Dove sono le chiavi al vostro Lamborghini

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 13:27
ThreadID: 31410 Views:2552 Replies:10 FollowUps:28
Dont stress Gramps the pills are STILL working, as ,yself and my better half are off to Italy and environs (Germany, Austria and Switzerland) in June I have been required to learn phrases that will come in useful over there, like this one, your guess without using a translator online as to what it is, (HINT: Lamborghini is a type of sausage)

What I really want to know is...does anyone have the GPS coords of the EIGHT (yes 8, 4 each way) Road safety camera's in the Geelong-Melbourne road?

Bitte und danke liebchen und kinder

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 13:37

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 13:37
hmmmmm keys to a sausage.....interesting pick up line :))
AnswerID: 158544

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:57

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:57
Apparently a big hit in Milano und Firenza

Con affeto bravo donna

FollowupID: 413010

Reply By: arthurking83 - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:21

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:21
They are kinda obvious....but that's because every one slows down for them!!! :))

I know of the two that I've seen, one at Millers Rd, and the one just south of Weribee, I think at the Little River exit or the Avalon??? can't be 100% sure now??
(there is one, each way, on the Westgate Bridge, too)

There may be some confusion as to the exact numbers of cameras, because some people include the Westgate Bridge camera, others don't!

I've never thought to waypoint them.....though I will next time I'm down that way!!
(I mean 'really' waypoint them, using the GPS.....I could quickly find the co-ords using Ozi, but only the Millers Rd and WGBr cameras will be 100% accurate!)

AnswerID: 158548

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:49

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:49
theres one between WGB and Millers too, its at the BACK of a set of big green signs, then two more past Millers towards Geelong, like Avalon/Little River TO's.

I reckon I can get them from Ozi too but would rather WPT them

FollowupID: 413007

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:50

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:50
Bonz,

You had me worried there for a while. I thought some bloody big dove had done the dirty on your new Lamborghini LOLOL
AnswerID: 158551

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:59

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:59
Nein Gramps alles ist in ordnung

Although when I mentioned that I wanted to go see Hammelburg (near Stalag 13) I was told it didnt exist, gott in Himmel!

FollowupID: 413011

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:17

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:17
Was ist das? Gees Bonz, it's been nearly 40 yrs since I had to play the sauerkraut :)

Now I've noticed you have omitted the 'aka the Vanquished' from your list of esteemed titles. Does this mean you have arisen and smote the eyes of your erstwhile enemies and assumed your rightful title of KS of TI ??? LOLOLOL

Still have a chuckle when I remember that collection of posts :))))
FollowupID: 413017

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:31

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:31
Ja ich bin ein conquistador. I have emerged from the primevil cloud brought about by Glenn's son James beating me at air hockey at my OWN birthday party.

Yes I smile too when I see sparkiepete has posted another funny, actually this week I noticed that he double posted AGAIN..........

Wo bist du?

FollowupID: 413028

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 16:05

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 16:05
hahahaha home in the wild, wild west of Sin City or as I like to call it now, the big boys sand pit, with all the road construction going on.

We should be grateful to the NSW Govt (past and present) that we have such a crap road system. No chance of an 18 car pileup like in Qld recently. Plenty of time to stop when you're averaging less than 20ks an hour in peak time :(((((

One of those revenue raising vultures is only about 2km away so I'm very careful not to put the pedal to the metal near to home.
FollowupID: 413042

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:15

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:15
read in the paper this morning that Even Lamborghini had a recall for front wishbone? i think it was....
2 cars...
FollowupID: 413066

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:16

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:16
one was willems...cant remember who's the other was
FollowupID: 413067

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:23

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:23
We told him you can't use it for Rock Crawling. Billy Goats Bluff at best :))
FollowupID: 413071

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:58

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 14:58
Geoff, somewhere on the web there's a site for misfits such as yourself. Lists all the cameras in Oz, includes a forum for chatting ec. I was looking at it the other day but didn't bookmark it as it doesn't suit old hilux drivers.
AnswerID: 158553

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:03

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:03
Its like this my good friend, I set the cruise on 101 on the GPS, all things are fine and then some nutbar slows down in front of me....I accelarate around him/her (unless its near a school and coffee shop in which case I am reliably informed it MUST BE A HER) to fit into the next lane of traffic only to go under a camera at 105............

I was only after a bit of a warning via a GPS track of WPT's. AT each WPT the GPS beeps saying turn ahead, I am almost convinced I can interpret that as Camera Ahead - Avoid Cappucino Drinker!

FollowupID: 413013

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:09

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:09
lol..ok Geoff I'll try and hunt that site down for you old mate
FollowupID: 413016

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:23

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:23
http://www.roadwatch.com.au/

reading the forum there I don't think anyone has done a run and published the results yet.
FollowupID: 413021

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:12

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:12
Meneer Bonz

Miskien sal dit beter wees as jy net Engels praat wanneer jy en jou vroutjie oorsee is.

Met verwysing na die spoed kameras, sal dit regtig ook beter wees as jy net so effens stadiger ry.

Groete
AnswerID: 158556

Follow Up By: Geoff M (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:22

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:22
About 3:20 by my clock Willem.

FollowupID: 413020

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:25

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:25
lol...think I've been to the engel a few too many times.
whats that you say Willem
FollowupID: 413022

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:27

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:27
arh yes, my mates on the Africian forum will sort that out for me.
FollowupID: 413023

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:28

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:28
Sounds double dutch to me Willem I can make hide nor hair of that

I am euchered

FollowupID: 413024

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:36

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:36
Bonz

A bit of Dutch, a bit of Malay, a bit of Indonesian, a bit of German, a bit of English and a host of other languages make up the Afrikaans language.

"Miskien sal dit beter wees as jy net Engels praat wanneer jy en jou vroutjie oorsee is."

Translation " Maybe it would be best to speak in English when you and your lovely wife travel overseas"

"Met verwysing na die spoed kameras, sal dit regtig ook beter wees as jy net so effens stadiger ry."

Translation " With reference to your enquiry regarding speed cameras maybe it would be better if you travelled at a slower speed"

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha!!! ( Same in any language )

Groete/Greetings

FollowupID: 413031

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:41

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:41
Ahh yes metwigged it were afrikaans but there aint no online translaters for this complex language, and yes I understand the slowing down bit what niggles me is getting pinged under false pretenses. what I might have to do is tender GPS downloads as evidence of lawabidingness in all areas other than ping central.

cest la vie

hahahahahah same in afrikaans thanx mate

FollowupID: 413035

Reply By: Geoff M (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:26

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:26
Hi Bonz,
Have a look here, GPSOz Speed Cameras

You can download files for all the popular GPS to cover Australia. Might take a few minutes to extract the exact ones you need.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 158560

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:30

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:30
I think that's the work of John Tserkezis in which case they're too old. These are new cameras.
FollowupID: 413026

Follow Up By: Geoff M (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:35

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:35
Fair enough, there's some newer ones on the F3 between here and Sydney not listed too!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 413030

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:38

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:38
Them not got the new ones but show lots and lots of redlight cameras

FollowupID: 413033

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:44

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 15:44
At this stage I don't think you'll find the waypoints documented.
Use your 25k maps. I should do the run and mark them...too many cokes to do it now and going to cleanup wombat tomorrow.
FollowupID: 413036

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 22:00

Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 22:00
Ray, I now have five locations and "proxomity"waypoints for htem so my GPS tells me 1 km away there is a camera, worked a treat coming home in the dark this week.

Thanx for your help mate, also loaded all the others but they are everywhere the GPS would go off like a frog in a sock of I downloaded all to the GPS, so I will just tootle along in "old Fart" mode, like I caught myself doing driving down to Geelong on Thursday for Maries mums funeral, tu tu doing 93 on the open road, no cars for miles......maybe I shound give Bonz (Vic) the bullet and call myself Gramps (Vic).

FollowupID: 414617

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 22:10

Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 22:10
Well there ya go, lots of uses for oziexplorer isn't there. I've been using it this arvo to keep tabs on John (Vic) up in the high country sending position reports via hf, just some fun but will come in handy when we have to launch a recovery effort...hahahah

93 sounds ok to me, I'm never in a hurry.
FollowupID: 414623

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 17:27

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 17:27
Safety Cameras to Spoed Kameras to Red light Cameras.

Hmmmmmm!

(1) Readers - if you aren't already aware, the originator of this thread travels this road at least 10 trillion times a year.

(2) He has at his disposal more GPS type gadgets, Widgets, software than all of us put together.

(3) He is also the resident Terang 'know-it-all' having graduated top in his class at the Terang College of everything and anything.

(4) The fact that he has exposed his short comings on this forum means he is desperate.

(5) Its a further indicator that he doesn't have his 'minder, P/A ,
Conscience Manager - Ms Imogen' in the vehicle with him.

So! please tell us WHY Bonz is it so, that you want to exceed the speed limit and negate Mr Bracks from collecting his rightfull revenue off od you you 'Bad, Bad Boy'.

PS

It has nothing to do with 'Mr Hat' sitting on 90kmp either, so don't dish that old hoary one up to the readers.
AnswerID: 158582

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 17:38

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 17:38
Lucy, My reasons are fair and above board. Being a recent (3 yrs ago) convert to the School of DLAOF (Driving like an Old Fart) of which you are somewhat acquainted I take unbrage that I may be called upon to contribute to the State coffers purely as a result of being lulled into a false sense of security.

The said camera's are not well known to me, although as you rightly speak, the road is, and each time I enamour myself to denote said locations I am swept under them with nary a second thought other than "Why are these doofus's slowing down here"

In my stage of advanced DLAOF my sense are not what they used to be. I do declare I am one step away from a hat on the parcel shelf and a "blankie" over my knees.

FollowupID: 413056

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 17:31

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 17:31
AND

if you were complying with the speed limit, then there would be no reason for the so called 'safety camera' to inform you in writing that you were

Inflagro Mentus Delectus (something like that)

of the OH&S safety standards that have been determined for that carriageway.

AnswerID: 158585

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:22

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:22
Hey, where's your pic.
FollowupID: 413069

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:29

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 18:29
The speed limit is at best a notional agreement between the driver and the arm of the law that is interacting at said time with the driver. In this case the arm is a One Armed, One Eyed Bandit.

Hugous Toofastus Weecatchu (or some other greek philosopher)

It isnt fair.

FollowupID: 413072

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:01

Saturday, Mar 04, 2006 at 21:01
Geoff there is a set on the Forsyth Road Hoppers Crossing over pass (One set facing each way Melb bound and Geelong Bound)

One set on the Ring Road overpass and the overhead sign nearby again the one on the Bridge facing Melb bound and the sign facing Geelong bound (I hope I got that right way around) at Brooklyn just on the Ring Road interchange.

The others are further done between Werribee and Geelong I can't tell you for sure which ones are where on that bit of road as I don't head that way all to often.

AnswerID: 158624

Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 19:50

Sunday, Mar 05, 2006 at 19:50
G'day Bonz,

just before they were activated, I was working in Queenscliff and driving down from Melbourne every few days. I noticed someone had painted a big orange "C" about 100m before the brdiges they were fitted to. One of them even had "Smile" painted on the road. Keep an eye out for the orange C's though, I would be interested to know if they are still there.

Wazza.
AnswerID: 158761

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 20:43

Monday, Mar 06, 2006 at 20:43
Thanx Wazza, All the orange C's have been blackened over with bituminous substances, but you can still see the black C's on the road, if you're looking, what I want to do is make proximity waypoints in the GPS so they warn me, being a forgetful old fart.

FollowupID: 413478