Esky choice

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:00
ThreadID: 28524 Views:5002 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
Has anyone got either the Ice Mate or one of the Techni Ice eskies?? Would be interested in your views on quality. The Techni Ice have them on sale for a very good price but not sure of the quality. If you in the market for a poly esky have a look at their web site, great value but would like to get an opinion from an owner.

Reply By: mick-s - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:51

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 17:51
Austravel.

I ordered a 100L ice box from Techni Ice last week, and it arrived on Monday. It certainly looks tough enough. Nice thick lid. Haven't tried it out yet, but all the parts (hinges/tie downs etc) appear to be strong. Has a few marks on the lid and sides (i got a white one), so it's already got a used look about it. Should not affect its performance though. It came with 6 sheets of techni ice, which I've bunged into the freezer. I've seen them advertised on ebay and in the trading post in sydney also. Doesn't sit completely flat, has a slight wobble, but for the price ($199 for 100L) i'm very happy. Other plastic 100L ice boxes are $290 plus.
Mick
AnswerID: 141771

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:34

Wednesday, Nov 30, 2005 at 19:34

We have a fridge but also have a 75 litre Ice Mate and it is excellent. On a recent trip to Moreton Island we were getting about three days out of party ice (and it is not renowned for lasting a long time) and people with us who had conventional eskies were chasing ice every day. Temperatures were aroound 30 degrees each day and it was getting opened quite a bit.

The Ice Mate is tough and can take a bit of knocking around and the build quality seems good. The lid seals well and in fact when you unscrew the drain plug to get rid of excess water, it will hardly run until you relaease the lid which seals brilliantly. When you release the lid you hear the seal release.

Can't comment on the Techni Ice but the Ice Mate is excellent.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 141794

Reply By: Vince from Eastlakes 4 X 4 Club- Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 20:38

Thursday, Dec 01, 2005 at 20:38
G'Day

I have a 65L Ice mate and we freeze full ice cream containers (with water). It will fit six on the bottom and after filling the box we put a couple of those re-freezable packs on top.

Last trip in November we got near five days b4 having to re-freeze the containers in the Engel. Open/close lid regular thru the day.

Lasted the remaining four days. No food went off.

Can recomend the Ice Mate, but, make sure you get the unit with the bungy cord type latch.....it seals better than the hard latch type.

V
AnswerID: 142017

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 11:12

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 11:12
Thanks for the info. What's the drama with the hard latch types?? It's the one I thought would be better, good to get feedback before I buy one.
FollowupID: 395975

Reply By: Vince from Eastlakes 4 X 4 Club- Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:44

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 21:44
The cord type latch allows the lid to sit flat and seal better. The hard clip type latch puts more pressure on the front seal and in turn lifts the back up a little allowing air in ---- melts ice quicker.

The 65 litre I bought for $198 at camp shop Belmont.

V
AnswerID: 142674

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:40

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 09:40
Thanks Vince, will keep that in mind.
FollowupID: 396274