Troop Carrier T/Diesel Experience

Submitted: Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 20:11
ThreadID: 28579 Views:11262 Replies:15 FollowUps:25
Tossing up about the new purchase and wondering if anyone has any for and against about a Turbo Diesel Troop Carrier apart from the price. Thanks for any input. Regards Phil.

Reply By: Stoo - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 20:39

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 20:39
I bought a new TD troopy most of a year ago, and overall I'm very happy.
The factory lockers are OK but ARB would have been better as they take a while to engage sometimes and they are not very well waterproofed. The factory snorkel is fairly useless until you seal all of the joints with silicone. The leaves are way overbuilt, 800kg OME dakars made a huge difference. I just did a u-bolt flip kit in the rear which made a huge difference in clearance, now it seems I can keep up with the patrols in the bog-holes, and 35" tyres will fit underneath after a couple of simple mods.
The biggest problem is being top-heavy, it'll be on it's side soon enough if I'm not careful. A few too many near misses already.
Stu

AnswerID: 142176

Follow Up By: alby4wd - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:00

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:00
Sounds like a few mods to get her out and about. The rear end mod U-bolt flip kit refers to a spring over or is it something else. I've got a Patrol 4.8 stocker at the moment but it doesn't make me feel like spending any money on it at the moment. Looking for something a bit more robust and less plastic. Is it a shocker to drive round town or fairly lively? Thanks for the input Stu. Regards Phil...
FollowupID: 395773

Follow Up By: Stoo - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:32

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:32
I looked at the GU Patrols ( no interest in 100 series ) and thought the same thing, too plastic and too small in the back although much better than a troopy in the tough stuff off road. My first choice was a defender but they were too uncomfortable so I couldn't do it.
They are rippers as standard but a few mods really help I would suggest the following,
1, Twin lockers make up for the lack of suspension travel, worth every cent if you're tackling anything too difficult. Factory ones are OK ARB better IMO.

2, New springs all-round and longer shocks made a big difference, Dakar rears are good value, go for the 800KG jobs as they can handle heavy loads but allow much better travel than standard. ARB coils in the front ( OME 859 is the code I think?) + 30mm coil spacers make it sit level with the back. Fit longer shocks.

3, Buy some HD polyetheline or similar plastic and make a 30mm spacer to lower the sway bar mounts so the sway bar doesn't hit the front drive shaft at full droop. It's a cheap and easy job and is necessary if longer shocks are fitted.

4, I think the gearing is a bit wrong, revving too high on the freeway so I suggest 285/75/16 on 7" rims for the road, much better. I have a second set of rims with 35/11.5/16 Simex centipedes for offroad which rub very slightly at full flex but that causes no harm.

5, The U-bolt flip kit. I wouldn't have dared to do this to a new car, but I've had it for a year now and found the lack of clearance under the back diff frustrating. the patrols would go straight through on the same size tyres and I'd get hung up on the Plates under the spring pack that the u-bolts go through and the shock mounts to. The u-bolt flip kit was easy, bolted straight on and made a huge difference to clearance. the hard part was the shock mounts. I cut up the plates to make new shock mounts and welded them to the back of the diff. This created a new problem as the shocks were then too long and would bottom out so I welded new shock mounts up top and problem solved. Nothing to do with spring-over.

About driving around town? It's really good actually, visibility is great of course being up high with loads of windows, power steering is good, turning circle is average but better than my Triton ute, interior comfort is excellent ( RV model, cloth seats etc ), Forget parking in underground carparks, 2500mm high with roof rack on.

Sorry about crapping on so much, but that's what I think about troopys.
FollowupID: 395778

Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 11:44

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 11:44
Stoo mate, don't wanna shoot you down, coz I'd love my troopy to have extra clearance, and mine comes unstuck where your talking, the u bolt plates...

Though, from the work you've described, your car does not sound legally roadworthy, and uninsurable. Have you told your insurance of these mods, and do you have an engineers cert.?

Cheers Mate

FollowupID: 395832

Follow Up By: Stoo - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 15:58

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 15:58
Lift is not excessive and the big wheels are only fitted for weekend drives that are too muddy for the smaller ones, The U-bolt flip kit may not be legal but I can always bolt an original one back as the standard shock mounts are still in place.. I used a kit from Superior Engineering, it's just like the factory one but the plate is at the top and out of the way. I see you're point about legalities but I'll take the risk, the troopy is so much more capable now.
FollowupID: 395993

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:21

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:21
Stoo You mentioned the factory lockers are not very well waterproofed.

Have you had issues with them? Any info appreciated.

FollowupID: 395999

Follow Up By: Stoo - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:45

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:45
I guess you'd call them a servo? There's an electric motor and gearbox with plastic gears bolted to the diffs, I can't remember exactly what I found inside when I pulled them apart a few months back but one was clean and one had a bit of muddy water and rust inside. I cleaned them out and put a load of grease in. I read an article on LCOOL ( I think?) about 8o series electric lockers after I pulled mine apart and they said don't use too much grease as it can restrict movement but they're working well now.
So no big issues, they just leak a bit of water so keep an eye on them.
FollowupID: 396000

Follow Up By: Stoo - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:51

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:51
Here 'tis, ( I think they're the same as troopy factory lockers )

http://www.safari4x4.com.au/80scool/tech/factory_diff_locks.html

http://www.safari4x4.com.au/80scool/tech/difflocks.html

FollowupID: 396002

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:54

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:54
Stoo I have Air Lockers, but next year is time to change the vehicle for a new one (Company car) and I was going to ensure it was ordered with factory lockers, hence the question.

Its said they are slow to engage? How slow is slow? and Have you engaged them on the move with any issues?

FollowupID: 396003

Follow Up By: Stoo - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 17:18

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 17:18
They're not too bad, the locker lights flash for a while until they engage. They have never failed to engage though so no big complaint. I've only had it for a year so I can't tell you how long they'll last.
FollowupID: 396004

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:15

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:15

Go fore it
mine is stock bar the front and rear bars
air bag helper on rear
the rest of the mods are as you need them
been on many trip only been stoped by one track, i'm sure if I tryed a little hard we would have made it

AnswerID: 142181

Reply By: alby4wd - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:32

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:32
Richard. Thats one hell of a list of extras on the truck. You didn't mention anything about the power. Is the T/D a good engine in the Troopy. I know it's a good one in the 100 series but lacking the herbs in this one. Is yours a RV or 11 seater. Phil.
AnswerID: 142184

Follow Up By: Stoo - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:44

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:44
I find it pretty average until the revs get up higher, then it's great. Plenty of guts to overtake on the highway, just don't pull out in front of someone in the wrong gear. Fuel consumption is pretty good too.
FollowupID: 395779

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 15:39

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 15:39
alby

Yes it's the first time I've ever had the money to spend all at once so I went the hole hog.
Mr ARB got around 10g

Theres plenty of power I'm impressed with it will over take with ease, I set on 100 km and avg.
7.65 l/km 21.61 m/g 13.07 l/100 km loaded

10.10 l/km 28.53 m/g 9.90 l/100 km when brand new straight of the show room floor

your is the RV 5 seater we have removed the rear set of seats put in the roller draws and a false floor,

It the first Diesel vehicle i,v owned and we love it

Note: the wife drives it 5-7 days a week around Perth it's her vehicle I just get to drive it on the trips (maybe why we do so many)

FollowupID: 395841

Reply By: alby4wd - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:44

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:44
Stoo. It sounds like it's in the blood. I've had 60 series and 2 100 series. 1 tricked up GXL diesel with Ultimate suspension with 33's and a turbo but it was auto. Big dog. But great off road. 60 series was Ultimated as well with 33's and it was much better off road but age was not on its side.Then I had a V8 GXL 100 and it was like a limo. Drove it to Cape York with no dramas. Now I've got the Patrol and can't wait to get rid of it. I think you have almost got me thinking straight. Phil.
AnswerID: 142186

Follow Up By: Stoo - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:52

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 21:52
If you're in Vic feel free to have a drive, I'll talk you into buying one!! ( or out of it?)
That's quite a list of cars, why change so often?
Have you had a look at TroopyOz? Slow moving but lots of info.
FollowupID: 395780

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 22:51

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 22:51
Send a member message to Luxoluk. He has a new one too. Done a lot of kms across the country to WA and in the high country since he got it in March too.

AnswerID: 142191

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 23:47

Friday, Dec 02, 2005 at 23:47
Stoo,
I don't know how much experience you have had with Troopys, but your suggested modifications seem very over the top to me as I have driven Troopys all over Australia for the past 15 years with no problems to talk of.All the cars have been unmodified and they haven't been anywhere I couldn't get out of with a Highlift jack.Iam presently driving a 2001 Troopy which has been over the top twice and is going again next year.Being a pig shooter and retired surveyor I can tell you that they isn't many places that a standard Troopy won't go.So anyone who can afford the new turbo diesel good luck and Don't be fooled by all the aftermarket stuff that most people think they need.
AnswerID: 142197

Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 10:23

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 10:23
Yeah but a troopy with twin lockers and a lift will go anywhere. Their only downfall is rampover and departure angles.... but hey what's a dent or 2?

Ciao
FollowupID: 395826

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 15:21

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 15:21
Hi Rambler

What tyres do you run on the splits

I'm on my second set of Dunlop roadgripper type F

Low k,s but we do a lot of dirt road driving

FollowupID: 395840

Follow Up By: Stoo - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:08

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:08
Over the top for touring perhaps but necessary to take it where I do. Budget permitting I wouldn't order one without lockers. I just wanted to give Phil my opinion from my limited experience with the troopy.

The rampover is good now as it sits a bit higher, but departure could be better.
FollowupID: 395994

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 13:53

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 13:53
Wheeltravel,
I must admit that twin lockers would have helped me on the Creb Trek and the track into Walcot Inlet but I still got there with a little care.
AnswerID: 142243

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 16:22

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 16:22
Hi Richard,
I run Hancook A/T on my split rims and have found them to be a great allround tyre.The Dunlop Roadgripper that comes standard with the Troopy is probably the last tyre I would buy as they give poor mileage and did not stand up well to the rough stuff up North.I get about 70000kms out of the Hancooks and they also have a heavier side wall rating which works well up North.There is an identical copy ofthe Hancook made in China called Kingster and I have 2 on the front which I took up North last year with no problems.Hope this helps.
Rambler
AnswerID: 142259

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 18:31

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 18:31
Yes, Thanks Rambler
I will have a look next time around
I wanted a new set before this years trip and did't know which brand to go, Also had one new Dunlop to run out so went with them so I can run out all six tyres this time.

what size are thay 750.16 or?

FollowupID: 395849

Follow Up By: Markymark - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 21:39

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 21:39
Richard,
Sorry guys this is getting off topic, but Richard I noticed you've gone from Prado to Troopy. Could you give me a run down on good/bad things since swapping. I know the ride comfort would be chalk & cheese but is it OK after Prado? I'm looking to buy next year and the head says to go for the all-rounder Prado but the heart would love a Troopy. I can't get over how much room is in the back of them. Have wife and 2 young kids towing camper trailer. People I know who have Prado's love 'em but I reckon they're too small in back. And everyone who has Troopy's love em too. Would appreciate your thoughts,

Mark.
FollowupID: 395861

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:26

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:26
Hi Mark
Long story I've had 4WD's for 20 yr, when I met my wife I had a Nissan Navara kingcab Ute she had a Falcon,
The Prado was a compromise after selling the Ute & the Falcon, The Prado was a good vehicle and did as well, we both slept in the back on the folded down seats and a false floor, we went to trade up to the new model and it looked too nice (I would have been to sacred to drill a hole in it) and the seats did not fold down the same.

The Troopy suits our needs now, it drives like a truck not a car, they take a bit to pull up, and they don't go around corners that fast, but you drive them like a truck and you will be fine. (in my case the older I get the slower I go)

As in the good and the bad there none we have the RV .
Comes with power windows x 2
carpet on front floor
CD player one at a time
AM FM radio
Central locking
cloth seats
power antenna
two cup holders in console
and heaps of power
what more could a man & woman want (and Benney)

Things I miss are power side mirrors
A glove box that everything doesn't fall out of (i have a Doug's tub)
Four doors and seats some times

The main reason for getting the Troopy is it's one of the last true ruff outback vehicles left, body's nice a square good gear under neath and is a good rig.

The more we travel in the outback the more adventures we get

After reading two or three time it seams to make sense

Regards Richard

PS Sorry Rambler
FollowupID: 395865

Follow Up By: Markymark - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:38

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:38
Thanks Richard,
I might be chasing you and Rambler down next year for more advice and some good arguments for the Troopy. I know which one the wife will want!
Sorry to but-in Rambler.

Mark.
FollowupID: 395867

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:05

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:05
Phil,

Buy one before they bring out the new model in 2007 and stuff it all up.

They are one of the last old fashioned 4wds around. And the TD motor is sweet. Max torque at 1400rpm - mine idles around everywhere offroad. Mines a traytop, but identical to the TD troopie otherwise.

On the highway, you put your foot down, and they take off - overtaking is a breeze, and mine sits in 5th gear all the way thru the Adelaide hills.

If you want more, then add a Dtronic.

phil
AnswerID: 142297

Reply By: alby4wd - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:48

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:48
Thanks phil. Can't believe the responses and all so positive. Now just have to find one as they are as rare as rockin horse teeth. My local toyota dealer at Campbelltown has advised me there are only two in the country. Both in Brisbane. Hard to believe. Thanks to everyone who has inputed to the query. Just want to have a drive of even a second hand one before I commit. Reason I have a few different trucks in recent years is they are leased but able to be modified. Great way to find out that Patrols are not the same as a Toyota. Can't wait to remove the Nissan from my garage. Thanks again Phil. (ALBY)
AnswerID: 142302

Follow Up By: Markymark - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:57

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 22:57
Hi Alby,
the Campbelltown guys must be telling porkies cause there's a 5-seater RV TD Troopy sitting out the back of Ballarat Toyota, Vic., with all the shipment stickers still on it. Maybe already sold?

Mark.
FollowupID: 395869

Follow Up By: wresat - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 07:53

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 07:53
Not hard to believe about only two in the country.

Been just over three months since I placed an order for a troopie RV, should be ready next week.
FollowupID: 395880

Follow Up By: Stoo - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:15

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:15
I couldn't find anyone in Vic stocking one so I test-drove a secondhand 11 seater, that was good enough for me to know that was the bus for me. The lockers are factory fitted so I had to wait 3 months for it to come in.
FollowupID: 395995

Reply By: alby4wd - Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 23:02

Saturday, Dec 03, 2005 at 23:02
Long Drive to go for a test drive. It would be a good drive home but. The computer doesn't lie, remember. Phil.
AnswerID: 142305

Reply By: Markymark - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 08:45

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 08:45
I know the Dtronic's are available but has anyone gone the whole hog with intercooler and exhaust as well? Have read about cooling issues with front mounted intercoolers, is there a top mounted unit that fits?

Mark.
AnswerID: 142322

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:16

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:16
Cooling issues were common with the 75series with aftermarket turbos, but not with the post 2002 factory TD's. Bigger fan, radiator and some subtle underbonnet changes.

I only know of one person with a front mounted intercooler setup on a factory TD 79series, and it was done by Cooma diesel.
FollowupID: 395935

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 19:26

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 19:26
Richard, the Hancooks for the Troopy are 235/85 which is about as wide as you can go on standard split rims.They are a great tyre on the splits.
AnswerID: 142367

Reply By: alby4wd - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:49

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:49
Stoo. Can't find the web site Troopyoz..... Any more info on the link. I think this forum might be still going when I get my Troopy. Does anyone know if the Denco intercooler might fit on the std system? Anyone spotted a RV in a shop in Sydney area? I really want to have a drive of one. Alby...
AnswerID: 142384

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:26

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:26
Alby,

Yep, hardly any around. Below is a link to a TD traytop - identical mechanically to the TD troopie. Might be worth a drive if you live nearby.

HDJ79
FollowupID: 395937

Follow Up By: Stoo - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:18

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 16:18
TroopyOz forum D's,

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/troopyoz/

Stu

FollowupID: 395997

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:13

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:13
I have had 3 Troopies now, 2 petrols and this current one is my first Turbo Diesel.
I was a little worried about going to a Diesel, thought it would by sluggish and slow to drive type of thoughts.
How wrong was I, the TD goes as Good on the Hwy as the petrol ever did and it has better torques for the off road stuff, In a word fantastic vehicle.

It may not be a plush as a 100 series or a Patrol but it sure lacks all the crappy plastic flares that get ripped off in the rough and cost a fortune to replace, I'm the same as Richard above. Done nothing to the suspension other than fitting Firestone airbags to the rear, also bloody terrific.
I have ARB lockers front and rear, I wanted Toyota's factory fitted ones but could not wait the 3 months for the delivery, so fitted ARB.
I would get the factory fitted lockers if for no other reason that to maintain your warranty.
The only issue I have had is the front diff issue that seems common with current series Toyota's, I spat 5 teeth of the front crown wheel, no warranty as I had ARB lockers so I had it repaired by a mate so to speak.

You either love them or hate them, I don't believe that the ultimate 4wd exists, to each there own so to speak, but I have not come across to many troopy owners who regret their choice of vehicle.

That Troopy owners group site mentioned above is http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/troopyoz/
Just copy and paste.

AnswerID: 142411