compressor storage tank

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 16:53
ThreadID: 3503 Views:1894 Replies:10 FollowUps:9
I have a blue tongue2 compressor mounted in the rear storage system of my GQ. I would like to install a storage tank using a small BBQ gas bottle. Has anybody else done this and if so can you email me a small diagram of what fittings etc are required. would it be possible to use a tyre pressure gauge(the type used at servo's) or rattle gun with this setup.

mark

mrattray@west.com.au

Reply By: ray91 - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 18:18

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 18:18
Hi would you be in Perth WA? {mrattray@west.com.au} All the RAC patrol vans in Perth use small gas bottlles as air tanks, have a look at them
AnswerID: 13786

Follow Up By: Mark - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:06

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:06
Yes I am in Perth, so I might see if I can check out an RAC van

FollowupID: 8201

Reply By: Rowdy - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 18:26

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 18:26
Compressed air and any residue of LPG left in the cylinder is a recipe for a big bang. If you use an LPG cylinder as a reservoir for the compressed air make sure that it is thoroughly purged with an inert gas. Automotive LPG cylinders have a pressure relief valve that blows off at 3.3Mpa although there are a few cylinders that were used in factory Datsun 200B's that blew off at 3.1Mpa so you should have ample air pressure and if you use a 80-90 ltr cylinder a rattle gun is a possiblity but may take a while to get air pressure up again after using the rattle gun.
Rowdy
AnswerID: 13787

Reply By: Kev. - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 19:36

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 19:36
If you were to use a LPG bottle i think it would be safer to use a new one that hasent had gas in it yet plus you then could weld on extras like mounts or a condensation drain plug.

The fittings needed are :

Pressure releaf valve ($15)
Pressure cut out switch (preferably differental switch) ($50-60)
Click on outlet of some sort for hose attachments ($10)
One way valve to stop air leaking back past the compressor piston ($10)
Pressure gauge (optional) ($20)
Filter/water trap (optional) ($30-40)
+ manifold or T-pieces ect

Kev.
AnswerID: 13790

Reply By: Truckster - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 20:59

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 20:59
Goto a truck wrecker, and get a truck tank from an old International...

They come with the relief valve, pressure tested, and everything... $40-$60..

Why the hell people try to use things like pieces of pipe with 2 ends welded on it.. Bombs in the making..
AnswerID: 13797

Follow Up By: Kev. - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 21:42

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 21:42
I did this Truckster but i found the truck tanks were all full of rust from not draining the condensation on a regular basis.
If they are in the wreckers then they are most likely 20 years old plus they are way to heavy.
If you want light weight tanks go for the large fire extinguishes as they are pressure tested and stainless steel therefore wont rust.

Kev.
FollowupID: 8199

Follow Up By: Mark - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:04

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:04
Truckster,

What type of tank do you mean

Sorry if I sound stupid

FollowupID: 8200

Follow Up By: Truckster - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:10

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:10
The tanks I have are new, no rust, they had a stack around 30 feet hight, the bloke pointed to it and said come see me when you have what you want!

I did!
Im Happy! But I know what you are saying, in that case go for some off a newer truck... But they would bleep on a fire extinguisher, and come with drain valves, and stuff.
FollowupID: 8203

Follow Up By: Truckster - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:12

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:12
Sorry Mark.

I mean a Truck Air Tank.. Truck wreckers have thousands of them, worth sod all.

They have the bleed valves, and pressure relief valves.. You can get 2 in tandem too... Mate has 3 large tanks in his GQ... Can pump up 35's from 12 psi to 35+ on 2 trucks without the pump running :)
FollowupID: 8204

Follow Up By: Kev. - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:13

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:13
Mark ,
All truck use large tanks to hold compressed air to operate there brakes and on some to start the engine.
Your probebly heard a truck or bus releasing excess air in traffic.

And thats why most trucks have air horns.

Kev
FollowupID: 8206

Follow Up By: Truckster - Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 10:24

Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 10:24
Kev,

On that note, $150 at Autobahn inc a SMALL tank these Air Horns that sound like Train Horns... Awesome, I nearly stained the Haynes when he showed me how loud they were!

They say you get 100+ blasts out of each tank!
FollowupID: 8221

Reply By: Kev. - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:19

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:19
"Tanks stacked 30' high"
Thats one of the benefits of living in Sydney , im flat out even finding a truck wrecker at all in Cairns QLD let alone finding quality parts.
AnswerID: 13802

Reply By: Gibbers - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:41

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 22:41
I made a 5 litre tank from High Pressure PVC - glued it up as plumbers do - lives inside the bull bar - hasn't gone bang yet - the PVC is rated much higher than the ARB's 100 psi cut out.
AnswerID: 13807

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 23:37

Sunday, Feb 23, 2003 at 23:37
Dont argue with TRUCKSTER.... he is the 'know all' of everything....nobody else knows any better than HIM....
AnswerID: 13809

Follow Up By: Truckster - Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 10:22

Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 10:22
Good to see you agree and know your place in the food chain.
FollowupID: 8220

Reply By: Mark - Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 11:35

Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 11:35
Thankyou for all the responces, if I can get a truck tank what is the best way to put it all together

AnswerID: 13823

Reply By: lizard - Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 16:12

Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 16:12
I have heard of a bloke that used his 'large tube' type bull bar as a reservoir .... he used a rattle gun off it ....
AnswerID: 13829

Follow Up By: Kev. - Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 16:22

Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 16:22
Or roll bars if you have one.

One guy used the frame of the tray (custom made) on his ute to hold compressed air.
FollowupID: 8229

Reply By: patrol692001 - Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 22:24

Monday, Feb 24, 2003 at 22:24
MARK, I've got an endless air on my gq,with a ex primus gas tank as a receiver.Approx 150 x 400,with this i can run a rattly gun,ratchet & servo style tyre gauge.E/a comp has higher output than B/T,but with larger receiver it should work.Maybe 2 or 3 small tanks would be better.

CHEERS MIKE
AnswerID: 13855