Diesel in Birdsville

Submitted: Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 15:45
ThreadID: 33758 Views:2076 Replies:10 FollowUps:12
Anybody know the current price of diesel fuel in Birdsville ?

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 15:51

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 15:51
click here
AnswerID: 171949

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 15:55

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 15:55
or here
FollowupID: 427477

Reply By: davidta - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 16:19

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 16:19
I checked there, but wondered if it had gone up in the last week like it has here.
AnswerID: 171950

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 16:35

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 16:35
Report shows update 10th May - cannot get better than updated today....
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

FollowupID: 427485

Reply By: davidta - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 16:51

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 16:51
OK.
I must be blind.
I would have sworn that it said it was updated on 5th May...

Thank you
AnswerID: 171956

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 17:20

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 17:20
Nah,

when I posted the links it did say May 5th.

Must have just been updated afterwards.

I am just hoping it doesn't move too much more. my fuel budget for my Simpson trip in July is blowing out (even though I have built some room to move into it)
FollowupID: 427495

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:27

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:27
Built some room to move, you better be tryin to turn the Queen Mary at full noise the way its going!
FollowupID: 427527

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:43

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:43
You're not wrong Bruce!

I started with a Queen Mary size buffer, but the way things are going, i'm down to a Sydney Ferry - when they are actually running!
FollowupID: 427536

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:47

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:47
I feel for people in small towns where nobody can afford to visit anymore.

They rely on us travellers...
FollowupID: 427541

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:59

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:59
Yeah, its a shame for sure.

Maybe as an election sweetener next year, we might get a reduction in the excise??????

FollowupID: 427551

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:01

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:01
My god man.

Share that bottle of what ever your drinking with me PLEASE!! thats some strong stuff! lol
FollowupID: 427553

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:06

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:06
HAHAHAHAHAH

That was said tongue in cheek!

I know it will never happen.
FollowupID: 427554

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:40

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:40
Then there are those like me.

Nearest town worth visiting is 300km away.

I can't afford to get out of town!!!

Not that I want to at the moment.................................................
Outback Challenge starts very soon. Looking forward to Sunday when the boys go out to play in the quarry.

Unfortunately I won't be able to follow them around this year. Pesky exams in June. Then again if I pass I will be able to afford the fuel for a run out of town.

Better get back to the books or I'll be stuck here for ever.

FollowupID: 427570

Reply By: bombsquad - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 18:20

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 18:20
Cheaper than Kununurra!
AnswerID: 171977

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:48

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 19:48
You wouldnt work out at the mine there?
Mate I grew up with works as a leading hand sparky I think.

Kevin heppell.. early 30s had a white lux last time I saw him
FollowupID: 427542

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 09:43

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 09:43
Yep. I haven't met Kevin, but I just did a search on the Org Chart and he works here! I'll keep an eye out for him and say gday

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 427662

Reply By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:02

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:02
Not much dearer than Canberra/Queanbeyan area...I paid $150.9 on the weekend.
AnswerID: 171994

Reply By: kesh - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:37

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:37
Dont worry about Birdsville, these ongoing fuel hikes are going to rip the bejesus out of all towns heavily dependant on tourism.
Its not merely the cost of fuel when you get there, but the cost of commodities, supplies you may also need to purchase on your travels.
Dont get misled about the comparitive fuel cost in other countries, their bottom line economic situation is also different to ours.
We have over 80% of our fuel needs onshore, why use some peculiar offshore parity pricing to value it then add govt. excise which is then taxed again by gst?
I have to feel for the many thousands of grey nomads now having to crowd into roadside stops until the next pension payment enabling them to fill the tank again.
A 50% increase in fuel cost over the last 18 months should cost someone (poly?) dearly.
kesh
AnswerID: 172007

Reply By: fc_holden - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:57

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 20:57
$154.9 in Braidwood NSW just an hour from Canberra on the main road to the coast, cheaper in Birdsville
Live One Day at a Time for Tomorrow May Never Come.

AnswerID: 172010

Reply By: Arkay - Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 21:39

Wednesday, May 10, 2006 at 21:39
Like the man from Rolls Royce said, "If you have to ask you can't afford it". Best to stay haome & save money.
AnswerID: 172030

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 08:10

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 08:10
Birdsville yesterday - $1.54 and $1.57, Bedourie $1.63.
AnswerID: 172085

Reply By: davidta - Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 18:38

Thursday, May 11, 2006 at 18:38
Thanks Ruth.

Much cheaper than Mt Dare - just got an email from Dave & Melissa - $1.88 there at the moment.

AnswerID: 172166