ATM raids...

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 21:02
ThreadID: 35372 Views:2846 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
I have been following with great interest the number of ATM ram raids happening around the metro area here in Sydney over the past year. It seems from what i have read that most thieves are very choosy as to which vehicle they want for the "smash and grab". Over 90% have involved GQ patrols, why ? well to the best of my knowledge they are so damn strong that the robbers know that the GQ will do what they want it to if not first time, then second ram will see the ATM free of its locking points.

I was in the bass hill shopping center one morning working when i witnessed one smash through the rear center entry doors and reverse itself into the ATM, it all looked very easy from where i was standing. Not much damage to the vehicle either, it was drivable. On this occasion they used an early GQ 88 - 89 model in the 2 tone colour of blue over silver. Made one hell of a bag when it reversed into the ATM. Sounded like a bomb went off and the echo didnt help things.

Ange.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 21:09

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 21:09
Is that a nice new respray on yours Ange? haha.

No laughing matter though is it. I don't know why the banks don't just put an ink cartridge in the cash cannisters in these machines and render the notes useless if the machine is tilted more than x degrees off vertical? (sounds too easy to me).

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 180911

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:41

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:41
most ATM note cannisters will have ink bombs except perhaps the cheapies (then again, the pros probably know the ones that don't).

Nothing about tilting the machine - just try to open up the canister.

What they might be able to get at is the cash deposits ...
FollowupID: 437219

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 07:47

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 07:47
QUOTE: Over 90% have involved GQ patrols, why ? well to the best of my knowledge they are so damn strong that the robbers know that the GQ will do what they want it to if not first time, then second ram will see the ATM free of its locking points.

It couldn't be anything to do with them being an easier vehicle to steal?
FollowupID: 437249

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 13:59

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 13:59
trevor,
Why would they bother doing that. Dont forget mate...all the bank fees they are hitting us with is to help recover stolen money. So in the long run, we (the members) are paying for the theft.

Ange.
FollowupID: 437295

Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 21:22

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 21:22
Don't think anyone would doubt that the GQ is not tough!!, But from what I've read a bobcat & flat top Isuzu is a better proposition!. Ha Ha.

Axle.
AnswerID: 180917

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:00

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:00
Thats right Alex....give them ideas mate....lol !!!
FollowupID: 437296

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:29

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:29
Criminals follow fashions and fads and I can see the Patrol for ram raids becoming one of these . I can remember when no self respecting bank robber would speed away in anything except a white Valiant Charger .
AnswerID: 180941

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:54

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:54
Used to be WRX wagons for ramraids into shops - load the rear of the wagon up, and the AWD apparently helped getting around on slippery floors covered in broken glass!
FollowupID: 437223

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 23:13

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 23:13
Hey do you think it could be that Patrol owners need to do ram raids to get the money to keep their cars on the road? ROTFL
AnswerID: 180953

Reply By: avidexplorer - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 07:38

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 07:38
My shorty MQ was stolen by seemingly the same mob late last year. It seems their mode of operation was a 4WD to ram the ATM out of the ground and a van to load it in. My was used in the ram-raid at Kellyville Plaza apparently...

Funny thing was the MQ had a rooted alternator and starter, so it would have been a bugger to get started. They also passed over the 75 Series Troopy that was parked in front of it! (The Troopy had an ARB steel bar whereas the MQ only had the alloy stock job). When I got it back from the coppers, it had more fuel in it, and driving it home it ran better (!), probably needed a good thrashing!

It ended up being written off due to front and right hand side damage, I got my check and walked away, only to buy another shorty MQ a few months later. Out of the frying pan and into the fire eh?
AnswerID: 180970

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:39

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:39
Hey Angelo, maybe you should use your GQ for what it was intended for, OFFROAD, instead of worrying about it getting stolen for ram raids!!!!!

Come on mate come out with us again, you know you want too, or you scared my Landy will show you up ;-))

AnswerID: 180989

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:06

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:06
Hey baz, how you doin mate. Heard your moving house this weekend ay.....hope all goes well for ya.

As for using it offroad mate, well, ya know i love getting it dirty but it takes time to recover from a 5 year no work situation, and im slowly getting back on my feet though. But its taking longer than i thought. Good news though, I may be going to sunny corney with kitty and others this weekend if the trip is still on. Spoke to kitty last night and seems they still not sure weather its an over nighter of just a day trip, but looking good at the moment though.

Let me know when you find the dvd of that great trip we did, ill pop round and pick it up when ya settle into ur new home. Say hi to everyone mate
Ange.
FollowupID: 437299

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:39

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:39
G,day Ange,

See if you can make it for the Belangalo overnighter, be good to catch up.
FollowupID: 437303

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:21

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:21
G'day Paul,
Nice to hear from you mate. Who's organising it and when is it happening? If you can, send me the details please Paul. If I can muster up some spare cash, I'll be there.

Is that dandruff on the ground surrounding ur rig man? Sure as hell its not snow.
FollowupID: 437413

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:53

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:53
Its snow, from leaving Bendethra on the 1st get together, you were there to.
FollowupID: 437432

Reply By: Lyds- Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 12:04

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 12:04
Hey, you don't need a GQ to empty out an ATM. My Wife does it with a card! :-)
AnswerID: 181203