LED Trailer Lamps

Submitted: Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 16:42
ThreadID: 34178 Views:3295 Replies:3 FollowUps:10

Have just come across a good piece of kit for all of you that have the occasional trouble with poor contact with your trailer light globes.

Until now, I have been searching the Internet for LED trailer lights to replace the incandescent ones on my Spirit Camper, but found them all too big.

Well Forumites, my search is over and yours may be too.
Advertised in our local TV Radio Guide, is an advert from AutoPro for MaxiLite brand 12 volt LED Trailer Lamps which are a combination stop/tail/indicator light that look super.
Have just been around to my nearest store where they had one mounted on a display board and they are super bright.

The size is 115mm square and 35mm deep enabling them to be fitted to most trailers. The MaxiLite Part No. is MX500 and the sell for $39.95 each.

All I need now is time to fit them. Oh.....and while you are there you may like to take a look at a set of KT Trailer Plug and Socket with inbuilt LED circuit tester.
These are available in flat or round and retail for $19.95 for both the plug & socket.

I have no vested interests in AutoPro or MaxiLite but know that like me, some of you have been searching for a solution of poorly lit, or malfunctioning trailer lights.

Reply By: Rod W - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:09

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:09
Well welcome to the 21 century. LED's have been avaliable here in the West for at lease 18 months.

Hella have had them for at least 3 years.
AnswerID: 174258

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 18:26

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 18:26
Hey Rod
Your right, Hella have been around for some time now. But at a Hella'va price.
On Patrol
FollowupID: 430316

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 18:59

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 18:59
Hella might have a hella of a price ,,, but they also have a hella of a warenty ,, hane hella led clearence lights on on the body of the truck ,, they'd been on there for a fair while when i was fiddeling around with one ,, i buggered it didn't i ,, took it in to see what they would say ,, how the hell did you blow one of them ,, um , duno ,, oh well , threw me a new one and said see ya !! i thinkk they have a 5 year warenty ,, so to me they are worth it !!

Neil ..

FollowupID: 430332

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 20:46

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 20:46
Hi Neil & Margie
Lets look at that. A new Hella costs, say $100. X brand costs $39.00. Now my maths says I can buy new ones and still have change to buy 1/2 of the third set. Now I dont want to get into a debate as to which is best, but I was with an Original Parts supplier for many years as a salesman and i had a real problem justifying the inflated price of Genuine German parts I was selling, against a reasonable copy. The perchaser has to make the choice themselves I guess, and at least there is an alternative, and that is ultimatly a good thing.

Being from Cairns mate, can you tell me if the track to the Cape is OK. I was told by someone that the recent cyclone caused a lot of big damage to the track north to the point of closure north of Coen. Is that true, do you know?
Cape Trip pending. On Patrol.
FollowupID: 430372

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:15

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:15
G'day On Patrol,
The Hella i am talking about is the clearence lights , amber and red in one , only $28.00 each , 2 either side of the tipper body , i buggered one , no worries , the gave me a new one free , when i got this truck it had Ashmore(?) LED lights as the same thing ,, was always replacing them at the same price , only replaced the one Hella !!

The Cape , i posted a bit about it tonight , to Weipa should be open to 4WD by the weekend , the Tip 2 maybe 3 weeks , heard this from the Main Roads boss of Cairns branch on local talk back radio this morning ,, someone else replied with a bit of a different slant , might know more than me , but they have all the gear there going along as they can ,, all the best ,

Neil ..

FollowupID: 430379

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:37

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:37
Ah Hah! we are alive me thinks!

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 430391

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:49

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:49
Hey Crazy dog ,,
Yep we is here and alive ,, truck is back on the road , busy making up for lost time !!

Neil ..

FollowupID: 430395

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:56

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 21:56
Thanks Neil & Margie
For your info on the Pennisular Development Rd. There is talk also of road closures next season (2007) due to Gas Pipe repairs following the cyclone, this would be devistating for businesse's up there if that is true. Two consecutive bad seasons would be enough to push some businesse's over the edge if true. PS looked at your profile, we will be around for dinner later!!!!!
On Patrol

FollowupID: 430399

Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 22:04

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 22:04
No worries On Patrol , the cook said just give her enough notice !!

Neil & Margie ..

FollowupID: 430401

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 23:35

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 23:35
Rod W,

Read the Thread again.

I had already stated that I couldn't find lights small enough to fit in the existing space. No need for a smart arsed comment Mate.

I posted the Thread because others have had similar problems in the past.

FollowupID: 430423

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 17:58

Wednesday, May 24, 2006 at 17:58
Yo Sand man,

Yeh I agree re Rod W - Just goes to prove they are about 2 hrs behind the rest of us....well him anyway.....

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 430597

Reply By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:12

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 17:12
I will have to check auto pro in WA, as $39.95 sounds better than the $100+ they want for the Hellas

Thanks for the heads up
AnswerID: 174259

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 19:35

Tuesday, May 23, 2006 at 19:35
Sound s great but i just replaced mine with the "same old" because of the big sizes of led units.. but watch out, sounds like you are going to wet yourself!! LOL.. Michael

AnswerID: 174288