Nissan Pathfinder

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 23:10
ThreadID: 29708 Views:12214 Replies:4 FollowUps:10
This Thread has been Archived
I am currently looking at buying a 4wd in the next 6 months or so. I am looking at the Prado or the Pathfinder. At this stage the Pathfinder is in front. Does anyone have any feedback good or bad about the current Pathfinder. I have no experience in this area and would greatly appreciate any advice i can get. Has anyone had any problems with it? My intended use is around town (4 kids and don't want a people mover), beach runs and genaral 4wding that is not to extreme.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 00:47

Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 00:47
We had a previous model 2003 Pathfinder TI. It was a very luxurious and capable 4WD but lacked range. The new model still has the range problem. Admittedly it is only relevant when on long outback treks, but the Prado has a 180litre tank.

I presume that you intend to use at least one of the third row of seats on a regular basis. Have you checked out the access for this ? It looks to me like your little tackers have to trample over the second row or use the tailgate with a big step up.

Kings
AnswerID: 148650

Follow Up By: chook47 - Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 16:22

Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 16:22
The center outside seats are relativly easy to fold up and allow easy access to the rear. The only concern i have is the thickness of the seats to allow the flat floor when they are folded down.
FollowupID: 401932

Reply By: herkman - Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 12:31

Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 12:31
As a Prado owner, there are aspects you should know.

1. The diesel is not very fuel efficent.

2. Requires 5000 km service intervals.

3. Parts can be expensive.

4. 3rd row of seats are a pain if you leave them in.

5. Power is lacking if you are towing in hills.

6. Resale value will drop when the new model comes out.