How FAR can I get with my Camper Trailer??
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:09
Smitty
G'day all,
Hopefully you can help me out. I have a
Kimberley Kamper - and when loaded it would be up around 1300+ Kgs.
It's being pulled along by a 105 series Cruiser - lifted, Turbo, 12K winch etc ~~~ the question I have is could I reasonably expect to drag this thing to most
places? I suppose what I'm really asking is whether I could take it to the Cape and travel the telegraph track.
I intend to do
Cape York next year and would like to know whether I am best leaving the CT somewhere or not.
Can't wait to hear your thoughts!!
SMITTY
Reply By: Member - Raymond - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:19
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:19
Hi Smitty,
Should be no problem taking the trailer up the OTL on the cape, did the trip in 93 with a track trailer, the only part I did not do was Gunshot, just took it easy and stopped at each
creek crossing and watch what other people were doing before going across.
Regards Ray
Sadly the new vehicle won't fit on the OTL
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:30
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:30
Thats a change of Style Raymond from the Nissan 4.2. Oh, so it won't go everywhere?
Follow Up By: Tony F - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 00:40
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 00:40
Sorry but i don't get on the
forum as much as i would like.All i can say is Grab your sense of adventure by the jatz crackers and go for it. it sounds like some of you need someone to hold your hand. LOL. I met a woman called linda Rowe many many years ago up the cape, eric from
cape york adventures would know of her. She wrote a book called paradise found,
well worth getting, only because it puts most of the
population to shame. It really surprises me the lack self confidence or( balls for want of a better term)that some people have.You have the state of the art 4wd avaliable and accessories, yet you need it all planned out for you. If your camper fails fix it same as for your vehicle. Eric is probably cursing me, but stand up to the plate and be counted, sure its rough and rugged, but isn't that why you bought a 4wd. sorry if i sound harsh but lets face it we're aussies and nothing can stop us. Happy
Camping
Reply By: Smitty - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:24
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:24
Thanks Ray! That is a nice looking set-up you've got there!
Follow Up By: Member - Raymond - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 07:00
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 07:00
Hi Smitty
After travelling in 4WD for the last 35 years around Oz, it is a bit of a shock, but although we are now unable to go into some of the remote areas, the ones we can we do it in style. Sure miss the GU though
Ray
Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:41
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 14:41
Smitty,
With your setup I would not hesitate to do the OTL. The track does change a lot from year to year I know but we done it in a pathfinder and homemade offroad trailer (see my rig photo's for that setup).
Don't try to break land speed records and all should go
well. Have fun.
Cheers Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:00
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:00
G'day Smitty,
Have done this trip twice and last time with a group towing trailers. We did the pascoe (along the frechmans track) and Verilya Point. One of our crew took one of the easy options at Gunshot but the rest went around. There are some narrow log bridges along the top part but you should have no problems with that set up.
My trailer weighs that much and as has already been said don't rush you'll be fine. What ever you do DON'T leave the trailer behind. There are plenty of
places to pull up and
camp with a trailer (lot more comfy too).
Follow Up By: Smitty - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:11
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:11
Great to hear - thanks BEATIT!!
Can I ask - HOW do I post a pic of my set-up. Do I need to be a paid member of this site?
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:28
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:28
No probs Smitty, I'm not sure if you can post a pic, maybe some other contributor can help here.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 18:48
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 18:48
Gotto be a paid up member to post your picture with each thread/response.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 11:59
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 11:59
You can post a link to a URL and people can click on it to show a photo, you dont have to pay squat.
[ View Image]
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:23
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 15:23
I totally agree with what has been said, but I just love how some trailer manufactures and sellers say 'this is a tough trailer, it will go wherever your tow vehicle goes'.
Well yes, it would be hard for it to go where the tow vehicle doesn't go!! They forget to mention that the overall weight, ball weight, length etc have a limiting effect on what you can do when towing. So there are some
places you won't get to when towing that would otherwise be pretty simple.
That said, the Cape should not be a problem. I hope to get up there with my CT soon.
SWMBO won't
camp without the trailer these days, so that puts the pressure on.
Reply By: Banjo 1 - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:19
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 16:19
Yep - that class of trailer is built to withstand the rigours of off road bush travel. As other have said, just take it easy ! Give the hardware a comfortable time of it ! Let all 6 tyres way down and you can sail through deep, soft sand. Slow right down over rough rocks etc - fine. If the seals are ok,
water will be no problem. Tight turns in scrub etc. can be an issue, but you deal with it - slowly. Check up on Jol Fleming's page at
http://www.direct4wd.com.au/ - he encourages people to take the trailer, but only if you are careful and plan for it. IMO, if the vehicle can handle the weight, the trailer can go. There are only minor compromises for the careful driver it seems.
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:32
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:32
Yes Banjo, I have just compromised myself by getting a trailer.
It remains to be seen how I will manage it as I have a couple of OFFROAD trips planned next and I intend to take the trailer up and over a number of dunes. I have always been against trailers because so many times I venture somewhere only to have to reverse out ouf a dead end!!!
Funny thing is that we started this
camping and travelling caper in a 2 stroke Suzuki all those years ago and now we need a trailer behind a vehicle twice the size to carry all the gear lol
Follow Up By: Banjo 1 - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 09:04
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 09:04
Yep Willem - amen to all that - with your vast experience though, you'll take the trailer into consideration before going down any narrow dead end tracks from now on ! The need to get out and scout on foot from time to time is not a bad thing for my unfit framework. Re sand hills - you've probably seen the advice from Nat Parks re "no trailers - bad idea etc" in the Simpson D - I know some sensible campers who dismiss that advice, from personal experience. There is a compromise of course (can we tow that weight up the sandhill), but its not huge - 15 psi can produce remarkable traction as many have found out ! Trailers are just like sheds - always full, regardless of size.
Reply By: Member - Kim and Doug (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:34
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:34
smitty
we are also kk platium owners and with our 3lt patrol and lots of common sense not had a prob yet (touch wood), have you got a winch ?
Follow Up By: Smitty - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 07:46
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 07:46
Yes we too have a platinum KK also - And yes a 12,000 pound Warn winch too.
Reply By: gregr - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 21:43
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 21:43
mate
no real probs if you do it south to north except gunshot and maybe one or two others but just go cruising and look for the easy crossing - there is always one somewhere
we were there in 2004 with a 3.0 l td patrol and a kk classic mariner with boat and fully loaded 1450 kgs did not quite get to the top as had a few too many probs with both vehicle and trailer and took the wiser option on the day - just one of those things but a mate went on to the top alone and did the full trip with a toy ser 100 and an ultimate ( no winch )
the development road is just a bloody awful stoney rough bugger of a road which can rip BFGs to bits and did to me - and the corrugated battlecamp road to
cooktown is a swine of a thing - so if it was me i would go north on the otl and south on the dr slowly
you really do need to have lots of time and just potter along at 80 kms on the dr and chicken out on the otl at the creeks etc if it looks too bad - but it changes every year
good luck see you greg
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 22:49
Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 22:49
Greg,
Somethings never change, that battlecamp road was in an aweful state when we went over it years ago. If I was to go to the cape again, I reckon I would avoid that road (having already passed through once). We only had the spare from the trailer vibrate the mounts to bits and saw it go flying out the back of the trailer after I had run over it with the trailer, apart from that the rest of the trip was uneventful (problems wise).
Cheers Trevor.
Reply By: Trekkie - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 00:18
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 00:18
Smitty
My set up looks to be identical to yours
Last year a mate with his 80 series and KK and myself with KK did
Perth - Ularoo - Simpson - Fraser Island -
Cape York -
Normanton -
Katherine -
Kakadu - Coburg Peninsular - Kunnunurra -
Broome -
Perth
You hear all sorts of stories, but I am sure the disasters are from people who are unprepared or make driving errors. The KK is made to go ANYWHERE and it will. We had only several minor problems. My friend ripped the disk brake off when a big rock go caught up just out of Dalhousie and I needed to have new shocks on the trailer (replaced by
Kimberley under warranty whe I got back) Take note of the above advice to let your tyre pressure down. We both ripped lugs off our Cooper tyres and Cooper claimed the pressure was too high. Having said that we had virtually no tyre problems in 17000 kms. Never needed to use our winch. Make sur e you go right up to Shotgun (to have a look) Do the entire OTL BOTH directions - you will be surprised at what you miss on the eay up. I have heard of travellers who took the bypass road the whole way - they missed the best parts.
Follow Up By: Smitty - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 07:57
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 07:57
G'day Trekkie,
You certainly did a heap on that trip - how long did you take to do all that?
The wife and I are hoping to take 8 - 12 months to travel OZ. Where both going to pull out of work and rent our house out - we feel we should do it before the kids come along and we take on too many more commitments. At the moment where both 25 so feel that this won't ruin out career opportunities by taking this length of time off.
Thanks for your thoughts
Reply By: Smitty - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 12:04
Reply By: Trekkie - Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 23:28
Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 23:28
Smitty
Great idea your wife and yourself have at your age. Get out and explore - you never know what opportunities it will open for you - you may never return
home.
We are at the opposite end - mid 50s and kids gone and I have a good business partner.
We took about 9 weeks. In hindsight was too quick but we like to say it was our preliminary tour to
check out the lie of the land for future trips.