Rubbish in the bush and idiots.

Submitted: Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 13:45
ThreadID: 30478 Views:2823 Replies:24 FollowUps:20

I am unsure if this topic has been discussed before but I am getting so fed up that I think it needs to be brought up again.

I spent the last 4 days camping in the Victorian high country and yet again I arrived at a campsite to find it littered with cans and general rubbish.

Now I understand that the majority of people on exploroz are intelligent responsible people who care for the bush but if you are one of those who does litter in the bush or you if know someone who does and wish to pass this on:

WHAT IS IT WITH YOU IDIOTS??????

If you can bring it in you can bring it out, who do you think will pick up your rubbish?

I am fed up with arriving at campsites and time and time again finding rubbish there, I picked up two plastic bags full from this campsite. I can only assume that people who dump this stuff are brain dead halfwits. What concerns me even more is that at I have often found rubbish that could only be attributed to children, what sort of message does this pass on?

Please if you do - stop, if you know someone who does - tell them what an idiot they are and if you see it - then comment.

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:00

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:00
I like the really careful litterbug who collects all his rubbish in a bag ( probably because someone is watching ) then leaves the bag behind a tree when he leaves .
That is a real TURD .
AnswerID: 153336

Reply By: macca172 - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:07

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:07
Andrew,

Mate I agree 100%. I was out at Sofla NSW a couple of weekends ago, the rubbish at the "Ration Point" campsite was nothing short of being criminal. To top it off, the amount of broken glass(beer bottles as usual) on the gravel, right ajacent to the rivers edge was unbelievable. Normally I take my chances and not swim with foot protection on, but on this occasion no way, it was sandles on every dip. Myself and my mate spend a good hour cleaning up the immediate area where we wanted to pitch the tent and only made a minor impression on the surrounds.

With that said, I think that most readers will agree, the majority of the so called "idiots" are the once a year yobbo campers who go out with the intention of having a booze up and couldnt care less about the enviroment, let alone fellow campers who do the right thing!

Macca
AnswerID: 153339

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:41

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:41
Andrew,
I've done the same in the High Country, and like you, I get really miffed by it all.

I could point the finger, but might get crticised for singling out the young hoon brigade, bike riders and the like, so I won't say it ;-))

One of the other problems is the lack of places where you can dump rubbish - Dargo tip is the only reliable place I've found. Licola doesn't possess a rubbish bin last time we were there.

Unfortunately, you get the same problem at roadside stops all over Australia, and at common campsites out in the desert.

But I think the EO forumites are more enlightened when it comes to rubbish

AnswerID: 153348

Follow Up By: Andrew Main - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:50

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:50
Hi Phil,

Regarding the lack of places to dump rubbish, this is true but with the exception of some specialised hiking with food drops if you had the space to bring it in you have the space to bring it out.

FollowupID: 407270

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:50

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 14:50
>"I could point the finger, but might get crticised for singling out the young hoon brigade, bike riders and the like, so I won't say it ;-)) "<

I think you mean bush walkers and horse riders... In my experience, these 2 categories are the worst... And VERY quick to say "Get F'd" when confronted about it... I don't bother anymore, just pick up their crap and take it away for them...

Not a dig at ya Phil, it may well be different in SA...
FollowupID: 407271

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:14

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:14
Unfortunately in my experience - and despite in every other respect finding them good helpful blokes - the hunters are the worst.

Dozens of dogs to defacate everywhere and they must eat more baked beans than Baloney himself given the number of cans they use.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 407286

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:25

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:25
Why should bins be provided in the high country? Then they have to be emptied, who pays?
As has been said many times, 'if you can take it in, take it out'
I have cleaned up so many campsites, that my policy now is, if I see them leave rubbish, I'll ring the EPA & let them deal with it.

We even saw bags of rubbish behind a tree in the Simpson!
FollowupID: 407290

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 16:44

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 16:44
Phil,

The tip at Dargo is now only opened on certain days.
We always took the rubbish there but now it is closed on Thursdays when we go through.
This I think will encourage some to dump the rubbish out side the tip when the tip is closed.
Sometimes I can't follow the logic of the people in power.

FollowupID: 407304

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:09

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:09
I always carry one of those canvas bags that tie onto the rear wheel, and have no difficulty in filling it at various camps sites around NSW, even if I have just stopped for a cuppa.

Now I *know* that a cuppa and a couple of biscuits does not generate a canvas bag full or rubbish. Pretty sad really, and I agree, I suspect they are once a year campers.

Wish there was something more we could do.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 153355

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:12

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:12
Last time we were at Dalhousie, near the toilet block there is a very polite sign informing all who camp there that there is a rubbish dump about 1km down the road and was free to dispose all rubbish at the dump, but then there are morons who leave there rubbish in front of the sign.........no bin in site!
AnswerID: 153356

Reply By: gramps - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:13

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:13
If you think it's safe, and be bloody careful about this, bring it to their attention before they leave. If you don't think it's safe then either clean it up yourself, PITA, or maybe start a 'Shame file' here if you actually SEE them littering. Don't assume they left the rubbish unless you actually SEE them deposit it.
AnswerID: 153357

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:46

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:46
Things have improved immensly in this regard. Back a few years no one ever took any rubish with them buried it or anything. Nowadays these spots are historical places of intrest. it seems the differnce between a disgracefull mess and a tourist attraction is about 60 years
AnswerID: 153362

Reply By: Member JD- Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:53

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 15:53
For starters if your going to acuse someone..point the finger in the rite direction!!most of the 4wdrivers I know..are actively involved in clean ups such as the monthly Menia cleanup..we also go around filling up dangerously deep bog holes..wich I might add make 35's look like small boat trailer wheels..the people who do this are volenteers they get no pay for their back breaking work..the only thanks they get is from gratefull organisers..because thanks is all we can aford to pay them..we..in that I mean they anyone who has ever given of their liesure time to try keep tracks opened for everyone to enjoy.When we are back at camp recovering from our labour you see the dirty #$%$#@@so an so's litering riding like there's no tomorrow not giving a shyte about the next mans rite to peace. You start to see where a lot of the rubbish come from but what do you do if you aproach these people they want to rip your head off..I find it frustrating to say the least..I might add some riders do clean up after themselves..but the majoritie do'nt..most 4by's clean up aswell but sadly some don't..get active...take out what you take in..Help keep our tracks open for us and our grandchidren.
JD
AnswerID: 153363

Reply By: dags666 - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 16:20

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 16:20
some people are born dumb had a lady at double island walk up the beach and threw her rubbish in the bush beside our camp when confronted the only thing she could say was get %^&*( I wish is was my lucky day) . What give me willies was there’s an industrial bin on the beach 100 meters away. You would like to think people had common sense. But I think it’s called rare sense because I don’t think it’s common. Went to birsdsville bleep along the side of the road. the northern territory has a greening Australia policy its with vb cans mate I think the problem is every where I just hope the more we teach our kids and friends the better it will get we have a great country lets hope people start to realize it dags
AnswerID: 153366

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:45

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:45
At the risk of being accused of racism, my personal experience is that a lot of the VB/Emu Bitter cans littering the roadsides along many routes is courtesy of our indigenous folk - you the ones with such close spiritual, emotional and cultural ties to the country. I have seen the wanton littering first hand on many, many occasions and it is usually closely correlated with pension day...but that's another sad and unfortunate problem that people smarter than me haven't been able to find a solution too.

:o) Melissa
FollowupID: 407497

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 01:14

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 01:14
Melissa

so why bring it up read the first post

FollowupID: 407673

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 01:36

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 01:36
Did I bring it up? I thought the topic of the original post was "Rubbish in the bush..." So far this thread has pointed the finger at bushwalkers, mountain climbers, 4WD drivers, once a year campers and so on and has referred to region right across Aust. It was this reply that brought up the issue of VB cans "greening" the NT. I merely related my experience in relation to this based on what I saw first hand when I lived in the top end. I'm sorry if that offends your political correctness sensibilities but I call it as I see it. But just so there is no confusion, let me be clear that I do not blame all indiginous folks nor do I think they are wholly responsible for the VB can problem, just a large contributor to the problem.

FollowupID: 407675

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 00:07

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 00:07
Melissa

Yes
Anyone how starts with "At the risk of being accused of racism" knows what there about to say.
"bushwalkers, mountain climbers" are not "indigenous folk"????
"I'm sorry if that offends your political correctness sensibilities"

Not mine just the people that you hi-lite..

Richard Kovac
FollowupID: 407885

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 00:43

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 00:43
Evening Richard.

"At the risk of being accused of racism..." statement was not an admission of being racist which I certainly am not, but rather recognition of the unfortunate trend we seem to have in this country that people accuse you of being racist the moment you pass negative comment a minority ethnic group. It doesn't seem to matter if the comment is based on fact or not.

FollowupID: 407889

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:30

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:30
I drove out to Wadeye/Port Keats(NT) once. It could have been done blind folded. The sound of crunching VB cans would warn you you were leaving the road. Mind you there was one small pile of Fosters cans - must have been an individual! :o)

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 407999

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 23:48

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 23:48
Hi Melissa

You need to reread your first post

"you the ones with such close spiritual, emotional and cultural ties to the country."

Do you know what color I am or where I was born?

I know a lot of humans have been blamed for the rubbish left in the bush.

But as my first post stated "so why bring it up read the first post"

Richard Kovac
FollowupID: 408121

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 00:32

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 00:32
Richard,

Lets just agree to disagree on this shall we.

FollowupID: 408130

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 00:33

Friday, Feb 10, 2006 at 00:33
yes
FollowupID: 408131

Reply By: Jodi - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 16:31

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 16:31
Hi Andrew,
I totally agree with your sentiments. I have posted on this site in the past about our experiences with other campers and their rubbish. We were unfortunate enough to go camping one long weekend and actually expected that the place would be busy. What we didn't expect was the ute the drove in and dumped a couch out the back and drove off (numberplate noted and passed to Parks Vic) then the group of young people in the next camp up all night smoking bongs, radio blaring, dirt bikes up and down the steps over to the beach and then their clean up the next morning involved them disposing of their esky, tents, you name it, anything they didn't want to take out they dumped down the pit toilet. Every single food scrap you can imagine was thrown on the smouldering fire so the poor goanna they had been chasing up trees try to catch for the past few days arrived along with just about its entire family from half of victoria...
If we were not so fearful of their reaction we would have said something. As it was I took a handful of old shopping bags over and 'nicely' commented that they appeared to have forgotten theirs and that they might want to use ours to pick up all the empty stubbies left on the beach that the tide had not taken away. They did go and pick them up but after they left we found the bags full of empties thrown into the bushes by the path. I figure these days that we head to places that only a 4WD can get to. I know it's stereo typing, but I figure that if you spend that much effort to get in there it's generally for the things that most of us on this site appreciate. There is still rubbish around, but far less of it.
AnswerID: 153371

Reply By: russ36 - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 18:59

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 18:59
on my first mountain climbing adventure in the southern alps of new zealand i was awestruck with the beauty of the place. the extreme lungbursting, tortured tendons and aching muscles required to do this sort of activity makes one think that only the real hard core respectfull outdoor enthusiast will venture into these places. but no , high up above the treeline in the rocks and snow where only few people are crazy enough to go, wedged between some rocks i found plastic food wrappings...you just cant escape it anywhere....there should be insanely large fines for those responsible.. a 10 000 dollar fine is not out of place for someone who throws a coke can out the window as he drives along...are we really likely to feel sorry for some slob who does that with no respect for his country or others around him? NO! keep australia beautiful
AnswerID: 153411

Reply By: F4Phantom - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 20:21

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 20:21
I dont think there is any need to confront people if your not comfortable, all you need is a licence plate and as mentioned, give the EPA a call. The other day my family actually witnessed some people stop on the side of a normal suburbian road, get out, dump a full plastic bag of rubbish on the foot path, and casually drive off. THIS MAKES ME ANGRY!!!
AnswerID: 153433

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 20:37

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 20:37
I would get this on the edge of town when caretaking the pistol club, I caught one guy who had all the excuses - but i pointed out to him
1) The rubish dump is free
2) There are skips out the front for after hours dumping (they are now gone - I think mpeople were chucking aspestos in them)
It was just sheer and utter laziness
FollowupID: 407366

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 21:05

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 21:05
This is now so bad on the Gibb River Road that a team of over 100 locals from Broome and Derby have to clear it up each year.

This whole road is through pastoral leases and there is increasing risk of the entire area being closed - as water sources are now being seriously polluted.
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 153449

Reply By: 4145derek - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 22:02

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 22:02
Just came back from 2 weeks in New Zealand (South Island).

Australia has a lot to learn about camping, caravan parks and dump stations.

I think people should also take care of their personal waste and have dump points every 200 km or so.

Regards Derek
AnswerID: 153482

Reply By: 4145derek - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 22:04

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 22:04
I'm going to Rainbow Beach this weekend and hope it is clean. I'm sick and tired of people digging holes on the beach to bury no.2.

Wish me luck.

Regards Derek.
AnswerID: 153484

Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 00:28

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 00:28
We have to attack litter from the other end too. What I mean is strongly encouraging manufacturers to reduce packaging and to use materials that are less damaging to the environment. - Encourage companies to be good citizens.

Some of the hot food takeaway chains have already reduced packaging, but more could be done.

We allow new industries that create enormous waste and a good example is the bottled water industry. Dozens of plastic bottles from this industry can be seen in drains and water courses.
AnswerID: 153517

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:55

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:55
I have to agree entirely. We're living in a recycle age now and it really irks me that as quickly as folks at home have taken to using their recycle bins, many companies are going increasingly overboard with packaging. The amount of times that I buy a relatively basic item and have to wrestle with it with scissors etc to get it out of the hard plastic packaging twice a big as it needs to be just to accommodate a hole for hanging and labelling. Another example is when you buy say a packet of potato chips and the bag is half empty. I get it - they want us to think there's more in the packet than there really is but there isn't, most consumers know it, so why not be environmentally responsible and make the bag only as big as it needs to be.

>:-| Melissa
FollowupID: 407499

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 01:09

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 01:09
Ferals are Ferals, whatever they drive and wherever they are.

The same type of Neanderthals that leave rubbish behind also tend to drink until they are totally out of control and abuse anyone who challenges them.

Solution?.......A dose of lead.

AnswerID: 153520

Reply By: Member - Bware - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 02:47

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 02:47
'Idiots' isn't a stern enough word. I do alot of camping on the NSW North Coast and the Yobbo's are appalling. We usually camp from a Monday until the Friday of the following week so that we only experience one weekend in 12 days. When the weekend comes around you expect crowds but the 'hoon' element is unbearable. If you stay around Crescent Head you get the Kempsey locals. Further North it's the Grafton locals. The 'townies' use the coastal camping areas as overnight party venues and after you've gone fishing or surfing the next morning you find that some of your gear has gone walkabout.
AnswerID: 153528

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 08:23

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 08:23
I've been to 99 per cent of camp site around weipa and I like to drink So when I'm at camp it gets a bit messy with empty bottles all over the place but before we leave we clean up every single bottle lid empty bottle ciggie butt etc we can find and theres always about another large garbage bag full of extra rubbish that we have to take home it just makes me sick the idiots who dont give a shi* and the main roads up here a just covered in rubbish actualy on my camera I have a picture of a lizard I saved that I found on the road with its head in a xxxx tin. (I mean I would have given the poor bugger a bear if he had of asked :-) )
AnswerID: 153540

Follow Up By: Joombi - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 08:27

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 08:27
Sam,
spent a bit of time the year before last at False Pera Head doing some work, the road between Weipa & Aurukun was brown & green with VB stubbs, what a beautiful part of the world, & being treated like that annoys the hell out of me, for a "No Go Zone for Alcohol" there sure was a lot of empty one's.....
FollowupID: 407919

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 10:07

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 10:07

Totally agree with most comments here but I reckon that unfortunately it is almost a lost battle. It seems to me that some people are just grubs and you only have to look around home to see that. My two sons seem to think that accumulating garbage is a key quality to independence (at 26 and 29 you would think they should not feel so insecure), some trade people I know happily throw rubbish on a work site (not their job to keep it clean) – unfortunately they do this at home as well. I also know smokers that feel it OK to throw butts anywhere they like. The good news is that most of these do not make it out bush.

My real beef with some of the comments here is the suggestion that it is just travellers that create this problem – this is not true. Equally any suggestions that as a consequence of this mess ALL travellers should/could be banned from remote areas are absurd. It is a fact that little can be done about the fraction of 1% that create this problem, the authorities (who ever these are in various areas) just don’t want to know, after all there is very little that they can do. They would however be happy to deny 100% access to solve this problem rather than deal with those responsible. I just get angry that some people should even suggest that this is the only solution and the notion that they are possibly in a position to influence those authorities in their decision making.

We can only be responsible for our own behaviour and certainly should not be punitively punished for the behaviour of others.

AnswerID: 153564

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 10:38

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 10:38
What irks me is finding room for all the extra crap. I budget enough space for taking out my own rubbish, but sometimes I've collected another couple of big bin bags of campsite litter while we're there.

Where do you put it? - on my lap, tow an empty trailer just in case? Even carried extra crap out on the bonnet before.
AnswerID: 153569

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 12:16

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 12:16
In SA for years beverage containers have had a small deposit on them at point of sale. This encourages collectors to go around collecting them and some of the original purchers to recycle them through appropriate collection points. It certainly helps with the problem. I understand that the reason the rest of Oz doesn't follow suit is that the beverage lobby is so powerful that pollies shy away from introduction of the impost.
Seems to me that we could all do our bit by lobbying pollies in other states to bring in similar policies.
Camper
AnswerID: 153596

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:30

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:30
that is the best idea so far, reward people for doing the right thing.
FollowupID: 407529

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:38

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:38
Mind you it has been 5 cents for years. I can remember trading them in for sixpence each which got you a big bag of lollies back in the 60's. I think the deposit was nearly 1/3 of the original price.

There was a push to raise it last year when they extended to deposit to all beverage bottles, but the industry fought it off.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 408002

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:57

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:57
Has anyone actually ever heard of somebody getting fined for littering? I've certainly never heard of a single case.

:o| Melissa
AnswerID: 153629

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 02:22

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 02:22
best case i have heard of was a few years back here in vic, some moron dumped a big load of rubbish in the scrub, the shire guys who had to clean it up found stuff like letters and bills with his name and address on it, and proceeded to fill the truck up with it and anything else lying around.

they took the truck to his house and backed it up into the front garden and tipped the entire load out to the front door, then proceeded to issue the moron with a very substantial fine for his illegal dumping.

I reckon the "shame" value alone from his neighbours would have been gold !!!

The epa in vic has a good system for dobbing in jerks, but i think a lot of people are put off by their info being able to be accessed by FOI request from the scumbags.
FollowupID: 409445

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 10:48

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 10:48
lets just face it theres just to many idiots out there its just as much locals as well the wankas its still not going to stop me cleaning up rubbish at a camp site but I'm sick of it all it takes is 2 mins before you leave and its done.
AnswerID: 154033