Side steps or suspension lift?

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 16:46
ThreadID: 32038 Views:2410 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
G'Day All,

Looking for feedback from anyone who has done SkyTrek in the Flinder's Ranges.

We are planning on doing this in early May. Due to financial constraints, it has come down to either putting steel side steps or a 2" suspension lift on the GU.

For those who have completed the track, which would you prefer? I have been looking at the new TJM steps which bolt off the chassis, or 2" lifted springs with lower priced shockies, both of which work out about the same price.

Any thoughts appreciated

Rolande

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 16:48

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 16:48
Go the lift!!!!!

Side steps won't help you one iota as far as getting over any obstacles is concerned.
AnswerID: 162254

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:32

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:32
G'Day Roachie,

Agree that lift has other benefits, better for corrugations as well, bugger the budget won't stretch for both

Rolande
FollowupID: 417183

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:40

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:40
Roachie,

Only 7 weeks to go, looks like we will be in Port Hughes, (Caravan Park), for a couple of days on 9/10 May, fishermen in the group want to get out into the spencer Gulf to catch some REAL fish

Rolande
FollowupID: 417188

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 15:14

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 15:14
We'll just be back from 2 weeks over in NSW by the time you get over here mate, I will try and catch up with you out there (only about 25klms from here to Pt Hughes)
FollowupID: 417204

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 16:52

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 16:52
take the boat down to Port Turton - they've been catching bag limits of big snapper there - 10 kg++

Was taking them longer to clean and fillet than to put the boat in, get out into Hardwicke Bay a fair way and then come back and pull the boat out!

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 417220

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 17:11

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 17:11
If God had meant us to go and catch fish, he wouldn't have invented fish shops. I've seen blokes spend many $$$$$$$$$$$ (thousands and thousands!!!!) on a boat, trailer, rods, hooks, depth sounders and all that other chit......

For me, $10- down at the local cafe/deli will give me my weekly/fortnightly "fix" of fish. I've been out with other blokes in their boat/s and can only say that the other argument "for" fishing (ie: it's a great sport) leaves me totally floored I'm sorry to say. It's as boring as spending the weekend watching your car rust!!! (to me).

FollowupID: 417221

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 17:20

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 17:20
Roachie mate, where you been?

I'm with you - I was told once that the average price per kg of fish caught by the average Australian boat owner was about $2200!!! (amortising cost of boat, maintenance, fuel, vehicle fuel, rego etc.)

Which leaves me very decadent when it comes to spending money at the Michael Angelakis'

Now, if it's someone else's boat, that's a different matter - I'll have to beg to differ with you on that one, and just being able to jump over and snorkel as well, is all the more fun.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 417223

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 17:04

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 17:04
You won't need either for Skytreck. :-)
It is a reasonable dirt track, but a little steep in places for a good dirt track. 2nd or 3rd low, or 1st or 2nd high range is all you need to amble up the few steepish climbs.
But great views, well worth doing.

Are the side steps for protection of the sills from flying rocks and bottoming out only, or also for jacking off?
AnswerID: 162258

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:33

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:33
Thanks for the feedback, was looking to the steps for protection more than anything else

Rolande
FollowupID: 417184

Follow Up By: AdlelaideGeorge - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 15:05

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 15:05
I agree - I've done it twice - once in a Tribute (yes - Mazda's vehicle) and the second time in my Triton. It's just a nice drive with some steep bits. If you want some 'heavy duty' stuff do Mulga View and/or Mt Buggery Challenge on Alpana Station (lovely people)
FollowupID: 417201

Reply By: revhead307 - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 17:22

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 17:22
Dont know the track..but go the lift.

Always handy for the obstacle on the next track.

My SWB GQ ran 235/85 16's and stock suspension, it has reasonable clearance and ive never had issues on tracks ive gone down.

The LWB GQ runs 31 x 10's and had sidesteps on...it scrapes over stuff all the time...Is visually closer to the ground.

Im saving for a lift....

Rev

AnswerID: 162266

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:34

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:34
G'Day Rev,

Yeah, bugger the "budget" thing, spoils all our fun!

Looks like lift is the go

Rolande
FollowupID: 417185

Reply By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 17:27

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 17:27
You won't need the lift for skytrek. It is a good trak (usually) with some steep bits and a some great views (the lookout and Mt Caernarvon). It gets a pounding on long weekends and can be a bit cut up. They did start limiting the numbers after 110 vehicles went though one October long weekend. If you are doing any of the other tracks say Oratanga up to the repeater station or the so called Mt Buggary Gorge the lift would make it easier though still not a requirement.

If you are going to tamper with the suspension do changes that are going to suit the type of driving you plan on doing most of the time and do it right, save up and get good shocks. It is no joke driving any distance with a buggered shocker.

AnswerID: 162267

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:36

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:36
G'Day Steve,

I agree with your comments, one limiting factor here is my budget, will be using lower priced shocks as that is as far as the budget will stretch, which is why I was considering good quality side steps instead

Rolande
FollowupID: 417186

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:55

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:55
I'd go the steps then. Not only do they help getting into the vehicle they tend to be good stone delectors for the side of the vehicle. Mine has chips (probably 100's on each side) all along the plastic trim between the wheels. Hence why my new car has steps! The roads in the Flinders tend to have a lot of small loose stones. You should have a great time on SkyTrek. I certainly did, it was the first four wheel driving I had done (a fair few years ago now) and it was easy enough to get your confidence on but had a few bits where you could test out some of the things you learnt about steep descents etc.

FollowupID: 417196

Reply By: Rotty - Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 17:35

Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 17:35
rolande
Agree with the main response in do not need lift to tackle Skytrek.
We had a group of eight last year in July with no problems. there was a suzi Vitara, couple Rodeo's, Series 80 Toyota's, Navara and Courier. no bottoming out unless you go too fast. Full day drive and very enjoyable.
Willow Springs (skytrek) have great camp sites.
Last year was second time for me and wife and would do again.

Enjoy the drive.

AnswerID: 162270

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:38

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:38
G'Day Rotty,

Thanks for the feedback, looking forward to it - only 7 weeks to go

Rolande
FollowupID: 417187

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 01:27

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 01:27
Rolande,

I support other's comments that you don't need a lift specifically, for Skytrek.
In one or two sections however, you will need 4WD and preferably low range. (the doco you get will tell you when to shift)

Here's a photo of the "Hump"

!MPG:8!!MPG:8!

As far as your two options, the chances are that in giving the GU a two inch lift, you may then need the side rails anyway to assist entry.

The extra clearance will give you more confidence in crossing some of the fords in places like Brachina Gorge if you venture in there. Again, you don't necessarily need the lift, but it is possible in May, that there may have been some rain and the water level in the creek crossings may be high enough to "disguise" some of the larger rocks. However, just take it easy and observe other vehicles if you are in any doubt and have a good time.

AnswerID: 162396

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 01:29

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 01:29
Hey! How the hell did I achieve that? Stereo pics yet:-)

FollowupID: 417104

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:41

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:41
G'Day Sandman,

Can't wait to get my own pics of the trip, thanks for the info

Rolande
FollowupID: 417189

Follow Up By: Gu_Patrol - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:53

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:53
Ok I can spot 4 thing that are different in thoses 2 photos, :-)
FollowupID: 417195

Reply By: agsmky - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 08:47

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 08:47
Save ya money for tyres.....ours and several other vehicles who did the trek the same day had huge chunks taken out of the tyres (all different and reputable brands)

We did it in our Pajero with plastic covered sidesteps and not one scratch.....

AnswerID: 162419

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:43

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:43
G'Day Andrew,

Will be on almost new 10 ply rubber all round with a couple of spares, losing chunks may be part of the fun.

Thanks for the feedback

Rolande
FollowupID: 417191