Submitted: Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:08
ThreadID: 34531 Views:5732 Replies:19 FollowUps:13
i love bush camping in the winter when can appreciate the warmth of a camp fire
my mates say im mad am i ?or do other peole enjoy it as much as i do

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:20

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:20
There is nothing better mate....especially early in the morning and the other campers wake up to the smell of the bread in the camp over
AnswerID: 176296

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 22:31

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 22:31
And the bacon in the pan.

Then there is the fun of putting a nice pork roast in the Cobb from mid afternoon and letting the smell waft around ...
FollowupID: 432529

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:28

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:28
My favourite times are spring and autumn but I'm off to the High Country early tomorrow morning for anything from 3 or 4 days to a couple of weeks (depends on a number of things) and I'm quite happy up there in winter although I usually stay below the snow line. Winter is when the chain saw _really_ comes into it's own :)

AnswerID: 176298

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 15:26

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 15:26
sounds good mike, have a nice one.

don't forget the hockey mask :)
FollowupID: 432395

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:57

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:57
Thank you bushfix - it's rare I go up there and don't enjoy it.

Is the hockey mask for protection from the chainsaw or to ensure I don't frighen the roos? :)

FollowupID: 432451

Reply By: Noel W (Qld) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:57

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 11:57
Best time of the year as far as I am concerned. Just another reason to 'cuddle up' and bring out the 'fire water' as well - not necessarily in that order.
AnswerID: 176306

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:19

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:19
Yes, but too much fire water means those desperate dashes out of the sleeping bag for relief at 2am....
FollowupID: 432335

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 13:08

Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 13:08
. . . . only if you dilute the firewater with too uch of that annoying water. Overproof Rum is excellent in that regard and has wonderful medicinal properties if I have a winter sore throat.

FollowupID: 432591

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:14

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:14
The best time of year to camp I reckon. No-one around, no bugs, plenty of stars, a fire, red wine or gluwein, toasty doona and a snuggly wife.

Ahh... heaven!
AnswerID: 176308

Reply By: Member - uncle - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:15

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:15
It's the only time to camp!!
AnswerID: 176310

Reply By: cuffs - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:22

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:22
Most ppl ask "don't you get cold in winter", the answer I dress for the weather, love those thermals nothin penertrates them & in a minus 5 sleeping bag, warmer than home.
AnswerID: 176314

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 14:04

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 14:04
Nude camping in winter Mmmmm,Chee'rs Bob.
FollowupID: 432367

Reply By: Jodi - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:32

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:32
We agree too. No flies, no mossies and if you have the right gear then rain is just an excuse to sit and relax with a nice red or port. We love camping through the winter months. Less people and because a lot of tracks are closed there are less bikers around and thus less noise (sorry to all trail bikers out there, but the noise can be annoying). We love heading out far east vic at this time of year. Last year we camped at Cathedral Ranges (hardley rugged and hard to get to) and we were the only people there. Did the well's cave track walk and it snowed on us at the top a spectacular view. Nice big fire when we got back, dry socks etc, no rain, warm clothes, warm sleeping bag and a nice crisp fresh morning to wake up to. Nothing like it.
AnswerID: 176317

Follow Up By: ROBERT - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:06

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:06
ive been to cathedral as well great spot but the last time i was their they had closed off alot of the more private camp sites cheers robert
FollowupID: 432348

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:32

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:32
I LOVE it. Just went for a quick run down south last weekend, only 2.1c over night, not too bad. Nice big log on the fire, some home brew spirits in a plastic cup and some good conversation with the missus. Fantastic!

And rain, cool! Nice big tarp between the trees.

The only thing I don't like is wind. If it's blowing a gail, I'll stay home. But cold and rain, no problems!
AnswerID: 176318

Follow Up By: ROBERT - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:03

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:03
glad to see im not the only that enjoys camping in winter
FollowupID: 432347

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 15:55

Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 15:55
Ahhhhh Jeff......aint it grand !

Nothing ive done in life is more enjoyable. Just wish I could get out more.

Ange
FollowupID: 432607

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:48

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:48
Maybe we should start a new club - the "Australian Winter Camping Club". I'm in for sure!

Bring ya woolies!!
AnswerID: 176323

Follow Up By: Jodi - Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 10:43

Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 10:43
Us too.
FollowupID: 432577

Reply By: brian - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:53

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 12:53
Yep best time had 4 days in alpine area 10 days ago snow on ground temp -5 to-9 fantastic time.....
AnswerID: 176324

Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:15

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:15
Absolutely the best time to camp. As long as you are prepared for the cold, there shouldn't be a problem.

We're looking forward to two weeks in the Flinders Ranges in July.
AnswerID: 176328

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:16

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:16
Winter camping is great. This may sound strange but when I get up in the mornings when we're winter camping I check the thermometer and I'm actually disappointed when it's above zero! Off in a few weeks to enjoy those cold nights and glorious days out west.
AnswerID: 176330

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:57

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 13:57
I don't care when i go camping winter is great ..... summer will have boat in tow and fishing i will be.

Albiet I may head to Glenlyon and chase some Cod this winter :).

AnswerID: 176346

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 14:23

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 14:23
I love camping any time of the year. Nothing like a bit of 4WD'ing followed by a good campfire with mates and a few glasses of red.
Off to Morton NP for an extra long weekend and then Newnes the following weekend and the weekend after a warmer a climate to Cape York for 6 weeks.
AnswerID: 176354

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 15:41

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 15:41
Yes! Yes Yes!,
Agree with all of the above, no sand-flies, mossies, flies, can walk/hike all day or spend it in the boat without getting burnt to a frazzle. Less people about, can snuggle down in a warm sleeping bag and actually get a goods nights sleep.
Love this time of the year for camping and am off on the long weekend cause I'm able to stretch it out into a five day break.

AnswerID: 176384

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 16:02

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 16:02
Yep - its good - agree with the above points (fires - red wine - port - bourbon - eggs no bacon - bush walking - no flies etc etc) - just been to the HC for 2 weeks -quality sleeping bags and the right amount of fleecy clobba takes care of you. The ice in the breakfast bowls can be put up with ! The only snag is rain - not showers - rain ! .... and the chances of rain are probably no greater then than at any other time (except high summer).
AnswerID: 176386

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:21

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 17:21
I agree with everyone's comments but will throw one more favourite into the mix.
WATER.

Camped in a relatively secluded spot on the Murray, with good company, a great Wine, a camp fire and just watch the world cruise by. Top it of with a bit of fishing sand I'm as "loose as a goose".

AnswerID: 176401

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 18:41

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 18:41
Gotta agree with the water. Watching the reflection of the moon on the sea/river/lake while sitting round the fire drinking some red sounds like the perfect night out.
FollowupID: 432461

Reply By: Member - Happy Little Camper - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 18:55

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 18:55
Oh yes gotta agree with ya all nothing like the winter bush camping .....until I see this mornings Qlds Courier Mail ....icicles hanging off a fence YIKES I thought it was a picture of some southern state then I read YIKES again its taken just at Warwick only a couple hours away -5 you have to be joking. Worst part in all this is I have booked long weekend at Goomburra Forest Reserve. I think I will be off purchasing some of those under garments I hear ski people talk about.....thermals!!! Lots of port and a hubby to warm my feet on and you have just got a great camp happening. Oh as well as a camp fire with camp oven cooking my famous roast leg of lamb.

Have a fab camping time all
Cheers from HLC
AnswerID: 176418

Follow Up By: Member - Barry C (NT) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 22:46

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 22:46
Go to fridee funny post 34503,,
HLC you can add number 55 to nowimnumberone's post,,,
"hubbies good for warming feet",, lol,, don't know how he missed that one.

Cheers Baz
FollowupID: 432531

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 22:41

Friday, Jun 02, 2006 at 22:41
Just booked next Friday off to extend the long weekend for some forest camping with friends. We dont mind if it rains as we put up the big tarps and veg out next to the fire.

!MPG:6!

Lovely
AnswerID: 176473

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 11:00

Saturday, Jun 03, 2006 at 11:00
Excellent. The only life.
FollowupID: 432581