Wiring to Roof rack on a GU.. Where to exit the body?
Submitted: Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 09:27
Coyote
I am planning on running wiring to my roof rack on my 05 GU for a rear flood light and two front spot lights. I am interested to hear what others may have done to run the cables to the lights. I don't want to be drilling any holes in the body, what has worked for others?
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 10:23
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 10:23
Mate,
I've got
mine exiting from under the bonnet on the passenger's side, between the mudguard and the other bit that goes along/across under the windscreen. Then it goes up the A pillar, hidden by the
snorkel, and continues along the rain gutter to the bottom of the front roof-rack mount. I have used a length of split tubing to keep it all wrapped in. There is:
air hose for air horns
pos and neg wires for air horns solenoid (neg is earthed to roof rack as
well)
power wire for the rear-facing lights (which are erathed to the roof rack too).
However, more recently I have fitted a reverse camera and ran the cable for it out through the rubber "hose" that takes wires from the body to the small cargo door. I cut a slit in that "hose" and brought the cable out through it, eventually sealing the slit up with sealant. That cable then goes up the inside area of the back door and up to the roof rack. I actually drilled and pop-rivetted the cable in about 4 spots, using small nylon cable holders I got from auto-pro.
Follow Up By: Coyote - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 11:43
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 11:43
Cheers for that... so your reversing camera is on your roof rack??? does it get covered in dust and what about theft?? I thought it best to put it inside rear door near the break light??? your thoughts?
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 12:09
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 12:09
Dust has not proven to be any problem at all, I have it angeled down so i can see the rear step and towbar (makes coupling up to trailer MUCH easier). We did a trip across Simpson and many other dusty tracks, dust never an issue.
As for theft, hasn't been a problem yet either.....I doubt anybody would bother....there's heaps of other more expensive gear they could cut-off/unbolt. The whole set-up was only $300- so I reckon the camera part is about $130- worth.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 11:54
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 11:54
The installer that put in my CDMA Aerial on the roof track, (just in front of the roof rack which is bolted to the track) removed the flashing between the side of the front windscreen and the door pillar and ran the co-axial cable in the channel. Finally, reattached the flashing with some sort of adhesive.
All very professionally done.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 14:34
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 14:34
Coyote,
I have run cables for the UHF, Work Light, GPS and Camera up through the
snorkel.
My roof racks stays on all the time and have cable tied the cables to the roof rack. Works great.
Follow Up By: Coyote - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 18:03
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 18:03
Thanks for that.. that sounds like the best option and the neatest.. Cheers
Reply By: Peter - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 16:00
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 16:00
Have seen numerous GUs at Metro Nissan with wiring running out from the vents behind the rear windows on each side of the car. Most of the ones I have seen have a flat trailer plug fitted and the plug is just cable tied to the vent outlets. I take it from there they must run a cable along the roof rack to where ever they wish to hook up
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 23:22
Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 23:22
Police and CFA use Patrols here in Vic with light bars. See if you can find one as they don't generally use anything that's hard to achieve or remove after 40,000km. Even government departments are interested in resale value these days.
If you can find one you should be able to get an idea. In the mean time I'll ask the CFA fleet blokes here next week if I get a chance.
Follow Up By: Coyote - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 15:03
Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 15:03
Great idea. Thanks for the inside info.. will defenitley see what I can find out