Heading off on holidays TONIGHT!!!!

Submitted: Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 12:16
ThreadID: 33122 Views:2295 Replies:22 FollowUps:19
G'day all,

Just a warning to all and sundry...........the Roach clan is heading off on a 2 week trip; leaving tonight. Rough plan is:

Leave Kadina around 5.30pm and camp at Burra Gorge

Tomorrow, travel via Riverland, Mildura etc and camp around Narrandera (old home town)

Head on up the Newell Hwy and across to Bathurst...our boys LOVE the V8 supercars and wanna see me do a sub-3 minute lap of Mt Panorama in the patrol with the ultimate hangin' off the back.

After camping at Bathurst, we'll head south and take the lads to Wombeyan caves, down through Goulburn to call in and see Pud and Barb, then continue to Ulladulla where Annette's parents live.

Ultimate goes in for a make-over next Tuesday and I'll be in Canberra late next week to pick up my other son, Nick, so he can spend a few days on the coast with us.

Pick up ultimate from factory on 1st may and start heading back via Duea NP, Cooma and Snowy Mountains etc (might be too cold to attempt to climb Kozziosko...spelling is wrong, I know!!!)

After that, I'm not sure......time will tell.

So, if you see the white GU + Ultimate camper, say g'day.....

Reply By: The Bigfella - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 12:24

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 12:24

Call and see me in Bathurst if you get a chance.
E-Mail me at stoutman@tpg.com.au and I will give you some details if you are interested and have time. I will be in Sydney over the weekend but back home on Sunday night.
Brian (The Bigfella)
AnswerID: 168288

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 12:28

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 12:28
Roachie,

Hope you all have a safe and enjoyable trip!

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 168289

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 14:55

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 14:55
Thanks Sam,

A bad day on holidays beats a good day at work!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 423611

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 12:29

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 12:29
Roachie - have a good time - what a nice holiday. No desert there tho Roachie!
AnswerID: 168290

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:01

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:01
G'day Ruth,

Yeah I know....no desert where we're going!!!! Bummer!!!!

Oh well, we just had a great time travelling down Goog's Track, so that'll have to suffice as our "red sand fix" for the time being!!!

FollowupID: 423612

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 13:30

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 13:30
Hi Roachie

Make sure you get footage of that sub 3 minute lap.

Have a great trip!

Lyn
AnswerID: 168301

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:02

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:02
Thanks Lyn......not a hope of that lap time unfortunately. Now, if I had a 6.5 Chevy V8????? Hmmmm

FollowupID: 423614

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:05

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:05
or a landcruiser :)
FollowupID: 423643

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:48

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:48
or a snowflakes chance in ...........

FollowupID: 423653

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 13:31

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 13:31
Have a great trip old mate, I am a bit suprised though that the ultimate is in need of a make-over or are you just adding some stuff?

Make sure you pack the woollens, the weather will be cool - Cooma was the coldest place in Oz last week at -1.8C, happy camping.

AnswerID: 168302

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:04

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:04
Thanks mate, hope to have a good trip too......the Ultimate is a bit worse for wear; getting a new canvas for it and having the "Bulldog" coating renewed, reco'd shockers and springs etc. Should look schmick when she's all done!!!!

FollowupID: 423616

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 13:37

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 13:37
sorry who is this... hahaha

Have a great trip mate. Take care and travel safe...

Ads
AnswerID: 168304

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:05

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:05
Thanks Ads,

What's this "sorry who's this?" business. Most people say...."once met, never forgotten!!!" hahaha
FollowupID: 423618

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:23

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:23
thought it was better than saying , bastard friend for rubbing it in that your going on holidays hahaha

have a good one

Ads
FollowupID: 423632

Reply By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 13:55

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 13:55
I think it will be cold at Kozi.
It was predicted for snow to fall over the Geehi campground over the easter weekend (don`t know if it did or not). Last night there was 10cm of snow fall over Mt. Hotham and it was advised not to drive across without chains. So I dare say there will be a fair bit of snow over the snowy mountains by the time you get there.

Anyways, have a great trip.
AnswerID: 168306

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:07

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:07
G'day Darren,

Yeah, I'm with you mate....too flippin' cold up there even in Summer for my liking. I was based at Cooma for 3 bloody years and had to go up to Thredbo and Jindabyne etc to do property inspections and customer visits. Very pretty place to look at through the windscreen, but brace ya-self if you've gotta get out of the cab for anything....even a jimmy riddle!!!

FollowupID: 423621

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 14:40

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 14:40
I hope that if , like me, you breaK the drought whenever you go on holidays, that it follows you and doesn't accompany you....have a great trip Roachie........
AnswerID: 168315

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:09

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:09
G'day Wayne,

Mate, I've got everything crossed too.......I hate camping in the bloody rain; it's pain!!!

FollowupID: 423623

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 14:58

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 14:58
We drop No10 2nd May and will be camped at Eden till then. Looks like we'll just miss you Bill. Have fun.

VKS Mobile 1906

AnswerID: 168320

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:12

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:12
G'day Peter,
Oh well, if we pick up on 1/5 and it's too cold to go through the mountains, we could always change plans and go back via the coastal road and Melbourne (got a brother there who thinks we've forgotten how to find his place...hahaha).

If that ends up happening we might see you along the way somewhere. I'll MM you with my mobile number.

FollowupID: 423626

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 14:59

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 14:59
Thanks for the heads up Roachie,
I've just locked the gate and now all windows shut so it looks like no-one is home hahaha.
Safe travels and I hope the weather is good for you.
Are you adding a turbo setup mode to the ultimate???

Best regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 168321

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:16

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:16
G'day Trevor,
No fear of us venturing up your way mate.......

What's that tourism B/S????? Something about "Beautiful one day; perfect the next"???

What a load of codswallop!!!!!!!

More like....."Ahhhh Queensland.........Raining One Day.........Cyclone the next".....
;-))))

Sorry mate, I couldn't resist!!!!

FollowupID: 423630

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:28

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:28
Fair cop at the moment.

Take care.
FollowupID: 423634

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:03

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:03
Hi Roachie, Annette & Boys

Have a Safe One & Enjoy!!!

(BTW...I've already packed, just incase you swing past and pick me up......lol)

Cya
Muddy & Juddy

AnswerID: 168322

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:03

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:03
Hi Roachie, Annette & Boys

Have a Safe One & Enjoy!!!

Cya
Muddy & Juddy

AnswerID: 168323

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:04

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:04
Hi Roachie, Annette and Boys

Have a Safe One and Enjoy!!!

Cya
Muddy and Juddy

AnswerID: 168325

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:06

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:06

Noooooo that was not a huge hint.......it was a glitch?

Cya
AnswerID: 168326

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:14

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:14
Strewth Judy,
I was starting to think you'd got a case of the s-t-u-t-t-e-r-s....hahaha

Thanks for the good wishes.....cya when we get back.

FollowupID: 423629

Reply By: rolande- Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:33

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:33
G'Day Roachie,

Have a great trip, hope to catch up with you when we are in your neck of the woods next month

Rolande

P.S. Patrol now 100mm higher, just don't tell SWMBO
AnswerID: 168330

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:02

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:02
Good one Rolande.....we'll be back here by 7th may.

How do you get away with hiding a 100mm lift??? It would stand out like doggies appendages!!! hahaha

Cya mate

FollowupID: 423640

Follow Up By: rolande- Saturday, Apr 22, 2006 at 17:02

Saturday, Apr 22, 2006 at 17:02
Just told her it was only 50mm and would settle over time.

Just did a check to make sure, closer to 75mm, (first time check was straight off the hoist)

Rolande
FollowupID: 423802

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:43

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 15:43
Take care Bill and have a great trip.

AnswerID: 168332

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:03

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:03
Thanks John,

Far too much black-top for my liking, but we will try to have a fair amount of fun along the way.....

FollowupID: 423641

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:34

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:34
Bill,

Can you explain what holidays are, it has been so long since I went on holidays. March 1988 was the last time and that was the honeymoon so it was not a real holiday.

Looks like I will miss you on your trip, I will be there and you are not, you will be there and I will not. Always wanted to say that.

Bring the rain we need it but wait until I am out of the Vic High Country, next week would be fine.

Anyhow must get back to checking the Troopie before I am back at work for 5 months straight.

Have a safe trip and if you are ever in Penrith don't bother calling in because I will not be home.:-))

AnswerID: 168335

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 18:05

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 18:05
jeez wayne what a heap of codswallop ??yuo and the bank manager (roachie ) are always on holidays lololololol????????

ps what do you use for your flag carriers as we hope to do the simpson this year and i am lookig for something stronger than conduit from work

FollowupID: 423669

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:51

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 16:51
Have a good 'un Roachie.

Safe travels.

AnswerID: 168340

Reply By: Member - Clay G (WA) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 17:13

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 17:13
Don't worry about the spelling of our highest peak, you had a reasonable phonetic attempt! You join with 96% of other Australians who have no idea how to spell Kosciuszko! Have yet to find a Polish name that is easy to spell!
AnswerID: 168347

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 17:20

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 17:20
Have a good one Billand co and if you are ever down this way CALL IN, we would love to have you for a night or some

AnswerID: 168348

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 17:31

Friday, Apr 21, 2006 at 17:31
have a safe trip....but more important Enjoy It
AnswerID: 168350

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 19:56

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 19:56
Hi Roachie - I have used an old post to ask a question.
You have an Amsoil bypass filter fitted.
No doubt you researched it beforehand.
I am looking at fitting a bypass, and forumites speak highly of 2 systems : Amsoil and Baldwin.
Like you, I have a second battery and there is not much room under the bonnet of my 1999 4.2 GU.
The Amsoil has 2 options -
1. replace the back filter with an adaptor which the bypass screws onto OR -
2. replace the back filter with an adaptor with hoses that lead to a head unit (one head unit takes just the bypass; a bigger head unit takes both a full flow and a bypass. I think you have this style.)
So - some questions :
1. Did you look into the Baldwin filters, and if so, what decided you on the Amsoil?
2. Why the dual head rather than simply replace the back filter with a single bypass.
3. Does the Amsoil synth oil have the calcium required by Nissan for the GU?

Would appreciate your advice.......thanks....................Keith. (email klladams@optusnet.com.au
AnswerID: 172657

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 20:57

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 20:57
G'day Keith,
Okay I'll try to answer your questions..............

1. I had never heard of Baldwin filters, so "NO" I hadn't looked into them at all.

2. The dual head unit was what the local dealer I met had on hand. Indeed, it was the only one he had anyway and a supseded style at that. It is not exactly the same as the one shown in the AMSOIL website. Also, it makes future oil changes much less messy, as I never have to touch the filter or adaptor on the side of the engine block. Even the other filter (in front of the adaptor plate) does not have to be changed in future, so no horrible dramas with oil running down the side of the motor and all over the starter motor etc. I guess you've read previously that I have moved the 2nd battery to the cargo area, so now the Amsoil dual unit is located conveniently and I can access the filters easily with minimal oil spillage

3. You've got me there I'm afraid........... I had no knowledge that Nissan required calcium for the GU and I also have no idea if the AMSOIL has calcium or not. Perhaps I should be giving it a drink of full-cream milk every so often to avoid the onset osteoparosis...hahahaha.

I hope this helps a bit. I'm now up to about 33,000 klm since my last oil change; last analysis was done 3,000klm ago and all was good.

FollowupID: 428305