WARNING - Dalhousie Springs

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 08:16
ThreadID: 33160 Views:3857 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
This happened last year and is happening again this year. We are finding people who have been swimming in Dalhousie Springs and then travelling east across the Simpson are arriving in Birdsville covered in nasty, itchy bites and requiring visits to the Clinic for relief and medication. Probably happens when they leave Dalhousie and go north or south too! If you are susceptible to bites - be careful. This is not caused by myriads of mosquitos or sandflies but appears to be lice in the water. Make sure you have calamine lotion and maybe some anti-histamine if you insist in swimming.
Not trying to take anything away from the beauty of Dalhousie at all - just wanting to make the visit more comfortable.

Reply By: Nick R - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 08:24

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 08:24
jeez you're busy this morning Ruth
nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 168541

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 08:45

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 08:45
Yep, woke up early - no distractions - four campers - no early breakfasts. Nice day though. You having breakast Nick - finished early did you?
Just realised I forgot to put on the list -

Ten pegs of differing sizes and thickness (especially if hiring a camper trailer they should be compulsory)
Extra tent poles (for when the wind blasts you and snaps the centre pole).
FollowupID: 423897

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 12:16

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 12:16
Am I on the list?

FollowupID: 423928

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 13:15

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 13:15
Bonz, you're on the list to meet up with when we hit the wallaby and visit everyone we've met or nearly met - why stay in caravan parks when nearly everyone is Aus has a back yard! Ha ha - just joking! LOL.
Did you forget your tent poles one trip?
Last time Ian went to Diamantina Lakes fishing he forgot the gas bottle, the frying pan and the matches (and a blanket in his swag), luckily for him he had plenty of bread and vegemite and apples. Ha ha ha.
He went up yesterday arvo and rang at 7:00 pm to say heaps of floodwater, road in good but building large smoky fire because mossies and sandflies horrible (he did take matches and a doona for the swag this time). LOL
FollowupID: 423935

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 17:50

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 17:50
Umm I did forget the poles for my swag but twasnt a drama really, when your wallaby passes this way hop off and come stay a while.

seeya

FollowupID: 423953

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 19:17

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 19:17
Oh Bonz, that's what I thought you meant but I was being polite and minding my manners. Heh heh.
FollowupID: 423980

Reply By: Member - Stephen L- Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 10:58

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 10:58
Hi Ruth
Thanks for that very special bit of advice. I thought that it was the very friendy mosquitos.

See you in a few weeks

AnswerID: 168559

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 13:06

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 13:06
Hi Stephen, I think the mossies are very friendly there as well! See you soon - you
'll have GREAT stories to tell.
Ruth
FollowupID: 423934

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 11:56

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 11:56
Much appreciated Ruth, hopefully in early August we'll be at the springs and a dip was definitely on the cards. Wife suffers from bites etc so your advice is most appreciated.

Dunc.

AnswerID: 168568

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 13:16

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 13:16
Dunc, make sure she checks with her Doctor about some anti-histamine as well.
See you when and if you are coming this way. Have a good time.
FollowupID: 423936

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 20:32

Sunday, Apr 23, 2006 at 20:32
Ruth,
Had a swim in a disused railway black tank up in the north west in the late seventies and can testify to the lice biting. These were the size of scotch greys and hadn't been fed for ages.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 168644

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 10:42

Monday, Apr 24, 2006 at 10:42
Bet you thought it was an oasis, Bros? Hungry buggas, eh?
FollowupID: 424066

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 09:30

Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 09:30
Thanks Ruth came thru last year & my 7 year old was bad with bite & thought it was mossies
AnswerID: 168854

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 21:13

Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 21:13
Vincent, may have been the lice - nasty little beggars!
FollowupID: 424336