Don't think this visitor is happy

Submitted: Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 15:44
ThreadID: 34097 Views:3430 Replies:16 FollowUps:40
I was just on the Lonley Planet website forum for Aust & NZ and an OS visitor who must be working here has posted this:

WARBURTON WA

THIS PLACE IS LIKE SOUTH AFRICA IT IS WAR ZONE AT NIGTH
WE HAVE HAD 2 SMASH WIDOWS ON 4WD
THEY HAVE BROKEN IN PLACE 4 TIMES
THEY LOOKING FOR LINE SPRAY PAINT THEY SNIIFF UP THERE NOSES IT MAKE THEM HIGH
THEY ALSO HAVE BROKEN GENRAITER THAT RUNS ON UNLEADED
I AM NOT GETTING MUCH SLEEP BECAUSE ABOES KEEP ME AWAKE
AT NIGHT
YOU WOULD NOT BELIVE THE TAX THAT YOU PAY THAT GOES TO THESE ABOES
THERE IS GENERATOR HERE THAT SUPPLYS POWER COMMUNITY
THIS COST 1.5MILLION DOLLERS IN DISEL TO KEEP IT RUNNING
THEY EVEN GOT THERE OWN AIRLINE THAT LANDS HERE EVERY 2 ND DAY
GOES FROM ALICE TO KALGOORLIE
CENSNEA CARVAN PLANE IT NOT EVEN FULL
IT FLYING TAXI FOR ABOES
WHAT ELSE CAN I TELL YOU
DID YOU KNOW GOVERMENT SPENDS 8 BILLION DOLLERS ON THESE ABOES
HERE CLASSIC
THE LOCAL COPPER
SHE IS BUILDING A NEW HOUSE SCARBOUGH FOR 1.4 MILLION DOLLERS
SO JUST IMGANIE THE WAGE SHE IS ON WHILE SHE OUT HERE WAITNG FOR HOUSE TO BE BUILT
I AM RUNNING OUT OF FOOD
THIS PLACE IS bleep HOLE
THEY EVEN THROUGH ROCKS AT TOURIST 4WD BREAKING THERE WINDOWS
I WOULD NEVER STOP IN THIS TOWN

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 15:50

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 15:50
GOLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I give this a few hours.
AnswerID: 173792

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:28

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:28
What's so 'GOLD' about this Truckster?
"It's like South Africa". It's making a comparison with Australia and the efter effects of apartheid. Is this amusing?
FollowupID: 429763

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:23

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:23
I dont' think it'a a comparison with apartheid. It would be with the violence in SA.

Leroy
FollowupID: 429779

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:56

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:56
Sorry barnsey..

Whats GOLD about it is someone who can actually say HOW it is 100% FACT, and not go to jail and hasnt been called RASCIST yet..

Funny chit I reckon!
FollowupID: 429819

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 10:55

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 10:55
GeeZ the spelling is a bit raw ??
and has he been to S/A ??

OH and is this a 4X4 forum ??

Regards J.B.
FollowupID: 430164

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 22:07

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 22:07
nope, not a 4x4 forum.

Leroy
FollowupID: 430405

Reply By: Member - uncle - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 15:52

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 15:52
Hopefully he doesn't visit East Nowra,he'll find it's about the same! Glad I live in Jervis Bay now.
AnswerID: 173793

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:04

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:04
Narooma also used to be SUCH a nice place LMAO

will find out about Batemans Bay next weekend... :(
FollowupID: 429747

Follow Up By: Member - uncle - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:13

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:13
All my visits to the Bay have been great and there's been a few over the last 4 years! I think most are huddled up in mogo,some big new shops at the Bay now Truckster ,so hide that credit card!
FollowupID: 429749

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:10

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:10
Mogo is where we are stayin :'(
Mates place is up on the hill overlookin there....

Credit card? got rid of it last week!
FollowupID: 429760

Follow Up By: Laura B - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 18:27

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 18:27
East Nowra - right there with ya Uncle!!

I dunno Northy has a little easty happening!!!LOL - but nothing like easy!!

Laura
FollowupID: 429772

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:37

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:37
They used to employ a guy as caretaker, and he would come and check on you every night and morning. He was white but married to a lady in the community. He didn't pull any punches, and was happy to yak to anyone who would listen. Main problem according to him was the sniffers.
There's a huge fence around the parking area that was locked at night. I didn't have any problems at all, but that was 3 years ago.
I suspect that in the very near future the troublemakers could have a bit of a shock coming. Current political climate seems to be against "cultural sensitivity" and tribal law as a defence against committing offences. It could be a proper bunfight, as even some indigineous leaders are calling for the removal of children at risk. Stolen generation Mk2 ??
AnswerID: 173801

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:50

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:50
Time for Pauline to hit the scene again

FollowupID: 429754

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:51

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:51
Site Link
FollowupID: 429755

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:18

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:18
Pauline was more of a pain than doing anything constructive. As a nurse who has worked in Alice for a short period it's about time these things have come to the forefront.

when i was there i spoke to many people in the social services who had stories of chronic ingrained abuse that nobody reported. the services swept them under the carpet. who cares about a bunch of blacks anyway!

it has been ignored for so long that drastic measures are required.

I take inspiration from Fred Hollows. Let us never again ignore the needs of other Australians.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 429761

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:49

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 16:49
Why do you people have so much trouble with life. I just smile at everyone and everyone smiles back.
AnswerID: 173805

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:01

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:01
That's because you're an inherently nice guy Ray – you see the good and positive side in people and most will respond to that – as ye sow so thee shall reap etc.

I dunno Ray… some people are just plain bad, some are misguided, some really are a victim of their circumstances but most of us, deep down, do know right from wrong and should act accordingly.

FollowupID: 429758

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:09

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:09
Who me! bulldust, can't you see my name I'm a Mad Dog...grrr..hahahha.. but reallly it sadens me to see how people carry on.

Hey Mike, Looking forward to Saturday, I reckon it will be a great day with good company great food and lots to discuss, lets hope the weather is kind.
FollowupID: 429759

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:27

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:27
Likewise Ray - been far too long :)

BOM - Saturday Fine. Min 10 Max 17

I reckon it's going to be a great day - have my younger son's birthday dinner the evening before (at which I'm cooking!) so I'll do my best to get there ASAP, will still bring huge tarp etc just in case - how many, and what age, children will be there, do you know? Will you have 2m?

FollowupID: 429762

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:38

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 17:38
Wow , sounds like a good weather then but still a while to go.
Just my two kids six and four and another 5 or 6 year old. I think I'll take the Falcon so will only have the handheld on 2m, you know how to get there anyway.
FollowupID: 429764

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 18:31

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 18:31
So whats your point Greiglin?

Is this necessary on EO forum? Or are you trying to out do your Barking Dog thread?

We refuelled and bought some goods at Warburton last year. Then we spent more than an hour at the Cultural Art Centre which was quite well set up and interesting to see what type of activities are being worked on in the community. Yes Warburton is a community with its own problems but which community does not have a problem?
AnswerID: 173815

Follow Up By: Greiglin - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:38

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:38
Gee Willem, what's up your nose? You take a cranky pill today or what. Why the snide remark about my postings? I thought we could post anything we liked on EO Forum? Just like you did about your new knee a a year or two back.
Go eat a good roast dinner and have a nice night.

SMILE............. :-)

Just decided today to take off on another 2+ month camping trip. Now that's good news wouldn't you say.

Greiglin's wife..............MISH..xxx

FollowupID: 429783

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:46

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:46
Greiglin, male or female, I don't care,

It's like this. We have a complex problem with our Aboriginal Brothers. The issue is not one that benefits from racist, redneck comments that you chose to copy and paste here.

It was an irresponsible post and should be deleted. It, and vitriole like it, only fuel an already difficult situation.
FollowupID: 429784

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:54

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:54
I don't agree Jimbo - there is a real problem out there and it should not be swept under the carpet. Not all comments are Redneck - see my ABC link above.

FollowupID: 429786

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:55

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:55
Mish xxx

There you go.

I ask a legitimate question and you take to personal abuse like so many others do on this forum when I challenge them to explain themselves.

I will ask again: What is the point of your post?

FollowupID: 429787

Follow Up By: Greiglin - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:39

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:39
I just had a great roast chicken with spuds, peas, carrots and gravy. Was really nice.
My point...........well it was written by a person who obviously has spent a lot longer in Warburton than to fill up with fuel and visit the Info centre, and is from overseas as well. Just proves to me that it doesn't take long for an outsider to catch on with the racial comments and attitudes so many white people have. Seems to me like this is another community in our great country that people turn their eyes away from and by the sounds of the Cop working there, is doing ok out of by building a big bucks home. These communties are in a horrid state and really what the hell is being done about it.........Nothing..... and the white peoples of this country have got no idea on how to fix it. None at all..
It's a sad sad state of affairs.......... and it doesn't hurt to look outside the box occasionally.
False Impressions..............

Mish.
FollowupID: 429796

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:07

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:07
>I just had a great roast chicken with spuds, peas, carrots and gravy. Was really nice. <

Go figure

I suggest you take your argument to your political leaders as well as the tradional owners.

But that aside. What is so different to Warburton Community as to some areas of Sydney or other Australian cities.

BTW don't draw conclusions from assumptions as what my level of understanding of outback communities is.

As others have said. Go take your views on this subject somewhere else. It serves no purpose here
FollowupID: 429804

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:32

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 19:32
Greiglin,

Well it sounds like there are no problems where you come from so bloody go back willya!

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 173819

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:40

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:40
I think we as a nation are suffering from an horrific pox of political correctness and hyper sensitivity which prevents the problems even being addressed, let alone tackled, head on. The catastrophic plight of the aboriginal people (and that's exactly what it is) is a complex, convoluted and highly distressing situation for everyone involved. Being 'polite' helps nobody. Time someone shouts at the PC nazi's to bleep off and tells it like it is so things can start to happen.

Being fairly well travelled and moving in varied socio / politcal circles, I hear a lot of different views on aboriginal issues. Best description I've heard from a lawyer who received an 'awakening' on her first job in the NT was "ahhhhhh.....these were not Midnight Oil aboriginals". Kind of sums it up nicely I thought.

The government can be racist and discriminatory in it's distribution of educational / housing and welfare - it should also deal with the issues in remote communities the same way.

The curse of grog needs to stamped down upon.
Sniffing is horrendous. No easy solution, but OPAL would appear to be a pretty bloody good start.
Ingrained sexual assault and violence within a community has to stop. If kids need to be taken away, so be it. Not pretty, not nice and may be widely condemned but all kids should get a fair go no matter what. If they lose their culture....well it's better than being beaten and buggered IMHO.

Life is not fair but that's just the way it is. bleep this living in the past bull bleep , lets move on do something constructive.
AnswerID: 173839

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:06

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:06
Well stated V8Diesel. It's people like you Willem and Jimbo that are so caught up by PC and being hypersensitive on any negative subject about aboriginals that makes everyone too scared to openly discuss the issues that need to be addressed for these communities to survive. To close your mind and say that every community has their problems is so unbelievably naive I am almost lost for words. Of course every community has problems but does yours have the same serious problems that many aboriginal communities have?

There are women, children and men that are screaming out to be heard, screaming out to be helped from the rape, molestation, murder, bashings, drugs, alcohol, disease etc etc and all some people can do is pull the "Racist Card" whenever someone brings it up.

It's long long overdue that these very serious issues are openly discussed so that the people that can do something to rectify the situation arent hindered by nonsensical do-gooders that have nothing to bring to the table other than "Shh, you may offend someone".
FollowupID: 429803

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:27

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:27
And very good point too about the 'every community has their own problems' crap.

What a red herring that one is. So? What's that got to do with the discussion?

Not talking about other communities, we're talking about this one.

FollowupID: 429811

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 23:04

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 23:04
Oh V8 you are SO on the money mate, good on you!

As some people on here already know, I decided to make a career change and am currently studying to become a primary school teacher. We just did a unit called "Social Influences on Learning". There was a section in there about "The Stolen Generation".

My god. It is no wonder these problems are getting worse. You should have seen the politically correct tripe they showed us in videos and supplied to us in this course. I grew up in the pilbara and have worked in the security industry specialising in digital video surveillance. I have a pretty bloody good idea what's really going on out there and these people who think that pretending it's all rosie is going to solve the problems are absolutally kidding themselves.

On a university discussion board I must have type 7 pages of posts regarding this issue all the time being abused by 17 year old's who's only experience with Aboriginals was what they learnt in this unit. It makes me sick that these people are more than likley going to be sent up to some of these communities expecting the well dressed polite people who were crying on each others shoulders only to find what is really going on. They will not be prepared for it and it is not going to do anyone any good.

I write 7 pages of typing of factual information, backed up with research and personal experience with my own ideas of how to help these people in a practical way and get called racist and abused for it.

There really is no hope.
FollowupID: 429843

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 02:03

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 02:03
Jeff, read my post further down, reply 11. Aboriginal communities are dealing with their own gremlins from the past. So is the wider Australian community dealing with the shame of what's gone in the past. in saying that however most people want what's best for others.

two types of people to avoid, on the white side the rednecks. on the black side the petrol sniffers, they are shockers, do not approach them without security. irreversible brain damage, breaks my heart to see teenagers sniffing petrol.

200 years to get to this situation, anything less than 200 years to fix it will be a bonus.

If people give you bleep about you genuinely wanting to make a positive contribution then stuff them and follow your instincts.
FollowupID: 429858

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 09:41

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 09:41
I think the problem is that we have entire GENERATIONS of young people now comming through who are now inbreed with political correctness as a way of life. They don't want to here how things really are because "it's not right to talk about it".

How people can POSSIBLY hope to solve a problem when they won't even let someone tell them what it really is amazes me!

I guess it's just easier for the young people of today to point the finger at their forefathers and blame them rather than look at wasted aboriginal in the face and sort out the problem first hand.
FollowupID: 429880

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 09:49

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 09:49
You know what? I just worked out what I've been doing wrong on this issue!

I was using common sense and independant thought! BUGGER ME!

I know how to really solve the problem, I'll just join the rest of political correct society, close my eyes, stick my fingers in my ears and go LA LA LA LA LA LA LA LA - There's nothing wrong - LA LA LA LA LA LA LA.

Or maybe I should just join the other end of society and cock my .22...

FollowupID: 429881

Reply By: DamoHJ61 - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:52

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:52
AAAAAHHH hardcore debate at it's finest, the community within this forum has fierce differences and opinions that run deep.
Are we closer to a solution?
Will we ever find an acceptable solution that appeases this forum?
Transfer this debate to the general public and watch the issue grow, if we can't settle it here, how will the lawmakers cope with 20 million opinions???
Fairness for all, a welfare dependant addict is a pain no matter what the colour, race or location.
I don't expect a free ride from the Queen because one of her rellies booted my thieving great, great etc. grandfather out of England and on a boat to Australia.
EVERYONE is responsible for their own actions and should be held accountable as such.
No-one should be above the law, no-one should be a protected species.
The indigenous folk have so much to offer us, they could do with a good PR person and perhaps as a whole community they could do with looking inwards to see what everyone else sees.
AnswerID: 173842

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:54

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 20:54
I am not going to take sides as I see little merit in doing so.

However, burying ones head in the sand and ignoring something will not make it go away.
AnswerID: 173844

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:21

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 21:21
I pray that sooner rather than later, the indigenous and non-indigenous citizens of this country will show some maturity and OPENLY discuss and resolve the issues surrounding them BOTH.

As other posters have pointed out, the all pervasive political correctness that stifles any solution to these matters is just as applicable to Warburton, Alice Springs, Cronulla, Redfern, Macquarie Fields, Bankstown etc etc etc.

And before anyone decides to attach the racist label to me ( as one poster did recently before crawling back under his rock), YES, I agree the original post is racist in its overtones.
AnswerID: 173852

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 22:40

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 22:40
>>> I pray that sooner rather than later, the indigenous and non-indigenous citizens of this country will show some maturity and OPENLY discuss and resolve the issues surrounding them BOTH.

1) Prayin - waste of time

2) it will never happen.
FollowupID: 429839

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 22:50

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 22:50
Aaah Truckie. Hope springs eternal my friend. Even my normally cynical self believes there has to be something better than the current situation.

What is encouraging though is that, at the moment, we have some indigenous leaders who can look inwards and see faults that have to be remedied. This is at least part of the way down the round from the "you stole it from us, we want handouts" mentality of a few years ago. A small step, but at least it's a start.
FollowupID: 429841

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 23:27

Sunday, May 21, 2006 at 23:27
>>>we have some indigenous leaders who can look inwards and see faults that have to be remedied.

and the rest that can see a large fat white paycheque each year...

it would be nice, but it wont happen in the next 1000 yrs
FollowupID: 429850

Reply By: Barnesy - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 00:21

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 00:21
There won't be a quick fix. we have to overcome 200 years of forced social welfare dependency and despair. burying heads in the sand won't help, neither does political grandstanding on a soapbox from an office in Canberra.

Many aboriginals in these remote areas have an inherent mistrust of white people. if they didn't grow up hearing stories of abuse at the hands of whites they are the subjects of endless "scientific anthropological studies" about their communities.

A few years ago when i told my uni lecturer i wanted to be a remote area nurse in aboriginal communities she gave me one piece of advice (she'd also worked remote):
"you can't change the world. just go there, do your job the best you can and hope you make a difference, that's all you can do".

I'm hoping these places can get sorted out with consultation between respected community elders and understanding governments. and open their doors so the bush tourer can get to know what these people have to offer.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 173884

Reply By: Member - Eric P (Int) - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 02:46

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 02:46
Hi, all,

I spent a night in Warburton last August (not camping, I hired a cabin). Of course, I heard a lot of noise coming from the nearby community at night, and I saw the huge police station with the huge police truck near the roadhouse.

However, I shoped in the roadhouse without problems, had diner in the community kitchen with some nice people, had no problems with the Troopy (diesel).

We did not see any aboes inside the camp ground, which gate was NOT closed at night.

My wife jogged around in the morning, without any problem.

I was only told from the girl in the shop that the aboes were very destructive...

Maybe we were very lucky, or not enough aware of dangers (I had been warned about Warburton before, asked questions on the forum last year, and it did not look so dangerous..... anyway less dangerous than the suburbs of our big towns at night - France - where the youngsters - mostly imigrates - burned thousands of cars last December - I must confess: every one here locks the doors of the cars when travelling in these areas).

I have a question: from which country came the visitor ??

AnswerID: 173886

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 05:43

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 05:43
Eric, I suspect he or she was Australian. Not based on facts, just a suspicious feeling..
FollowupID: 429859

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 07:46

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 07:46
One of the major problems is the Elders are no longer treated with respect. This is the sad part, the whole generational social fabric is being ripped apart by sniffing, wooblah and government sponsored self pity.

If the kids are being raised by second generation f*ckups, the tribal traditions have already been lost (unless they are convenient of course). These kids don't give a rats arse what the elders have to say and will observe their rulings as much as the so called 'white c*nts' law.

Contary to the Paddington, Cottesloe, Prarahn (?) latte set's belief, these aren't some traditionally raised, spiritually aware and mysterious children who have run off the rails a bit and need a gentle push back in the right direction. These are now products of multi-generational societies with ingrained and endemic chronic alcoholism, violence and sexual / substance abuse problems.

Plain fact of the matter is these people are not buying a carton of Emu Export or a box of fruity lexia on pension day and tieing one on for a few days then going back to the campfire to tell dreamtime stories about Wagyl and having corroborees. If you really think that, go buy a Midnight Oil CD and talk earnestly over your chardonnay and brie at the Double Bay art gallery. These kids are being raised (for want of a better word) by fulltime f*ckups who to any right minded person would deem unfit and lacking the responsibility to nurture a child.

Australian kids are being born with foetal alcohol syndrome and then raised by brain damaged parents to endure a childhood of sexual abuse and violence. This is a HORROR and the cycle must be stopped, even if it means upsetting peoples feelings. Desperate times call for desperate measures and if this isn't desperate - what is?
AnswerID: 173898

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 08:17

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 08:17
Well said.
FollowupID: 429866

Follow Up By: Diesel Power - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 08:48

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 08:48
Hear hear, well said indeed V8. Too much PC rubbish and not enough honesty if you ask me. Time to call a spade a bloody shovel and do something proactive instead of sitting back talking in circles hoping not to upset/offend anyone.

Cheers and Beers
Scott
FollowupID: 429869

Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 10:53

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 10:53
A lot of good points raised but as someone who lived in Kalgoorlie for 15 yrs and had experience as an ambo working with these people I think one very relevant point to be made is. They have to take responsibility for themselves first, without that they have no hope,,,,,,,,,,Nav.
FollowupID: 429896

Follow Up By: ev700 - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 10:25

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 10:25
Reportedly it is the elders who are molesting children and conducting 'pay back' (broken legs, body burns) of anyone who goes to the police.

You have to ask why things haven't improved - a federal Department of Aboriginal Affairs staffed almost entirely by Aboriginals was set up in Whitlam's day and continues to the present. There are many other areas of representation staffed by Aboriginals too including legal services. All of these have cost mega dollars.

What is the use of having all of those bureaucrats and spending all of that $$ if there are no results?

FollowupID: 430149

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 10:08

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 10:08
I'm afraid that V8 is quite correct, and raising the level of awareness about such matters is long overdue. The problem is that such awareness doesn't include the underlying causes which are many and complex.
That being so, the time for action has come. The communities can either live in the present or the past, but they must accept that they are part of a larger culture now whose laws do not accept such destructive behaviour. On the flip side we caused many of the problems, and it is up to us to restore some sense of identity and pride to these places. To help them to have a future.
I'm not just talking about throwing money at them, been there done that and got the resulting problems.
Yes, lets talk Law and Order. But lets also talk about the survival of fellow Australians. And the sooner both we and they consider themselves as such, the sooner we can begin !
AnswerID: 173925

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, May 22, 2006 at 12:34

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 12:34
I hate these topics...
but ....and theres always a BUT.......

I'm with the OS worker complaining about the waste of money on persons, which happens to be all directed towards a particular race....

hell Im giving the SA government heaps over the proposed tram extension in adeliade, lack of electricty, our stupoid road palnners who build a carriage way to from the outer districts/suburbs only to be bottled up at two major city intersections, escalating govt costs, and so called semi professional (and pro's) bicycle riders who dont obey traffic laws...especially those who wear polypropolyne tights...ever seen em stop at a red light on thru rd at a T junction?

Why not express your concerns?
AnswerID: 173945

Reply By: Off-track - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 14:59

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 14:59
To lighten things up a little I have included a little joke that is very related to this topic. And no it's not a racist one either.

There are rumours that Anthony Mundine's performance at his recent world title fight was drug assisted, Apparently " The Man " did not provide a urine sample after the fight.

It has also been revealed that he has in fact never provided a urine sample during his entire sporting career (NRL or BOXING) A spokesman for Mundine has stated that the boxer is protected by Commonwealth and International law, which makes it illegal to take the piss out of Aboriginals.
AnswerID: 173974

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, May 22, 2006 at 17:22

Monday, May 22, 2006 at 17:22
hahahahahaha how politically incorrect am I LOL
FollowupID: 429966

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 11:17

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 11:17
What's ATSIC stand for? (stood for now)

Aboriginal's talking sh*t in Canberra.

(That actually came from an indigenous Australian person so keep your hats on).
FollowupID: 430174

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:01

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:01
HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

GOLD! NEVER HEARD THAT BEFORE - BUT YOU CAN BET YOUR RING CHERRY IT WILL GET A GOOD WORKOUT FROM NOW ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 430184

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:02

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 12:02
PS. was talkin aout the ATsIC one.
FollowupID: 430185