UHF Handhelds - Help Needed.

Submitted: Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 21:46
ThreadID: 30039 Views:2861 Replies:12 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All,
About to embark on a 4WD trip into the Dargo/Wonangatta area and with the current fire situation and heading out as a single vehicle thought it'd be wise to invest or hire a UHF radio.

But...I have been told that they are not able to give me info (fire reports/fire bans, etc) or the abilty to gain assistance unless someone is within close proximity or as they say...line of sight - true or false?

Obviously Sat Phone is the ideal but surely UHF's are of some use...as well as being somewhat easier on the pocket.
Any feedback would be appreciated as I am an obvious novice when nit comes to CB/UHF radios!!!
Thanks,
Matt...
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: GazzaS (VIC) - Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 21:56

Monday, Jan 23, 2006 at 21:56
Hi Matt

UHF is fairly close to line of sight in simplest terms. For a hand held will definitely be so. By using different arials that have different Db charactersitics you can bend over hills etc.

Another factor is the channels. I doubt if any of the "official" fire people will operate on public frequencies (I just do not know) but there are a number of non public frequencies above UHF40. these can sometimes be accessed if you have a unit with extra channels and provided they are programmed in.

Which way are you headed and how comfortable are you and the vehicle with rough terrain? It can be pretty steep going from the valley to Dargo and fairly rough up the Zeka Spur track - nothing too serious just character building. In the current conditions I would not fancy trying to get out quickly if there was even a hint of a fire on the way.