Electric barke soliniod

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 17:54
ThreadID: 33235 Views:2195 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
We have just purchased a new Camper trailer and the co advised against fitting electric brackes as they are Drums and the Solioned fails after some water crossing has any one had any experience about this
snailbait
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 18:18

Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 18:18
G'day

Your camper trailer cannot weigh anymore then 750kg ( loaded) if its unbraked. Does it have over ride brakes?

Your new trailer should have a compliance plate on it showing the permitted weights. Including axle weight.

If your trailer is unbraked it may have appropriatly lighter suspension components (including permited axle weight) due to its unbraked state. (As stated above check the trailer compliance plate).

Electric trailer brakes work fine if the braking system is maintained and used with a quality brake controller. Off road trailers are usually fitted with electric brakes which have a more robust actuating setup to cater for the harsher off road conditions.

If you travel through lots of water and or mud, like any drum brake system they can become contaminated and will need more regular maintenance. Electrical components can fail or become ineffective due to water/dust/mud. Good systems are not frail though, so your trailer suppliers statement is I feel, a little simplistic.

I am not a fan of unbraked trailers in a dirt or off road situation

AnswerID: 168935

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 18:30

Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 18:30
What solinoid??????
FollowupID: 424300

Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 18:52

Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 18:52
he propably meant the magnet.
FollowupID: 424303

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 19:04

Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 19:04
Make that 'electromagnet' (the actuator at each wheel)
FollowupID: 424304

Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:27

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:27
hi paul
Thanks for your remarks yes i do have brakes yes the trailer is over 750 kg
the GVM IS 1500KG yes it does have a complience plate the camper trailer is a full off road camper trailer
hi RAY , V8 TROOPIE AND KIWI KIA thanks for putting me right yes it is the Electromagnet at each wheel i was asking about

FollowupID: 426048

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 19:17

Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 19:17
You need brakes fitted. Electric brakes are standard on all trailers over 750kg.

Is he offering you disc brakes or hydraulic brakes as an alternative ?

Regards Derek.
AnswerID: 168949

Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:33

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:33
thanks Derek
Thanks for your comments Yes i have brakes fitted.No Electric brakes are not std on all trailers over 750 kgs I have manual override disc brakes and when negoitating to buy the Camper trailer new i discused brakes with the manufacture and he did not recommend Electric brakes

FollowupID: 426052

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 20:06

Tuesday, Apr 25, 2006 at 20:06
Frustrating for you snailbait - all those responses and not one answering your question. I suggest you check out the braking system used on the T Van as it's the best of the off road campers.
AnswerID: 168960

Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:40

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:40
hi Aandy
thanks for your comments yes very Frustrating what i wanted to know and i probbley did not phrase it properly is has any person had a problem with the eltromagnet failing on the electric brakes and are there such a beast as a electric disc brakes for trailers i have been advised that drum brakes are not good in water and sand and mud and dust because they clog up not that they do not stop the trailer and that makes the electromagnt fail
Snailbait

FollowupID: 426054

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 07:29

Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 07:29
I reckon the trailer bloke doesn't know his ar$e from his elbow.

Electric brakes, if correctly setup and maintained, are excellent. INMO impervious to water. Mud ... well, that's another matter, but that's where maintenance comes in.

AnswerID: 169007

Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:49

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:49
hi Rosco
the Trailer manufacture sells a lot of camper trailers
Electric brakes, on the black top i understand the Electric brakes work well
on the trackes i under stand that the mud, water , dust clog up the drums and i understand that maintenance is a fair bit of the time to late to save the Electromagnet from failing
snailbait

FollowupID: 426055

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 13:06

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 13:06
Snail

Horses for courses old mate .. your trailer, your choice. I've had 2 camper trailers over the years, both with leccie brakes and both had a hard life. Last one to the Cape and back and about to head off to corner country. Never had a problem. I personally much prefer them to overide brakes which I believe could be dodgy in emergency situations. It's far better for the trailer brakes to be applied before the tow vehicle brakes, than only have them applied by trying to push the tow vehicle IMO.

FollowupID: 426059

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 08:53

Wednesday, Apr 26, 2006 at 08:53
Hydraulically actuated "override" brakes, operated by the trailer coupling, are adequate for most camper trailer setups. Why go to the extra expense and introduce other factors associated with electric brakes unnecessarily?

As long as you have the basic setup when your trailer weighs more than 750kgs, you will find the hydraulic brakes work well.

The only thing you need to remember (no big deal) is to "lock" them off, when reversing up hill. This is simply a "flap" that flips over to stop the hydraulic arm from compressing during the reversing process. I don't even bother with this if on a flat surface and haven't had any noticable problems.

AnswerID: 169018

Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:54

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 12:54
hi Sand Man (SA)
Thanks for your coments i favour Hydraulically actuated "override" brakes but in NSW I understand there has to be a manual cable hand brake when the trailer is registered. With the manual override cable operated disc brakes there is a reversing flap on the tow bar actuater to stop the brakes from working when reversing
snailbait

FollowupID: 426056

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 13:23

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 13:23
You also need to worry about over-ride brakes going down a slippery hill, it is much better to be able to control the trailer braking rate from within the cab, as you can with an electric brake controller.
Over-ride mechanical discs are perfect for boat trailers or on road, but off road electric brakes are better, obviously electric/hydraulic discs are better than the electric/magnetic drum brakes, but they are heaps more expensive.
FollowupID: 426064