather than slam the brakes.

AnswerID: 141324

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 15:23

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 15:23
G'day mate,
I know I'm dicing with the almighty insurance company as far as having fitted the cut-out switch.
The way I see it (and this is how strongly I feel about the deadly nature of ABS on gravel), I'd rather risk losing anything, so long as I do whatever is humanly possible to protect my family. I don't give a fig what the insurance company says.....I reckon that my vehicle in it's intended format (ie: with the ABS functional) is akin to driving a vehicle with NO BRAKES when I'm on gravel at anything over about 40kph. I've done enough tests of my own in this vehicle to be 110% satisfied that the vehicle is safer with the ABS off when I'm driving it on gravel. If I should be unlucky enough to have an accident and the insurance company wipes me like a dirty bum, well, so be it.......hopefully I will at least have saved my family.
FollowupID: 394976

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 15:35

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 15:35
Thats fine , and thats your choice , thats what I'm referring to . . . A CHOICE.

I would assume you would have it activated on Bitumen , as you should, there is no way known anyone can argue with ABS on bitumen surely.

If you dont have it , there is no choice to make.
FollowupID: 394980

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:04

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:04
flappa,

ABS is nothing more than a lazy person's way of driving.
By design, ABS will prevent brakes from locking with the intent that the tyres have less chance of breaking contact with the road surface.

Now ANY driver can perform the same result without an ABS system fitted to the vehicle. It is purely the self training in knowing how much pedal to apply before the brakes will lock the wheels, on ANY surface.

So, if a person disables the ABS system, they still have the ability to control the vehicle the same, or better, than if ABS were activated.

It's called, learning how to drive correctly.

If I refer back to the Safety Driving course I alluded to above, one of the key points all drivers were made aware of was the breaking ability most people experienced both before and after the training was applied and regardless of whether the vehicle had ABS brakes. And not only the braking ability. If the wheels don't lock, you still have steering control, another very important factor in car control.

The course was run by the Jim Murdoch Driving School and I would not only recommend everybody to do such a course, but the fact that this PREVENTATIVE Safety Driving Course should be made compulsory to all drivers and especially those young, invincible "I know how to drive" P Platers we have all experienced from time to time.

So folks, you don't NEED ABS brake control, just control over your brake foot. Simply apply the brakes until they are just about to lock (or maybe even do) and then slightly release pedal pressure. You will soon learn how much pressure to apply.

Aw, get off your soap box Bill:-)

FollowupID: 395126

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 15:56

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 15:56
Sandman,

I don't agree with your point of view here, though couldn't agree more regarding having our youth undertake such driving course.

I've done the Jim Murdock advanced driving course when I was much younger (19) and vouch for its value and the lessons learnt have remained with me to this day. I agree that if driven properly a vehicle will stop, and doing a course such as being discussed does prepare you in this regard. However, I think that in an emergency most people are going to slam on the brakes. For those that have done such a cause, they'll know to back off and re-apply but doing that is still going to take some time and extra time will result in longer stopping distance. For me, I think that ABS (on bitumen) is a safety net. If I do happen to hit the brakes too hard then I know that the wheels won't lock up. I don't view it as being lazy, rather insurance and when it comes to my family's safety I am glad there's the ABS safety net just in case my brake foot (the left one) doesn't behave as expected.

Hugh
FollowupID: 395165

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 10:42

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 10:42
Hugh,

Fair enough Mate, we are all entitled to our own perceptions and opinions.

I drive vehicles with both ABS Breaking and without and I prefer my own ability. I will however state this:-

How many people would react adversely in an emergency, to the ABS systems inherent feedback of shuddering and release pedal pressure altogether, thus losing braking control altogether?

FollowupID: 395326

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 01:13

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 01:13
Hi Sandman,

Sorry if it seemed I was having a go at you. Having done the course, I too trust my braking ability. Up until 2 months ago I haven't had ABS so I'm not taking the moral high ground and as mentioned I agree that learning to brake properly is worth it's weight in gold.

I don't know if there is a definitive answer to your last question. I'm no expert but my gut feel is that when people plant the anchors they stay locked, hence my perception that ABS might be beneficial. I suppose someone could take their foot of the brake with ABS, but if planted through the firewall already my bet is the adrenalin has already taken over.

Happy travels,
Hugh
FollowupID: 395495

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 09:25

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 09:25
Hugh,

No offence taken Mate, this is meant to be informative to everyone.

What I was alluding to, was that when the brakes are violently applied, as most people would in an emergency, the ABS system will cause a shuddering effect, as the brakes are constantly applied and released.
In my experience, this is normal on any ABS system.

Many people would think "what the..." and take their foot off the pedal thinking something is wrong.

Like anything, it usually comes down to experience, but how many people know of this fact of ABS systems and don't panic further when it happens?

FollowupID: 395521

Reply By: OMN - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 16:11

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 16:11
Roachie,

wasn't saying dont do it black and white but was perhaps subtly suggesting that if one was goign to disable the ABS then doign it via pulling the fuse and then putting it back again might be a wiser way to do it so if the worst did happen on a dry main road you are at least covered financially and your familys safe.

Then off road you are going to prevent anythgin happening in the first place by your precautions.

As others said your choice obvioulsy but insurance companies will look for anway possible to get out of insurance if they can, hence why i sent mine a excel spreadsheet of all mods and items permannetly inside the vehicle such as a fridge so everythgin is covered.
AnswerID: 141341

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 16:30

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 16:30
Yes, true, but in the scenario I pointed out above, I wasn't intending to do any off-road (or gravel road) driving at the time and if I hadn't installed the switch, the fuse would have been in place and the ABS would have be operating (in fact it WAS operating when I was driving on the bitumen. However, without the switch in place, I would have been at the mercy of the ABS as I would have tried in vain to pull-up my rig in the short space available to me.....in fact if it wasn't for the option of being able to switch it off, I wouldn't have even tried to pull off at that point and would have just continued on with the risk of the young bloke having a "blow-out" in his dacks. In retrospect, i could've alerted the truckie to my plite over the UHF, but did not want him have to do anything out of the ordinary (like back-off so I could safely pull-over by slowing down before getting off the road etc).
FollowupID: 394989

Reply By: DaveB - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 20:09

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 20:09
Thanks for all your input. For my usage the model with ABS would appear to be the way to go
AnswerID: 141365

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 07:42

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 07:42
The best answer was from the guy who asked if you wanted to hit something head-on and slowing down or lose it completely and hit side-on and rolling. That in my opinion sums up ABS. ABS keeps you straight and still have (limited) steering control. Without ABS in an emergency braking situation you will skid and skid means no control. NOTE, uncontroled skiding and controled drifting are two different things. In an uncontroled skid in an emergency situation where you are standing on the anchors its the frontal crush zones that stand between you and the pearly gates. If you do not believe me then you need to visit a wreckers and have a good look at the INTERNAL vehicle damage of crashed vehicles and ask yourself would my kids have survived this crash !
FollowupID: 395110

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 08:52

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 08:52
I go offroad a fair bit and I have had no problems with the ABS playing up at all
AnswerID: 141456

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:00

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 09:00
ABS and Traction control are brilliant on and off road, thats why ALL WRC competiters have them more control.

TC & ABS works brilliant in the Disco

AnswerID: 141460

Reply By: rod2101 - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 10:40

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 10:40
A lot of abs equiped trucks ( inc 100 series ) apply more brakes to the rear than non abs models , if fuse is removed the truck will have the wrong brake bias and will lock the rear wheels way before the front has reached its grip limit , result poor stopping with tail slide ! nasty !
AnswerID: 141478

Reply By: Tuff60 - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 02:11

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 02:11
ABS is the best possible braking on road, by ten fold.
Off Road, depends on the road surface, but if my vehicle had ABS fitted(and I have driven plenty which have) I would want a way to switch it off.
And for whoever said you can do what ABS does with foot control, I too have done a driving course, with the apply, release method, what a load of crap, by the time you think about adjusting foot pressure BANG! Watch some V8 Supercar racing, now you would think they could drive, something gets in their way they just lock them up. Your other option is to get a vehicle, with ABS set for North America, whatever they do for snow and ice driving makes them worlds better on loose gravel. My flame suit is on. For those who's sensibilities I might have offended.
AnswerID: 141642

Reply By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 08:15

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 08:15
When ABS was first introduced in the 60s in racing cars, the drivers were not impressed with the idea. That is until they learnt to drive with ABS. They soon leant that they could drive faster but safer which meant quicker lap times.

The same thing applies to 4x4s offroad with ABS. You have to learn to drive with it to get used to it.

Most if not all offroaders just jump in their 4x4s with ABS and don’t learn how to put the ABS to proper use and I was as guilty of this as the next person.

If you are driving along and you have suddenly got to reduce speed, what do you do? You jump on the brakes and why? Because that is the automatic response you have learnt from day one of driving any vehicle.

If you do enough practising with ABS on gravel, the correct way to brake with ABS will too, become an automatic response.

I’m still learning to use the ABS properly on gravel, but no matter how experienced or inexperienced you are, being able to maintain control of your vehicle is going to dramatically improve your chances of not just surviving an accident and even being able to avoid a potential accident in the first place rather than just skidding uncontrollably in to something.

Don’t accuse the ABS of being a problem when it is actually your own inexperience that is the problem and this should also tell you that you need to get some advanced driving tuition to improve ALL your driving skills
AnswerID: 141659

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 08:58

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 08:58
Oh yeah, couldn't agree more, better control and more feel is what ABS gives you.

FollowupID: 395511