Cable lay out & recomendations

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 17:05
ThreadID: 32266 Views:3803 Replies:4 FollowUps:16
This Thread has been Archived
Im new to all the electrical side of camping but am getting older(46) and require some comforts. I intend to wire up my camp trailer from my ute.In my trailer I have 2 x 6volt Deep cycle 220Ah batteries which will be hooked up in series(12v). I want to run a cable from the altenator/Battery via a ARB solinoid to the the battery bank in the trailer using anderson plugs(what size).The local auto electrician said to run 2bs cable(sounds Big to me) but didnt say if I should run a negative as well.I will also be using 110 watt solar power via a smart regulator and plan on adding a Ctek 2500 charger(25 amp) when I add another 220 Ah battery array.I have a GMC 750w generator and a 2kva dunlite.I know it sounds like a lot of power but the trailer will proably be used as a power supply on a bush block at some stage.
So my question is how would I best do the wiring with fuses and curcuit breakers etc and will my generators run my charger efficiently. Any advise or experience would be appreciated.Im a brewer by trade so if you want to exchage advise Im happy to do that.
Thanks Niffty
Perth WA
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 19:39

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 19:39
The minimum cable size would be 4 B&S and you will Positive and Earth because you will not a good connection throught the Towball.

An Anderson SB50 Connector should be adequate, since they can handle more than 50 amp intermittently. You could have another Anderson connector inside the Trailer for connecting Generator etc.
www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=PT4420

The advantage of using the 50 amp size is that it is becoming the standard among 4WDs for Trailer Power.

You will need a fuse (60 amps) on the Positive lead at BOTH ends close to where it connects to the battery.