Tanami Fuel Pump

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:07
ThreadID: 31505 Views:4237 Replies:7 FollowUps:24
I am considering getting one of these lTanami Pump to assist with the pumping of diesel from my Jerry Cans.

Does anyone else have one of these units and did they work as depicted?

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:10

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:10
Try that link again
Tanami Pump

AnswerID: 159113

Reply By: howesy - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:59

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 16:59
Think I'd like to see figure of flow rate at 2.5psi or how long it takes to empty a 20ltr jerry with that 10mm outlet. I drilled and tapped a small hole on the opposite top side from the spout and srewed a small wing nutted bolt with a rubber washer to seal. Should see how fast the sucker empties now compared to before when you open the breather. No more gulp gulp. works for me.
AnswerID: 159118

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:07

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:07
howesy did you look at this page? Flow Rates & Prices
1.5 minutes to empty 20 litre Jerry.

FollowupID: 413638

Follow Up By: howesy - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:09

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:09
yes buit I am getting older and my eyes are not as they were. But then my mother always did tell me it would send me blind.
FollowupID: 413639

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:11

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:11
Bugga I will get the bloody link right eventually
Try Again

FollowupID: 413640

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:00

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:00
Yeh John

... how do you do those links, i have not played around with HTML , just use Frontpage 2003 , so i opened FP 2003 and pasted this in it ...[ ????? ] and then some testing but to no avail, it nearly works but nup i give up , then i started wondering if i should be putting the URL in that place below where i am typing now, well that did not work as because i had that hyperlink pasted in the brackets above i couldn't post this, so had to take it out.

FollowupID: 413725

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:22

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:22
Dougy when you post a thread have a look at the bottom of the post page, EO has the hyperlink info listed there.
I am a bit out of practice and always leave the www. bit in intead of taking it out and leaving just the http:// business.

Just have a play if it does not work then just post "Bugga" stuffed it up will try again. LOL.

FollowupID: 413730

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:27

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:27
Thanks for your help John.

I will practise one now

link text

well see if that works

FollowupID: 413733

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:33

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:33
Doug take out the word "Path" after the forward slash.
Also if you remove the words "Link text" you can write what ever you want to title the link, Such as "Tanami Pump" or "Dougs Truck" etc

Try again.

FollowupID: 413736

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:35

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:35
test number 2

Transport link text

GGrrrr
well here goes

just went and refered to your last post so here we go

FollowupID: 413739

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:36

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:36
Hey did ya see that eh ... it worked. Thanks mate

Doug

FollowupID: 413740

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:39

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:39
Good one mate, Now take out the word "Link text" and write in "Qld Transport" or something similar.

FollowupID: 413743

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:43

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:43
Doug did you see this site not to damn bad actually, interesting read.

Bloke and his Dog

FollowupID: 413748

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:45

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:45
Damn buggered it up again.

Bloke and his Dog

Hope this works or I'm going to bed. LOL

FollowupID: 413750

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:51

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:51
Yeh good on ya . Dusty has been having a bad few days since Sat' night , been crook but seems to be a bit better tonight, started eating again so thats a good sign.

Damn i forgot how i did it ..

Lunatics

FollowupID: 413752

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:53

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:53
Going to call it a night
see ya later

FollowupID: 413753

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:58

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:58
Cheers Doug you got the basics anyway, the rest is just practice.

FollowupID: 413758

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 23:00

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 23:00
!MPG:8!

FollowupID: 413760

Reply By: howesy - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:16

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:16
I'll stay with my home alteration but if you had jerry mounts that were a pain in the RRRR's or hard to get to then it looks a great alternative if their claims are good.
AnswerID: 159123

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:39

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:39
John (Vic)

Had one for a few of years now.
Works fine. Does take a couple of minutes to empty 20ltr jerry but its not like I have to do it every day.
No holding up jerry & no spilt fuel.

PS. See you in May. Maybe you could try mine then.
Try before you buy. Must be good.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 159127

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:59

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 17:59
Thanks Wim
As you say no holding up the Jerry to pour etc and reducing the lugging around of full Jerries has got to make it easier on the back.
Couple of minute is no big deal considering the physical benefit, as long as it works as they claim.

Looking forward to May.

FollowupID: 413646

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 20:57

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 20:57
Bloody softies....lol
FollowupID: 413685

Reply By: Member - David 0- Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 18:51

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 18:51
I use mine to pump my biodeisel out of a 200 L drum every week. Works really well. If I lost it, I would sell my wife to get another ;-)

Shhh don't tell her.
AnswerID: 159142

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 18:57

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 18:57
David,
Those pumps must be very very expensive.
I would never sell my wife, who would put the wheelie bins out.?

FollowupID: 413654

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:02

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:02
David you obviously have the bigger 200 litre unit, would be a handy jigger for refueling on the CSR I would have thought.
Bit lighter and easier to carry than the hand winder pumps.

FollowupID: 413657

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:04

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:04
LOL same person who does it now....me!!

I've been trying to train the dogs to do it, but a Cocker Spaniel and a Cocker/Blue Heeler cross just don't seem tall enough, and lack the opposable thumbs to grip the handle.

Selling the wife just seemed more attractive, she is off to 4wd club committee meetng and just asked ME what is for dinner pfffft

Dave O
FollowupID: 413658

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:11

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:11

yes mine is the 200 L version

Dave O
FollowupID: 413659

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:33

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 19:33
John,

I GOT ONE! I GOT ONE! I GOT ONE!

And it's the duck's guts mate. Don't listen to the knockers.

How many times has one busted their foofer valve, holding an almost full jerry can over a bloody spout that refuses to keep still. You end up with as much fuel on the ground as you do in your tank.

My Camper Trailer has two jerry can holders conveniently located on the draw bar and I don't even need to remove them when transferring the contents to my fuel tank.
The jerry's are metal and thus earthed to the trailer, which is in turn earthed to the vehicle. So safety issue is resolved.

I have a simple method I use to pressurise the jerry cans.

A three metre piece of air hose with clamp style connectors at each end and a shut off valve just back from one end.
Clamp one end to the spare tyre on the back of the jack. (Over pressurised)
Clamp the other end (with the shut off valve conveniently located) to the air inlet on the Tanami Pump which is fixed in place in the jerry can.
With the fuel line connected between the petrol tank inlet and the Pump, crack open the valve and observe the contents being "pushed" out of the jerry, into the fuel tank.

All very civilised.

I can remove the pump and insert into another jerry can without disconnecting anything else and at some convenient time (usually at camp) reinflate the spare tyre with the Big Red Air Pump.

Of course, Big Red (or equivalent) could also be used, but you don't need much air.
I think the blow off pressure is set at 3 or 4 psi.

So get one John and join the stress free way to top up.
I believe Opposite Lock are convenient distributors.

AnswerID: 159157

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 20:28

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 20:28
Sandman I guess you have one??????

Just the reasons why I reckon they are a good jigger.
Didn't think of using the spare as the air source, interesting idea.

I have a couple of big trips this year requiring me to carry half a dozen extra Jerries and I don't want to be humping the things anymore than I have to, Thats all I would need is a stuffed back in the middle of the Simpson.

FollowupID: 413674

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:13

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 22:13
Sandman
That's a damn good idea, i had a truck tank in a off road trailer a few years back and use an ARB pump , muckin around with lond wires from the battery etc, I got all that fixed now with a 180 lt tank under the bed and it gravity feeds to the front tank,

Doug

FollowupID: 413728

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 21:32

Tuesday, Mar 07, 2006 at 21:32
Yep,
I have one, got it off ebay for $29 + $10 postage, so I thought I done good;-)))
As others have mentioned, it does indeed work as described....

All of my jerries except 1 are ex- Aust. Defence Dept. (circa 1952-58), & it works perfectly on the army ones, but on the 'ring-in' there is some air leakage past the lid seal, but it still pushes the fuel out in a satisfactory manner...

One thing I would strongly recommend if you do get one, is to fit an in-line filter to the delivery hose... I never re-fuel from jerries (or other containers) unless it's through a funnel w/- a fine gauze strainer, or in this case, an in-line filter.. That way, there's less less chance of any cr@p gettin' into the tank... What goes in there direct from the bowser is another matter of course, but that's a chance we take....

Ed. C.

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 159194