Home from Innamincka

Submitted: Monday, May 01, 2006 at 16:27
ThreadID: 33419 Views:3384 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Back to work today after almost three weeks on the road; Louth, Wanaaring, Tibooburra, Innamincka, Coongie, Bore Track to Bollards Lagoon, Milparinka, White Cliffs and home. Thanks to you anonymous experts (Melissa from WA are you there?) we left with a swag of advice and ideas and had a ball.

Highlights?
Canoeing on the Darling at Trilby Station
Listening to howling dingoes at night
Cold beer with Two Bills at the Corner Store
Leaping into the Cooper fully clothed after 5 hot dusty days on the road
Depot Glen out of Milparinka
Having a yarn with MOC at the Wanaaring Pub
White Cliffs Underground Motel
Meeting Graham from Getabout Tagalong 4WD Tours
Sunset amongst the granite rocks at Tibooburra
Free car wash at the Innamincka causeway
Playing Colin Buchanan’s “Land of the Getaway” in the car each day
Watching brolgas at Coongie
Swimming in the Cooper at Cullyamurra Waterhole.
Watching pelicans trying to catch turtles at Coongie
Sunrise at Coongie Lakes (has to have the best view of any dunny in Australia…)
The White Cliffs Gymkhana and Rodeo
Fantastic dinner at the Tibooburra Hotel (the 2 storey)
Having exploroz pace notes for the Bore Track to Bollards

Not so good
Friends broke both front shocks on their 02 Navara ute.
$53 for a slab of VB at Innamincka!
FLIES!!!

Best of all was spending 2 weeks with my wife and 6 and 3 year old kids and seeing the wonder in their eyes…..

Reply By: Jo and Mark - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 17:53

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 17:53
Hey Michael, is great to hear you had a really good trip, that is the report we want to hear!!! one day...one day... we will do a trip like that!
Jo
AnswerID: 170059

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 19:28

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 19:28
Hey great to hear you had a good time. I can relate to all of the items mentioned except Colin Buchanan music- since I don't know it. Great to hear the Bore Track Trek notes were handy as well. It is really great to know our note taking and GPS recording is being used by others. we head out that way again in June and look forward to Cullymurra and Coongie and the Bore Track as well as lots of other places once again.

AnswerID: 170090

Reply By: GREENDOG - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 21:45

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 21:45
Glad you had a great time on your trip Michael,Innamicka is a great place and how did you go with that swim mate that water is bloody freezing,and did you happin to have a Inna Burger at the pub cause there fantastic as well and 53 bucks for a slab of V.B BUGGA.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 170131

Follow Up By: Member - Michael O (NSW) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 13:12

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 13:12
Thought about the Inna Burger GD but at $14.50, I'd rather have a cold can or 3...
FollowupID: 425567

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, May 01, 2006 at 23:56

Monday, May 01, 2006 at 23:56
Michael,

You are obviously not a serious beer drinker mate.

Why buy VB at Innamincka when they sell COOPERS?

So you missed out on the highlight of the whole trip.
Drinking Coopers Beer at Cooper Creek.

Duuno how we can educate you easterners, fair dinkum.

AnswerID: 170148

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 09:24

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 09:24
hear hear.......sand man
i have 2 t shirts from Innamincka
I drank a coopers on the cooper......i was hooked after that trip.....

Michael,
You did some stuff i couldn't do because of closed roads when i was there, mainly the Coongie Lakes....
Glad to hear you had a great trip Michael, Trilby is a great stop, Gary and Liz are brilliant people too. I can't wait to get back there.......next year i hope.
FollowupID: 425533

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 09:24

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 09:24
hear hear.......sand man
i have 2 t shirts from Innamincka
I drank a coopers on the cooper......i was hooked after that trip.....

Michael,
You did some stuff i couldn't do because of closed roads when i was there, mainly the Coongie Lakes....
Glad to hear you had a great trip Michael, Trilby is a great stop, Gary and Liz are brilliant people too. I can't wait to get back there.......next year i hope.
FollowupID: 425534