2 sleeps to go until we leave Melbourne

Submitted: Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 20:42
ThreadID: 34997 Views:2486 Replies:8 FollowUps:11

Only 2 more sleeps until my son and I head off from Melbourne on a thirteen week adventure. We are spending 2 weeks in Adelaide as I have to work, but then head north on the 30th June for 11 weeks of travelling. Some of the places/routes we will see/travel are Chambers Pillar, Tanami, Bungle Bungles, Gibb River Road, Mitchell Plateau, Cape Leveque, Kirinji NP, Cape Range NP, Steep Point, Coral Bay, Kalbarri, Perth, Anne Beadell Hwy and then if time permits, we will make our way home via the Oodnadatta and Flinders Ranges.

I will be meeting a few EO people on the way, and a big bonus has been Anne from Drysdale Station being kind enough to prepare a chocolate cake for James' 9th birthday.

We are both looking forward to this wonderful trip and James is very excited about the helicopter flights, plane flights, cruises and hiking, as well as the time spent with me snorkelling, kicking the footy, playing cricket and tennis and it "just being the boys".

I will have a couple of EO stickers on the VB rear window saver, driving an 80 series with tag along tour advertising on the side, towing a Tambo camper trailer. If you spot us, come and have a chat.

Glenn

PS.....work thinks I will be back, but there is every chance I won't be...hahahahha

Reply By: On Patrol - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 20:57

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 20:57
Hi Glenn
Getting out of Melb for that long would be like going over the Berlin wall and having to go back 13 weeks later LOL.

Enjoy your time away and relish it. It's nice that you can share the time with your son in such fantastic places. I was out ther 9 years ago and loved it.
On Patrol
AnswerID: 178853

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:42

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:42
Hi On Patrol,

Melbourne isn't that bad...lol

We will certainly enjoy the time away. We have spent most of tonight jumping around, clapping, laughing etc. I did some of what we are doing this trip in 1994 with my Mum and Dad, so I am so excited about showing James those places, as well as experiencing new spots together. We live in such a great country that is so easy to traverse.....how lucky we are.

Glenn
FollowupID: 435168

Reply By: maroni - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:11

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:11
Hi Glen have a safe journey, will try and say hi to you on the way,we hopefully be in broome end of july, just depends on when it will bloody rain, so we can get the crop in and then head north...from broome it's the gibb river then darwin..looking forward to it
cheers for now
h
AnswerID: 178855

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:43

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:43
Hi maroni,

Good luck with the rain, if you are in NSW things do not look too good at present drought wise. We will be in Broome (Cable Beach) end of July, so will look out for your sticker.

Glenn
FollowupID: 435170

Follow Up By: maroni - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:59

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:59
Glen in w.a. great southern, and still now sign of rain... bloody cold nights and lovely days....
FollowupID: 435180

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:17

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:17
Good one Glenn

We should be coming out of the desert near 80 Mile Beach around the end of July. Where will you be?

AnswerID: 178856

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:45

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:45
Hi Willem,

We will be at Eighty Mile Beach CP 4th August, so I think we will miss each other....doh!

Have a safe and great trip, and enjoy the areas you are visiting. I will pick your brains in October around one of the many campfires.

Take care and say hello to Jude and Jedah.

Glenn
FollowupID: 435172

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:33

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:33
bastard.
all the best dude, ya got me ph if ANYTHING comes up.
AnswerID: 178860

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:47

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:47
heh mate, with your contractor wages you should be able to take the time off, grab Cam and join us....lol. I do have you ph number and will call anyhow.

Glenn
FollowupID: 435173

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:53

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 21:53
bleep dont tempt me
FollowupID: 435177

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 22:40

Friday, Jun 16, 2006 at 22:40
Have a great trip mate. Please don't show anyone else how well you can get bogged will you;-)
AnswerID: 178874

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 11:13

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 11:13
Hi John,

I will try not to...lol. You do realise that the only reason I did get bogged was to test out your recovery points....and gear....hahhahhaha.

Take care and say hi to Heather, Nick and co from James and I.

Glenn
FollowupID: 435218

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 17:53

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 17:53
Remember to take the Tirfor handle. Heather says hello back too.
FollowupID: 435258

Reply By: The Bigfella - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 09:58

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 09:58
Glenn

Have a great trip. Having spent some time with you and James between Christmas and New Year in the Terracan I know you will have a great trip. It will be a great part of James education. Have a ball mate and look forward to some stories when you get back.
Brian (The Bigfella)
AnswerID: 178909

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 11:16

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 11:16
Hi Brian,

Thanks, yes we will have a ball. James is very excited and will learn a lot on this trip. I will try and update my website on the hop, but I may not have the time to actually do it...hahahahaha

Cheers and say hi to Gay from James and I.

Glenn
FollowupID: 435220

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 17:03

Saturday, Jun 17, 2006 at 17:03
Have a good trip up and see you round the 12th.Went out the Keep last night,first camp ground chocka,ended up camping in the car park near Nganalam art site(not ment to) as the road from there on was/is closed so near on half the park is out of bounds.Great art site that one by the way.
AnswerID: 178953

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 09:36

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 09:36
Thanks Nick, looking forward to catching up. It sounds like my day trip out to Keep River will be great. Sounds like there is still a lot of water up your way. I will soon experience it myself. Packing last items now and hope to hit the blacktop at midday.

Cheers and see you soon

Glenn
FollowupID: 435326

Reply By: MickO13 - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 00:43

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 00:43
Glenn,

Have you got a great trip ahead of you. I touched base with late last year re the Tambo Cooper which I subsequently bought. Has it been put through the paces or what since then. I'm in Kaljamon at Cape Leveque as I type having arrived here via Goog's, The Anne Beadell, All points north of Perth, Kennedy ranges, Mt Augustus, Newman, Karijini, etc etc. If you're coming out of Karijini, try and get into Eagle Rock pool near Newman. Great spot to spend a spare night. Tambo has handled it all excedptionally well. The road into Leveque is probably the worst we've encountered so far but worth it none the least. Heading out in a few days to Derby then the Gibb, Mitchell Falls, Kalumbaru and to Kununurra by mid July to do the Canning, Rudall River and Gunbarrel (leaving the Tambo in Kununurra). Currently travelling with an E/O member who I teamed up with at Kalbarri (wishes to remain annon..and with the amount of cheap cask port he drinks...no wonder!). It's fantastic up here mate, particularly after all the rain. It seems to have followed me. If we can offer any info let me know via the forum. I've let the email address go as I now live in the Tambo...and that's gotta be good! Cheers. MickO.

AnswerID: 179022

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 09:41

Sunday, Jun 18, 2006 at 09:41
Hi Mick,

Great to hear the Tambo is travelling well, as are you. I was feeling a bit anxious about the Tambo, especially with the weight it is carrying. I will be taking it easy so I don't really expect any issues with it. Your trip sounds a blast, I will be in Kunnunurra on the 12th July for four days staying at the Town CP. I will keep an eye out for another Tambo and come and say g'day if you are there.

Glenn
FollowupID: 435327