4X4Mag -4WD CAR of the YEAR . zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 18:04
ThreadID: 29540 Views:2989 Replies:7 FollowUps:25
Have you ever read one of these boring as bats poop articles . All the 4WD mags seem to think these articles are essential and have to conduct their own pathetic nonsensical competition . Yawn .

In the latest 4X4 Australia ( Feb issue - yes , thats right , FEBRUARY - are you behind the times or what ) we get a sneak preview of the upcoming competition .
A SNEAK PREVIEW - I nearly wet my pants with excitement when I saw it . I just cant' wait to see if they think a Hyundai Terrcan is better than a V8 Supercharged Range Rover.

Cheers ,

Willie

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 18:18

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 18:18
february?...your reading last years willie
AnswerID: 147633

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 18:33

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 18:33
Hi Nudie ,
Get with it - that's the Feb 06 Issue . Maybe that's why its so interesting - they are just so far ahead of the pack .
FollowupID: 400957

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 18:34

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 18:34
I liked you better as a garden Gnome .
FollowupID: 400958

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 07:27

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 07:27
so did I but Xmas is over
FollowupID: 401032

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 18:06

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 18:06
Hope last years willie is the same as this years willie

I just got the Feb 2006 4x4

FollowupID: 401141

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 18:12

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 18:12
Make no bonz about it - you're giving me the willies.
FollowupID: 401142

Reply By: roofscooter2 - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 18:22

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 18:22
have yuo got incontinence with you last years willie .
AnswerID: 147634

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 19:00

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 19:00
I am disintegrating as I type . oops , gotta go , nature calls .
FollowupID: 400962

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 19:03

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 19:03
You still waste your money on that expensive bush toilet paper?
AnswerID: 147643

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 20:03

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 20:03
I have to have SOMETHING , to whinge about .
Willie .
FollowupID: 400972

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 20:04

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 20:04
Buy Penthouse, at least theres not many ads in there, and we can all come over and look over it together, and complain our missus have never looked like that :(
FollowupID: 400973

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 17:52

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 17:52
Pfft speek for yourself truckster- i am one of the lucky buggers that has a Gf that looks like a playboy bunny :)

Frank
FollowupID: 401139

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 19:38

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 19:38
hi willie
LAND ROVER ARE TAKING OVER THE WORLD
that would be interinsting
SNAILBAIT
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 147649

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 20:01

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 20:01
Snailbait ,
Is that a world where there is no dust ?
Willie .
FollowupID: 400971

Reply By: gramps - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 21:02

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 21:02
Hey brother !!! Good to see you're back. Give those useless rags heaps. As posted above 'outback dunny paper' but probably not much good for that either :)))))
AnswerID: 147667

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 21:28

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 21:28
Hi Gramps ,
I'm back , I'm fit , I'm dangerous . My kids gave me a "Little Britain " T shirt for Christmas . Looks very fetching stretched over my gut and says "Only Gay in the Village ".
Of course , I look good in anything .
Willie .
FollowupID: 400997

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 21:32

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 21:32
If my kids gave me one of those I'd be spending their inheritance faster than you can say new Landcruiser :))
FollowupID: 400998

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 08:20

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 08:20
Hahahaha good on ya Willie.

Footloose,
Do we really need a reason to spend our kids inheritance? It just comes naturally to me :)))))
FollowupID: 401035

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:24

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:24
Too slippery
FollowupID: 401040

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:40

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:40
Ray,
Just like their Editors :))))))
FollowupID: 401043

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:49

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:49
Gramps, I'm leaving them my debts as well and guess which will be the larger ? :))
FollowupID: 401045

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:00

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:00
Footloose,

LOL Precisely why mine threaten to disown me, amongst many other reasons hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 401049

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 21:42

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 21:42
On a serious note, give all ya mags to the local school, Cams classroom was full of hacked 4b photos this year when I handed mine and mates old collection to the class... Educate the kids young!!!!!!!

They were doing Transport at the time!
AnswerID: 147678

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 22:58

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 22:58
Yeah, picked up that edition myself. This issue is a real let down. Editor at large gets his rig on the cover and a story. We have a suspension comaro conducted by the supplier of Edelbrock shocks who also get a separate breakout box "Edelbrock's Secrets" just to make sure we know they have a feature Bilstien don't. And NO KONI in the comparo, get real. Then there is the competition stuff, nothing against it but surely it's time for a specialist mag for that. I enjoyed the RR Sport vs ML 350 piece, but can read about them again next month in the 4by of the year. Then we have the usual reader (fashion victim) buildup to prove who can buy as much stuff advertised in the self same mag, need it or not.

Personally I think this market has matured to the point where they need to specialise more. Separate publications for competition, touring, road tests/equipment comparo's like the mainstream car titles. And let's not forget the ultimate title, not 4WD of the year but "Expensive pimped up showponymobile gullibe wanker of the year". That should be a good one.
AnswerID: 147694

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 23:00

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 23:00
Serious, why do people buy these mags?

THey have been the same worthless dribble for years..

Let me guess Ederlbrocks did well in the comparo, probably won..

then in 4 mths when OME pay for the test they will win... then in 4 mths when Lucky Chows shocks pay for testing they will win.. then in .....
FollowupID: 401013

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 23:05

Tuesday, Jan 10, 2006 at 23:05
"Serious, why do people buy these mags? "

That's easy, so we can put shait on them!

FollowupID: 401016

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 00:11

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 00:11
Your local Dr doesnt have em? Mine does LOL
FollowupID: 401026

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:39

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:39
I buy these mags because I like to read about any new gadget that comes onto the market for camping or the Cruiser. I like to look at all the camper and gear ads and I often go to their websites to check them out .

I have never read a word of one of those off road comp. articles .

I never read those comparisons between cars as they are too scared to say anything negative about either .

The other dud thing is the lightweight touring articles that deal with "The Kimberley" in a 3 page article which is 60% photos .
Why can't they ever pick a really out of the way spot and do a real in-depth report on it ?

FollowupID: 401042

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:57

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 09:57
Dare I say it??? Is it because they rarely go to some of these places and actually put the info together from various third party sources .... oh, darn....... I said it :))))))
FollowupID: 401048

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 11:46

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 11:46
Willie but arent the ads the same every month? Once you have the URL, bookmark them, and go back to them once a month to check it out!

There are only a few new items each month, just read about htem in the agency and take note of URL!

As you say, the tests on trucks are a waste of time, they havent had an objective test in years.. As you say, TOO SCARED TO SAY this truck is absolutely MANURE!

The "touring articles", they arent smart enough to put too much text in there, that would cost money by having extra pages, which may equate to respectable value, or that they could charge anotehr $5 for the magazine.

Serious I cant see anything worth while, most magazines have info online now inc 4x4 aust.. 4wd mthly, and Overrated...

Each to their own.
FollowupID: 401064

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 17:49

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 17:49
Truckster ,

Do you mean that I have been going to the same sites every month and not realising it ??? That's a worry . There was a good article this month on groundhogs .

It is a pity that someone cannot come out with one that is less reliant on advertising and more aimed at people that wanted in depth travel articles and in depth product reports that you could believe .

Willie .
FollowupID: 401138

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:08

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:08
It is a pity that someone cannot come out with one that is less reliant on advertising and more aimed at people that wanted in depth travel articles and in depth product reports that you could believe.

I THINK YOU HIT IT ON THE HEAD RIGHT THERE.
FollowupID: 401251