Getting a new Compressor
Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:28
Vince NSW
I have been using a Repco $70 jobbie for past 3 years. It works, takes about 18 min to take 4 tyres from 18 psi to 30 psi, but is red hot at the end.
Had a look through the posts in the archives, so the question is. What is the best value for money ?
I will mount this in the rear of the cargo area as there is NO room at the inn under the bonnet.
Vince
Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:34
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 12:34
The ARB unit gets hotter than......
well think of something really hot! Also the hotter it gets I reckon it gets less efficient and as a result takes longer to inflate your tires.
Leroy
Reply By: Emo - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:16
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:16
I think that you'll find all compresoors get hot. I've seen the Bushranger Max Air in use and whilst it is fast, it also gets very hot. I've got a Repco $79 compressor and it works fine. It seems to pump about as fast as ARB ones.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:10
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 14:10
Yes the heat is the product of the little motor and piston running like the clappersr drawing 20 amps and the molecules rubbing or bouncing when the air is compressed.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:09
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:09
Actually, heat is the product of air being compressed!
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 17:41
Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 17:41
Isn't that what I said Paul
Reply By: Banjo 1 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:19
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 13:19
My ARB has been good - trouble free - for 4 years. Works very
well. All I can say.
Did the time thing once - bit vague now - re your timings - guess the ARB would be about half that. Re hot - they are made to wear that heat !
Follow Up By: Alan H - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:41
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 15:41
Hi Banjo 1.
I agree with you, I've had
mine for approx. 5 years with no hint of trouble. I've got 235 x 85 x 16 and it'll pump them up easily from beach pressure to road in around maybe 14 mins.
Anyway I'm not in a rush.
Cost about $325.00 and I've mounted it underneath the back
seat in the Defender and it gets hot but not overly so.
Good bit of gear.
Alan H.
Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:19
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 16:19
They all run hot , but thats why the more expensive ones last longer , due to better internals , and being rebuildable.
Bushranger Max Air always seems to get good reports.
Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 17:32
Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 17:32
Hi guys .
I found that when I asked about rebuild kits for the bush
ranger my answer was either what rebuild kit there are none or na dont need a kit they are a throw away item ....Ya know just go out and buy a new one ?
yeah sure I have a lazy few hundred bucks to waist every time it goes bung! ...
well yes they do have great Ravs about them and unless they have a kit for them now Im sticking to my big red MK 4 that I just bought a year ago and have used heaps and have had no trouble with and what sold me is that if I had bought a B/R MK1 almost 20 yrs ago I could still buy a kit for it today
well thats just my
views hope I didnt
bore you all , happy shopping!
Regards J.B.
Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:42
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 21:42
why not just buy another repco $70 jobbie.
Follow Up By: ev700 - Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 23:46
Wednesday, Dec 07, 2005 at 23:46
Frankly io think that is where I'll be going. Hard to justify more expensive set-up when I don't use it more than 20 -30 times a year.
I cannot understand why the better ones are so dear - near the price of a four stroke mower. Why? It is not as though a 12V compressor is a complicated machine.
Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 11:06
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 11:06
Quote:
I cannot understand why the better ones are so dear - near the price of a four stroke mower. Why? It is not as though a 12V compressor is a complicated machine.
Its actually very noticable when they pulled apart side by side. They quality of the cheapies are quite inferior to the quality ones. The quality ones have spare parts.
Thats NOT to say you cant get a good run out of a cheapy.
My Supercheap one I bought for about $100 has lasted me 4 years.
May get used once a month.
I would do the same again for my use.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 01:54
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 01:54
Vince,
If you don't need it permanently mounted for Air Lockers, etc., why not consider a portable unit.
"Big Red" for instance, is available in a tool box configuration. Just clamp to a battery when required. Can be used on all your mates vehicles too, so they will no doubt supply the beer during the "air up" session.
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 06:36
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 06:36
Vince,
If you can wait a bit longer I have heard that Bushranger are bringing out a bigger better air compressor soon.
I have never used a Bushranger but ever one seems to rave about them. For me a compressor must not only inflate the tyre but also re-
seat a tubeless tyre back on a rim. For this reason I have a Big Red mounted in the back. I also have a old Blue Tounge that I have for years, that is also mounted in the back. We I bought the Troopie it had ARB diff locks so there is a ARB compressor in the side panel used only for the diff locks.
Mounting a air compressor under the bonnet is not real good. The compressor builds up heat and being under the bonnet it is surrounded by heat. The good compressors have a thermal cut out, if the compressor gets to hot it will stop until it cools, bit hard if it is under a bonnet.
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:50
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 10:50
Wayne,
Did you get your Member Msg,
I only opend the one you sent yesterday !!! Been on another computer for over a week/
Thanks for every ones comments, might stick to the Repco one until the new Bushranger comes out.
Vince
Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:43
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:43
Vince,
Thanks mate I did get the massage and have sent you another one.
I don't when the new Bushranger will be out but I will start asking around the people in the know when they expect the unit on the market.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 15:30
Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 15:30
Vince,
I agree with what Diamond said - buy anther $70 one. Then you'll pump the lot up in 9 minutes instead of 18 and you'll have a spare in case one fails.
I got by for many years with two $30 KMart compressors - they drew 6.5 amps each, and running them together meant it was just as quick as the expensive ones at the time.
But then again, I bought a Blue Tongue for about $380 when they came out about 5 years ago and it hasn't missed a beat.
phil