makes ya wonder

Submitted: Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 13:59
ThreadID: 28734 Views:3061 Replies:18 FollowUps:42
If the editor of the biggest aussie mag dont give a toss about the laws, then what hope is there for us?

Editor's illegal monster truck

I mean its only a breadbox.

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:08

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:08
Sorry truckster, guesss we were both trying to add this at same time. Didnt mean to step on your toes mate.

Ange
AnswerID: 143114

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:15

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:15
Gr8 effort , that !!!!

Now he's got scrubby-guts all fired-up AGAIN!!!!!!

WTF is going on? The last thing we need is the so-called respectiable dudes giving us a bad (worse) name!!!

At first I thought they must've been talking about that blue chit-box suzuki with the V6 dunny-door donk and 38" tyres etc.......well out of spec, but somehow has still managed to keep a (valid???) set of number plates.....
AnswerID: 143119

Follow Up By: muzzimbidgie - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 19:51

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 19:51
It has been engineer passed.
FollowupID: 396650

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:19

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:19
Pat runs a magazine that generates a revenue stream by pretending to be a useful read - a "reference manual" on the 4WD lifestyle, and, as such - has a responsibility to his readership. If they condone an illegal truck - and then run around in it - they are just plain naive to think that it won't get out.

Scruby will have an absolute FIELD DAY with this.

(Also added this to the parallel post 28736)
AnswerID: 143120

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:30

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:30
hahaha.. couldn't give a ratz.... you guys can talk about it while I head out and do the real work in da bush...hehaheha
Less taking more doing
AnswerID: 143122

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:45

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:45
Less taking more doing what does that mean.

FollowupID: 396708

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:15

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:15
Good question Eric. I don't know what it means actually. I think I probably meant to say less talking more doing but my minds clear now after a night in the bush so I'll just crawl back into my hole. Good luck with it.
FollowupID: 396723

Reply By: Spango - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:41

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:41
This particular editor suffers from small hands and a large you know what.

AnswerID: 143123

Follow Up By: muzzimbidgie - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 19:54

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 19:54
He is rather immature IMO.

Anyone who has watched the hi country DVD will see what a silly bugger he really is.
FollowupID: 396651

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:19

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:19
yea I saw that vid of the high country.. what a total wank he is. when he started bragging something about balancing out the truck, with about 12 SLABS of VB, then when that tosser with that bleep box troopy started on about something when he was talkin about greasing the unis, said something stupid about VB a girls drink or something, I turned it off.
FollowupID: 396669

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:47

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:47
You should see ther cape Dvd they have no idea what anything is called and have left long lasting impression on the people in the cape. NOT.

FollowupID: 396709

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 13:22

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 13:22
I'm pretty sure it was the same mag that did a trip to the Cape. They made mention about the alcohol restrictions etc etc, then showed a number of pics of them drinking VB on the beach and at the tip??? Now I could be wrong but I thought there was no heavy beer permitted? Also the stupid comments they put on the spine of their mag gives an insight to their intellect.

This forum is more informative and far more honest.
FollowupID: 396738

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 15:49

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 15:49
Yep thats them

FollowupID: 396751

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 15:55

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 15:55
Truckster,

Just more of the typical crap from 4wd monthly.

Makes it tough for everyone else and while some people say we should ignore it, this typoe of stuff doesn't go away and in the end we will lose even more territory that we can go to. Scruby is probably barring up over this.

P?ss poor effort Pat.
AnswerID: 143131

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:52

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:52
As I said there motto is go hard or gone home they don't care.
I say go easy stay on the track don't crawl over any thing that doesn't move and keep it open for our kids kids kid's they keep going on there mission of destruction we will only be allowed in 4wd parks climbing up boulders with stubbies in the back and no need for any thing other than a fridge.

FollowupID: 396710

Reply By: crewser - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:02

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:02
If you have a look at carsales.com you will see it`s come up for sale all of a sudden?
Even comes with a road worth certifcate??
AnswerID: 143132

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 23:03

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 23:03
Got a URL on that? I cant find it there
FollowupID: 396679

Follow Up By: crewser - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 15:22

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 15:22
Truckster go to www. carsales.com.au and do a search for landcruisers priced between $40,000 - $45,000 in new south wales. should find it there.
FollowupID: 396750

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:07

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:07
It's being heavily discussed on all the major 4WD forums in Oz. Not a great day Pat ... not a great day for any of us.
AnswerID: 143133

Reply By: flappa - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:10

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:10
I was threatened with violence for mentioning this previously.
AnswerID: 143135

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:13

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:13
by whom?
FollowupID: 396631

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:50

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:50
Alright Flappa who threatened you?..!!
FollowupID: 396636

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:20

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:20
It was mentioned in another thread If I remember.

Wasnt it the email convo you had with them Flapp?
FollowupID: 396670

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 09:55

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 09:55
One of the members in defending said ed , suggested I should be able to back up my words if I came to Sydney.

Seems pretty clear to me
FollowupID: 396927

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 14:51

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 14:51
Hey Flappa,
Me personally I would'nt take it seriously,theres heaps of micraphone heroes everywhere you turn ! most of the time they go no further than a dog barking at you throught a fence ! mite make you jump...until you relise he's just barking thru the fence.....such as a forum...or a radio !..have your say,be it write or be it wrong its your opion and your entitalled to it....freedom of speach is dear to us all.
JD
FollowupID: 396965

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:12

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:12
JD , wasn't so much that. I can handle myself.

I was accused of hiding behind a "name" on the forum.

Funny thing is , I have been around longer then this bloke , and its the same name I use on a number of different forums.

A Lot of people know me personally , so I'm not really hiding as such.

They were just defending their forum , far enough , just misplaced I believe.

Most people who know me , know I call it as I see it . . . plenty of examples on here.

Anyway , its over . . . posts missing.
FollowupID: 396966

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:16

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:16
OK,Flappa, all the best, and have a merry Xmas.
"Keep your Wheels in the Dirt"
JD
FollowupID: 396975

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:50

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:50
Have your say and stuff em, flappa.
FollowupID: 396985

Reply By: Scubaroo - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:16

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:16
Has Scruby been putting on weight? Article says there is a growing lobby.

Or maybe he's bought some of those growth pills everyone keeps getting emailed about!!!
AnswerID: 143138

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:12

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:12
I have been saying it for a while now that particular mag is giving the 4wd community a bad name and every issue digs us deeper into the poo.

PS A very rare moment I agree with truckster.LOL

AnswerID: 143149

Follow Up By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 18:16

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 18:16
Gee wer'e getting a bit precious arn't we?

4inch lift and 35's is a monster truck???? and wer'e all joining scruby and slaging off at another 4by driver, fair enough you reckon the mags a crock of bleep e, but lets not become the enemy!

Browny
FollowupID: 396639

Follow Up By: John L G - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 18:17

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 18:17

I'm with you on this one.

I used to be a bit of a reader of that mag but after a while simply got sick and tired of the peurile commentary with poor information and everthing being related to the amount of beer drunk whilst demeaning the other half.

A joke once in a while is OK but it becomes a bit tedious issue after issue and sometimes found myself having to interpret what the hell they were trying to say amongst all the slang vernacular and skid talk.

It would seem that masculinity is some how related to stubbies consumed, illiteracy and 4WD ability - all a pretty lethal mix really.

And yes - they do us no favours.

John L G
FollowupID: 396640

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:02

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:02
Agreed - absolutely

Over the past couple of years, 4WDM has turned from an informative read into an incongruous mess. I'm oh-so tired of the 4WDM-specific slang which is forced upon you constantly - what the hell is a "hunjy"? I have respect for Rooth as a journo, but his beer-swilling efforts in this publication just seem to denigrate the 4WD cause and the way that the public perceives us ALL.

Time to stop pandering to the immature joy-boys and grow up. You'll sell more mags if you provide what the general 4WD'ing public want - information.
FollowupID: 396653

Follow Up By: Graham56 - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:04

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:04
Well put Browny, if everyone keeps on about it you will all give the selfproclaimed pedestrian saver Scrubie & the anti 4wd lobby exactly what they want, cos if you checked, most of our vehicles being modified would be breaking ADR's and state codes in one way or another.
But if they are silly enough to publish it let them let em wear it and be let it be done.
last thing we need to be seen doing is in fighting.

Graham
FollowupID: 396654

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:43

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:43
Agree with you browny mate.

Very precious indeed. It was a report on a modded vehicle and the article did mention a lot of things which will help out all who are considering suspension lifts.

I would lose count of mates I know running the same combo.

Let's worry about something more important.
FollowupID: 396862

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:03

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:03
So he isnt allowed to have a ilegal truck but you are ???

some people gees
AnswerID: 143162

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:16

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:16
whose is illegal?
Mines engineered right down to the modded pedals...
FollowupID: 396668

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 23:16

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 23:16
Mines illegal - Bald tyres but not much chance of getting caught 120k NW of Coolgardie
FollowupID: 396680

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:37

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:37
My A S S its ligal Bruce go and get a RWC regs book and we can go through it , Lets start with Sot light distances and go from there .
FollowupID: 396717

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:33

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:33
[ View Image]
The day it was engineered.
Inc the spotties, ONTOP of the bar which I asked him about, and he came back and said they were fine. He mentioned something about blocking viz at X mtrs from a seated position for the driver if I remember, but that was the only thing that worried me, and it didnt bother him.
FollowupID: 396885

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:54

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 22:54
Go get a RWC with your lights on and then come see me
FollowupID: 396887

Reply By: govo - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:56

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:56
Give it a break you guys..if you don't like the mag then don't buy it....just stop trying to tell those of us who do that we are doing the wrong thing ( yes i know , i must be a dumb redneck )...and as for newspaper articles like this , flip the page and forget it....like brownie said , have a look at your own vechiles and see how legal they are.
Ol Scrubby must read these posts and think yes more recruits for my stupid cause,my winging is finally getting thru.
Next thing we know the dogooders on here will be telling all us dumb redneacks to join his cause.
If you drive a 4wd then you are the enemy of this man so stop trying to make friends the idiot.
AnswerID: 143183

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:49

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:49
what are you smoking?

who is trying to make friends with anyone? Shall we all check with you in future before we are allowed to have our own opinion?

I've stopped, looked at mine 100% engineered and legal (suspension, tires, bodylift, and modded controls)...

Lucy, stop and look at yours that you had engineered few weeks ago, it could be dangerous if you dont stop and look.

What now?
FollowupID: 396675

Follow Up By: govo - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 12:03

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 12:03
Yer but Truckster what might be legal in vic might not be legal in nsw or qld...we all know how mixed up all the different state laws are for cars,4wd's and trucks, you only have to look at the mixed bag of road rules Australia has.
FollowupID: 396734

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:49

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:49
yer but thats soon to change with all states due to come into line with each other by the year 3400.

They been sayin it for yrs, but apparently this time they mean it. Will be awesome for Qlders...
FollowupID: 396865

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 23:26

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 23:26
Jees Truckie, I did'nt know they'd moved the implementation date forward :)))))))
FollowupID: 396890

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 01:55

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 01:55
Those illegal modifications provide profits to some aftermarket suppliers who advertise in the mag.

The guys who like those mods are probably young revheads - hence the way articles are written.

This is why there was the bragging in the mag about the illegal mods, however it backfired.

Now there will be ongoing scrutiny of the mag for more ammo to use against the 4X4 community.
AnswerID: 143208

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:38

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:38
Is Pat's other hack "Milo" legal?
AnswerID: 143220

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:54

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:54
Sorry - I think it's "Otis", not Milo that I'm referring to - the little blue thing on steroids.
FollowupID: 396720

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:44

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:44
Unlikely, I've often wondered the same thing myself.
Commodore V6 in a Suzuki, that should require all sorts of things being looked at to be roadworthy!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 396726

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:29

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:29
apparently yes it is.

In which case, sky is the limit for bigger trucks
FollowupID: 396801

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 22:35

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 22:35
Who cares...most of us run big tyres and suspension. We'd all be whingen' if he was driven a Holden Cruize or Vitara. Least he's a serious player. What size tyres you runnin trucky??? And what lift?
AnswerID: 143289

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:28

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 23:28
4inch and 33/34's..
why do you ask? what does that have to do with anything?

Just cause he is a "serious player" (he may do 1-2 comp a yr - serious?) means he can break the law..
kewl.
FollowupID: 396800

Follow Up By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:36

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:36
Well if you and I break the law and I'd say at least 50% of every other four wheel drives on the road with illegal lift and tyres, why can't he? Because he's the editor of a Four Wheel Drive magazine? And when I say serious player and mention small 4wd's, I mean at least he's out there actually interested in the industry and up to his proverbials runnin' different trucks.
FollowupID: 396860

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:48

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 20:48
Where am I breaking the law?
FollowupID: 396864

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 10:04

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 10:04
Quote: Well if you and I break the law and I'd say at least 50% of every other four wheel drives on the road with illegal lift and tyres, why can't he?

Thats the whole point ?

People are up in arms with new rego's coming into play in regards to mods. Why are these new mods coming in , because people dont abide by the OLD ones . . .

You look at ANY 4wd forum (and performance car for that matter) , and see the number of people running blatantly obvious illegal vehicles , and openly talk about it.

Mostly oversize tyres.

Yes , its silly , yes , its a PITA , but , its the LAW.

Both my 4wds are 100% legal , and I know a lot of people that pay LOTS of $$$ to have their 4wds legal. Its these people that are suffering from folks that cant be bothered.

If people bothered to get their vehicles legal in the first place ,this stuff wouldn't happen.
AnswerID: 143426

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:54

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:54
"because people dont abide by the OLD ones"

They don't because the authorities don't police their own regulations enough. So now they'll implement more draconian legislation but will they enforce it?
FollowupID: 396987

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 17:02

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 17:02
you are right of course.

Catch 22 , people dont worry about the rules , because no one enforces the rules , so , they make harder rules.

If people abided by the rules , there would be no need for new rules , but , again , as you say , they need to be enforced in the first place . . .
FollowupID: 396989

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 17:07

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 17:07
Unfortunately laws are only for the law abiding who, by definition, don't need them.

Wow !!! That's bloody deep gramps. Better take an extra dose of Geritol :))))
FollowupID: 396990

Reply By: PatNav - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:02

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:02
For those who think that vehicle mods aren't necessary obviously dont use their 4wd's properly. When you actually do get off the beaten track you quickly find that a near standard vehicle WILL let you down and you WILL be hoping that someone like Pat in their "illegal" monster is nearby to get you out.
AnswerID: 143553