..and another one.

Submitted: Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:10
ThreadID: 31838 Views:2443 Replies:6 FollowUps:10
Just taken the pootrol in for a 70000kms service and noted it had a slight squeal. My mechanic (not Nissan) tells me it's a turbo leak and not to drive it as further damage could occur. Just what I needed to hears as it's my work vehicle.
Mr Nissan reckon it should be covered by warranty from what I've told them but can't fit me in until next Wednesday.

Bugger.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:27

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:27
lucky it didnt happen in middle of murray sunset!
AnswerID: 161140

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:37

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 13:37
Probably caught it in time Truckster.

tick..tick..tick..
FollowupID: 415877

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 17:38

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 17:38
Now all you have to do is wait for all the Nissan fans to deny that your motor is about to blow up, i trust it is a pre 2002 model?
AnswerID: 161185

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 17:55

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 17:55
1/03.

It looks/sounds like it's probably the exhaust manifold to turbo area rather than the turbo itself or the engine. I'll know more on Wednesday when it gets stripped down I guess. It's still running fine just a noise issue for a few seconds on start up. Still with the reputation of these engines anything out of the normal makes you wonder.
FollowupID: 415918

Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 20:34

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 20:34
God you are soooo cruuuel.

2000, 3.00 172,000 sweet as a nut!
FollowupID: 415981

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 19:04

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 19:04
Fingers crossed for you mate.
AnswerID: 161202

Follow Up By: dieselup - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 19:17

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 19:17
3.0l nissan's life seems to be short Brew
FollowupID: 415960

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 22:16

Friday, Mar 17, 2006 at 22:16
G'day Pat,
Cheeze mate, sorry to read that.......your's is a later model (series III) too, isn't it?
Hopefully it will prove to be nothing serious and you'll be back on the road on wednesday.
Good luck champ.
AnswerID: 161250

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 09:26

Saturday, Mar 18, 2006 at 09:26
It's still driveable, apart from the irritating noise. My gut feel is that it isn't a major problem and that it's all about to go bang, it is driveable but I'm not taking any chances and will keep use down to a minimum until Wednesday.

It sounds just like a slipping belt for about 30-40 seconds or so and then the noise stops.
FollowupID: 416058

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 10:00

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 10:00
Hey Pat,

Any chance it could just be that poxy belt tensioner arrangement they have? Pud's got all locked up and stuffed itself a while back too. Might be worth a close look as it would be a lot cheaper to fix than anything "internal" would be!!!

Best way to access it is by removing the large radiator shroud and check it from underneath.

FollowupID: 416343

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 10:08

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 10:08
That was my first thought as it sounds just like that noise. When I lifted the bonnet it sounded like it was from the turbo area. I had it in for service and the mechanic(not Nissan) confirmed it was a "turbo leak".
FollowupID: 416344

Reply By: navaraman - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 16:30

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 16:30
Spoke to Nissan today and it looks like its a cracked manifold, they've sent it to the machine shop to be welded and refaced and it'll be back on the road tomorrow.

Pat
AnswerID: 162248

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 16:34

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 16:34
Are you now so disappointed with the patrol that you reverted back to you former screen name mate...??? hahaha

Good to hear that all is gunna be okay....
FollowupID: 416945

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 18:13

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 18:13
NO, couldn't get the kids of MY puter. LOL. I had to resort to theirs.
FollowupID: 416967

Follow Up By: bucky - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 06:22

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 06:22
Pat

Good to hear from you.
Sorry to hear about the Patrol, Hope its nothing much either, as I think my late 2003 navara has the same motor as yours,,( worry worry, ever since Pud's went bang )
The Mrs and me are heading back up the Oodandatta Track and then to Alice. Then heading up and over to Boulia vai Jervios, and back down to Birdsville.
Then to Innaminka via Cordillo Downs, and out through Mungo NP and Mildura
Of course the Trak Shak is coming, ( we love it ) towing it gives me 8-8.5 km / lt and we expect to cover between 6,000-6,500 km round trip ,,
Love it
FollowupID: 417106

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 09:57

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 09:57
Latest news it wasn't a cracked manifold but a cracked bolt causing a leak from the manifold. The manifold has been sent to a workshop to be refaced and will be on the car again this arvo.
I got the impression from the mechanic I spoke to when booking the car in that this was a problem he had come across a few times before.
AnswerID: 162437