Cost of Genuine Toyota parts

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 21:39
ThreadID: 35122 Views:4748 Replies:20 FollowUps:27
I was unfortunate enough to back into the plastic wheely rubbish bin. No real damage, just a cracked tail light lens. The car ia a 2006 Landcruiser, the lens is in two parts, the quarter panel bit and the tail gate bit. No problems I thought, just replace the quarter panel lens and she will be as good as new. rang the Toyota dealer, no problem we have plenty in stock, here is the crunch. They cost $456. What a rip off. Does anyone know of an alternative place that would have the same part. At this stage it is a sticky tape job

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 21:50

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 21:50
George,

Try EBay, these ones are for a 98-02 model, but the mob selling them might be able to help.

Site Link

AnswerID: 179545

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 21:54

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 21:54
BTW, I was quoted over $400 for a replacement wing mirror on my 80. Toyota spare parts guy didn't think I was funny when I explained that I did not need it attached to a new fu%#ng door. No sense of humour I guess.
FollowupID: 435750

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:07

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:07
Hi Matt

Love it and can fully understand what you mean..........classic!!!

Cya
FollowupID: 435755

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 07:22

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 07:22
I'm lucky, my 1991 Heritage Listed Pajero was a common model and there is a 4WD wreckers on the way home from work. Even so, I have a broken tail light lens I repaired with some of that stick on red tail light repair tape that Autopro sells. That was 6 years ago and it is still going strong.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 435807

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 08:39

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 08:39
I actually got a surprise when I checked out the price of a new water pump for my 80 Series. I went to Toyota to get the bad news first and got quoted $190 which I didn't think was too bad but thought with an aftermarket one, I could potentially save some $$$ here! Anyway went down to Repco and asked there and was quoted a figure close to $300. When I said that the genuine item was $190 and there must be a mistake - the bloke checked again and got the same answer! I couldn't believe it! A nice surprise from Mr Toyota!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 435818

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 09:33

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 09:33
You should get a troopy. I busted a wing mirror and a genuine Toyota replacement was $55.

FollowupID: 435832

Reply By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:02

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:02
Hi George.

Sorry i can't help you with the tail light lens, but you have made my day!
As far as my family are concerned I am the only person in the world silly enough to reverse into the wheely bin.
(mind you I have done it twice ",")

AnswerID: 179551

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:05

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:05
Hi David

LOL..........was the first time a practice one?

Cya
FollowupID: 435754

Follow Up By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:11

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:11
I have to beg everyones appologies.
My daughter has just informed me it has been 3 times.
The first 2 were apparently practice ones!

FollowupID: 435756

Follow Up By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:16

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:16
BTW
I recently had a broken rear quarter glass assembly in the family car.
$420 from mitsubishi genuine.
$41 from the wreckers + half an hour to fit myself.
Even the counter staff were shocked at the genuine price.

FollowupID: 435760

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:23

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:23
I don't fell so stupid now, seems to be a common occurance, backing into wheely bins LOL
FollowupID: 435762

Follow Up By: Member - Jerry C (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:30

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:30
Hi George,
Try the wreckers, they may even have aftermarket units, there are a couple that specialise in tojo parts.

Jerry
FollowupID: 435765

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 08:07

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 08:07
auto roller doors are better fun!...just ask swmbo:((( cost heaps to fix...both the car and door
FollowupID: 435814

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 20:53

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 20:53
Ha ha, yeah I've had some NEAR misses with the wheely bins! But I was so daft, I backed into the tree in the front yard, you know the one that's never moved since it was planted 20 years ago!! DEEEERR, quite hard too, luckily it just scuffed the rear spoiler on the surf, amazing really as it crunched somthing bad and stopped the car dead. Those wheely bins can do some damage though, when they are full they are pretty damn heavy.
FollowupID: 435937

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:04

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:04
George,

Not much help to you but I would hazzard a guess that the cost is high because you would be buying the full quarter panel light assembly, rather than just the outer lens. That appears to be the way most light assemblies are made now.

When you say, "No real damage", did you check the wheelie bin. It may have been one of those "disguised" road cameras.
You could have caused thousands of dollars damage to some high tech equipment mate:-)

AnswerID: 179554

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:25

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:25
Hi Sandman, no it is just the plastic lens only
FollowupID: 435763

Reply By: Tankman - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:18

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:18
It would be a insurance job then ,, O what a feeling!!!!!
AnswerID: 179559

Reply By: bigcol - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:18

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:18
It's just typical of the motor companies.
I put a set of muddies on the Navara for the trip to the cape today and i thought i might get a couple of steel Nissan rims to mach the 2 i already have to make a set rather than stripping the tyres of the alloys every time i want use them. I asked how much for the steel spare wheels. $265.00 each thank you.
My reply was, no i only just want the wheels not the tyres as well.
No sense of humour when the spare parts guy said that tyres weren't included.
My response then was , No thanks , i can buy a complete set of alloys for that much and 5 Sunrasias for half that much
AnswerID: 179560

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 09:37

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 09:37
You are doing OK. I used to have a Jack and was quoted $657 per rim by Holden! As I wanted six I said "No thanks" Even the dismantlers wanted over $200 each.

FollowupID: 435833

Reply By: TROOPYMAN A.D. 1998 - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:21

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:21
Ahhhhh Troopy and wreckers go together like sonny and cher .
AnswerID: 179561

Follow Up By: Eddy - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:29

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:29
Like the spare parts man said, "I got you babe"
FollowupID: 435764

Reply By: Flash - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:33

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:33
There are people who specialise in repairing plastic lenses.
A local mob did a repair on my son's 4WD taillight and I could not pick it- it was that good. A fraction of the price of a new one.
Look in the yellow pages.
AnswerID: 179566

Follow Up By: Member - George (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:41

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:41
Hi Flash, that sounds like a good solution, any idea what heading it would be under in the yellow pages
FollowupID: 435772

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 01:16

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 01:16
George, try Tony's auto wreckers in Midland. These guys get a lot of wrecks from the mining companies, both Yota's and Missins.

They regularly get top of the line 4WD's from the mines, and a common cuase of damage is the mine boss will send someone on a mission in his car and they give it a flogging all the way there and all the way back. Rollovers are common!!!
FollowupID: 435802

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:40

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:40
Hi George,
Try your local motorcycle panel repair place, you know, the places where they repair crashed bikes, they quite often have somewhere that does the plastic welding on bike fairings, that'd be the guy your after.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 435866

Follow Up By: Flash - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:42

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:42
"Plastics- repairs"
In Brisbane my son used Advanced Plastic Repairs , 137 Granite street Geebung.
They also fix things like faded lenses that have gone pink/ white instead of red, even pool filter tanks and the such.
FollowupID: 435867

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 20:57

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 20:57
Yeah I installed the security cameras out at Tony's, got a huge range of 4by wrecks. They can be a little pricey though, they've been known to just go next store to the midland toyota service centre and get a price of the new part and take 10% off the price for the second handy.
FollowupID: 435940

Reply By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:34

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 22:34
Try wreckers but a 2006 model might be hard to come by. The ebay advice may be good. Non genuine parts but just as good. I'm very happy with the supply of cheap parts from wreckers for my 92 GQ. I don't ever plan on buying a fourby less than 5 years old, too many repair bills from tracks.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 179568

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 23:24

Tuesday, Jun 20, 2006 at 23:24
You got it right first time--sticky tape does the job .I've had mine taped for 2 years now with no worries.
AnswerID: 179581

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 07:18

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 07:18
We used to go through the same agony with our Tarago. One item replaced as an idler arm in the front steering that failed rego check. $395 in 1988 dollars. Nearly 400 bucks for a bent piece of metal with three bushes.

My theory is that Toyota spares are made by a group of those Japanese "Living National Treasures" that carve them out of solid blocks of alloy and plastic a chip at a time.

Pete

AnswerID: 179598

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 08:15

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 08:15
Just been scrolling thru Landcruiser on Ebay , tail lights for your 100 series both l/r sides $200 as "buy it now "
AnswerID: 179606

Reply By: djpatrol - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 10:39

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 10:39
OH ,
NOW I KNOW WHY THEY SAY ((BUGGER)))
AnswerID: 179628

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 10:48

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 10:48
Without wishing to kick off the usual slanging match, are Nissan parts generally cheaper than Toyota?

Just interested I guess.

AnswerID: 179631

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 14:49

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 14:49
just for your info Matt,
I sold my Patrol because of the cost of parts, no one can justify to me FIVE GRAND for a fuel pump, or seven grand for a turbo, how about upwards of 15 for an engine !!! well done Nissan another customer lost,
regards,
FollowupID: 435877

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 20:59

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 20:59
I think the GU wing mirrors are over $350 aren't they?
FollowupID: 435943

Follow Up By: Scooter13 - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 23:23

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 23:23
Matt, lets not discuss Letter Boxes either eh.....
FollowupID: 435968

Reply By: revhead307 - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 12:37

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 12:37
If it makes you feel any better George, I reversed into a steel bin in a parking bay with the door open...and bent it all the way forward (stupid moment)

Also...I busted a normal plastic side mirror while 4x4ing....Nissan stated $260 for a new one...

Found a set at a garage sale for $5...and i even got a spare :-)

As mentioned above...try ebay.

Rev
AnswerID: 179649

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:21

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:21
Some lowlife cretin smashed tail lights a few months back at my local shopping centre. The Jack had the tail light in the rear bumper broken and Holden's price was $760, I eventually found one at a wrecker for $60....
AnswerID: 179660

Follow Up By: Flash - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:44

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:44
It is a fact that most dealers make far more from servicing and parts than from new sales.
FollowupID: 435868

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 14:56

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 14:56
You did well. The last time I looked for one of these lights for a Jack the wreakers all laughed themselfs stupid and said wish we could get them!

FollowupID: 435878

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:53

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:53
About 30 years ago in Adelaide some clown build a mini from spare parts as a stunt. Cost of new mini at the time about $3,000. His new car was around $20,000!

AnswerID: 179666

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:53

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:53
Mine was a Nissan rear quarter bumper (had a tree leap from nowhere and leave an ugly crease). Mr Nissan said $350 for the rubber part excluding any mounts etc WTF, its just a piece of rubber. There you go mr toyo and Nissan do talk to each other on how to fleece the buyers of spare parts. Was lucky to find one second hand. The places that do ute type conversions sometimes have them for sale - another good place to try.

AnswerID: 179667

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 14:00

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 14:00
Beatit !! I am in the plastics industry. That part can be made for around $3.50 cost price.. Just show the mark ups. Having said that thei is a lot of handling and distribution both in Japan and Australia but should be able to get it to the counter for about $80.... Michael

FollowupID: 435870

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 15:18

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 15:18
Thanks Michael, kinda confirms what I thought. I'm sure they can justify the price. Saw some numbers in the paper a while back that explained the breakdown of the retail cost of a $26,000 motor vehicle. Tha landed cost was about $6,500 and the rest was made up of various profits and taxes - suppose it's the same for parts?

FollowupID: 435882

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:54

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 13:54
Patrol parts ar steep also. I paid $25.85 for a clutch pedal rubber for the GU.. I was dissapointed when he dropped it on the counter, I thought it was going to be the entire pedal assembly!!! LOL!!!

AnswerID: 179668

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 14:18

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 14:18
At $456.00 youd expect the tail light lens to be unbreakable..! Oh what a feeling, at least the car didn't break itself, shop around and hang until you get one at the right price. It's all well and good for Toyota to advertise "Use Genuine Toyota Parts" but when they sting you like that, bleep em..!
AnswerID: 179671

Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 20:14

Wednesday, Jun 21, 2006 at 20:14
Just had to replace the Vehicle Speed Sensor when the speedo died on the 80 series a few months ago .... $360 from Toyota ...... $30 from wreckers.
AnswerID: 179758