Reply By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 16:47

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 16:47

AnswerID: 164281

Reply By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 16:51

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 16:51
AnswerID: 164282

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 16:57

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 16:57
YEEHAAAAAA! FINALLY WORKED OUT HOW TO DO IT!

ANYWAY HERE'S WHAT ME HILUX HAS GOT.
What do you reckon?

2003 Dual Cab Hilux 4x4 3.4 litre V6, Manual transmission
Suspension has been raised 2inches front and back
Tough dog springs, Foam cell shock absorbers, polyeurethane bushes, 4-way return to centre steering dampner
16x7" White Sunraysia wheels 5 of them
265/75x16 BF-Goodrich All-Terrain Tyres 5 of them (equivalent in size to 32.5"/11.2x16")
Snorkel
Custom engineered Extreme-Duty bullbar, has 6 mounts for spotlights and CB aerial,
Currently Sporting a pair of Lightforce XGT spot-lights (pencil beam) & 2 140W Spread Spot-lights & CB aerial.
Dual Side-Rails with a checker-plate side-steps
Custom made heavy-duty Bash-plate to protect front diff and suspension
Custom built checker-plate rear-step with towbar and quarter panel protector bars.
Upgraded headlights Narva 65watt low-beam and 100 watt high beam
Rear-facing 140W spotlights 2 of them
Tub Liner
TJM Chrome Rollbar with spot-lights mounts
Custom Made Tonneau cover to suit roll-bar
2nd battery in the tray in a cecker-plate toolbox with solenoid and a seperate swith on the dash
Extended diff. breathers

I'm hoping for some sort of diff-locks in the future, low-range reduction gear - i spoke to Marks Adaptors about this and they said they are currently developing an adaptor for the mating the transfer chain drive to a changeable low range gear or something like that. And a set off spare mud tyres ( Im thinking BFG 33/10.5x15 or 32/11.5x15)

TUFF_IFS_LUX
FollowupID: 419156

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 19:13

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 19:13
Nice pics..

Watcha gunna do wiv it eh?
FollowupID: 419170

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 19:45

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 19:45
Crazy Dog,

what do you mean what am I gonna do with it?

Im gonna go 4x4'ing and hunting like any other red blooded australian bloke would!
FollowupID: 419171

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 20:38

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 20:38
Good ta hear. Thought for a minute it was gunna be a show piece..

Get out and dirty my man and send some pics in when ya got some big piggies - leave the wild DOGGIES alone but.....

Grrrrr!
FollowupID: 419177

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:12

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:12
So it is a moderately lifted Hilux with lots of accessories. ARB/TJM must love you.................

Featured vehicle in next months "Over-it Monthly"???

Nothing that remarkable, really....................

Alloy roll bars won't save you, due to the way the metal disintegrates. More likely to kill you than anything else, given that they are not cross-braced.
FollowupID: 419181

Follow Up By: Joe King - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:14

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:14
Hey man, nice rig, I must say the Aussie flag is a real nice touch....
Beer, Bait & Ammo ay.....
FollowupID: 419182

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:29

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:29
Gary in oz,

the aluminium roll bar is there only for looks mate, im not expecting it to save me in a roll over situation, if i was so concerned about rolling over i would have put a full cage in it, but with a 2" lift i dont think its necessary.

and whats with the "over-it Monthly" ?
FollowupID: 419185

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:40

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:40

I am interested to know what is the purpose of the two rear facing 140 watt spotties?
FollowupID: 419188

Follow Up By: simple - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:44

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:44
don't worry bout the knockers, he probably thinks its cruel to shoot bunnies and piggies too. haha
nict truck mate. ripper of a bullbar! did the side steps come with the trin tubing over the wheel arch or is that a custom job?
just sold my xtra cab lux, but thats ok cos i've got patrol ute now, shyte's all over the 2.7 petrol lux. and the alloy tray is a bit more user friendlt to an accident prone bloke like me compared to the tub back.
all in all its a good lookin truck mate.
where abouts you from?

simple

p.s. i think with the "over-it- monthly" comment he's showing he's one of those people who bitches about 4wd monthly but still reads it... why?
FollowupID: 419190

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:50

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:50
Brian B

The purpose of the two rear facing spotties is to light up the tub area and its contents when i go camping/hunting and also when your out in the bush and it's pitch black and you have to reverse somewhere, the standard hilux reverse lights dont light up s#@t, if you know what I mean. Also, on the rare occasion that someone is seriously pis@#$g me off by tailgateing me at night I turn them on to blind them off the bloody road and teach them a lesson in leaving a safety margin between vehicles.
FollowupID: 419191

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:54

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:54
Simple,

The bullbar and side-steps/rail were all custom made togetherby a mob called TUFF-Stuff in Dandenong, Vic somewhere. I bought it off a bloke who got it made up for his hilux and only had it for a year when he decided to sell it. so I seized the opportunity and bought it. He reckons it cost im 2,600 bux to get made, but I bought it for bout 1200bux.
FollowupID: 419192

Follow Up By: simple - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:55

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:55
what does the sticker on the roll bar say? "......recovery vehicle"?
did you do the welding on the bullbar etc. yourself?
FollowupID: 419193

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 22:03

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 22:03
Simple, the sticker proudly says "NISSAN RECOVERY VEHICLE". I put it on to tease the Nissan 4x4 drivers who may be driving behind me. I know my rig cant compare to a patrol in offroad performance. Its just for abit of fun.
FollowupID: 419195

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 23:01

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 23:01
Nice truck TUFF LUX. Looks like you put some great time and effort into it.

PS , Do you want to laught ?? Gary in Oz drives a KIA lol and he bagged you car lol

You should build what you like , when you like , and when asked why

BECAUSE I CAN , should be your answer.
FollowupID: 419199

Follow Up By: Joe King - Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 00:07

Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 00:07
"A KIA" ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha (cough cough) ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha........
"& bagged a Hilux" ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha... oooops, I just bleep my pants
FollowupID: 419204

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 08:54

Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 08:54
TUFF IFS LUX
1 This sure looks like the real genuine living BLUDDDY AUSTRALIAN RED-NECK

2 [Im gonna go 4x4'ing and hunting like any other red necked australian bloke would! ]

3 Naaah mate don't worry were only taking the Pi*** out of you , so good on ya , it looks good and hope you get a lot of enjoyment with it as we all do with ours.

just thing has me worried though.!!!! why did it take so long to get the Pics posted..
umm again refer to line 3

Doug

FollowupID: 419228

Follow Up By: Sargent Dan - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 11:33

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 11:33
A bloodly Kia...hahahahaa
FollowupID: 419399

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:05

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:05
Hi Mr Lux ,
Very nice . Are those lights legal ?
Willie .
AnswerID: 164283

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:12

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:12
which lights?
the front lightforces or the rear facing ones?

The smaller ones are the 140Watt sealed beam spotties I got for a bargain from supercheap.

TUFF_IFS_LUX
FollowupID: 419159

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:16

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:16
Front
FollowupID: 419162

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:19

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:19
Im pretty sure you can have upto six seperate forward facing lights to be roadworthy, i may be wrong.
FollowupID: 419163

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:04

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:04
6 x 140 watts = 840 watts, at 14 volts (vehicle running) is 60 amps. Add the 20 amps to run the ignition system, 5-10 amps for the EFI, and 10-15 amps for the rest of the vehicle (tail lights, UHF radio front marker lamps, etc) you will flatten your battery in no time, unless you have your engine turning over 3500 rpm (ie third gear at 110 km/h) to keep you altenator in its sweet spot.

"Cowcockie" material, Does it include the "Back-off" mudflaps and 6 or 7 "antennas" (most just PVC tubing) sprouting from the "7 poster"?

No-one needs 6 x 140 Watt lights, if you are that night-blind, you shouldn't be driving, let alone subjecting oncoming traffic to 840 watts of hell.....
FollowupID: 419180

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:34

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 21:34
Gary in Oz,

I didnt say that I have 6 x 140 watt lights. I have 2 x100watt lightforces, 2 smaller sized spotties in 140watts, and my upgraded headlights which at high beam are 100 watts, not 6 lights running 140watts!

going by your post mate, it sounds like you either got it in for me, jealous, dont like hilux's, or nothing better to do with your time than to 'bag' other peoples vehicles.

FollowupID: 419187

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 23:07

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 23:07
RIGHT THATS IT . do as your told TUFF LUX , Gary is right . NO roo should be subjested to so much light , especialy before you blow its brains out lol .

I want you to remove all your vehicle's accesories and get it back to standard ,

AND THEN Only fit what Gary says you can OK ?
FollowupID: 419201

Follow Up By: Toytruck - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 07:02

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 07:02
I wonder if Gary has ever seen a vehicle with a Camel through the front windscreen. I was 2IC of the NT Emergency Serices many years ago and have spent LOTS of hours traveling this wonderful country and dragging idiots from ridiculous places and I can tell you.........no harm in turning night into day whilst in remote areas. Night Blindness has absolutely nothing to do with it and a comment like that obviously comes from a person with little experience.

Whilst moving around at night out there we all used to drive with every light we owned on High and the person on front would turn his/her mirrors out. Better this than smashing your vehicle against a Camel.

If Tuff IFS Lux wants to put lights on his truck.........let him.

My 2c.
FollowupID: 419361

Reply By: scottp - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:12

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:12
good looking truck!

I ll make a mental note that if I am ever going to let the missus drive my luxie to put one of those bullbar's on it!

Scott.
AnswerID: 164285

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:16

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:16
Thanks mate and theres no way me missus gonna drive it. tell you what thou, that bullbar destroys kamikaze kangaroos that just jump out in front of ya on the road in the middle of the night

TUFF_IFS_LUX
FollowupID: 419161

Reply By: GREENDOG - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:43

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 17:43
Now thats a show pony LUX nice one mate,i wish i could figger out how to put the pic's up,maybe one day cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 164289

Follow Up By: TUFF IFS LUX - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 19:46

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 19:46
greendog,

go to photobucket.com and follow the instructions. thats what i did. it's very straight forward. good luck!
FollowupID: 419172

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 19:46

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 19:46
Nice rig, good work and thanks for the pics.
AnswerID: 164303

Reply By: Alan Southport QLD - Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 20:51

Saturday, Apr 01, 2006 at 20:51
Boys and their toys....

Looks good though.
AnswerID: 164316

Reply By: Toytruck - Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 08:42

Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 08:42
Nice rig,
just gettin back to the light legal question and don't get me wrong, Ive got 4 x Super Oscars across the front of my 60 but I think they are supposed to be below the level of the factory headlights........not sure to be honest.

Keep travelin.
AnswerID: 164354

Follow Up By: simple - Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 20:08

Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 20:08
in nsw its just below 1.2m (?) and illegal to have anything over i think 100mm wide, maybe 150mm wide on top of your bullbar.
FollowupID: 419314

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 08:49

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 08:49
OK those tyres are not 32.5", sorry but there are 31.6", still a nice Lux you should have fun in it offroad.

Have a look at " target="EOF" class="lbg">www.miata.net/garage/tirecalcold.html it's a tyre size calculator.
AnswerID: 164523

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 08:55

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 08:55
That link didn't work try this one " target="EOF" class="lbg">www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html
FollowupID: 419370

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 10:19

Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 10:19
Or

Try this one

FollowupID: 419389