Willem

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 11:59
ThreadID: 33375 Views:2764 Replies:9 FollowUps:23
Hello everyone, had a phone call from Willem last night - he's in Alice Springs, safe back from the first part of his trip into the Deserts. Had a great time he said - but I won't prempt his trip report by telling of his adventures. Wim (Q) is here waiting to meet up with Willem & Co for the next part of his trip.
There has been a couple of EO 'lurkers' here this week who love watching the action and reaction of the Forum (but too scared to say anything - big wusses).
Denis Bartells has left here this morning after placing two water and food dumps in the Simpson. He has gone around and up to Dalhousie to meet up with four girls - couple from overseas who are going to walk across the Simpson Desert in aid of Breast Cancer and plan to be back here in 20 days, and he will then launch a Hot Air Balloon from here to celebrate. (Denis has done about 80 crossing - in vehicles, camels and on foot and has written a number of books about it - he's pretty damn fit for 73 let me tell you). Stop and say hello if you come across them walking and give them plenty of encouragement.

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:06

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:06
Thanx for the news Ruth its good to hear whats going on, four girls eh? He'd have to be fit or deaf or BOTH!!!

It sure must be an eclectic grup you get thru there at times

AnswerID: 169813

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:20

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:20
Hi ya Bonz, knew you were in there somewhere today (just looked on the list of users - must say I was amazed how many Anonymouses are lurking).
One of the girls is Denis's daughter, she has flown from Canada to do this trip - he'll have a wonderful time with them (he's got a mate to help him when the chattering gets tooooo much).
Willem has stories to tell. Wim is the resident EO expert and one nice bloke I met yesterday who loves the Forum - I sent him over for indoctrination with Wim!!
We do get an eclectic group - that's what makes it so interesting. Fun when you match them around a campfire. Gee, sometimes the sparks fly.
FollowupID: 425148

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:31

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:31
Hi Ruth, that's great to hear, I"ve been spending the last few days transcribing my interview with Willie for my Uni assignment, it was a great experience, and I learnt heaps about him.

Hope all is well with you..

Lyn

AnswerID: 169816

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:38

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:38
Lo, Mrs Al. Thanks for the photo of the handsome one.....sure is. Been busy (fair few dramas in this small village last two weeks.....). Lucky you, to be able to ask Willem all those questions under the guise of your Uni assignment - needless to say, it will one day be published!!?? I'm ok - bit drained by all the dramas but have picked up overnight (helped by the fact that all the "boys" - Sully, Barry and Ian went yabbying (got nothing) and I went down the road for few Brown Bros. and BBQ - only two houses down - amazing what a change of scene can do.) Ha ha ha.
FollowupID: 425149

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:51

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:51
Hi Ruth, I hear you....I might have a couple of Brown Bros. tonight myself...

glad you got the pic...

and you never know, the interview might be published one day....
FollowupID: 425151

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:36

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 12:36
Thanks for the update Ruth. Glad to see the old boy is still so eclectic. Or electric or dialectric :)) Hopefully I'll be running into him later in the yearin WA.
That Dennis bloke rings a bell. Ahh...the 70's....80's....since I can't remember then I was obviously never there :)
Don't think I've ever actually met Dennis but know a bit about his exploits. He's still got more go in his little finger than I have in my whole body by the sounds of it.
Please pass along my best wishes to those involved with the breast cancer cause, one that I unfortunately know far too much about. I don't care how much they chatter, I think it's an admirable venture thats worthy of as much publicity as possible. (I was going to say exposure before I remembered what I was on about:)))))
AnswerID: 169817

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 13:57

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 13:57
G'day Ruth, thanks for the update on my Bro's travels. I imagine he has had some fun and has met with Willie too somewhere. I never know where he will call. I was at the Wimmera Machinery Field days and the mobile rang. You can imagine my surprise.

Give my regards to Wim too please. I think he and Judy are coming to visit us in August, but have not heard in a while on their plans.

On the subject of the EO lurkers, I am sure they would never get their head bitten off but it too all of a week for me to comment. I guess you already know I am shy, Heather too!
AnswerID: 169823

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 14:29

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 14:29
John, you're about as shy as I am :))
FollowupID: 425166

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 15:05

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 15:05
And John is a gentleman too. Both ways I hope you are too footy.
FollowupID: 425177

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:43

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:43
Gee Mr Lexic, now you have me worried with a comment like that ;-) An old definition was "that a gentleman was a person who seldom raises anything but his hat"

So 'Loosie you are so very shy too then? As well as being some sort of gentleman? Good on you!
FollowupID: 425230

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:45

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:45
But of course I am. I even have the paperwork to prove that I'm a bonafide member of the League of Gentlemen. I'll let you in on a secret Mr Lexic, a gentleman never tells :))
FollowupID: 425231

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:54

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:54
John, yes to some extent I'm shy. It depends on the situation.
A gentleman, by the way, is someone married for a long time who refuses to open his wife's mail or search for her carkeys in her handbag :))
FollowupID: 425235

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:29

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:29
I was alway shy with girls 'Loosie. It took me $2.00 worth of Scotch and dry before going to dances, to break that down. That meant four of them in the late 60s. I then became slightly (ever so slightly or more) gregarious and could talk to the prettiest ones even if they said 'No'

The carkeys are usually hanging in the kitchen on Judith Kempen's handiwork.....
FollowupID: 425261

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:43

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:43
John, you rekkon that's shy ? When I was young I used to cross the street to avoid meeting any girls I knew ! They say you can't see around corners but I gave it a good try.
Even later on they had to use a 4lb sledge hammer to let me know when they were interested...and it always came as a shock.
Now I won't say that I'm still a shrinking violet, but I'm planning on running into Willem later in the year. And I'll bet that he probably will have forgotten that we met by the time he gets back:))
I'm afraid that my years as a you know what have left their mark. As I said to the lass at the checkout, I'm a virtual sort of guy :)))

FollowupID: 425266

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 15:02

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 15:02
Ruth,

Just tell the lurkers to speak up. The more the merrier. We don't bite ... much :))))

AnswerID: 169834

Reply By: bj_cruiser - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 15:38

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 15:38
Gday folks,

well - im a lurker whos about to head your way Ruth!

Just about to set off on a trip from brisbane to darwin
via innaminka, birdsville, boulia and alice.

Heading up to Arnhem Land to work as a ranger up there come July.

Been doing the osmosis thing for the last couple years on this forum...few posts
but mostly quiet.

Anyway, look forward to dropping in and saying gday.

bj.

AnswerID: 169841

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:51

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:51
bj - will look forward to seeing you - don't be shy - everyone started off lurking!!!
Gee, lucky you to be going ranging!
FollowupID: 425355

Reply By: Redback - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:01

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:01
We so wanted to do this trip with Willem as we said when we were at the national gathering but with the purchase of our new home and other setbacks we were unable to do it, oh well there maybe a next time.

Hope all goes well for Judith & Willem and also Willem & Judy on their trip ;-)))

Hey Ruth how ya goin, say Hi to Karsten.

AnswerID: 169864

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:46

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 18:46
So you have moved? Please say hello to the girls for us mate, Kerry, Vanessa, Honey and Pepper.
FollowupID: 425232

Follow Up By: Redback - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:06

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:06
Well not yet we move june 30, to Helensburgh just south of Sydney.

And yes i will, and send you our new address and phone number too.

FollowupID: 425255

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:56

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:56
Baz, will Kerry still be doing her NP thing? What's 'Ness going to be doing?
New home, eh - that's an expensive exercise. I'll have to look up the map again.
Baz, Karsten's been away most all of summer but had just started back up again - been very busy so he's had a good start. Will tell him Hi for you.
We've been busy too - steady.
Having a campfire tonight - Wim will join us - Roast Beef and the trimmings - he's going out to the Simpson to meet up with Willem on 3rd.
FollowupID: 425356

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 12:33

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 12:33
Hi Ruth are you and Ian still going out to meet Willem as previously discussed?

I had to pull out due to work commitments so am still pretty bleep about it. :-((

FollowupID: 425362

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:21

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:21
John, it's not looking good for us to be able to get away. Apart from a number of things have happened in the community this past two weeks, we are quite busy and expecting the Governor-General on 13 May - which requires me to do accommodation and catering, so like you we are .............sorry not to be able to go. Wim is heading out tomorrow to meet Willem.
FollowupID: 425372

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:31

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 14:31
Just give the GG a tent out back and a few snags for the BBQ, I'm sure he can cook'em himself. LOL.

Yeah my No 1 client suddenly wanted all this work done and really caused me a few headaches about a week before I was due to leave so I am majorly disappointed, but what can you do???? thats life when you work for yourself.

Take care and will catch you a bit latter in the year all being well.

P.S. Did you draw Wim a mud map so he knows where to go??? LOL

FollowupID: 425376

Reply By: Moggs - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:40

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 20:40
Hi there,

The group of ladies are known as the "Desert Mums". My wife is good friends with one of them (Debbie Shiell). These ladies (and their families) have sacrificed heaps of time to fund-raising and training for the crossing. Good on them! It certainly is a worthwhile cause!

Anyone interested in what the Desert Mums are all about - check out www.desertmums.com
AnswerID: 169901

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:28

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:28
MY freinds wife knows all about these ladies too, she was telling us about it the other night. You might know her... hahaha

hello
FollowupID: 425282

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:57

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 11:57
Moggs, I think Debbie is Denis Bartells daughter.
Ads - hello to you and Kir.
FollowupID: 425357

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 08:46

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 08:46
Well done "Desert Mum's". My mum has had breast cancer. After operation and treatment she is going well. Anything that can be done to raise money for this cause is just wonderful. I am full of praise and in awe of these "desert mum's".
FollowupID: 425761

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:29

Sunday, Apr 30, 2006 at 21:29
Hi Darling

Nothing much to say, just Hi... Ad and Kir
AnswerID: 169922

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 21:14
Hi Darling yourself - you cheeky boy you!
FollowupID: 425685

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 23:48

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 23:48
hello gorgeous

hope your still having fun. hope to see you soon. will let you know if my parents are coming that way.

Ads
FollowupID: 425726

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 07:52

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 07:52
Still having fun - will love to talk to your parents when they get here - imagine the conversation. I'll ask your Mum if she thinks all that red cordial is bad for you? LOL (Just joking, Joyce!) Ha ha
FollowupID: 425745