OFAL " Old Farts and Ladies "

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 13:37
ThreadID: 30520 Views:2610 Replies:6 FollowUps:34
Is there anybody who is retired who wants another car as company to do some camping trips with in NSW .

I am going away to WA in April until the end of June , but before I go and when I come back I need some company to go camping / fishing / fossicking or just plain sitting on your backside contemplating your navel .

I can't go with my wife cos she works . I can't take my dog cos she is not allowed in NPs .

If anyone is interested in some company , they would have to have their own car and gear .

I just thought somebody might be at a loose end like me .

Now you'll think Im ofal .

Willie

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:30

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:30
Hi Willie:

I could be interested. Like you, I am heading off to WA (arriving April for an ANZAC Day gig with mates) and expect to be back around July after a run up the west coast.

My wife has only just retired, but is a keen traveller/camper.

Email me at jeller @ tadaust . org . au (just get rid of the blanks ...).

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 153621

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 18:59

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 18:59
For all you voyeurs , YES , Jack and are booking a blind date .

Is there no other potential OFAL club members out there ?
FollowupID: 407574

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:33

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:33
G’day Willie

Mate you are a few year too early for me to take you up on the offer. Don’t know if it is a good idea anyway advertising like this on the web – there are some serious nutters reading these page. Then again they probably make for good company.

AnswerID: 153623

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:55

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:55
Do you think I'm a nutter, Beatit, because I read these pages - but I agree with you - there are some serious nutters (Wolfie, Des Lexic, etc. etc. - hahahahaha - I'll get in trouble now - oh yes, Roachie).
FollowupID: 407498

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:59

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 14:59
Serious ? Mostly. Nutters ? Definately. I also have a wife who also works, and I therefore travel by myself. (not as often as I'd like) I win all my arguements but am still always to blame whenever anything goes wrong. Which is often.
I love a bit of solitude after spending too many years in a noisy stressfull environment. No CD stackers in my vehicle, in fact I'm still not sure how to program new channels in the car radio.
Its nice to meet interesting people on the road. But being alone means that you are instantly "sus", even if you look like Father Xmas (probably especially so :) Your kids will make you new friends instantly, but mine have grown up.
I learned years ago that travelling companions were either a joy or the cause of ......well you know what I mean.
Look at our early explorers, most of the truly disasterous episodes were caused by crook companions.
I really shouldn't have said that.
People are what makes a good trip, a good town, a pleasant day.
Best of luck Willie. Hope you hook up with someone compatable
FollowupID: 407501

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:01

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:01
Oh no Ruth not at all. But then again they say that there is very little difference between being a loonie tune and a genius. Some days I reckon I should get classified so I would happiliy be thrown in with that lot. And what great company you and the others make - personnally I reckon their all geniuses really.

FollowupID: 407502

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:04

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:04
Hey footloose if your arguing with yourself I have to tell you that your not winning the argument.

FollowupID: 407504

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:25

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:25
Hey Mr Beatit, when ya gonna fix the Qld Health system ? Oh wrong guy, huh ?
Who me argue with myself...umm which self ?
Everyone argues with themselves, that's called marriage :))
FollowupID: 407510

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:30

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:30
G’day Footloose almost had it done, spoke to Chairman Pete the other night and he said he’d quit if it wasn’t so by the end of the year. But since then the press have become involved and he is not quite as definite about this now.
FollowupID: 407511

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:42

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:42
Glad to see Pete enjoyed his holidays I funded ...well at least he did until he got home. I actually met one of the po litical power brokers from Qld a few years ago, out in the scrub (No, not the Charleville convention). Apart from the horns he looked normal. Mind you that was in the days before the 60 second chook feeding.
Of course Pete's not sure any more. He's still suffering from the jet lag. All those drinkies in 1st class are just sooo wearing when you have to make a statement to the press.
Overcast and opressive today. And the markets down again. Gotta cheer myself up somehow, now that I can't draw cartoons any more :))
FollowupID: 407514

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:54

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 15:54
Are you talking of those cartoons? It wouldn’t do to have them burning the Austrian Embassy – wait a moment they’ve already done this! Always seem to get the 2 countries mixed up. Just to link this with another thread I presume that littering the scrub is not an issue here?

Why not study medicine? The chairman is offering a big pay rise; probably do better at this than cartoons. That way you won’t have any loosing arguments either – never heard of a doctor that was wrong.

FollowupID: 407517

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:01

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:01
You mentioned the sane ones Ruth. Oh hang on Des drives a Tojo......put him that category then.
FollowupID: 407520

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:07

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:07
Ozzies do have a connection with that country...something to do with a bar in Sydney and a real estate girl I believe. Now she's apparently become a great dane.

Study medicine? As in trust me I'm a doctor ? That just frightens the heck out of anyone with a brain these days.

Guess I've been lucky, there's only been one ailment that I couldn't self diagnose correctly. Kid knee stone. One that wasn't just passing through. The Doc got to play star wars and take a hefty lump out of my pocket at the same time.
FollowupID: 407522

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:45

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:45
THIS IS A BL00DY DISGRACE . MY SERIOUS POST HAS BEEN HIJACKED BY RIFF RAFF . BEATIT YOU FOOTLOOSE BREWERS .
FollowupID: 407536

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:49

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:49
At least I took you seriously, Willie ...

And now back to sharpening my axe ... he he he he ... !!

Jack

FollowupID: 407538

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:58

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 16:58
Yep, a national disgrace. People like me hijacking it.
"Best of luck Willie. Hope you hook up with someone compatable "
Perhaps we thought that you and Jack had already left ?
FollowupID: 407541

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:13

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:13
I'll have u known that no loose feet make it into my brews :)
FollowupID: 407581

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 21:11

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 21:11
Loose feet sink ships
FollowupID: 407615

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 22:34

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 22:34
Loose feet also wander around :)
(coming to a town near you...be afraid, be very afraid. )
FollowupID: 407643

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:27

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:27
Look out Willie, he's threatening to visit the Rip Off State LOL
FollowupID: 407660

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:31

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:31
The Rip Off State ? You mean there's only one ?
FollowupID: 407662

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:39

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:39
ooops! Should have clarified that should'nt I. The PREMIER Rip Off State.
FollowupID: 407664

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:43

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:43
Oh that place. I can see the border from my verandah. I came from there. Moved to a state which only rips you off a little bit...at a time...all the time......
FollowupID: 407667

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:47

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:47
See, that's the difference. Your lot have'nt mastered the art of squeezing blood out of a stone yet. Our lot graduated from flogging a dead horse a long time ago :))))
FollowupID: 407669

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:51

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:51
Ahhh..but our mob have convinced us that we're having a great time while we're filling their coffers:))
FollowupID: 407670

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:57

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 23:57
You got us there. Our mob don't have the brains to pull that off. They're more like a drunk staggering down a long corridor, bumping his way along from wall to wall.
FollowupID: 407671

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 13:23

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 13:23
Twas a slow day on Ozzie
Not much goin on
A few posted questions
No answers, not one

Ah here's our young Willy
He needs a good mate
To sit by the campfire
To open the gate

But Beatit and Footy
Were waffling on
A thread has been hijacked
The question had gone

Now both of these fellas
Much better do know
Its a disgrace says Willy
And both of ya know
My posting was serious
Now ping off just go.

And now to the moral
I'm sure you'll agree
Two boys have been naughty
That's Beatit and me

We can say that we're sorry
But that's not enough
Poor Willy is out there
He's doing it tough
So if you have time
And are up for a trip

Please tell him right now....
FollowupID: 407977

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 13:47

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 13:47
Very clever indeed. Good one Footloose

FollowupID: 407986

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 13:56

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 13:56
"Anyone would think ,
With jokes so funny ,
Jack Benny himself had sat on this dunny ."

- Royal Oak Hotel , third cubicle from the end .

Nice one Footloose , I am glad to see you recognise the seriousness of the matter .

A bit greener today . Why does it go down three times as fast as it goes up ?

Willie
FollowupID: 407989

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:03

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:03
Willie, I assume that you're referring to the market and not to our private lives :))
As I understand it, the up is expectations and the down is profit taking. And as the song says , "you just take more than you give" :)))))))))
FollowupID: 407991

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:08

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 14:08
Beatit, merely the ramblings of a deranged mind, mine ! :) A great pity that Willie is so far away. I'm sure we know of a few quick but enjoyable spots up here.
I have my own favourite that isn't much. It's just a spot to get away and reflect overnight. When I get back the next morning I've forgotten what was bothering me. We all need spots like those.
The last time, I arrived after dark, and the place was packed. Twas a dark and moonlit night and I was not amused to see so many. So I swung my lights around...and noticed a few peeking out wondering "what the !" heheheheheh
FollowupID: 407992

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 15:12

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 15:12
I hear what your saying so it means I'm equally deranged. Alway suspected this because the kids and bride have been telling me this for years. I'd be careful with that overnighter as some may add "dirty" to the old man status. I guess it solves the entertainment problem - so where is it?

FollowupID: 408006

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 17:29

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 17:29
Steady up Footlosse .. I haven't even bought the ring yet !!

Jack

AnswerID: 153651

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 17:33

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 17:33
I would go but unfortunately i only have an alvey.
AnswerID: 153655

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 17:35

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 17:35
Glen ,
I will lend you something a bit quicker !
Willie .
FollowupID: 407553

Reply By: gramps - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:02

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:02
Sorry brother, a few years too early for me :)))
AnswerID: 153676

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:10

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:10
Brother ,
You are not in NSW are you ? Where are Nudie and Truckster lately ?
Willie .
FollowupID: 407577

Follow Up By: gramps - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:33

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:33
Yes mate. Out in the wild, wild, western suburbs :)))))

Nudie and Truckster seem to have other committments at the moment. They're generally on at odd hours at the moment.
FollowupID: 407584

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:51

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:51
jeepers. Now there's a plan. Send the Mrs out to work whilst I go off camping......

kerchung;>)
AnswerID: 153691

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:54

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 19:54
When I retired , I told her I was off exploring Australia . She decided that she would rather work !
FollowupID: 407589