Garmin GPS MAP 60 cs

Submitted: Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:01
ThreadID: 29493 Views:2610 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
This Thread has been Archived
G'day Folks. Well I'm finally looking to purchase a gps and am seriously looking at the Garmin GPSMAP60C/CS. I intend to use it in the bush both in the vehicle and mounted on the bike whenever we head bush. Has anyone own/had dealings with them? Issues,pitfalls etc would be appreciated.
Cheers
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Big Woody - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:15

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:15
Hi madcow,

I have had the Garmin GPS Map60CS for almost 3 years now.

I use it in the 4wd and the motorbike in the bush with Tracks4Australia loaded.
I use it when travelling throughout Oz with Metroguide.
I use it in the yacht with Bluecharts loaded.

It is absolutely fantastic. Some of the others with a big screen might be handy in the car but they are not waterproof for the other activities I use it for.

I haven't got anything negative to say about iot and it certainly has a lot of extra features that other GPS units don't have that I use regularly like tide calculator etc.

I like having all of the buttons at the bottom of the unit where your fingers aren't in the way of the screen like some other models.

The 56 MB memory is plenty big enough to have all of the marine charts from Sydney to the Whitsunday's, Metroguide and Tracks4Australia for the Eastern half of Oz all loaded at the same time.

Yell out if you have any other questions.

Brett
AnswerID: 147339

Follow Up By: madcow - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:46

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:46
Thanks for that Brett. It certainly looks the goods. Your right about the screen size but I intend to use it mainly exposed to the elements.

Cheers Dave
0
FollowupID: 400672

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 17:08

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 17:08
I've got one too and I am extremeny impressed, but go for City Navigator ver 6.1 instead ofr Metroguide, many many more roads and autorouting too. Great unit
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 400755

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 22:14

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 22:14
My next investment is going to be an external antenna for the car as I want to keep accurate track logs but signal can be patchy at times when mounted on the dashboard.

This is not a 60CS thing but goes for any GPS.

Brett
0
FollowupID: 400850

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 22:17

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 22:17
yes I find much better access in treed areas with the external antenna
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 400851

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:45

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:45
Hi madcow

Brett has pretty much covered everything. Garmin have really done their homework with the 60C. I've had one for about 6 months. You have to look really hard to find something you don't like about it - I'm still looking.

Jeff

AnswerID: 147345

Follow Up By: madcow - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:48

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 09:48
I understand Garmin are updating their mapping software later on this year that should include a lot more detail than is currently available. I'm convinced enough to buy one it's a matter of where and how much i can get it for.l

Thanks :)
0
FollowupID: 400674

Follow Up By: hl - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 13:16

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 13:16
Hi,

More detail?

I have one with the City Select map set, and it has every city and town in Australia.... even a street map of Tibooburra (unlikely to get lost there, though)

The only limitation is the memory if you want to load auto routing software such as city navigator. It will hold Sydney in City Nav (about 30Meg) and almost the rest of australia in City Select at the same time, so you have to delete some places. Not a really big deal as you are unlikely to be in WA and Tassie at the same time. If you have a laptop with you, you can also load maps as required or even let the Laptop do voice prompted navigation.
It is a great unit. Another plus is that it runs off 2 AA batteries, not one of those proprietary Li-Ion types that cost an arm and a leg.

Cheers
0
FollowupID: 400706

Follow Up By: madcow - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 13:43

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 13:43
A mate runs trailbike tours around here and has come across tracks that were not on his Garmin gps but were on somone else's Magellan brand. Wether it is software related I'm not sure but I am lead to believe as previously mentioned an update is coming hopefully listing more of the obscure tracks.
0
FollowupID: 400713

Follow Up By: hl - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 13:49

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 13:49
Ok, we're talking tracks.
Look at this site,
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/tracks4australia/

They will mostly fit into the 60CS along with Cityselect

Cheers
0
FollowupID: 400714

Follow Up By: madcow - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 14:35

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 14:35
Cheers, thanks for that. Mate it will a new learning curve to keep the grey matter busy but I'm looking forward to it.
0
FollowupID: 400722

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 17:11

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 17:11
City Navigator 6.1 just released - perfect
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 400757

Reply By: Terryfied - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 15:46

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 15:46
Shoparound a bit as I originally paid $900.00 for mine and I am sure Whitworths marine have the same 60c for $680.00 at present.(I also agree this is a good gps.)

Terry
AnswerID: 147418

Reply By: wheeler - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 17:11

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 17:11
I have had a 60cs for about 18 months loaded with tracks 4 aust, metroguide and city nav 6. Awsome bit of gear. I use it in the car as a turn by turn street navigator and in the bush in both the car and on my dirtbike. Had a small issue with the on/off switch a few months ago. Returned it to Garmin and they replaced the whole unit under warranty, even though it had expired. Awesome service. There is a new model coming out shortly that has expandeable memory and new mapping is not far away as well.
AnswerID: 147434

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 22:20

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 22:20
what problem did you have with the on-off switch? mines just starting to get a bit dicky after 9 months
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 400852

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 22:23

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 22:23
And also if I may ask where did you return it to?
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 400853

Follow Up By: wheeler - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 07:46

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 07:46
Bonz
When the unit was left in the car in hot temperartures, the on/off button got a little soft and wouldnt compress properly. Was fine after the air con cooled it down to normal temps, but was alittle annoying. I returned it to the local GME dealer thinking I would just buy a new switch, but they replaced the whole unit. Great service.
0
FollowupID: 400883

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 17:51

Monday, Jan 09, 2006 at 17:51
Some people have found that it is rather hard to mount them safely on a bicycle so that they are not damaged if the bike falls over.

Check out the price on Amazon.com but they will only deliver to an address in the USA. I have just ordered a 76CS but only because of the larger memory. As prev mentioned new models with expanded memory should be out soon so the price should be dropping on the older models (thats way they are so cheap at Amazon).
AnswerID: 147443

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 07:59

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 07:59
Thanks for that guys, I was quoted $820 here yesterday. I am intending to buy one in the next couple of months waiting for new models to come out and hopefully a price drop. I'll check out whitworths today.

Ta
AnswerID: 147535

Follow Up By: WillyWish - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 22:52

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 22:52
www.gpscity.com (US but will ship to Australia) You will pay customs and GST on arrival but should work out alot cheaper still....I've used them heaps.

Will.
0
FollowupID: 401215

Follow Up By: Big Woody - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 23:02

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 23:02
Hi WilliyWish,

It is OK to buy standard GPS units from the U.S.A. but if you buy a Map series GPS from another country it will not have the Australian Base Map installed in the unit.
All units come with a base map from the date of manufacture and is part of the unit and cannot be changed.
If you intend to install any of the Mapsource range of products and use them then when you install them they will override the base map and it will work as normal.
It is not a big deal except for someone who just wants to use the unit as a GPS unit only without one of the mapping products available.

Cheers,
Brett
0
FollowupID: 401217

Sponsored Links

Popular Products (13)