Credit card compromised.

Submitted: Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:04
ThreadID: 33462 Views:2847 Replies:18 FollowUps:36
G,day all,
Just a reminder that thieves are still active on the net.
I arrived home from work at night on 04/04/06 and SWMBO tells me that my bank had called. I immediately rang the 1800 number but the guy didn'y know what the call was about. I then looked at my account on the net and saw that a fairly large figure was in my account but only a few dollars was available. I rang back the 1800 number and got a different guy and asked him what was going on with the two different account figures. He told me that my card (one of the top ones) had been compromised. He immediately started the ball rolling to get a new card and gave me a number to ring during business hours. On ringing this number i was again told that my card had been compromised to the tune of $3.015 through an Ancestry Locator Merchant in the UK. They told me that they had put a hold on the transactions and that i would get my money back. They have a team looking for dodgy withdrawals all the time and had picked it up.
The money was returned last week and the bank is fairly certain that the number was obtained on the net. They said that the only thing to do was use secure sites and even them you can not be 100% sure. (I do not look at dodgy sites LOL)
I suppose that a way out of this is to use an account that only has enough funds to cover what you are buying at the present time. The bank was excellent. Any thoughts or ideas are welcome.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

Reply By: Member - Marquis - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:09

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:09
Which bank ;)
AnswerID: 170239

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:44

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:44
Marquis,
No not that one, i doubt if they would care.
A QLD originated bank.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425615

Follow Up By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 12:18

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 12:18
Sad to say but this type of criminal activity is all too common these days.
Here at Engine Saver we don't accept credit card numbers via our web-site order form or by e-mail.
Our customers requiring a credit card transaction simply phone us direct with their credit card details.
These numbers are then processed straight away and the numbers fed into the office paper shredder.
We feel this is the most effective way to protect our customers interests, until the
banks can come up with a better system.

Best regards
FollowupID: 425816

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:17

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:17
Nice little plug for yourself there mate. Next time, contact David or Michelle. I believe advertising rates are reasonable.
FollowupID: 425832

Follow Up By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:36

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:36
Sorry if you have the wrong idea Steve.
Last time we checked, our EO advertising campaing was still current and yes the advertising rates Michelle gives us are very reasonable.
However I though I was answering the original post "Any thoughts or ideas are welcome"
Thats why I detailed the way we do things at Engine Saver as a safer alternative.
Once again sorry if you thought this was a blatant plug.

Best regards
FollowupID: 425833

Follow Up By: Steve - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 14:22

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 14:22
I haven't got the wrong idea mate. I'd say you have. You'll probably reply again with your flashing green ADVERT just to make sure we've all seen it. So I'll make this my last post on the matter.
FollowupID: 425847

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 14:40

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 14:40
Steve,

David @ Engine Saver Low Water Alarms is an advertiser as per the text link (Visit this ExplorOz Advertiser). You may or may not be able to see that link if you use that Norton Internet Security thing. We have a policy that advertisers are most welcome to post replies to questions or topics, they are not to advertise their products directly however answers and input on topics is welcome.

I hope this clarifies any issues.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

FollowupID: 425852

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:12

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:12
G'day Bros,

Its good to hear a good news story on bank for a change. I'd bet Roachie would pounce on this except he's busy camping in the snow.

AnswerID: 170240

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:47

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:47
Beatit,
The bank was the ex Metropolitan Permanent. I don't know which bank Roachie is tied up with.
Plenty of rain up north and still coming down. Should be good for Bathurst Bay, if it stops, and we can get in.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425617

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:18

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:18
snow? Might be cold but no snow here!

Leroy
FollowupID: 425663

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 07:50

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 07:50
G'day Bros,

Think it is NAB! I'm looking forward to my journey there and it has been in the planning since last year. I know that the weather is not anything we can do anything about but I'm quitely confident that it will be OK. I'm expecting some serious changes since the last time I visited (4 years ago) as I'm expecting the rains will have affected tracks and crteated a lot more vegetation. My fishing gear took a pounding in the Kimberley last year so took the opportunity to replenish a the Brisbane tackle show the other week. Looking to reproduce the excitement,

Mate, I'm looking forward to your report end August.

FollowupID: 425744

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 07:55

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 07:55
G'day Leroy,

Just splitting hairs here but anything around 0 is no brass monkey weather and just because it isn't precipitating - it is still freezing. Heard last week that Cooma had -1.8c and if memory is correct right on Mr Roach's itinerary - not to mention his planned visit to Kosiosco.

FollowupID: 425746

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:04

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:04
I was up at Charlies Creek 1/2 April and it was bl**dy cold and snowed all night. Friends were up that way again over Easter and the temperature in the vestibule of the tent was.......minus 10.3C - now that's bloody cold.
FollowupID: 425829

Follow Up By: conman - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:59

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:59
looks like you got a bad snag there Mr Beatit! hope you got your hook back, lol
FollowupID: 425839

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 14:05

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 14:05
G'day Conman,

This 150 kilo "snag" ended up on the beach and released unharmed. I didn't get the hook back, it was way to far down to contemplate retrieval. Reckon it is a small price to pay for some top excitement.

It is all so predictable in those pristine tropical waters. Big bait - (very) short wait - big fish. Doesn't get much better than that.

FollowupID: 425841

Follow Up By: conman - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 14:14

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 14:14
Mmmm, yes fishing is all too predictable down in sydney too. Not in a good way though. Starting to forget what a big fish looks like down here.
FollowupID: 425843

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 15:12

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 15:12
Used to live in Badgery's Creek in the mid 70's and used to do a fair bit of fishing at Gary Beach in the Royal NP it was always good for some decent sized tailor and salmon in winter and driving the old XU1 through the NP before dawn was always a hoot - lots of venison on the road in those days.

FollowupID: 425861

Follow Up By: conman - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 15:28

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 15:28
Yeah used to waste a lot of petrol driving my v8 to garie beach. Once carried 20 litre bucket full of live bait to burning palms from the Garie beach car park! Can't remember how long that took, but I was DEAD after that. Stumbling and climbing along the rocks for 1hr+, the stupid things I used to do for fish.
Venison, I thought they were deer.
FollowupID: 425865

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 19:34

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 19:34
beatit,

I didn't say it wasn't cold! ;-))

Leory
FollowupID: 425926

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 07:58

Thursday, May 04, 2006 at 07:58
Ah conman, we all did/still do stupid things for fishing like baiting the hook for the missus and fixing up the boat while she proceeds to catch the best fish on my rod!

You are correct and deer it is until they become meat and turn to venison.

FollowupID: 426006

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:19

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:19
As you suggest, a friend has two cards for the internet, one with $150.00 limit and another with $1000.00 limit.
AnswerID: 170243

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:48

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:48
Oldplodder,
That looks to be the way to go bloke.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425619

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:43

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:43
I really dont think any of these steps matter. The reason I use CC is for the ease of payment and the security. You, as the card holder, are the banks customer and you have their interests at hand every time over the merchant. At my last job in a little company we got ripped of 10k with a dodgy card, the owner got his money, we lost the goods nothing we could do. I have had my card stolen and 2k put on it in 20 mins, it has zero effect on me (i didnt know the card was gone the bank rang me to tell me), the bank sends me a new card, all is well and I never pay a thing. Since then I have lost or had my card stolen around 3 times (i know wired huh) but seriously who gives a damn, no effect, the merchant looses every time.
FollowupID: 425670

Follow Up By: Member - Nutter (QLD) - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 08:26

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 08:26
As we would all be aware the banks in general do not lose, someone pays , and all of us that are users I suspect will be paying a little towards any loses the bank may incur, CC interest rates aren't exactly low.

See ya
Guy
FollowupID: 425758

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 09:37

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 09:37
good point
FollowupID: 425771

Reply By: agsmky - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:29

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:29
Mate,

I have a Vis@ debit card which i transfer exactly the right amount of money into when purchasing something.......that way it will not work in most cases.

Annoying though when i purchase something like this and the australian company (with an unsecure site!!) stuffs up the transaction and tries to bill me for more than i asked for. I'm left sitting and waiting for a package to arrive, which doesn't, then i ring them......all hell breaks loose over incompetent staff as they try to blame me for having exceeded my CC limit. How many others have they slightly overbilled/oversupplied and got away with???

AnswerID: 170246

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:51

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:51
agsmky,
The other account with just enough in it to buy whatever you are after at the time looks to be the way to go.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425621

Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:29

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 16:29
Glad to hear you have a switched on bank and are getting your money back.
This doesnt only happen with cards used on internet purchases, I recently had money charged to a card I have with an account that pays off a loan, the card has never been used for any transactions at all, suddenly Im buying "video's" from the good old US of A to the tune of 300 bucks, very nice.
The cheeky buggers spent less than $50 USD for each transaction so as not to tip off the bank, took a month for me to be aware of it as I only check the statements once a month as the loan repayments are all set to happen automatically and no other transactions happen on this account.
From my POV the only people who know anything about this card is the issueing bank and me, it wasnt me so somethings fishy.
Yes the bank has refunded the money and the charges, watch this space as the letter I received this arvo said this may change upon further investigation.
Let the fun begin................
AnswerID: 170247

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:53

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:53
guzzi,
Your episode looks interesting. Keep us posted on developments.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425624

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:49

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:49
(I do not look at dodgy sites LOL)

hmmm I hope you don't include thos one in that description, the site os NOT dodgy....however some of the contributors hahahahahahah I am not so sure hahaha

Good to hear that story, I have had a number of calls from the bank, Which Bank is right, checking ccard purchases, all being in order but its comforting to know theyre looking.

AnswerID: 170256

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:56

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:56
Bonz,
Would have to agree about some of the dodgy blokes that get on here at times.LOL.
Yeah good to know that someone is monitoring any transaction out of the ordinary.
Bros

FollowupID: 425626

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 23:32

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 23:32
Who's dodgey ? You must ne talking about MN1 :)))))

FollowupID: 425720

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:50

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:50
Your credit card details have less chance of being compromised on the net than they do in a normal shop.
AnswerID: 170257

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:59

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 17:59
Brew69,
The handbrake and i both used the old card over the phone as well as in shops, but no more over the phone. Bank 98% sure it was the net.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425628

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:31

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:31
Every shop assistant in every shop where you have used your card has access to your Credit Card numbers !

I have no idea why people believe that using your card over the Internet is more likely to lead to fraud.

FollowupID: 425644

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:56

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:56
Mike DID,
I swipe my own card in shops if practical. Some local shops they have to do it due to the location of the swiper thingo. Your point taken though. More security by me needed.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425655

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 09:08

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 09:08
Credit card fraud that is net based is actually a small percentage of the problem. Just watch to see that anyone who handles your card does not swipe it through a second machine off the counter or in a taxi away from the legitimate one. Slight of hand is important to see. That is about four or five times more likely than net based transactions according to statistics.
FollowupID: 425769

Reply By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:06

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:06
Bros,
I have had the same thing happen within the last week.

My bank called me at home on a Sunday night to ask if I had just made numerous purchases on Pay pall and other payment sites to pay US based internet providers and phone companies (but did not have internet access at home).

They told me that they would cancel the card and stop transactions however several of these have now appeared on my statement. They have assured me that this will be reimbursed once they investigate the fraud.

It is good that they were able to detect these fraudulent transactions and alert me to this. However, it is a worry that the only internet payments that I had recently made were to ExploreOz. I hope that this site was not the source of the compromise. What had you recently used your card for.

Geordie

AnswerID: 170267

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:37

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:37
Geordie C,
Just looked back over the withdrawal transactions for the year, and as follows.
EO x 3 over net.
Camp store in Vic x 2 over net.
Mailing houses in Syd x 7 over phone.
The bank said that even though the site was secure, a company database can be accessed and info gained that way. No one jump on me as that is what they said.
They could not rule out the phone purchase entirely.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425647

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:07

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:07
Yes It is pretty hard to find where to point the finger. It is hard to be careful when you don't know what to be careful of.
I will have to keep a close eye on my new card and internet transactions.
We all might have to go back to the good old "cash under the mattress" banking system soon.
Geordie
FollowupID: 425661

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:36

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 18:36
Well you aren't all Robinson Crusoe's on this one as I have been whacked as well.

F r i g g i n dirtbags lobbed in two transactions on Good Friday to our NAB Gold Visa.

One from Bearshare for $4.89 and when it was obvious that it was accepted in came one for $1,389.00 from PayPal.

I spotted it myself about 7 days later by sheer accident, rang the bank and it is now being investigated with hopefully a refund.

I do use the net for purchases and PayPal for payment, however when I checked my PayPal account neither of the two amounts showed anywhere and neither they should as I hadn't purchased anything for those amounts.

The was a mention in the papers in Victoria after Easter that a number of Financial Institutions had been attached via the Internet by Russian Criminal Enterprise alledgedly.

Unfortunately the age old crime of Theft never ceases - just changes its face and method.

Suggest you check your credit card acoounts for an unidentified obscure small amount which could indicate a 'test run' on your credit card account.
AnswerID: 170277

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:01

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:01
'Lucy',
Going on the responses it appears that a concerted effort has been made on accounts all over just recently, or is this an ongoing thing. Seems funny that when i bring it up, others come forward, especially on this forum. Let us know how you get on bloke.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425658

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 18:17

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 18:17
Bros1

Guess what?

The NAB has refunded the little one and big is still being investigated.

So it looks promising.

'Ms Lucille'
FollowupID: 425908

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 20:46

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 20:46
'Lucy',
Looking good.
bros.

FollowupID: 425946

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:15

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:15
Bros & Others,

I do not want others to be concerned about using our shop and other systems and I am happy to contribute to this thread and tell you a little more about our security process.

The ExplorOz server uses 128bit SSL security to manage the transfer of card details from your system to ours and in fact we completely remove the card details once the credit card has been processed. All programs we run to process cards use 128bit SSL security and the database is protected by additional access controls and firewalls. To further enhance our security offering we use one of Australia's largest hosting companies (WebCentral) to manage our servers and operating environment. As a further check we have an office credit card that we periodically process through the various stages of our processing and this card which was used in last weeks "test” has had no spurious transactions recorded.

I have placed calls with WebCentral and also Cardlink (the bureau that handles our credit card operations) to ensure that there are no security issues. If you have any issues to report can you please email them directly to me at david@exploroz.com.

The only major consoling factor in credit card fraud these days is that the banks favour the consumer. You may have to get a new card however this should be the extent of the issue.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 170280

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:41

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 19:41
David,
Thanks for the response from EO. It is good to know that our transactions are secure. Have got the new card and pin. I did not intend to alarm others with this thread, or to intimate that EO was to be blamed, but to alert Forum users to the risks.
Have got the new card and pin.
Just have to be more careful how it is used.
Bros.

FollowupID: 425668

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 20:55

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 20:55
In a recent perches from the U.S, I opted for Western Union Quick pay as it seemed like the safest option, next was a back wire transfer, the company I brought from also stated they don’t use Pay pal and from what I have heard about it that’s a good thing.
AnswerID: 170294

Reply By: Laura B - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:22

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:22
i have had a rpob recently too....aparrently an american company tried to get quite a few bucks off me....so much that the card was over drawn and the largest amount wouldnt go through.......have had money re-instated and legal action taken by the credit card company's.......

today looked at internet account for c.c and its not adding up - again - im getting sus that its happening again!!!

how do they get our card numbers without haing our cards!!! i never do internet paying with the c.c unless its safe and secured like exploroz etc....

Laura
AnswerID: 170316

Reply By: angler - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:24

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:24
I have an account that uses a SMS to my mobile if anyone trys to use dollars from my account over the net. When I do a transfer my phone rings and there is a new number that I have to type into the transfer details.

I put a document that arrived on email into my web site some time ago that may be of interest about cards etc.
A quick look will not go astray.

www.bycompass.com

select "of interest"

select "important information"

Hope it works. It's a pdf file so you will need a pdf reader.

Pooley
AnswerID: 170317

Reply By: Laura B - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:44

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 22:44
u wouldnt believe it - im on the phone with cc company.....$810.46 has been used between 30th april and 1st may.......8 different transactions......
even with a new card no. they are stil getting me.......2 times in 2 weeks!!!!

im cutting it up!!!!

they say they are protecting us! what a load of crap!!!!

Laura..
AnswerID: 170324

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 11:45

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 11:45
It is comforting ot know that the banks keep an eye on these things. I have two occasions to thank big compnies for.

One was a mobile phone co. In the days of the old analog phone mine was compromised. The company contacted me and asked a few questions before asking me to change my phone. I took the opportunity to upgrade. When I got my bill I contacted them as they had requested to point out which call I thought were not mine. There were about $6000.00 calls to Indonesia. Despite the fact that we had been travelling for two months and my bill was about triple what it normally is the phone company simply wiped it, including the cost of the new phone. "Thanks for your co-operation" they said.

The other time was filling the tank in Yulara I tried 3 times to get the card to work, then my phone rang. "Are you in Yulara? Are yo trying to buy fuel?" Well yes I replied. It turns out that my card was overdrawn. We had forgotten to transfer funds after buying a new fridge in Alice. After a couple of questions for security purposes I transferred the funds and all was well.

Both times the company alerted me to a problem, or potential problem, and both times tehy were more than helpful in finding a solution.

I know we hate them, but they are not all bad.
AnswerID: 170401

Reply By: Steve - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:22

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 13:22
Concerns about web credit card usage are understandable. I just find it odd, though, that any sales person in a shop has access to your credit card details once you've used it but nobody bats an eyelid.
AnswerID: 170420

Reply By: ch00k555 - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 16:18

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 16:18
My visa CC was hit twice. One was a mobile phone company and the other was an electricity company both in Sydney. I didn't notice until I decided to check my statements. I discovered that this had been going on for 3 months(pays to check your statements). Anyway I contacted these two companies and asked to speak to accounts and asked them for my account details. They both said you don't have an account with us. I then stated why have your debited my CC for the last 3 months. Both said call you back. I then spoke to the accounts supervisor who explained that the person using my CC has done this before and I will get a full return of the money stolen from me. I asked said supervisors for this person's details so I could commence legal proceedings against him/her. Their replies where " Sorry Sir that is confidential". Criminal wins again. Got my money back though, so I guess I won as well.
AnswerID: 170465

Reply By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 20:49

Wednesday, May 03, 2006 at 20:49
To all who responded,
Thanks for your tips and experiences.
I hope that those who have been stung all get their Oxfords back.
Bros.

AnswerID: 170531