Nissan ZD30 Service Intervals

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 08:51
ThreadID: 32501 Views:13600 Replies:8 FollowUps:16
G'day All

A number of mechanics have suggested to me that I only need to get my 2003 3.0ltr Patrol serviced every 10,000km, and not to worry about the 5,000km oil & filter change. Their reasoning behind this being that originally diesel engine oil had to be changed every 5,000km due to the high sulfur content of diesel, where as today with ultra-low sulfur diesel every 5,000kms is not necessary. Some of them have even offered to stamp both the 5,000 and 10,000 spots in the book at the 10,000 km service so as not to void the warranty.

What have other ZD30 owners and diesel owners in general heard, do you change the oil every 5,000 or every 10,000.

And for the record my 2003 ZD30 has done 86,000kms with Safari Dtronic, snorkel and 33inch tyres, without a single problem, and yes one day it will require an expensive rebuild, but won't all engines eventually need expensive rebuilds?

Thanks in advance

Snowy

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 09:02

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 09:02
Nissan recommend 10000 intervals for normal use. I've done mine by the book at 10000ks (70000ks) but that is about every 3 months for me. I now have access to a 4 post hoist so am going to do the 5000 oil and filter changes myself for piece of mind.
AnswerID: 164685

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 09:21

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 09:21
I have a GUIV. I use genuine Nissan Engine Oil ( Semi Synthetic). When tripping around I service every 10,000k unless I meet the heavy/extreme use criteria of the Nissan Manual.

I live in the city and the vehicle gets a lot of stop start driving so I drop to 5,000k intervals when driving around town. ( Extreme use?)

The way to see what is really happening with your oil and engine is to use one of the oil test companies and test the oil.

It is possible that 5,000k service intervals using a semi synthetic oil is over servicing but until I do some oil testing its what I do.

AnswerID: 164689

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 09:28

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 09:28
Yes, Nissan have only ever required 10K changes. FWIW I just crawl under and drop the oil at 5K and do filter and Oil at 10K. I do the Fuel filter at 20K's. Only goes to the dealer at 40K intervals since that is the only time they actually do anything. 2002 with 69K up. Also while we are here, I have recently fitted a Dtronic, purchased second hand from the trader section and have noticed a general drop in EGT's and quieter/smoother running so I cannot see how this can be hard on the engine as some have suggested, in fact quite the opposite I would have thought.
AnswerID: 164693

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:07

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:07
Interested in your before and after Dtronic EGT's? Also what's the highest you have seen and how long does it take to come back to normal ofter hard driving?

Leroy
FollowupID: 419595

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:45

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:45
The most I have seen prior to Dtronic was about 850F. Normal running has been around the 550-650F area. In general I reckon I am about 50F less with the Dtronic. My probe is just after the cat so reading may be lower than some others fitted closer to the turbo but this does not of course affect the relativity. Temp comes back to the 400F area within a couple of minutes of idle.
FollowupID: 419604

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 15:40

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 15:40
Hi Outback (or should I call you 'Mr Tourer'?),

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but I think having your EGT probe "just after the cat" is about as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike. The reason is that catalytic converters are generators of heat when they're working properly. After they get heated to a certain extent by the exhaust gas, the catalyst begins to make the constituents of the exhaust gas react together to form less nasty compounds that those exiting non-cat engine - and these chemical reactions release heat. No doubt there's some chemists out there who can explain this better?

So, until it reaches operating temperature it acts as a big heat sink, vastly lowering the EGT. Then, once operating properly, it's a net heat generator. So it would be very difficult to make any correlation between EGT after the cat and the 'real' EGT exiting your engine (and that's the one that matters).

That's not to say your Ditronic doesn't give lower EGTs but to really know what's going on, I'd suggest you relocate your probe to the turbo outlet above the cat or, even better, to the exhaust manifold near the turbo inlet.
FollowupID: 420142

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 13:51

Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 13:51
Thanks for that Ian, I'll take it up with the 4WD specialist shop that installed it for me!!!
FollowupID: 420870

Reply By: Leroy - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:05

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:05
Mines in for the 40k today. It goes to the dealer for the 10k services and I have been dropping the oil and filter myself every 5k. I have been thinking about an oil analysis. Others have mentioned to me that it's not necessay to change the oil every 5 but hey oil is cheap compared to an engine rebuild. Also I don't think there is any garrantee that all diesel is low sulfur yet!

Leroy
AnswerID: 164698

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 13:01

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 13:01
Hi there Leroy, intereset in getting my oil tested by one of the testing companies, who and how do I go avbout doing this and cost involved. I live in the western suburbs of Sydney. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 419616

Follow Up By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 13:12

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 13:12
Here is a URL for oil testing. Oil Testing There are others I believe

FollowupID: 419620

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 14:54

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 14:54
I haven't looked into it that closely but the major oil companies do them as well as private labs like the one Paul above posted.

Leroy
FollowupID: 419652

Follow Up By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 21:45

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 21:45
Hi Stephen
Gulf Western Oil in Coombes drive Penrith do the testing.
They are my supplier.
All you need to do is contact them and get an analysis jar off them and drop it in.
If you want their number just holla.
120scruiser
FollowupID: 419755

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 22:35

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 22:35
Thanks 120, will call in tomorrow on way home from work. Just work around corner on castlereigh st. Thankyou Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 419767

Reply By: BeeSee - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:45

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 10:45
My 2000 ZD30 have just clocked over 210,000K with oil and filter services every 10K . It had mainly blacktop highway work and is running sweetly [touch wood!]
AnswerID: 164702

Reply By: datto311 - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 12:20

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 12:20
Interesting. Only rang Metro a week or so ago to get a 5k service and they said, for the first time, that Nissan only recommend 10K. In the past they have always said "Nissan say 10K but we prefer to see it every 5"
There is a degree of money making I know in this, but has maybe something changed?
I used to always do these things myself but time is an issue these days.
What oil do people use when they do it themselves?

Noel
AnswerID: 164718

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 14:08

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 14:08
Hi Snowy, I got my 2002 3.0 navara at 50,000 km , I changed the oil and filter at 126,000 and now it's up to 140,000. Rus.
AnswerID: 164739

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 14:54

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 14:54
that's a pretty big service interval!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 419653

Follow Up By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 17:29

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 17:29
Russel

I have heard of some of the large modern truck engines only requiring a oil change every 20,000km some even 30,000km, but they are also using some fairly tricky onboard oil-filtration and oil-monitoring equipment. Working with a number of very large gearboxes, bearings and other bits that take in excess of a 100L of oil at a oil change as part of my job, my reccomendation would be that even if you don't do any other form of maintenace to your engine, gearbox diffs etc, changing the oil regularly is essential, and its only a suggestion but 76,000km's between oil changes might be a bit much. Certainly there is still oil in there but is it still able to effectively lubricate and not full of contaminents?

Snowy
FollowupID: 419687

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 22:56

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 22:56
Snowy,
I have now done over 25,000klm since my last oil change. I am having my oil analysed every 5000klm by Castrol Laboratory and it is still in excellent condition. I am using 100% synthetic AMSOIL as well as that company's by-pass filtration system. This system utilises a remote-mounted dual head unit which has 2 filters mounted on it. One of these is similar to a normal filter, whilst the other is quite a bit larger and filters down to 1 micron. This dual head unit is connected to the donk via a screw-on adaptor that takes the place of one of the Patrol's standard filters.
So, I actually have 3 filters on the Patrol. The system works very very well.

I had always been most meticulous about my oil changes.

FollowupID: 419776

Follow Up By: bucky - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 06:48

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 06:48
Onto your post, am interested in the warranty side of things from Nissan in useing this sort of filtration. Is it really cost effective, or is it just something else that can go wrong ?.
Also I seem to remember a hose working its way loose in the Simpson Desert, and causing some grief, albeit only momentarily. 50 cent hose clamps I bet.
Cheers Mate
Bucky,,,, Go Nissan
FollowupID: 419800

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 08:33

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 08:33
G'day Bucky,
I believe it is cost effective, cos I should get 6 times the use out of the oil as I was getting before. The whole unit only cost me $200- (it was superseded stock the bloke had lying around) and the filters are about $40- and have to be changed about every 15,000klm. The oil is expensive @ $80- for 10 litres.
There is no reason why the oil could not last over 50,000klm if the filters are changed regularly.

The drama on the Simpson was all of my own making and actually had nothing to do with the oil filtration system as it turned out. It was a total comedy of errors which boiled down to a short in a wire which had routed across the top of the rear spring hanger; sandwiched between it and the body. With compression of the body mounts under all the weight, the wire bared and shorted out...starting a chain reaction that I still have trouble explaining to people!!!!! hahahaha However, you are correct that I did have a very slight oil weep, which has now been fixed. It related to my inability to do up the adaptor plate and associated hoses sufficiently to get a good seal.

FollowupID: 419822

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 18:21

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 18:21
Did you say 3 filters or 3 liters Roachie?

FollowupID: 419922

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 09:24

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 09:24
Bonz,

Definitely "filters" mate..........definitely NOT "litres"....hahahaha
FollowupID: 420035

Reply By: Member - David 0- Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 21:36

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 21:36
I do the 5000l myself and get mechanic to do the 10000k.
There is lots of talk abut some diesel not meeting the sulphur levels, I'd rather be safe. I keep receipts for my servicing and Nissan's
AnswerID: 164859