Can you Belive this ....

Submitted: Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:07
ThreadID: 28736 Views:4260 Replies:14 FollowUps:18
This was in todays Sydney newspaper....

"4WD Lobbyist flouting law with monster truck"

The editor of Australia's biggest selling 4wd magazinehas been driving around Sydney in a modified monster truck that his own publication braned "Illegal".
Publisher Pat Callinan has been regularly commuting to work in Silverwater from his Blue Mountains home in a Toyota landcruiser that he kitted out with raised suspension and over $27.000.00 worth of modifications.

The vehicle dubbed the "camel cruiser" was featured in a front page story in 4wd Monthly in June 2005. The story documented a 72 hour operation to turn an average factory edition landcruiser into a "dessert eating beast" that sits above toyota's specifications.

But having given the modified vehicle a big thumbs up for its offraod potential,4WD Monthly's automotive engineer John Varirtidimis warned itw as unsuitable to be driven on NSW roads.

"As it stands, with the 35-inch tyres and the 4-inch lift, the cruiser is a whisker too high to be lagal in NSW. THe law states that the headlights cannot be more than 1200mm above ground level". HE was quoted as telling the magazine. :so I'll have to investigate the possibility of some33-inch tyres or lower the springs"

Haven ridden "rough shot" over the law for nearly 6 months Mr Callinan admitted yesterday that he had NOT made a single alteration to the vehilce. He conceded the suspension was still illegal but said the natural "settings" of the springs had probably dropped the height back to within appropriate parameters.

Details of the truck raised the ire of the growing lobby against modified 4wds yesterday.
"Once you start fiddling with raising the cars above what manufaturers specify, you turn them into death machines". Pedestrian council president HArold Scruby said.

Australasian College of roade safety president Raphael Grizebieta said raising a vehicle lifted its centre of gravity, making it more suseptible to a roll over in a crash.

Pictures of the cruiser and Pat Callinan were included in the article but i dont see the need to post them here.
Personally i cant believe they took my money for that article, Well i cantell you they wont be taking any more money off me.
Knowing full well the vehicle was illegal at the time and continuing to drive it on public streest is even worse. Especially from someone in the know.

I was discusted when i read it today. I am glad he didnt kill anyone..imagien if he had an accident with your 4wd....try getting his insurance company to pay for your damages after they found out it was illegally driven.

This is why i get so annoyed when people in the know try and get away with this stuff.

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:10

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:10
Pat runs a magazine that generates a revenue stream by pretending to be a useful read - a "reference manual" on the 4WD lifestyle, and, as such - has a responsibility to his readership. If they condone an illegal truck - and then run around in it - they are just plain naive to think that it won't get out.

Scruby will have an absolute FIELD DAY with this.
AnswerID: 143116

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:56

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:56
Has Mr Scuby finally admitted that standard 4wds are safe????

In the article he said:

"Once you start fiddling with raising the cars (4wds ed) above what manufaturers specify, you turn them into death machines". Pedestrian council president HArold Scruby said.

So ergo, standard 4wds must NOT be death machines - now that would be a first from Mr Scuby.
AnswerID: 143126

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 19:27

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 19:27
I don’t know about other 4WD’s but I can say with 100% confidant’s that the After market Sprigs that I put on my 4WD have made it more stable.

I am not condoning what they did, I read the article and think I still have the Mag around somewhere, but that project was well over the TOP and they should of know it before they did it, Where would you need a 4-Inch lift with 35-Inch tyres on a Land-cruiser which already has respectable ride height. As I recall they couldn’t even get the thing stuck/ Bogged and had to purposely get it stuck on an obstacle just for a photo, and even then I don’t even think it was truly stuck.

Also what was the point behind the article, To give uncle Harold some more ammunition, if you read the article in 4WD Monthly they make a comment on how bad the handling really is on the road, I think, let’s hope the PCA don’t get a copy of that piece of literature.
FollowupID: 396647

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 14:21

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 14:21
I'm with you Exploder, I've got a 2" lift on the surf, no rear sway bar but I have HD springs, Firestone Air Helpers and Rancho 9000 shocks in the rear and the car corners better than ever. What a load of crap, like 10mm is going to make the car unsafe. Get over it, Mr Scruvy is a complete knob and we all this, I have told him this on several occasions personally. He's just stiring trouble as per usual. Sure this guys writing the magazine probally shouldn't have been driving it after publising that it was "illegal" but c'mon, get a grip on reality it's not like it's got machine guns turrents poking out of the sunroof! Maybe if he let the tyre pressures down to the "manufactuer recommended" 28psi it might be low enough to meet the requirements... complete garbage, waste of time reading bull bleep .
FollowupID: 396745

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:50

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 16:50
Death machine? sounds like something out of war of the worlds or when the machines took over in terminater. But fair dinkum I dont really care most of us do Illegal stuff at times by giving that article airtime here you are giving the wankers that look for any excuse to whinge a reason to exist
AnswerID: 143145

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:05

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 17:05
I have been saying it for a while now that particular mag is giving the 4wd community a bad name.

AnswerID: 143147

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 18:19

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 18:19
Hear Hear Eric....Does it's best to be " sensationalist"....
FollowupID: 396767

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 18:06

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 18:06
But at the end of the day, we do flout the law with illegal lifts, illegal wheels & tyres, illegal lights, illegally disconnected suspension components etc etc.
So we are really our own worst enemies giving the Scrubys of this world plenty of ammo to throw back at us!
AnswerID: 143154

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 19:29

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 19:29
Yes that’s right, but most are a little more Ummm.. Incognito, and don’t stand out like tit’s on a bull.

FollowupID: 396648

Follow Up By: govo - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:40

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:40
Try being the editor of a 4x4 mag and be incognito...Pat would be walking around with a cross hair on him all the time
FollowupID: 396664

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 00:38

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 00:38
99.9999% of the population would'nt know him from a bar of soap. He's hardly a recognisable public figure.
FollowupID: 396692

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:22

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:22
Dead right Gramps. I don't have any idea what this Pat bloke looks like at al
FollowupID: 396725

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:01

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 20:01
Why , do yo uthink that your car is legal ? if i want to follow the letter of the law on any car , it will be taken off the road. Sounds like you should be reading Australian 4x4 instead
AnswerID: 143161

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:41

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:41
Is that 4x4 australia they have been around a lot longer than that other mag and so has overlander.

FollowupID: 396705

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:41

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:41
Yes been around a lot longer , but not selling any were near the copies .

So its telling you what the majority market wants,

Like the lowered car debate I had to listen to when i was younger , now I have to listen to why is it so high ... I give up
FollowupID: 396718

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:50

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:50
But for how much longer its like a kids teen mag against the others.

all the best
FollowupID: 396719

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:56

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 09:56
that question was asked when I was younger also about Street machine , quess what ,,,, still number one lol
FollowupID: 396721

Reply By: govo - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:35

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 21:35
Quote...''Australasian College of roade safety president Raphael Grizebieta said raising a vehicle lifted its centre of gravity, making it more suseptible to a roll over in a crash.''

Thats why he's the president, he know's these things...derrrrrrrr

But cokeaddict....l think it was just targeting Pat Callinan, even if he was driving scrubby's RAV4 they would still find something to whinge about and dare l say it...l think it's a great mag, not like all the other political correct 4x4 mags and it is the biggest seeling 4x4 mag in aussie so they must be doing something right.
AnswerID: 143178

Reply By: sudsy - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:49

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:49
The CAMEL CRUISER is for sale now too is anyone is interested.
According to 4wd monthly forum they want to start their next project.

I'm curious. What is it about the Camel Cruiser that is illegal in NSW?
AnswerID: 143187

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:53

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 22:53
tires, suspension lift, etc etc ..
None of it is engineered.
FollowupID: 396676

Reply By: WheelTravel - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 23:59

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 23:59
Somebody on another forum put it perfectly...

His credibility is shot to $hit! As somebody who is meant to be a spokesman for the 4wd community, people will just view him as "That guy who drives illegal 4wds".
AnswerID: 143199

Reply By: ShnogDog - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 00:35

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 00:35
nice one Pat...you idiot
AnswerID: 143203

Reply By: craig - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 00:48

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 00:48
All this for 5mm, Please!
AnswerID: 143206

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:20

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 10:20
Bloody joke isn't it and apparently it's down now. As usual it's the people doing the moaning that are the problem.
FollowupID: 396724

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:38

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:38
Broke the eleventh commandment....thou shalt not get caught.

AnswerID: 143213

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:43

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:43
Your rite he got caught but they flaunt the fact.

FollowupID: 396706

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:54

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:54
Too true - not clever, not smart.

"Ya can't kick a tiger up the arse and not expect to get bitten" (although in old Hazza'a case it'd be more like a pussy).
FollowupID: 396711

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:57

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 07:57
As I said there motto is go hard or gone home they don't care.
I say go easy stay on the track don't crawl over any thing that doesn't move and keep it open for our kids kids kid's.IF they keep going on there mission of destruction we will only be allowed in 4wd parks climbing up boulders with stubbies in the back and no need for any thing other than a fridge.

All The best
AnswerID: 143215

Reply By: Member - Damian R (SA) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 11:30

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 11:30
This issue has been going round and round for so long now.. it is soo frustrating to be "labelled " with the cowboys and soccer mums who do give us al a bad name.. Soccer mums who don't know the dangers of what they are driving and drive the BMW like it's a sedan and the cowboyslike the clown in 4WD monthly who over modify their vehciles and then cause damage.. BUT.. I wonder inthe Pedestrian Council also considers all the Hoons and twits cruising arouns in illegally lowered cars.. with illegal sound systems, exhausts and speed.. It's one thing to be in a car that has greater visitibilt and is generally slwer than most, but what abouty the plethora of "stereet racing machines".. why doesn't he back off the odd twit 4WD enthusuast who goes too far and start focusing onthe hubndreds and hundreds of your hooligans who modify their machines to be extrmemely fast/dangerous "death machines" especially in the hands of the usually inexcperienced driver. Cheers .. my 2 cents FWIW..
AnswerID: 143228

Follow Up By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 11:37

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 11:37
I agree with what you are saying but we need to clean up our sandpit, not try and deflect the attention elsewhere.
FollowupID: 396731

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 12:57

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 12:57
“Death Machines” that generalising a bit isn’t it a bit like “Urbane assault Vehicles”

We all have a right to drive on the roads and like everywhere there will always be some bleep s, Everything look’s bad if you look at it hard enough.

Apparently Perth has a Hoon problem, well I am yet to find it.
FollowupID: 396736

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 14:29

Saturday, Dec 10, 2005 at 14:29
"Apparently Perth has a Hoon problem, well I am yet to find it."
Yeah I've been stuck at home with the baby,not much time for it these days! LMAO! Man you should see the automatic 4 cylinder diesel head off from the lights! WOWIE!
FollowupID: 396746