Crocs and water crossings

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:22
ThreadID: 29074 Views:2827 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Hi Guys,

Recently someone enquired about walking across etc and was advised that crocs don't like fast flowing water. Have a go at this guy, he was about 3 to 4 meters long and was surfing against a very fast current (probably 20 knots). He was making it look easy with only gentle tail movements - I'd hate to see him in a hurry.

This is the crossing with some current flowing. We can call that myth busted.

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:40

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:40
Beatit, that guy is braver than me to go across that crossing in that current. Another job for the SES!!
AnswerID: 145005

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:47

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:47
I thought so but there were some locals that came across in a Commodore just before that, now I reckon they were testing their luck. There are some interesting croc stories about Cahills Crossing and there was a fatality there in 1987. This water comes up fast as well (almost a blink of the old eye). I was on the $10,000 side with my back turned to the saltwater side when my buddy said "have a look" - turned around to find the mud had changed to water right up to the top of the crossing. Could'n cross quickly enough.

FollowupID: 398537

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:05

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:05
Mate i have seen crocs swimming out at sea at least 5km out from the nearest land against the current and on the reef. In my opinion never trust any water in croc country. Like honestly its a predator that lives in the water and will chase you on land, the guy crossing that river has some serious confidence in himsef and the 4wd good on him. I noticed that it is about 600mm of water according to the depth gage but flowing fast. I wonder who whould get out of the 4wd first if he stopped?
AnswerID: 145010

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:29

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:29
Just on that note, when at Malcolm Douglas's croc farm it was pointed out that even though some enclosures had both big and little ponds. The big crocs seemed to favour the liittle pond, some no bigger than a kiddies pool. When you see these buggers fly out of these little ponds you come to realise they could be anywhere. You are dead right about these crocs they haven't been around for 200 million years without adapting to catch a meal. A lot of common sense is required when in croc country, our only hope is to outsmart them so as not to become a meal.

FollowupID: 398545

Reply By: hoyks - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:13

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:13
I saw a show a few years ago and it had a bunch of Aboriginal kids spear fishing for barra up on Cape York.
They were walking up a tidal creek and when they came to a waterhole out would come the spear and they would stab at random into the muddy water and try their luck.
There was this one waterhole that looked about 6m by 3m and wasn't even 1m deep (one of the kids was wading in it) and they started stabbing the spear about. Next thing they know the water boils and a 4m croc comes snapping out of the water and kids start heading in all directions.
They all had big grins and thought it was hilarious; I would have pooed myself to death right there.
AnswerID: 145030

Reply By: AndyGU - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:52

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:52
Heard a great theory on how to check a northern river for crocs, whilst 4WDing:

Drive up to river, stop, reverse, back vehicle into river JUST enough to wet the tyres, drive back out the way you came. Brew up close to river, with wet tyre tracks showing your 'exit' from river. Wait for next vehicle to approach.

Option 1: Vehicle approaches from other side of river and proceeds through without checking depth. He's solved your question for you, either successfully or otherwise!

Option 2: Vehicle approaches from either side, occupant walks crossing then follows in vehicle. Same result, he's solved the question for you.

Option 3 (this one's nasty!): Vehicle approaches from either side and sees you on side of river enjoying a coffee. Driver asks you if the crossing is OK. You point to your (hopefully) still wet tyre marks showing 'exit' from river and advise everything is OK. Driver then negotiates river! Solves question for you.

So there you have it, you haven't got wet, sunk your 4WD, been eaten, and enjoyed a nice relaxing coffee whilst chatting to passersby!

Please don't try these at home.
AnswerID: 145044

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:34

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:34
An old hand once told me that there was only one thing to remember about a salty.
"His one aim in life is to eat you !"
I've always remembered that and behaved accordingly.
AnswerID: 145052

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:45

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:45
Yeh, what they lack in brain they make up for in cunning. Doesn't take them long to work out there is a meal on offer if you repeat your actions near any water to often. I think the golden rule is something like the 3rd day.

FollowupID: 398567

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:22

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:22
Hey Beatit - that 3 day thing is a good way to become lizard tucker. How would you know that someone else hadn't been at the same spot on the previous 2 days and you just happen to wander along on day 3 thinking "I'm safe for 2 more days"? Best to tread warily all the time when near croc territory!
FollowupID: 398584

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:29

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:29
Trust me, I do. And I agree with you 100% particularly when it comes to crossings, boat ramps and generally cleared access points in croc country.

FollowupID: 398586

Reply By: Rigor - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:43

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:43
My experience from many years ago at yellow waters in Kakadu , one of the crossings on the way back to pine creek we came across an "alternate" couple in a HK Holden wagon in the middle of the creek with the water almost up to the windows . After pulling it out (what a site, water pouring from all the rust holes" looked back at the creek and MRs atternate was breast feeding a child on a log in the middle of the creek only metres from the sign warning of satlies in the area. Takes all types I guess , bold or ignorant , who knows.

Dave L
AnswerID: 145054

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:56

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:56
Crocks may be dangerous but they still have there standards ha ha LOL
FollowupID: 398568

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:03

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:03
Yes mate, that was me espousing that bit of wisdom. I would err on the side of caution to say that it is a myth.

I am no croc expert but crocs are lazy and will take the easy way out. It is possible that the croc did not intend to be in that strong current or it may also be possible that it was there intentionally. And yes, they are fast in the water and can do about 40kmh on land for a very short distance.

Having spent 20 years in the top of the NT one sees many things. Cahills Crossing is especially dangerous and it is always best to time your crossing with the tidal change when the crossing is dry. The South and East Alligator Rivers flow at about 12 knots. Occasionally you will see a shark fin near the crossing as well. The bloke pushing through that water in the pic is taking a risk.

Friends of mine had a horror crossing after being offered a tow across the river after ignition problems. The tow rope came loose and they drifted off downstream, the Pajero capsized and sank and only the quick thinking of a boatie nearby saved them from becoming croc dinner.

The years of human activity at the crossing have brought the crocs closer, always looking for a chance feed. Even a short while after that bloke was taken by a croc at the Crossing, people would stand close to the water trying to catch the elusive barra. Talk to them and they reply that they know what they are doing.

Never smile at a crocodile!!!
AnswerID: 145070

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:27

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:27
G'day Willem,

This particular specimen was fishing. We watched him for a while and he would know something was coming over and attempt a catch, didn't actually see him catch anything but he sure had something big bailed up in the far corner. We were advised by the locals to fish the last bit of the runoff when the fresh side clears up somewhat.

Couldn't think of a worse way to go, so just want to save anyone from that experience if possible. BTW the scariest croc experience for me was fishing the blue hole at Derby, was told by locals that there were some bigguns there and not to go unarmed - didn't see one and it spooked the hell out of me.

FollowupID: 398585

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:41

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:41
Hi Beatit

Yes, crocs are bloody scary things and I have had a number of very close encounters with them.

In that previous post I also stated that road crossings weren't normally built in areas where salties are found, forgetting Cahills Crossing. Sometimes one can look for slide marks on the embankments of the rivers, but where there is a big tidal change it is difficult.

One night we had a croc walk within 50 metres of our camp in Gurig National Park from a billabong to the sea. We built a 'wall' of jerrycans, old tins and buckets between us and that spot for the rest of our stay there :o) But we did not see it again

FollowupID: 398589

Follow Up By: banjodog - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 18:16

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 18:16
Many years ago my wife and I visited her parents that were living in Darwin. We all went down to the Daily River (?) and stayed at the local camping ground for a few days.

The next day we hired one of the campsite tinnies - so we could go barra fishing. Off we all went with about a hand-span free board in this beaten-up boat, supposedly 4 seater, with a 5hp motor – we passed tens of crocks about 4 metres laying on the river bank – almost black in colour – we’re damn lucky to be alive as we heard stories later that night how some crocks hate the sound of outboard motors and lunge at or into the boat.

I get a cold sweat now reading this post of just think how lucky we were not to have anything happen to us.

FollowupID: 398629

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 11:52

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 11:52
banjodog,

I reckon many years ago the crocs were a little worried that a tinnie contained a shooter and I understand that by and large they made themselves scarce at the sound of an outboard. Today, however they have lost that fear and they have had a chance to grow a lot since shooting was banned. It would seem to me to be more of an issue now than when you did it. I have heard (twice) of crocs taking shortcuts through tinnies because someone has come around a bend fast and close to shore but I doubt a 5 HP with 4 on board would have had that effect.

FollowupID: 398768