Is Dalhousie springs OK

Submitted: Friday, May 26, 2006 at 08:20
ThreadID: 34275 Views:2313 Replies:4 FollowUps:10
I noted people who have been swimming in Dalhousie Springs recently claimed they were effected by lice. We hope to be there in 2 weeks and were hoping to have a dip as is the custom after crossing the Simpson.
Has any one been their lately and had any problems?

Reply By: Willem - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 09:12

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 09:12
According to two reports here in the past week those who swam there were not bitten by anything Do a search of the archives and you should find references..

I have passed through three times in the past three years and have not stopped. The place is more like a resort. Cluster camping and too many people in the spring.

Much nicer to have a hot artesian shower at Purni Bore.
AnswerID: 174835

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 09:53

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 09:53
Or, a spa under the stars at Clayton Station on the way home!
FollowupID: 430928

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 10:03

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 10:03
We stopped there last year and had no bites. After 2 and half months on the road the dip was as medicinal as the signs said. Personally, I thought it was all in my mind but the bride was convinced that she was feeling better. It was in September and we only saw another couple and a small group of 6 - we had the place to ourselves as they were going. The facilities were pretty good as well but we didn't camp there.

FollowupID: 430932

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 10:59

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 10:59
I'm with Shaker on that one Bro. After taking your reccomendation on the spa under the stars it was preferable to the scalding I nearly recieved at Purni Bore shower two years back.
FollowupID: 430942

Reply By: tuck 01 - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 11:27

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 11:27
Pling
We camped overnight at Dalhousie a couple of weeks ago. 9 of us, 7 of whom swam both afternoon we arrived and early morning before departure. No sign of any bites among our group.
Yes, the campsite is regulated, but arriving early afternoon we had the pick of sites and did not find the "crowds" a worry. Plenty of firewood to be collected legitimately a few km out the track towards Mt Dare at 3 O'Clock Creek ensured we had a good fire for company. The dingo around the edge of camp both evening and morning entertained us for a while.
The group of German tourists included one sweet looking young lady who seemed to have forgotten both her togs and her modesty. Our son used Mum's camera to prove this while mum was swimming, much to the amusement of all when we downloaded the photos when we got home.
My first time to Dalhousie so I don't know what it was like before it became regulated, but still pretty bloody good to me.
AnswerID: 174871

Follow Up By: kiesel - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 13:38

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 13:38
Had a dip 2 weeks ago very refreshing -there are small fish that nibble at your lower legs but not a problem - have a good trip
FollowupID: 430969

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 14:14

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 14:14
Before it became regulated the locals used to fly in once a year for a picnic day. The dirt airstrip has probably gone by now. There was a falling down shed, and if there was more than 1 party there it was crowded.
The shedding of clothes seemed almost compulsary in those days. One guy frolicking around introduced me to his wife, teenage son and daughter and his mum and dad...all suitably attired. Ever tried saying G'day and NOT looking at the person ? :)))))))
FollowupID: 430977

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 14:16

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 14:16
Is the warning sign still there at Purni Bore ? A child was scalded there years ago and it took ages to get medical attention. I was warned about the possibility of being burnt , a long way before I got there.
FollowupID: 430979

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 16:03

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 16:03
Tuck,

Was there last week and no problems from bities with our party of 5.
The jury is still out as to what the cause may be.
My recommendation:- DO IT!
The temperature is comfortable
The water is clear
The tiny fish tickle

Just go prepared and pack a tube of calamine lotion, or other itchy bite reliever, just in case as you are in a remote area.

Footy,

The airstrip is still there, we flew in rather than drive in.
Don't want to sound "superior" because we're certainly not.
We were based at William Creek and the local Air Charter operator made us an offer we just couldn't refuse. A fantastic way to get a completely different perspective of the desert country.

FollowupID: 431000

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 16:26

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 16:26
Sandman, mate I've flown in little planes (as well as big ones). Nothing superior about it. Cramped and noisy, give me a 4wd any day :)) May be slower (much slower in my case) but I'd enjoy it more.
FollowupID: 431006

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 16:35

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 16:35
Always found Vicks Vapour Rub good for sandfly and small bites.
Takes the sting out really well.
AnswerID: 174937

Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Friday, May 26, 2006 at 22:12

Friday, May 26, 2006 at 22:12
Hi pling

Three first hand reports from tourists coming from Dalhousie today, including a German couple there for 2 days and 5 dips, were only of the the little fish nibbling and a few mossie bites when out in the camp ground. No reports of lice.

A little cool out here though overnight!

Cheers from Mt Dare
AnswerID: 175002

Follow Up By: pling - Saturday, May 27, 2006 at 18:23

Saturday, May 27, 2006 at 18:23
Thanks to all for the advice.

See you in two weeks Ian, hope you have plenty of fuel.

What is the current price of super?
FollowupID: 431145

Follow Up By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Sunday, May 28, 2006 at 13:20

Sunday, May 28, 2006 at 13:20
Hi Pling,

1.83 ULP, 1.88 Diesel but a fresh delivery expected shortly, who knows up or down.

The hazards of being 1100km round trip for the delivery tanker.

Ian from Mt Dare
FollowupID: 431251