EO Teddy bears Picnic Adelaide

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:31
ThreadID: 28608 Views:3471 Replies:8 FollowUps:23
The South Australia EO forum mob-friends, gathered today at Carisbrook Reserve in the northern suburbs of Adelaide for a BBQ. Some came from outer lying country towns

We had a great day for it but didn't realise that the park was so popular.

Nevertheless we were able to find a good spot and some shade. The only trouble we had was that the BBQ Trailer could not get access to the park but we managed to get it close and had a "Mens Busines session' lol

This time around we put more names to faces and it was good to have a good turn out.

Present were
Pesty(Steve), Glenda and grandchild...Organising Member
Roachie(Bill), Annette and boys
Brew(Stuart), Dawn and girls
Sandman(Bill) and partner
Dean, partner and youngsters
Muddy-doe(Steven) and Trippin(Judy)
PhilG(Phil)
Greendog(Paul)
Voxson(Grant)
Cuffs(?)
Peter and Lez
John and Sue
CamperSA(?) and partner
Pat the Red(Pqat), Partner and youngsters
RickSA(Rick)
Willem, Judith and Jeddah(the dog)

And a whole heap of Teddy Bears who came with their parents.

My apologies to those whose names I couldn't remember

A Great day and good company.

High-light of the day was having a look at Roachie's GU and all the GADJETS he has fitted....GEEZ!!!!!

PS Hope I have forgotten anyone

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:41

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:41
Geez Willie, you're easily pleased if looking at my truck was the high-light of your day!!!!!!!!!!! hahahaha

I thought the highlight would have been the Top Deck choccy!!!!!! lololo ;-)))

Cheers mate.....and I 2nd your sentiments that it was a great day (just wish I hadn't had to drive all the way back here (as it prevented me from imbibing in a few ales).

Happy Christmas to all.

AnswerID: 142381

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:01

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:01
Yeah mate...your toy is something to behold. I think we should all aspire to do what you have done.....even NASA might be interested lol

Yes I am having a liquid Tea as well lol

Cheers mate and a good festive season to you as well.
FollowupID: 395916

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:06

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:06
When I was a young fella driving a 1000km after a bit of skirt was nothing.

Now that time has caught up with me 500km to a BBQ, there and back, takes it out of you lol

Anyway the VB is keeping me going tonite....lol
FollowupID: 395917

Reply By: navaraman - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:56

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 20:56
A good time was had my me , Fran and the boys too. Great to catch up with old friends and meet new ones. I'll bring bolt cutters next year ; )

Pat, Fran,Nick and Alex
AnswerID: 142386

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:22

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:22
Sorry I didn't make it today,
I got as far as Geopps Cross when I got a phone call saying that my son had started to wake and was aasking for me. Some of you will probbaly know that he was involved in the bus crash at Waikerie a couple of weeks ago and has been in intensive care in an induced sleep ever since.

As much as I would have loved to catch up with you guys again, I think that my priorities were right so I will have to wait now for the next TBP.

Merry Xmas to all and I will catch ya all somewhere on the dirt.
AnswerID: 142390

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:26

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:26
David,

Hope your lad makes a full recovery soon.

We will catch up sometime somewhere.

Cheers and have a good Christmas
FollowupID: 395919

Follow Up By: navaraman - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:26

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:26
Didn't know about your son David. Obviously he has to come before anything else, give him our best wishes mate, glad to see he is on the improve.

Pat
FollowupID: 395920

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:30

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:30
G'day David,
We hadn't heard about your son's involvement in that nasty crash either. Please accept our best wishes that he may make a full and speedy recovery.
Cheers mate........
FollowupID: 395921

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 01:05

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 01:05
Hey David,

No apology required Mate. You got your priorities right.

Hope everything turns out OK and you and your family can enjoy the festive season.

You can catch up with us lot anytime.

FollowupID: 395944

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:35

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:35
Hi David,

I was wondering whether you'd get there. Didn't realise things were that serious at the hospital. Like all your other friends at EO, we are thinking about your son, and hope he continues to improve.

All the best,
FollowupID: 395958

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:30

Sunday, Dec 04, 2005 at 21:30
6 hours in the park, and one beer for me. I was even spotted with soft drink on more than one occasion. Great day and good to meet some newies. Sorry to hear about your son David.
AnswerID: 142392

Reply By: cuffs - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:04

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:04
Great to put faces to the names, sorry I was unable to stay long but had 3 Xmas shows to attend. Santa is fast was at 2 of them. Best wishes to you all.
AnswerID: 142431

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:37

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 09:37
Hi cuffs,
I had to leave not long after you for same reason. Santa didn't turn up at the places I went, but good to hear that he wasn't sitting on his @rse :-)))

FollowupID: 395959

Reply By: fwdoz - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 19:53

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 19:53
~recalls a fishing Xmas party at the same place once~.....

Nice park....hope it's still the same....

Do you guys go there every year?...
AnswerID: 142506

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:07

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:07
No mate, this is the first year we have been there.

Last year was out somewhere near Monarto but I couldn't make it.

That was also the first TBP organised by Member Pesty.

We have all met up through this forum and have get-togethers now and then and also meet up with some of the Victorian forum mob from time to time.

FollowupID: 396081

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:30

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:30
What Willie forgot to say is that you'd be more than welcome to the next one (whenever that might happen to be). The more the merrier!!
FollowupID: 396084

Follow Up By: fwdoz - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:14

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:14
Thanks guys....being a new 4WD owner I would love to see some of the rigs & hear stories of your adventures...

I hope to have some stories of my own in the not too distant future!...

I will monitor the forums for any upcoming events....
FollowupID: 396181

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:30

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:30
Hey 4wdoz,
I assume you live in Adelaide.....most of those who attended also live there. A few of us are from the sticks......we (my wife, 3 boys and I) live in Kadina, so if you're coming up to the YP at any time, let me know.
FollowupID: 396183

Follow Up By: fwdoz - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:38

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:38
Thanks Roachie....

I am in Adelaides Southern Suburbs & seriously into flyfishing....

Havent been to YP for ages....I'm long overdue for a fishing trip...*G*...

FollowupID: 396185

Reply By: GREENDOG - Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:32

Monday, Dec 05, 2005 at 22:32
Willem it was great to attend and put face's to the name mate, it was a great day.oh and it's Peter not Paul but not to worry cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 142539

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:01

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 08:01
Hi Peter

Ah!! I will remember that now. Sorry for the mistake.

Yes it was good to catch up and spin a few yarns...lol

Until next time.

FollowupID: 396077

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:07

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 13:07
Willem,

you can put "Paul" next to Cuffs name.
Great effort to get that list of names together

phil
FollowupID: 396136

Reply By: Coyote - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:42

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:42
I can't help but feel left out.. I've only moved to SA recently and have been watching/postinghere for a couple of months. bummed Ididn't know about the "gathering" is there a SA forum or group or something.. would love to meet / swap stories/ from other 'like minded' south aussies. How can I get itnot "the loop' to find out about htese gatheirngs in future.. or maybe I'm not welcome.. if so i'll just potter around on my own "sniff" ;)
AnswerID: 142835

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:33

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:33
G'day Coyote,
Sorry you feel left out.....you need to check out the "Trips/Gatherings" listing under the "Membership" tab at the top of this site. The recent gathering was the 2nd such one we've had in SA that I've been to (we live at Kadina) and I think there have been a couple of others where the bloody Mexicans were invited too (Murray Sunset NP over on the border and down at Robe).
I reckon there were a couple of reminder posts put up by Brew 69 to try and boost the numbers at the last gathering last Sunday as well.....maybe you missed them I guess.
You would certainly be very welcome to any future gatherings/trips we might have. None of us have 2 heads (although I sometimes wonder about a certain member from a mid-north town...hehehehe) and we are , like you say, all "like-minded" types who enjoy this great country of ours.
I'm hoping that some of the Adelaide-based members might jump in and offer to meet up or something. Certainly, if you find yourself up this way, let me know and I'd be happy to meet you.
FollowupID: 396354

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:33

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 18:33
Oi Coyote!

No, this isn't a closed shop at all. You are always welcome to join in.

Just keep an eye out for Members Trips/Gatherings under Members button at top of page.

You can also come into the room at
http://groups.msn.com/4wdchat/chat.msnw?r=1 where we talk a lot of BS after hours lol

FollowupID: 396355

Follow Up By: fwdoz - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 20:38

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 20:38
I'm new to the scene too Coyote....I must admit I didnt know where to look either...and from the time of joining this site I didnt see any posts...just my slack late timing I guess...*L*...

But there is always the next one...and I know I will certainly be looking for the reminders!...

Dont be afraid to say hi...I live in Adelaide if anyone wants to catch up anytime if over this way...Always nice to meet new people & exchange yarns...

FollowupID: 396387

Follow Up By: Coyote - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:23

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:23
Thanks Roachie and Willem will defenitley try and catch up... now I know where to look.. I guess I've hardly ventured much past the Forum and the "buying new bells and whistles pages" don't be afriad to say G'day if you see me 'round ADL too.. the "boss" gets to drive my "truck" all week but I'm allowed in it on weekends.. so if you see a new white GU with an EO wheel cover and blue covered LF spotties feel free to beep and give us a wave. Cheers

It's bloody funny to see the looks my wife gets when shes's getting around town in a new GU fully decked out on her own.. I've been behind her in my old GU a coule of times and watched the heads turning..
FollowupID: 396440

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:18

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:18

You bugger!

'None of us have 2 heads (although I sometimes wonder about a certain member from a mid-north town...hehehehe)'

Just how far Mid-north are you referring to?

FollowupID: 396487

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 18:27

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 18:27
Willie,
I purposefully omitted to name any particular town!!!!! hehehehe
If Pesty had asked me the same question, I would have told him the same thing!!!!!!!!!!
You two can work it out between yourselves as to who I am referring to!!!! ;-)))))
FollowupID: 396507

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 22:07

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 22:07
ROACHIE i reckon you would need 2 heads to drive that truck of your's mate ha ha ha and not to mention 2 pairs of hands to operate every thing you have got on it cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 396541

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 22:16

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 22:16
Thanks Greendog,
I'll take that as a compliment!!! hahahahaha
FollowupID: 396542