Lazy axle for F250 V8 Diesel

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 20:46
ThreadID: 29804 Views:4091 Replies:1 FollowUps:12
My brother in law is looking at adding a lazy axle on his F250 crew cab and lengthening the tray so that it will allow a large storage box to be put in behind the cab and still allow his Northstar slide on camper to fit. He wants to lengthen the tray about a metre. any comments from anyone who has done this, knows someone who has done it or knows where to get it done. He thinks he will have to go to QLD to get it done. He lives in NSW. I am also interested in the legality of such a modification.

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 21:38

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 21:38
EO Members Mr & Mrs Al do chassis extensions and twincab conversions.

They are located near Melbourne but have recently done a conversion for a Sydney customer.

You can email me through my website below and I will let you have the mobile number
AnswerID: 149230

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 22:26

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 22:26
Willie,
I don't think Al has graduated to adding a lazy axle yet.
The mob in Qld that I am aware of is called Creative Conversions.
FollowupID: 402405

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 08:28

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 08:28
Sometimes I wonder about you, Bill
FollowupID: 402465

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 09:21

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 09:21
What's up Willie??? Why do you wonder about me sometimes?? (in lieu of "all the time"????? hahahaha).

Seriously, the bloke's brother wants to add an extra axle to his F250, and I don't reckon Mr Al has done any conversions involving that as yet. I'd imagine adding a lazy axle would require a bit more head-scratching on the engineering side of things, than just cutting and extending the chassis and cut&shut on the cabin. I maybe wrong (often I am!!!!)

FollowupID: 402478

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 12:32

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 12:32

I'm typing this for Al as he's unable to answer for himself at the moment..

Firstly, Al is a bit cheezed that you're judging his engineering capabilities without actually seeing his work first hand, he handles more structurally complex machinery on multi million dollar plants for clients such as bluescope steel in his capacity as project manager.

He's already looked at a couple of 80series dual cab conversions with lazy axel and chassis extensions here in Vic, and is more than capable of doing the work himself.

His work has always received the highest commendations from the vehicle engineers and inspectors that have looked at them, which is probably one of the reasons he's attracting alot of attention from people who are keen to have him do their conversions for them.

Lyn

FollowupID: 402534

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 13:52

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 13:52
What's he like at doing hydraulic lifting systems for wind-up camper trailers?
FollowupID: 402572

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 13:57

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 13:57
Wombie you'd have to ask him, :) He was very impressed with the automated windup option thebigfella has on his coromal
FollowupID: 402574

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:39

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:39
G'day Lyn and Al,
I'm sorry if I've jumped to a wrong conclusion about Al's abilities. I was VERY impressed with the workmanship I saw in the photos of the GU he converted recently and am soooo tempted to have something similar done to mine, or even the lazy axle option, perhaps.
Please accept my apologies for my stupid, hasty remarks. I honestly had no idea that Al was such a capable fellow.
I do hope you will both accept my unreserved apologies.
FollowupID: 402605

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:52

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:52
S'OK Roachie...

Just wanted to make sure that people reading this wouldn't think he was a fly by nighter, Al seems to have that rare ability of being to visulise what he wants to do and then follow it through, he's also a perfectionist which is probably part of the reason he got cheezed in the first place...lol

here's the GU finished, not sure if you saw the final product, he's doing a 60 series now -

!MPG:8!

Lyn
FollowupID: 402613

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:54

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 14:54
The electric winch on the Silhouette is a fantastic option which cannot be retro-fitted. When it works, it's great, but unfortunately when it goes fercuck there is no manual overide so therefore the roof stays at whatever height it broke at until the problem is rectified. A mate had this problem three times on his recent outback trip.
FollowupID: 402614

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 15:16

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 15:16
that would be a huge inconvenience Wombie, I wonder if it happens often, or if your mate had a dud winch....
FollowupID: 402624

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 15:36

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 15:36
He definitely had a dud winch as eventually it sheared a pulley off the floor, but I think they may have been a little near sighted in not allowing for an alternative manual option in the event of malfunction. Apparently Trev's is the fifth electric wind-up of the production line and my mate David's was the first, so hopefully any major issues have been sorted.
FollowupID: 402631

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:48

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:48
whats he like at fixing tailgates that fell off of a trailer...
or making a ramp to wheel bikes up on
or making....
FollowupID: 402667