Whats happened to "Exploring Oz?"

Submitted: Friday, May 12, 2006 at 20:32
ThreadID: 33839 Views:4708 Replies:32 FollowUps:73
Havent checked out this site for some time. Now I have, I've found that it's no longer "EXPLORE OZ" rather a site where people just talk about their vehicles. What happened to the exploring?

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 20:34

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 20:34
Those that can, do. Those that can't, talk about their vehicles ?? :))
AnswerID: 172367

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 20:37

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 20:37
That's a shame! Some months ago, I used to access this site a couple of times every day. My husband is a member. I have looked randomly over the last few months because travelling and "Exploring Oz" is my passion. And all i can see are articles about Patrols, Land Cruisers, shocks, suspensions, brakes.

Very little about "Exploring". Don't know where this website is heading. Maybe it needs to be renamed!
FollowupID: 427967

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:09

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:09
The forum is a public forum. The website contains much more than the forum. People will talk about whatever people will talk about. The forum isn;t ExplorOz, it's the forum.

FollowupID: 427974

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:11

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:11
Well, why is it called "ExploOz" and why isn't it called "all about cars?"
FollowupID: 427977

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:13

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:13
ExploreOz is about exploring oz, the forum is about whatever people want to talk about at the time. You are confusing the two. The forum is one very small part of ExploreOz if you ask me.

Call the forum whatever you like...about cars, about suspensions....me I call it the forum.

A grup of people gathered to talk about whatever they want and to seek info on ANY subject related to whatever it takes to Explore Oz.

FollowupID: 427979

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:30

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:30
Lynn, possibly for 2 reasons ?
Most of us use our 4wds to explore Oz. We want to modify, add to , change etc so that we can have a better trip next time.
And *ta rah*
With the higher price of fuel we have more time at home and we have to talk about something :))
Having said that, there are still enough actual trip reports, requests and answers on most matters that travellers want to know on here.
FollowupID: 428002

Follow Up By: Katherine - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 07:56

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 07:56
Lynn2

Public forum, there's no set topic. Hence we are open to talk whatever . Yes ive asked questions about cars tyres etc because "EXPLORING OZ" is our passion also.This forum gives good advice on vehicle set up so we can enjoy our trip..
Anyway there's other places on this site for your "EXPLORING".......................
FollowupID: 428044

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:04

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:04
Lynn2 - do you read the whole forum over several days - I have found out so much info on travelling, what to take, where to go, as well as unbiased opinions on vehicles, accessories etc - as this is a public forum - not strictly for a specific brand of anything - if you read the posts you will find people usually ask about vehicles because they are going somewhere and want to know what vehicle is suitable for that area - that's what I've found anyway - love the site.
jules
FollowupID: 428081

Follow Up By: Laura B - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 16:00

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 16:00
hers an idea - start your own

call it " Explore what i wanna explore"

LB
FollowupID: 428148

Reply By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 20:56

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 20:56
Come on! Someone else MUST care what's going on here! Does anyone else want to see this site return to 'EXPLORING'? What about it's creators? Some debate would be good.
AnswerID: 172374

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:04

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:04
Lynn222222222222222222222
If you would like to just ....well sorta scroll up and cast your eyes on all those little light blue links near the top of the page , ya never know what ya might find in there,

FollowupID: 427969

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:15

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:15
Yup

FollowupID: 427980

Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:43

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:43
Lynn2, why are you called "Lynn2" and not Lynn???????
FollowupID: 428006

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:10

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:10
>What about it's creators<

Well here's what the creators say on the home page

"ExplorOz/ is an interactive site for people interested in camping, four wheel driving and caravanning in Australia"

So there you go Lyn, the terms of reference are fairly broad.

FollowupID: 428012

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 14:36

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 14:36
Come on! it is what YOU make it.

When was your last exploring Ox post?

Where have you been? Where are you going? What do you want to know?

This site is extremely helpful if you ask a question. If not, then shut up - if you're not changing the situation you are part of the problem.
FollowupID: 428128

Reply By: Greiglin - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:01

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:01
We were just saying the same thing the other day. Now when logging on to the forum we say "What fridge or rig will they be on about today?" Maybe this forum should be split in two. One for Exploring Oz topics and one for the gear to do it with. Just a thought... :-)
HAGW Mish
AnswerID: 172376

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:04

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:04
Good idea, then every time we log in we wouldn't have to scroll through posts and posts about cars and could go right to the 'exploring' part which is what i thought this site was about.
FollowupID: 427970

Follow Up By: benplant - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:09

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:09
That'll solve it. I've seen other sites with such set ups.
FollowupID: 427973

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:17

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:17
Log on...go to the links above...they will guide you to the exploring bit.
Want to see what people are talking about regardless of relevence to whatever turns you on, go to the forum.

FollowupID: 427981

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:01

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:01
Lynn.

In the off season, summer, we are getting our vehicles ready, so there are a lot of post about the vehicles.

Winter is just around the corner and the touring season will begin.

Those who can't get away will still post about there vehicles and wounder how the travelling members are going.

By the end of June some of the travellers will be back and start to post about there trips. Then for the next 3 months there will be trip reports until the vehicle have to be set up again for next years trips.

The cycle will start all over again.

AnswerID: 172377

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:06

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:06
THE NEVER ENDING STORY

FollowupID: 427971

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:08

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:08
Have been checking this site out now for over 3 years. I know what you're saying, but the equilibrium has definitely swung!
FollowupID: 427972

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 20:41

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 20:41
and from the wisdom of the little known guru, One Hand Clapping :

The only constant in our lives is CHANGE !
FollowupID: 428530

Reply By: Mark - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:12

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:12
Gibb River Road
Abandoned Section of Gunbarrel
Simpson crossing
Tharomindah - Currawinya

These are some of the topics on the first page of the forum as we speak. Seem pretty "exploroz" related, of course theres quite a few post regarding 4x4's, camping trailers, electrics etc etc, but don't forget these are all a requirement in getting to these places so not totally irrelevant.
AnswerID: 172381

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:13

Do you want to count those against the other topics which appear on the first page? I think you lose!!
FollowupID: 427978

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:18

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:18
One man's (woman's) meat............
FollowupID: 427982

Follow Up By: Mark - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:20

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:20
Why do you bother to come here if you are only here to criticise which most find to be a bloody good site full of useful information about travel & the vehicles used to do so. Your post has added far less value than a guy asking what wiring he should use to connect his fridge for example. Don't like it....... don't bother using it.
FollowupID: 427986

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:28

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:28
Not criticising, just opening things up for some discussion to see what others feel!
FollowupID: 427988

Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:47

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:47
I saved $1500 on a set of roller draws a few years back thanks to the EXPLORE OZ forum
FollowupID: 428008

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Little Camper - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 08:13

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 08:13
And I was confused for days - months on what fridge to buy!.....lol
FollowupID: 428047

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:13

OK Lynn2

Tell us about your exploring.

Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 172382

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:19

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:19
This is not my purpose - We've been to the Kimberley, Cape York, the Nullabor Plains, the Great Ocean Road, Birdsville, Innamincka, the Strezlecki, Lake Mungo and on and on. Many of these place we found and explored because of this site.

I just think things have changed here.
FollowupID: 427984

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:14

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:14
It’s all been explored.

By a guy in a Land Cruiser with no IFS (whatever that is...), an Engel fridge, ARB Bullbar, and a pack of Staun Tyre Deflators.

Now, it’s all being progressively closed down.

Permits to drive on this road, permits to take that photo, sign your life away when buying a bottle of bourbon at Marla, incase you are going to sell it on the way, and a general consensus, that unless you have THE vehicle, THE tyres, THE fridge, and THE dual battery system, then you will never make it.

God help you if you possess a sense of humour, you will be shot down in flames. FRIDAY is the funny day thank you! The other six days, are for SERIOUS talk.

It has become a sport of kings, well, in some arenas.

Sometimes I wonder, if some of us have been afflicted with affluenza, which, is to keep up with the Jones’.

Just give me two days, my kayak, swag, and a cask of red, and I’m off for the weekend, exploring the waterways.

As Footloose said... Those can, do, while those that can’t, teach (or talk about it).

AnswerID: 172383

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:19

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:19
Now that is relevent...and funny
FollowupID: 427985

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:28

PMSL at the Marla bit. My god, it was easier to get approval to ship toxic substances out of Australia than to buy a cask at Marla LOL
FollowupID: 427987

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:28

and cheaper LOL
FollowupID: 427989

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:29

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:29
What?.......
FollowupID: 427991

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:37

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:37
The restrictions placed on tax paying Australians due to our governments' (many governments) misuse of your funds and lack of concern for real issues confronting remote and aboriginal communities is laughable. Just having a laugh about it because the alternative is unbearable.

Sorry, if I seemed to be laughing at you, that wasn't the intention.
FollowupID: 427992

Follow Up By: Lynn2 - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:39

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:39
Your reply seems to prove my point! Not about cars, but just as irrelevant and a lot of junk!
FollowupID: 427994

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:42

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:42
You miss the point, this is the forum..A SMALL PART OF EXPLOREOZ.
Irrelevent..mostly, somtimes, depends on what you are looking for.
See the blue links above for the exploring bit.

FollowupID: 427995

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:45

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:45
PS. I would consider the restrictions places on travel in remote areas, track access, alcohol restrictions etc, VERY relevent to most who travel this land, especially tax payers.

FollowupID: 427996

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:59

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:59
G'day Lynn 2 ..........
Seems you have hit a sensitivity spot here............... keep 'at em, alternative points of view usually do!! and it's quite healthy too.

Me .................I love the site, and the Forum ............ for what it's worth the last few comments are 'on the money' ............ the Forum is just a part of the whole!

I just punched "seriously exploring Australia" in my browser and ........lo and behold ....... in 0.24 seconds up came 532,000 sites !!!

Me think it 'mazing !!!! GO FOR IT ???
FollowupID: 427997

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 01:24

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 01:24
Hey woolfie, since you mentioned affluenza, next time you are down the book shop have a squiz at "status anxiety" by Alain De Botton, it should be right up your alley.

Good luck with your own writing, Cheers Brad.
FollowupID: 428035

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:30

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:30
Bradley and others............ Please do not talk about books even if they are related to travelling cos they don't fit the "exploring Australia" theme that dear Lynn2 is seeking.

Lynn2........I DO think the comment about the possibility (or lack there0f) of purchasing a refreshing beverage of one's choice at a remote location (ie: whilst one is in the process of "Exploring Australia") is VERY relevant; even under your Hitler-based guidelines. Please tell me; if you would have us NOT talk about things we have been able to do and things we haven't been able to do whilst we have been out there "Exploring Oz", then what exactly is it that (in your valued opinion) we SHOULD be talking about on here????????????

I'm confused.
FollowupID: 428193

Follow Up By: Laura B - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:46

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:46
Im with David and Justine on this one.....
its what you are looking for that makes it good or not...

obviously you are a well set up in your vehicle and are wanting something else......type in a word that you want info on and research.....

if you dont want to know about the vehicles then dont read the post - simple!!

the forum is only one part of this - just like exploring is one part of the trip.....

My thoughts only...

LB

FollowupID: 428202

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:51

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 21:51
Hi Lynn

I made the suggestion a couple of years ago to have "groups" of topics for just this reason. David replied i recall, that most members didn't want that.

Meanwhile, while i came on board principally because of my interest in exploring oz, i have learnt so much about my vehicle and other useful topics, as well as got a good laugh every now and them. I have become an ExplorOz addict. (My husband just came in to see what i was doing and said 'its like a disease isn't it').

Perhaps we could raise the idea again with David & Michelle; option to view in groups, or 'view all at once'. That would please both sides.

Perhaps, many others are like me; when I'm away I'm not on the forum; when i am home i am on the forum, and getting rig ready for the next trip. I wouldn't make any modifications to my rig without discussing it here first.

We have also met some wonderful members when travelling, through being on the forum.

I hasten to add, that Willem's post when he arrived home shows he does more genuine exploring than most of us.

AnswerID: 172388

Reply By: Member - Mike H (VIC) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:04

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:04
G'day Lynn,
you say:
"We've been to the Kimberley, Cape York, the Nullabor Plains, the Great Ocean Road, Birdsville, Innamincka, the Strezlecki, Lake Mungo and on and on."

Why don't YOU start the ball rolling and write about some of your experiences?
Rather than just criticising..........

You never know, your contribution may then prompt others to do likewise.

Take care out there,
AnswerID: 172389

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:11

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:11
Lyn,

Like you, the main thing that attracted me to ExplorOz was finding things out about the places where I was wanting to travel and hearing about the travel experiences of other people. These are the pieces of information that you just can't get any other way and which are so valuable.

But, my interests are not necessarily the same as others who contribute to the forum and there is a place for us all. Just because there are a lot of posts about vehicles doesn't make the forum any less interesting or that it is any less about exploring. If our vehicles aren't up to scratch, if we don't keep on learning about how to maintain them, what tyre pressure to use, what fridges have the best record etc etc then we just won't be able to get out there to explore and if we do we are liable to have problems. I reckon I have learnt a lot just because I've taken the time to read about things that I haven't been interested in prior to joining exploroz.

The exploring bits are still to be found in the forum and as others have said, in the Trek Notes etc in the "blue bits" up the top... as well as amongst the many posts that are sent in each day. We read about Willem's exploits, Motherhen's travels, Laura B's adventures and so many others. Ruth writes in with news from Birdsville and Anne from Drysdale River Station keeps up to date on the Gibb River Road. There are some asking for advice on Cape York, the Kimberley and so many other places...with replies from those who think they can help.

There is room for all of us and I think it's great that we are all so different and we can all learn from each other. It's great that we have a forum where we can feel free to express an opinion and spark a debate which is what you've done. That's what a forum is all about.
AnswerID: 172391

Follow Up By: maroni - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:27

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:27
'HERE HERE"
FollowupID: 428086

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:52

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 22:52
There is no other site where you can get such up to date information about exploring Oz and no other site with so many old cootas with so much experience.
Look at the digital touring data and mapping, documented treks, fuel prices, so many articles about touring and vehicles and the shop. The interactive features throughout the site are stunning. For some of us this is our home on the web, our PC's are logged on for may hours each day, there is a great community spirit, we like it and we like talking reading and talking about the tools we use to explore this great land.
AnswerID: 172402

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 00:50

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 00:50
"With so many old cootas"

Is that what your calling Willem these days???? "Old Coota" LOL

FollowupID: 428030

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 00:57

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 00:57
hahaha, I hope to qualify myself one day.
FollowupID: 428031

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 01:05

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 01:05
Hey your older than me so I reckon you qualify already. LOL

Oops we are gunna get in trouble all this talk of Old Coota's has nothing to do with Exploring Oz, Unless we change the subject to that of national treasures then you'd have to say Willem would qualify :-)

FollowupID: 428032

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:04

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:04
Lynn, I agree with you up to a point. I have always found this site to be invaluable for assistance & good information, lately though it has lost some appeal, largely through good informative threads being hijacked for irrelevant chat.
Maybe an Exploroz chatroom would be a good idea, then people could chat in 'realtime' & we could actually 'meet' the other contributors.

When I first found this site I was planning my very first Outback trip & I was certainly very wet behind the ears in regard to remote travel. After asking heaps of questions & getting invaluable advice, we completed our 8000 km maiden Outback trip with absolutely no problems at all, largely due to the preparation we had done in response to the advice that we received.

After saying all that though, all you have to do is ask a question about a proposed trip & you will get all the assistance in the world, but don't forget that to do some of these trips, vehicle & gear preparation is just as important as is which way to go & what to see, so you will continue to see many vehicle & gear related threads, admittedly, some seemimgly ad nauseam.

I would have to say that I am also a guilty party, inasmuch as I too have failed to post my experiences here, other than to proffer advice to others based on my now several Outback experiences, along with heaps of Vic High Country travel & camping.
AnswerID: 172404

Reply By: dan26aus - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:23

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:23
I dunno Lynn2, sounds to me that you too have indeed opened a forum of anything but exploring oz. So i spose if you are having a go at everbody else, you need to include yourself into the equation now...........
AnswerID: 172409

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:28

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:28
I agree with Wayne - we're just coming out of the "off season". Winter is the time for exploring oz.
AnswerID: 172412

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:52

Friday, May 12, 2006 at 23:52
Well that’s nice dream Lynn2 but most of us need to work for a living and with those 4 week’s a year leave we get it isn’t always possible to travel around the country side exploring oz due to other commitments Family and so forth and then the planed trip’s will get caned due to unforseen natural factors and people pulling out for a hole host or resigns.

As for me well I have gotten away 2wice this year 1st down to Esperance, Cape Arid and a quick detour into the Goldfields on the way home to peth.

2nd was over ester into the Gascoyne aria of WA.

Hopefully later in the year I hope to make it as far North as Broom and out to Cape Leveque that will be a 10-day round trip as that is about all the time off I can manage. Right now it’s a 35% chance of happening with just less than 2 months to confirm it all.

AnswerID: 172414

Follow Up By: kookaburra - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 00:18

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 00:18
hi all, hope she dosent turn up at your camp fire,,,or mine . kookaburra.
FollowupID: 428027

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 00:38

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 00:38
Hey Exploder, hell man you'll be drivin' for a lot of that 10 days to get to Cape Leveque.

Lovely part of the world up there, I am dissapointed we didn't go to the cape while we were up there in 2003. We stopped in Broome for 6 days, and absolutely got into "Broome time" before slowly heading back down the coast (2 weeks) back to Perth.

Hey Lynn2, if you think this site has gone downhill, you should check out some of the other crappola sites around.

This site has been kept clean of hate, anger and prejudice, and that's the way I like it!!!!!
FollowupID: 428029

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:44

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:44
Yes, Broom will be done in 2day’s doing about 1100k on each day, But may try to do a bit more on the 1st day say leave Perth at 3-4 am and drive throe till dusk.

I would like to take a month and go to a lot of other arias up that way as well but not possible at the moment so I just got to do what I can in the time I have.

Right now it’s a toss up between Flying and renting a 4WD up there or driving up in the Explorer, personally I think you see a lot more driving and anyway getting there is half the fun isn’t it.

I think a few people will fly up but me and one of my mates are hell bent on driving up and I can probably do it for less than the airfare as well which is like $700 retune then once you are up there you still got to rent a car anyway.

FollowupID: 428101

Reply By: Member - Ray ( (VIC) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 02:37

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 02:37
Hi Lynn2
Well, I certainly am not a 4x4 nut, nor do I consider myself in the same realm as those who discuss the intricacies of thier vehicles and what keeps them broke...(seems to me off-roading is a very expensive pastime!), however, I DO own a 4x4 and a camper trailer which I get a hell of a lot of enjoyment from, although I admit I mainly stick to the bitumen, and just enjoy the travelling bit! However, like you, I have found that they is a lot of information posted here that appears to be purely on the maintenance and technical side, sometimes almost the 'Big Boy's toys thingo, but occasionally something is posted that I do find interesting to me, and for that alone, the forum is worth perusing. Maybe a chat room for those of us who not particularly technically-minded may be an option, but I kinda think that we would be out-voted here. I guess the main usage of the forum is for the serious off-roaders, and there is nothing wrong with that...we lesser mortals will just have to sit and wait for those occasional articles to come along that we can either comment on, or find interesting to us. One thing is for sure, if I ever want to know anything of a technical nature, or want to add some new equipment to my vehicle, this would be the place to come! (actually, I often shudder at what the cost of off-roading equipment/add-ons must be!) Like you, I have travelled this country a hell of a lot, and have some great experiences I could share (non-technical, I might add!), and who knows?..maybe someone will be interested enough to ask one day! Until then, do like me, and just peruse the forum regularly, with the hope of finding something that might be of interest, and upon which a comment can be made. I'm sure the day will come! Have fun, anyway
Bronco
AnswerID: 172424

Reply By: Jo and Mark - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 04:54

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 04:54
We bought our Pajero last December and thought for our first trip we would do Fraser in the January, I was searching everywhere on the net for some site that would help me but nothing was giving me the answers I needed, then I stumbled across EO.
I posted for help on info and the response I got was truly great, everyone jumped in and went above and beyond the call to give us all the help we needed, to the point of Brian from the Gold Coast asking for our number to give us a call so he could personally talk to Mark and answer other questions or even explain in more detail.
we love it that the forum has general chat, we all get to know each other and have a laugh, we love it that everyone posts about questions and help about their vehicles, drawer systems, what tent is best, which brand of snatch strap is better, which toilet paper should we take that is enviromentally friendly!, what fridge to get... how else are hubby and I going to learn? You want to know about an Engel, their website will only give so much info, how much better is is to talk to people who have different fridges to compare what is better for your needs, you won't know unless you can really get to ask anyone.
I have not found any other website that can offer me so much information about every aspect of living the recreational life that we all love, maybe in America you might find some sort of web site like that, but how does that help me being in Australia?
I say keep it up EO team and fellow forumites,
We are forever learning more and more about it all through the forum and trips and gatherings, we have met so many wonderful people and have made some wonderful friends out of it all, and through posts and threads have also got to have a great laugh in the mean time.
I think anyone would be hard pressed to find a website/forum that offers everything that EO does for us all. If anyone finds it and prefers it over EO, then by all means use your own freedom of choice to change websites, but I truly don't think anyone could find an Australian website that will give us all the information and first hand experience that EO can give us.
And this is exactly why we are going to become members to completely support a forum and website that completely supports us and our choice of vehicle and recreational activities.
KEEP IT UP EXPLORE OZ AND FELLOW DRIVERS, WE ARE WITH YOU FOR LIFE!
Jo

(Hmmm wonder if that great rap will get me a free EO wheel cover David?.....kidding!!!!! will order it when I send you my moula!!!)

AnswerID: 172430

Reply By: Blackie - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 08:17

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 08:17
I've been reading the forum for years and I reckon that the content hasn't changed to any great extent. The number of posts per week etc is increasing constantly, so maybe you are missing the ones that appeal to you as they slide off to pages 3 4 and 5
AnswerID: 172440

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 09:32

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 09:32
Personally I get fed up with people posting posts about what people should be posting about - it's perfectly clear to me that posts to this forum should be about serious bush related issues like... how to have good sex in a swag....

PS. Lynn2 - I wonder if you're who you puport to be? :)
AnswerID: 172449

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:30

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:30
Mike what is it like in a swag?Sex that is. Have not tried it my self to expensive for a start i imagine.Can we say sex on here or do we have to say secks or sects .Bob.
FollowupID: 428098

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:41

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:41
Yes, I think you can say sex, I suspect it's menstruation you're not allowed to say, that is something which must not be talked about in public but kept hidden and secret.

As for the other question; I must profess ignorance of the matter but would welcome any tips or suggestions from posters with experience of swags and... you know... thingie....

And just as it seemed this forum had adopted a sensible and mature policy towards it's censorship of posts.... :(

FollowupID: 428100

Reply By: Jimbo - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 09:33

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 09:33
TROLL.

And a bloody good one.
AnswerID: 172450

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:09

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:09
Jimbo , could he /she/it be Ozi in another persona ??? lol.
FollowupID: 428066

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:16

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:16
Yep my view too. Most people took the bait lol. Wonder who it is? Nobody could be that much of a fuddy duddy.
FollowupID: 428067

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:45

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:45
No troll, been around for a fair while.
FollowupID: 428075

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:56

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:56
hahahahaha don't have to be a troll to submit a 'troll post'. Willem and others do it from time to time LOLOL
FollowupID: 428103

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 13:01

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 13:01
hehe, that's true Al
FollowupID: 428104

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:54

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:54
Bit over-sensitive there - deleting a section of a thread because it had a reference to PMS?
AnswerID: 172467

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:57

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 10:57
Someone got their nickers in a knot due to PMT ??
FollowupID: 428080

Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:23

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:23
Congratulations Lynne,
You just acheived to start a thread you set out to stop.
Pages of comments, disscusions and debates about everything but Exploring,4wding and camping.
Fun wasnt it!
AnswerID: 172476

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:57

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 11:57
Welllllllllllllllllllll,i am for one bleeding flabergstered my follow up, further up has been deleted PMS .how many people get it in this world ?, male or female all i did was to make an observation & some small minded person alerts the moderator for having an opinion they can go shove if this is the way they want it . bleeding liberators.
AnswerID: 172483

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:49

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 12:49
The problem was that the 51% of the population who are female refuse to accept that as individuals they are subject to hormonal changes and become irational , no woman wants to admit to PMS / PMT. .
FollowupID: 428102

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Little Camper - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 15:26

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 15:26
Just for the record Zuks...it wasnt me. I had my say! and I thought it was the last say...lol

HLC
FollowupID: 428142

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:07

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:07
H L C, youre reply/follow up was also sucked out of the system, maybe just the owners of the site,s'pose it is their perogotive,Bob.
FollowupID: 428164

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 15:01

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 15:01
Hi Lynn - well you are certainly popular - look at the number of hits. Maybe this is the type of post everyone wants to read!

If the topic doesn't interest me, i don't open it - i just select threads of interest (or from people who are a 'must read' for sheer entertainment value). Of all the sites i visit, ExplorOz is the VERY BEST. The people who are on it are in the majority knowledgeable over a very wide topic range, give advice freely, and are a load of good fun.

I agree number of daily posts has increased dramatically over the 3 months i was away. This too is a good thing, even if it takes a minute or two longer to scroll through three pages instead of one. I think David & Michelle and their IT Beyond team have done us a great service by creating this site.

AnswerID: 172518

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:06

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:06
Motherhen,

I think what we all feel keenly about is our right to have "our say" on the forum as long as it's related to the general theme and that is "travel". That's such a broad subject and can divert off into vehicle preparation, fuel, communication, travel info etc et

You're right..we scroll down, read what each post is about and decide if we want to read and contribute to the discussion.

Everyone, and that includes Lyn, has a right to voice their opinion. It's up to us what we do with it. I don't think we need to get upset or angry with Lyn. After all, hasn't it just made us express what we feel about the forum. We thoroughly enjoy it in all its diversity.

I have a feeling though that we might be going for a world record score and maybe we're being egged on to keep posting replies. If that's the case I've just helped things along.

I know what you mean when you say "wish we were on the road again". I just want to find a way to travel more and work less!! Until I do it's slave away until the "great escape" in August.
FollowupID: 428163

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:40

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:40
I recall Lynn was the first person to answer my first question, about caravans, when i was lurking here some years back. I have been here ever since.

Vivien, I too want to work and save up for more travel - trouble is i am out of work in a small town with not much in the way of employment options (especially for an aging grandmother), and having nil income means we are living off what is left of the holiday funds i had squirrelled away, and that won't last long. Too much to catch up on now we are home, but so easy to get sidetracked on the forum, because it's so much more fun. Moving is not an option, because we have a small farm, and we want to spend our non travel time around here with our little grandchildren.

Where is your great escape going to take you? (Now that's a travel question LOL).

FollowupID: 428177

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:01

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:01
Motherhen,

I live in the Mallee of Victoria...and I work half an hours drive from my home, in a small town of about 200 people. I manage a depot of a Pharmacy which has its main shop in the nearest larger town about 30kms away. I'm sorry for you that you have no work where you live and I understand about having family that you want to be near. My parents live in the town where I work...it is my home town as I only moved to live with my partner. No grandchildren at the moment and both children travelling overseas...but hopefully coming home soon.

I've been "home alone" all day and so have been hooked on the forum!!

We're heading off on the last day of July and it can't come soon enough. We're going to Coober Pedy, Uluru, Kings Canyon then on the Mereenie loop to Alice Springs. From there up the Tanami and to Fitzroy Crossing and then we're going to Middle Lagoon then down to Broome to stay a bit before going to Derby and the Gibb River Road. We'll take our time on the Gibb and go all the way up to Kalumbaru, out to Mitchell Falls then back to Drysdale River Station and head towards Kununurra. I think we might take the road to Wyndham just after the Pentecost River then go from Wyndham to Kununurra. When we leave Kununurra we'll go to El Questro then to the Bungle Bungles, Halls Creek, back down the Tanami to Alice for a few days then on the Old Andado Track to Mt Dare, Dalhousie, Oodnadatta, Maree etc out to Arkaroola and then home. That's the general outline but although every trip has a plan we very rarely stick to it. There's always something that we want to add, subtract etc etc but you don't know that until you get going. I like to have a framework to work with even though the eventual building may change shape as it goes along!!

I'm no longer home alone...looks like I may even have to do some housewifely stuff instead of talking travel!! Nowhere near as interesting!!

Best wishes and Happy Mothers Day Motherhen
FollowupID: 428185

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:10

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:10
Hi Vivien - chatting on, with apologies to Lynn for the thread hijack. Just what i want to do - I hope our next trip will take us through the Kimberley, and many of the NT places you have on your agenda. Give us a full report please when you get back. We went a far as Arkaroola and Marree last month - well worth going and spending some time at and around Arkaroola, and Marree held a strong appeal for me too. I agree that plans need to be totally flexible - we pick up the best information on what to see and where to go when we get out there. Happy Mums day to you too, even if your children can't be with you, i hope they remember to phone.

FollowupID: 428188

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:15

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:15
Thanks Motherhen,

I miss my kids. No problems with giving you a full report when we get back..I'll probably be busting to talk about it all. Hope we can chat again another time.
FollowupID: 428189

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 15:26

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 15:26
Not bad for a non member to cause such response with 802 views, 25 replies and 53 follow ups , perhaps if the content of the forum does not suit Lynn2 then maybe Members should treat the non member with the contemp Lynn2 deserves
as i will from now ,and if Lynn2 wants to know or learn something today, tomorrow , or when ever, I shall be only to pleased to help and answer her post's

AnswerID: 172521

Follow Up By: Steve - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:38

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:38
Wot? Even though she's not a member?

Membership snobbery rears it's ugly head again.
FollowupID: 428176

Reply By: Laura B - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 15:59

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 15:59
Im on this web site atleast once a day and find that it IS about exploring Oz like the name suggests...

the bit about talking about cars is part of exploring - finding info about how to set things up , whats the best peice of info you can get that will help you ExplorOz!!

How far back did you look to see that its all about vehicles??? Im on everydday like i said and find that its more about exploring Oz than about cars actually....

Seeing that you have done a fair bit of exploring yourself you should have realised that vehicle set - up is just as important as the map researching!!

FACT - Most people spend more time setting up for exploring than they do the actual exploring....we have spent nearly 10mths setting up for a 6wks trip....we have had posts put on about all sorts of things.....kids travelling, frisges, tyres, suspension, roads and tracks, petrol availablilty etc.....the list can go on but i have more posts to put on about setting up to explore.....

the little blue heading up the top sould also help you realise that this site is about exploring + everything that goes along with it!!
eg......"On the Road".....
driving skills
communications
navigation
travel ettiquette
Accomodation........yada yada yada....

then there are the posts.....todays there are subjects such as:

Changing undies (thats my one - travelling across the qld nsw border)
stolen camper trailer
camp beds
traveling with dogs
the down side to travelling - by Willem
roof racks
Gps's
Gibb river/Kalumburu Rd
Places and gos co-ordinates
another Gibb river one.....

can i suggest you open your eyes a little and see what is actually out there instead of what you are wanting to see!!! Get on this web site everyday and i will guarentee you will see something other than vehicles!!!

Laura
AnswerID: 172527

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 16:27

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 16:27
AnswerID: 172530

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:38

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 17:38
Isthatthelastwordonthesubject?
FollowupID: 428175

Follow Up By: Laura B - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:34

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:34
aslongasyoubroughtabeeralong

LB
FollowupID: 428196

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:49

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 18:49
CHOICE ....... Ray. I love it.
FollowupID: 428203

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 20:09

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 20:09
Oh... I don't know... I was quite enjoying it.... :)
FollowupID: 428216

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 20:11

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 20:11
Anyway - I'm off to the High Country on Monday (or at the latest Tuesday) so do I care...? :)

FollowupID: 428217

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 00:47

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 00:47
absousstley...nah...spelling doesn't look right o mr me but fair didkium I've just got home rrom a birsthay paryy and ai RECKOM YOUSE GUYS ATE ROPS L ilove youse all, what he hell is this alla bout anyway
FollowupID: 428236

Follow Up By: Katherine - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 06:55

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 06:55
THATS TOPS MAD DOG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 428237

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 20:34

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 20:34
It's simple really.

If you like it, stay (like most of us have).

If not, you dont have to read the forum or stay. We are still a democratic country (i think???), so no one is FORCING you too. You are quite free to move on, but as many have already said, you are missing out on all the other advice, stories and laughs that us regulars and many of the casual visitors enjoy.
AnswerID: 172565

Reply By: Mama June - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 21:19

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 21:19
I love this forum. I'm on it every day. I scroll through and if there is something I'm not interested in then I don't read it. Talking about vehicles, batteries, fridges etc. is a very important part of the trip planning.

I have posted a few questions in the last couple of months during the preparation of our forthcoming trip and have had some invaluable advice from lots of people from around the country who are happy to share. We head off in 3 weeks for a 4 month trip, spending most of it in the North Kimberley.

I can't thank this site and its readers enough for assistance in my trip planning.
AnswerID: 172571

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 21:31

Saturday, May 13, 2006 at 21:31
Look at all the fish this Troll got! and all with one prawn!

Ive never seen this form "ALL ABOUT EXPLORING AUS"...
AnswerID: 172573

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 12:48

Sunday, May 14, 2006 at 12:48
Well Spotted Truckster....... Davidau couldn't have done better.........
FollowupID: 428256

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Monday, May 15, 2006 at 23:00

Monday, May 15, 2006 at 23:00
Don't reckon Lynne2 would know where the" on off" switch is on the TV set either.Sit there all nite moaning about what she was watching. DUKE
AnswerID: 172873