Out of the comfort Zone - a friend shares her experience

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 15:25
ThreadID: 28648 Views:4353 Replies:15 FollowUps:8
Kir and I have a friend who's husband has recently left her. Now our friends is an awesome chick and would do the world for anyone of her friends or family. She has been brought up in a very wealthy family and has never in her life been camping/4wd'ing or anything outdoors beside the marques around spring carnival time.
She has been very down, so we invited her and her dog away for a typical weekend with us. A groups of 4wd'ing friends, camping and som driving.

During this time she took notes and sent us the dear diary below. We all think what we doing is normal and problably think nothing of it, so have a read of the notes below from her perspective

Thank you to everyone who made her welcome and for a great weekend.

25th – 28th Nov

Dear Diary,

It’s been a while since I’ve had anything exciting to write – sorry, but I can MORE than make up for it with the news of my last weekend!

Mustard and I were invited by some special friends to join them in a 4WD camping weekend. Yes, I know, totally out of character and predictably something I would hate – WRONG! We loved it!!

It did take me a while to register what was going on, but I found myself getting quite into the program by the time Sunday came around. This meant I did feel a bit sad that it was over by then, but am excited about trying the whole camping thing again, and this time actually contributing to the process (have learnt how to take down a tent afterall)

M & I set off from home with our bags packed in time to get to Kir & Adam’s house by 6pm. Only to realise that we did not quite have our bags packed, M had everything, but I had completely forgotten what I’d be sleeping on. Kir to the rescue – take one!

First words from Adam when I saw her him made me giggle, “I pack alone”. Will be speaking to him later on I told myself…….only to find Kir on hands and knees packing bags, M & I didn’t want to interrupt. Wisely we hung out in the garden and chilled while our hosts did all the hard work. Having said that, they are clearly experts and I certainly benefited from their detailed planning.

We had not been travelling long before the first drink was cracked – Kir to the rescue, take two!, and this continued at a steady pace for the rest of the weekend. (Thanks to an “in car” fridge – the first gadget of many I admired).

Our travelling companions, Shannon & Nicole, joined us for a Hungry Jacks dinner. Here I thought we had started camping as we ate our meal on the freeway nature strip! Some local lads admired Adam’s “wheels” and Mustard enjoyed his first serve of chips while attached by leash to the bulbar of the car.

We got to camp about 1am. Not quite what I expected!!! And Ad & Kir spent a significant amount of time surveying the potential campsite for the perfect spot (too be honest, at this stage, I admired their passion, on top of a rock would have done me). It paid off in the morning when we’d had a great sleep (bed at 3am mind you) and were up to “wee” Mustard then commence our trek. Not before a quick stop to change some break pads of course……not sure they actually needed it though!?

It was not long before I had an extensive list of gadgets to admire. I got my first lesson in GPS and Sat Nav (not sure there is a difference?) and how the trip metre gets set to zero before we start. Kir looks at the wider map while Ad refers to the GPS/Sat Nav showing exactly where we are. They worked really well together, leading the group and solving various problems along the way.

Throughout the day a lot of country side was covered. I liken it to girls on a shopping expedition. You don’t have to try on that dress, but, “what the heck”. We didn’t have to cut up so many trees, but, “we get to use our chainsaws”. Another addition to the gadget list.

The landscape was beautiful; amazing views, steep inclines, dense fernery, intriguing mine shafts, a grave site, rivers, boulders and so on. Plenty to see between issues! “Chainsaw”, “Change Channel”, “Air Out of Tyres”, “Hessian Bag”, “Traveller”, “Dogs snorted something”!!?? Yes, that one was a little unusual, and he is still sneezing now! Mustard had us in fits of laughter after a sneezing attack that lasted at least an hour.

He was truly spoilt on our adventure. He had a special seat in the car so he could rest or see out, he had so many cuddles, he was chased, fed Cheerios from a special oven (another cool gadget) and he learnt to swim. But most importantly he developed “Adam’s driving” legs for the time he was in the car!!

I was also very impressed by the cooking techniques people had mastered to maximise their camping experience. The Fire & Ice (another gadget) got quite a work out and did a great job. And I really enjoyed the humorous conversations had on the CB throughout the day,

I had plenty of highlights while on our adventure. Having a leach on my jeans that I got to panic about and kill with salt, the fact that there were toilets at our camp site, the entertainment of Cam - a hilarious and mature 5 year old boy, learning a bit about 4WD and how all the cars work together, Ad’s music in the car, Kir as my drinking buddy, being taken out of my comfort zone, being totally spoilt (cooked for, etc.), but most importantly, the amazing understanding, compassion and generosity of two very special people who have helped me a great deal in many ways.

Chapter One of my new adventures – I hope they’re all this fun!

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:13

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:13
How come Cammo gets a mention and I dont :'(
AnswerID: 142634

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:41

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:41
Maybe 'cos he's a mature 5 year old and you're not.

BTW can you point me in the right direction for a good motobike helmet for a four year old.
FollowupID: 396162

Follow Up By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:53

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 16:53
LOL Wombat
Spot on mate, spot on.......
Cammo makes all of the grown up decisions while Truckie gets to play train sets.
FollowupID: 396167

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 19:42

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 19:42
Errrr!!!!! Could also be he's cute and your not.

FollowupID: 396176

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:45

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 20:45
You will struggle to get a helmet for a 4yr old - but depends on the kids head size... best bet is to try XXXS helmet from a bike shop, but again, I dont like ya chances of them having one, then it is Xmas, so maybe the gods are shining...

Cammo has the smallest and it was a tiny bit big when he first got it.
FollowupID: 396193

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:45

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:45
Thanks Bruce.
FollowupID: 396313

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 18:40

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 18:40
Fantastic Adam, another convert to the fold...hahahaha

Plenty more trips to come as well...woohoo

Glenn
AnswerID: 142650

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 18:50

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 18:50
great story.
its funny when i and probly a lot of people talk about going camping for the weekend they say oooh no way bugs and spiders and stuff.
i say if you seen how we camp its better than staying at some 5 star hotel and theres not a lot we all dont have when were away so theres no discomfort at all.
(except when the porta loos full).
glad to hear your friend enjoyed herself.
i can also understand why trucky didnt get a mention haha.
cheers mate
AnswerID: 142653

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:30

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 22:30
What a great read, yes indeed we take what we have for granted and as I did when I read Dad's recount of our last High Coutry Adventure, it ois great to see others appreciate it too.

Ad's good to see youve sorted out your left from... the OTHER left and hope to meet Mustard and Co on an adventure soon.

GWBonz

AnswerID: 142684

Reply By: S&N - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:23

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:23
cammo got a mention as he is a better driver, he can cross a river, chat on the uhf and still point out interesting things whilst driving.

ADS, good to hear she had a fun time, for a hardcore chappel st chick she was no hasstle, fun and up for a go. alot more than can be said about most! say g'day from us when you see her next, mustard too!! Ha, ha.

P.S where and when next???? :)
AnswerID: 142697

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:55

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:55
This is what you need.

ITEM:
34"x9.5"xr15 Swampers
4 tyres no rims

CONDITION:
good, 70-80%tread

REASON FOR SELLING:
surpless to needs

PRICE AND PRICE CONDITIONS:
$450ono

FollowupID: 396317

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:56

Tuesday, Dec 06, 2005 at 23:56
Adam,
What you have given your friend here is priceless. At this time in her life she would be doubting her value not only to the world but to herself. (BTDT)
The other thing, she will share the fun and lifestyle of 4wd'ing with everyone she meets. Publicity our detractors can't achieve with all the propoganda under the sun.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 142707

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 00:35

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 00:35
Crazie, sounds like you all had fun, my wife and I are a little worried about Mustard though. Apart from the amusement, Mustard (he,she) may have inhaled a grass seed. These can be very painful for dogs cats and the like, the seeds can even work their way into the brain........if the sneezing has not subsided please tell your friend she needs to take the dog to the vet.
AnswerID: 142716

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:14

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:14
Hi Andy

Thank you, Yes Mustard has went to the vet the next morning and got the all clear. We are still unsure of what set him off.

Ads
FollowupID: 396257

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:50

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:50
Driving maybe? Vibration? Exhaust noise? Your aftershave?

FollowupID: 396327

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 01:33

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 01:33
How does that song go?

"For good times....for bad times....that's what friends are for"

Good on you Ads & Kir, and I'm sure you got a great feeling helping out that special friend.

Keep smiling!!!

AnswerID: 142721

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:54

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 07:54
A great read!
Hope your friend goes on more trips with you guys so she can write more stories like that!

And good on you for providing good old fashioned support in an obviously rough time in her life..... THAT'S what friends are for!

AnswerID: 142730

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:14

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 08:14
A good read mate,

And another one gets inducted to the 'Fire and Ice' brigade....lol

AnswerID: 142736

Reply By: Trev88 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:04

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:04
OK it looks like I'll have to ask the question then

Whats her number and is she available??

She obviouly needs a single man with a 4WD to keep her in the style you guys ahve made her acustom to.

Ill ask my wife when I be available (shell probably say very soon)

Well done guys you never know who your real friends are until you need them.

TM2CW

Trev
AnswerID: 142760

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:25

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 11:25
The true meaning of real friends.

Good stuff Adam & Kir

AnswerID: 142762

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:43

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:43
good work mate, next she will want a week out and about :-)

if you've got a wicked shower tent with hot shower, then you'll never get rid of her LOL.

AS for the fire & ice, i went into the garage of some scottish freinds who have just moved out here, and what the hell do i see, a bloody fire&ice..... man what have you done ....................
AnswerID: 142776

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:45

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:45
Ad & Kir, I really enjoyed reading this Post. Congrats on introducing someone to something that yes, we probably do take for granted a bit. Your friend must be a terrific person she writes very very well - more diary please. Imagine Kir being able to keep up drinking with her!
What's Fire & Ice - sorry haven't been to any 4 x 4 shows for a while, so not sure?
Hello everyone - hope you are all well. We are back from our two week's away (for family stuff) and having the espresso machine greased and oil changed - got it back together this a.m. and had a few people over for coffee. Great.
Weather has been foul - about 48 last few days with stinking hot dry dusty blowy NW. Nice today - only 36. Should be an intersting Summer here - nearly everyone will be here. Karsten and Jacqui back yesterday. We are intending to have a Jimmy Buffett 'Margaritaville' Christmas or New Year.
Ad - you can have a Blue Heaven milkshake now also.
Glenn - need to know Gavin's snail address please.
AnswerID: 142778

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:27

Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:27
Hey Ads. I like the title of the post. I reckon most people are just creatures of habit, and it takes a bit of courage to step outside it. I also think that the subsequent experience depends more on the people you're with not what you're doing. Competent, able, reassuring etc.

Lets hope she's got the bug. New and different things can be very addictive.
AnswerID: 142797