I can't choose - help me

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 15:21
ThreadID: 28605 Views:3228 Replies:11 FollowUps:15
I have just been lucky enough to score a plum job in Townsville so its bye bye to the traffic of Sydney ..... and bye bye to my trusty Xtrail

So, I am looking to upgrade to a proper 4by and I am, tbh, spoilt for choice. It will be on a novated lease through work and I imagine I will be using it to explore anywhere within range of a long weekend in Townsville with all my camping/fishing/drinking gear ... and to pull a boat of course (5m tinny - so not heavy).

I have sort of narrowed it down to the following list of contenders. I have read up on the forums here and while it seems the majority of you hate the new Hilux's looks, I don't mind them one bit. But they are pricey .....

Here is my list - how would you rank them.....

1. Toyota Hilux SR5 Dual Cab DT
2. Toyota Prado GXL DT
3. Nissan Patrol ST DT3.0
4. Nisan Pathfinder ST-L

I am trying to keep it all under about $55,000 .... Are these rigs in the right league, or should I be looking elsewhere. In a perfect world I would love a Landcruiser but I have to be a bit realistic.....

What do you guys think !!!

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:20

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:20
can be a bit rugged up your way.
3 for me
AnswerID: 142349

Reply By: Trekkie - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:24

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:24
Does the Hilux met ATO requirements for a novated lease?
AnswerID: 142351

Follow Up By: meaticus - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:46

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:46
Good question .... I am not entirely sure. I will get back to you on that.
FollowupID: 395929

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:15

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:15
You may have to add accessories to get the carrying capacity under 1000kg before they'll let you have it...
FollowupID: 395934

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:37

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:37
Patrol is my choice and then chip it up for a big improvement.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 142352

Reply By: J.T. - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:54

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 16:54
Go the Defender mate!Someone had to say it.Looks wise,a good alternative over the new ugly Hilux.LOL.
AnswerID: 142353

Reply By: Spade Newsom - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 17:42

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 17:42
Big difference between a dual cab and a wagon. Maybe make that decision first. There are a few good dual cabs on the market.

For the wagons. I like both the Patrol and the Prado for different reasons. Prado more comfortable and refined. Patrol tougher and larger. I recently had similar decision to make and chose the Patrol. Two main reasons, I liked the Nissan dealer better and likely superior resale value of Prado was not an issue to me with the novated vehicle. Fuel included in the deal so fuel consumption not a consideration for me either.

Purely on novating a vehicle there could be big differences between wagon and dual cab depending on your job and if the vehicle is for work purposes. There is AFAIK different fringe benefits tax implications. Worth talking to your Accountant.

Have fun in Townsville
AnswerID: 142361

Follow Up By: apwaddo - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:58

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:58
Couple of things to be carefull of here. ALL novated leases have a residual value attached to them at the end of the lease. This is set by the ATO, and is critical to the true value of novation. Also if fuel was included on the novated lease it is also critical as it is added to the total cost to run the vehicle so greatly affects the lease payments.
Thirdly - it makes no difference to a novation as to whether the vehicle is used for business or not. The FBT is calculated on the total kms per annum.
I would fully agree - talk to your accountant - Novation is not for all - depends mainly on the kms/annum, and salary, and with tax levels dropping is becoming less of an advantage
FollowupID: 395923

Follow Up By: meaticus - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:39

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:39
salary is top tax bracket .... so there are some tax benefits in it.

It will likely be on a 4yr, 100,000km lease (25k per year) with all running costs built into the lease.

I will be in a position to pay residual at the end of the lease....

i dunno if this means much, but i will certainly check with the beancounter...
FollowupID: 395939

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:47

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:47
A couple more things to consider with novated lease.

Different lease companies have different policies/options that apply in case you lose your job or resign. Some better than others.

If you use for any business purposes you do not get any extra tax deductions. Better if used 100% private.

Insurance is included generally in the cost however they don't always use the most friendly insurance companies and excesses are often high. Check this out.

If you take out a 25,000km per annum lease make sure you can achieve it during a specific calender year (April to March comes to mind). If you are too far under you can be slugged with additional FBT.

A $55,000 vehicle will reduce your taxable income by approx $20,000 -$22,000 (guess) per annum. Take this off your salary.....are you still in the highest tax bracket? Take all your other expected deductions/negative geared investments off as well....are you still in the highest tax bracket? Look at the ATO website for future tax thresholds?

Is your novated lease portable? If you move to another employer is the lease able to move with you?

Back to your original question. My tip...Buy the vehicle with the best re-sale potential.

Hope I haven't bored you with information you already know.

Good luck.
FollowupID: 396195

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 18:02

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 18:02
meaticus,

Out of the vehicles mentioned I would think the prado to be the allrounder. I wouldn't touch a 3lt patrol if you paid me (I know there will be plenty that disagree) but that is freedom of speach hey.
Have you thought about a Hyundai Terracan CRDi, I am led to believe these are worth serious contention in the vehicle size you talk about. Other owners may suggest more on this vehicle as I only hear this through the grapevine.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 142362

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 18:50

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 18:50
One thing to watch with the Prado TD is that its about to be superceded with the TD from the Hilux. If you do go a Prado TD, either wait for the new motor or make sure you get a big discount as its re-sale value will be affected. May not worry you now, but will certainly make a difference come trade-in time when you get your next vehicle.

I had a similair choice 2 years ago and went the 3.0TD Patrol after weighing up all the different choices (including the Cruiser 4.2TD). Very happy with my decision, but will be interesting to see which way I go in 10 months time. Am eagerly awaiting the news of the H3 Hummer being bought in as Holdens contender with the Patrol/Landcruiser!!!

FollowupID: 395906

Follow Up By: Member - Nobby - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:28

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:28
I agree with Captain. As you may have read in other posts I have just hopped into a new Prado TDI(two weeks ago) I went in with the argument that it was on the way out(which of course they denied), but I ended up getting 17K off the list price (slippery figures I know). Believe me, now is the time to argue with Toyota over price on the Prado. Also, couldn't be happier with the car.
FollowupID: 395956

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:03

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:03
I'll vouch for the Terracan. Mine is 18 months old and Petrol. I've driven the diesel and it's a pretty impressive bit of kit. Just over $40 OTR. Leaves plenty for dual battery, suspension, tyres, fridge, _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx, etc etc which you get put in prior to delivery so that it's all included in the lease.

FollowupID: 396080

Reply By: PBob - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 19:32

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 19:32
Read about the new Pathfinder, it is a bigger motor than a Prado, has good fittings and well worth thr money. Me? I drive an HSE TD5 Disco, series 2 one off - the only HSE manual that was made. If you want a dual cab, look seriously at a Rodeo, they are the best value and vehicle in that range.
AnswerID: 142369

Follow Up By: Sky Pilot - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:54

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:54
You wouldn't say that if you'd ever read some of the stuff published on other forums by the owners of Rodeos. Basically, look elsewhere.
FollowupID: 395914

Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:22

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:22
Rodeos up until the beginning of 2003 were brilliant for reliability. However in my travels I have heard a lot of bad stories from owners about dead diffs and gearboxes with the RA (post 2003) model.

RA is made in Thailand whereas the earlier ones were made in Japan.
FollowupID: 395936

Reply By: old mate - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:00

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:00
Go the Pathfinder, such good value for money.
AnswerID: 142375

Follow Up By: PBob - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:08

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:08
I have had 4 rodeo dual cabs and one xtra cab. two were diesels and the others were V6. They are very good. I was in a V6 last week, drove 900km to Broken hill on the monday, another 300km north and back on the tuesday, and home 900km on the Wednesday. It went like a dream.
FollowupID: 395918

Reply By: greenant - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:41

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:41
All I can say is Welcome to the sunny north
34 today forcast is for 34 tomorrow last night minimum 27
no wet season yet but we are hoping it comes soon
Townsvilles main water supply down to 10%
Plenty of places to go from here in your 4by
diesel $1.15 at the moment ULP $1.05

Greenant
Townsville
AnswerID: 142380

Follow Up By: meaticus - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:47

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 22:47
Lol .... thanks for the info on my new 4by ... but good to see a welcoming crowd all the same ... It sure is going to be a change from the suicidal traffic of Sydney cbd every day.

Not to mention the warm weather ..... have mercy ....
FollowupID: 395931

Follow Up By: fezkez - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 23:41

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 23:41
hmmmm ... plenty of places to 4wd in Townsville??? We'd like to know where. We've been to 3 clubs and been here a year and no one seems to know anywhere to go for day trips. Weekend trips also seem to be few and far between. Most land seems to be privately owned, most national parks the tracks are closed to traffic, everything is miles & miles away. One guy we know travelled 3 hrs just to get to the start of the track to do a recce for a club, only to find it was unsuitable anyway because of track closures/land closures. So any savings you make in fuel, all of about $6/tank, is used getting to anywhere. Lots of sand driving, but how boring does that get when it's all flat????? Camp by a river ... yeah nice, if you like dry rivers and mozzies, not to mention when there is water, the occasional croc.

No mud .... just dust, flies, mozzies, sand flies and HEAT. Not just nice & sunny 34, STINKING BLOODY HOT, MUGGY, FILTHY, SWEATING, BLISTERING HEAT. I'd take Sydney, Brisbane, Melbourne, Tassie, in fact, ANYWHERE ..... anytime.
FollowupID: 396068

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:00

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:00
fezkez,

You've summed up Townsville pretty well. I had to suffer eight miserable years there. What a manure hole.
FollowupID: 396076

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:52

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:52
There are worse places than Townsville....

Rockhampton springs to mind.
FollowupID: 396196

Reply By: UB.1 - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:55

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 23:55
Hello Meaticus

From the handle you are Roman and like meat and battles. So can I suggest a DID Pajero if you don't want a ute. Greatly underated vehicle capable in all circumstances - just change the tyres and suspension. Cheap to run and under the FBT and luxury tax if yoy are salary sacrificing. see www.pajeroclub.com.au
AnswerID: 142416

Reply By: meaticus - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 10:37

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 10:37
Well I have decided to go with the Prado TD Manual - just seemed the right choice in terms of quality of vehicle and resale value at the end of the lease.

Thanks for all the advice guys.... Now I can bug you for info about accessories... lol

Cheer
AnswerID: 143974