Power Sources

Submitted: Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 16:51
ThreadID: 35423 Views:3709 Replies:17 FollowUps:70
Hi everyone, I have just purchased a 4wd drive camping trailer, it is wired for 12 volt and has a battery box ready for action.

What is the best way to power/charge my additional batteries?

Someone has told me to buy a battery booster rather then wire up from the underhood battery to the rear of the car,

Any help would be appreciated.

Reply By: mrturtle - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:01

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:01
It all depends on what you want. I have run large cable from the auxillery battery in my LC100 to the rear to an Anderson plug and then down the camper trailer to power up the battery and charge it whilst I am traveling. Works fantastically if you ask me.

Warm Regards
Turtle
AnswerID: 181251

Follow Up By: Cram - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:04

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:04
Thanks for that....just let me try and get it clear in my head as this is all new to me.

If I run cable from my car battery to the rear tow bar and then attach an Anderson Plug to connect to the cabiling I already have on the trailer that should charge my auxcillary batteries whilst I am travelling?
FollowupID: 437583

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:38

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:38
mtturtle, do you also have some sort of controller/switching and fuse in that line some where?

Or do you just have the cable and keep the andersen plug live all of the time?
And without a fuse in the line?

Silly questions I know, but for a beginner could be a pitfall.
FollowupID: 437586

Reply By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:03

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:03
Hi mate, never mind all those expensive dual battery systems, just head down to your closest super cheap auto and get yourself their battery isolator kit, about $95 bucks and you can do it yourself, all it is a voltage sensitive relay that charges your back battery off the front batt until the front batt gets down to 12V... Very easily installed and very cheap... just hook upto one of the spare pins on your trailer plug :) Isolator is good for 200A DV12V

Justin
AnswerID: 181252

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:34

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:34
What's the trailer plug rated to?
What's the cabling rated to?
What's the volt drop ?
etc etc

Not necessarily the best choice, especially for someone with no experience in auto electrics ;-)

FollowupID: 437585

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:39

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:39

im a sparky so i guess it all seems pretty easy...
umm typical trailer plug would be rated to about 50a prob same for cables..
v drop would be minimal, maybe bout .5v or something

very easy to do though... all comes with instructions

or you can give me a call and ill help you out, just ask and ill email it to you

Justin
FollowupID: 437587

Follow Up By: Cram - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:40

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:40
Thanks Andrew so what is your suggestion?
FollowupID: 437588

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:49

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:49
cipher ,could you please tell us where you work so I can make sure never to go there for any electrical work , typical trailer plug 50amp and cables the same ,voltage drop .5v maybe or something ,,,plug into spare pin ect ect ,,you sure know your stuff !! [all]
FollowupID: 437592

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:56

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:56
Mate how dare you accuse me of not knowing my stuff, if he had of given me details on how long his car was, exactly what type of plug his trailer he uses since there are a couple and since every car company uses different size wire its hard to give an exact rating..

You disrespectful so and so, here i am trying to help someone out and there is always someone who has to be a complete arsewhole about things and ruin it, isnt there.. Mate i worked long and hard for this ticket so dont you dare accuse me of not earning it.

Anyways as i was saying before someone had a crack andrew im more than willing to help you out with more details just give us a bell or whatever.
FollowupID: 437596

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:06

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:06
Cram, i don't know the answer.....i just know that it always seems like a can of worms when talking about anything 12v :-)

cipher, i would be surprised if normal trailer wiring could take 50A from something that looks less than 2.5mm2, even at 12vdc........let alone voltdrop issues! I don't know the answer, just that i was an electrician 10 years ago and i vaguely remembering 16A coming to mind (could be wrong without looking at AS). Things don't add up as most people use anderson plugs which are rated for 50A and they are much larger than trailer plugs.

I don't know anything about the supercheap kits...they may be ok, however i would be cautious in any case.....not that i'm saying your wrong, just sceptical of some products :-)

FollowupID: 437599

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:10

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:10
Yeah no worries Andy,
Yeah look i was just giving round figures, i looked up a standard 7pin trailer plug and they are rated at 30amps per pin...

i myself instslled a super cheap auto battery isolator and have never looked back...

Cram, have you investigated possible cable routes/runs through your car? Do you know how to pass through the firewall?
FollowupID: 437601

Follow Up By: Cram - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:14

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:14
I have a brandnew Suzuki Grand Vitara and I have no experience in these type of things. I was going to get my Step Father who is fairly handy with these things and was an electrical engineer in the mining industry.

I was just after some ideas of the types of options that are available.

As I said I have made some inquiries with 4wd shops and they suggested something similiar to you cipher, and quoted me $600.

I just wanted to get some info so I know I am not getting swindled.

Thanks for your help I appreciate it.
FollowupID: 437603

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:14

Andy,

Just a thought, if you were to put an anderson plug at the back of your car with a hard active there, how would it be for when it gets wet?

Perhaps there is a plug that can have a rating of IP66?

Justin
FollowupID: 437605

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:16

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:16
WOW 600 bucks... *whistles*

Where abouts are you from? Melbourne?
FollowupID: 437606

Follow Up By: Cram - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:19

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:19
I am from Newcastle NSW
FollowupID: 437607

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:20

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:20
I don't know how the other types of isolators work etc, however mine has a manual override, which means i turn it off when not in use for most of the year :-(

The anderson plugs have the ability to accept a rubber boot that goes over it to protect the plug from water/dust ingress.

I'm sorry i can't help you more......i would suggest talking to someone more experienced face to face and milk them of their knowledge ;-)

FollowupID: 437608

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:07

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:07
cipher ,go back to whatever school you escaped from for the holidays, I never said being a "sparkie " was a bad job ,just that YOU know jack about what you claim to be , as for wages ,dont make me laugh , ,, and direct from the spec sheet of the super cheap isolator [the only one they have ever sold any where in Australia] 100amp ,
FollowupID: 437622

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:33

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:33
mate you clearly have no idea... lol..

For starters if i was still in school why would i be driving a car and secondly, i believe i do make more than you mate, it was in the herald sun not long ago, most sparkies make more than doctors mate ;-) not to mention all our benifits of our eba which are locked in until 08 thanks to out great fighters the ETU.

So why dont you just shutup, seriously.. You have turned this thread into something it was never suppose to be..

If anything mate i should be telling you to go back to school, since your the one that is being immature about this whole thing.
FollowupID: 437647

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:32

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:32
cipher ,we know from your previous posts you are a 20yr old apprentice ,just admit you know jack about 12v ,as for the rest of your last comment the same applies ,you know jack ,
FollowupID: 437659

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:43

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:43
Ok... A Couple of things.

1. The supercheap isolators:

I havn't used one, but the look to be a decent product, I'd probally go that way or an Arrid or similar. There are plenty of simple Dual battery isolators on the market that would work just fine in this practice.

2. Voltage drop:

0.5v ! That's a hell of a lot IMHO. That means you're battery on a older model vehicle would never get a charge rate any higher than 13.3v. Not enough IMHO to give any breed of battery a decent charge.
Resolution: Wire some decent cable (I would recommend at LEAST 8g, which is the stuff they use for car stereo amps from the front of the car to the rear).

3. Connector:
Yes, I would recommend fitting a decent trailer plug. Anderson's seem to be popular with campers. This will give you a better rating/less voltage drop and will lower the risk of the plug falling out off road or on the highway (which can happen with the standard type plugs). The other thing that may happen using a standard tailer plug in extreme cases is that you melt the plug by running to higher amps through it for too longer peiod. ie Batter very flat will draw massive amount of amps through plug for some time while it charges (depending on battery size). 30amp rating may be enough, however that is a peak rating, not designed to be run for any length of time with that kind of load.
If you are going to the effort of chanign the plugs on the car and trailer, I'd probally run some 8g from the trailer plug to the camper's battery at the same time, then you know you have a great connection all the way from battery to battery.

4. Battery type - DUCK - This will start a bleep fight:
There are many, many, many different types of batteries to choose from out there. AGM are probally the best type for campers IMHO if you have a simple setup. A Lead acid Deep Cycle battery would probally be the second choice (a lot cheaper than AGM).
Reasons: Without an Arrid Twincharge setup (expensive) you will not have enough voltage by the time you get to the trailer to correctly charge a Calcium-Calcium battery which is the other type of Deep cycle commonly used today.

So in short you should idealy IMHO:

Run 8g cable from the car battery through an isolator (supercheap or otherwise) then down to a new anderson plug, through the plug into the trailer and down some 8g cable to your new AGM or lead Acid Deep Cycle battery.

Why do I think this? That's what I'd do.

What authority to I have to suggest this?

No I'm not a rocket scientest, no I'm not an electrical engineer, no I'm not an auto sparky.

I have done a lot of 12v solar setups for a previous job in hidden surveillance.
I have setup my car 567943456 times because I was not happy with the performance, and belive that I now have a great setup from my personal experience with it out bush. I run three batteries in the surf (no trailer), however I do have one of my batteries at the rear of the vehicle.

So let everyone squable and fight and abuse each other (and me probally) but that's what I reckon.
FollowupID: 437679

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:47

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:47
Oh I forgot one very important thing!! Fuse/Circut breaker. You can buy 50, 70 and 100amp circut breaker. They would be the best option. Put one near each battery and run the 8g cable through that (they have two bolt type terminals to make this easy). I run to 70amp's, one under the bonnet comming off the second aux battery and one in the storage box near the 3rd aux battery. This mean that if for any reason there is a short circut or overload one or both of the circut breakers will trip (just like in your house meter box) and both the batteries will be seperated to stop damage to equipment, batteries and the obvious fire risk. It's a simple matter with circut breakers to isolate the problem and just flick them back to the on position. Handy when out bush rather than having to carry spare fuses for them etc.
FollowupID: 437680

Follow Up By: cipher - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 14:32

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 14:32
Alloy im not going to get into another arguement with you, i think we have upset enough people, just leave things how they are...

Im not sure if you meant for your initial comment to be derogative, but it was mate, thats why i fired up. I appologise.

FYI i am not an apprentice anymore, i am actually an A grade sparky. However i will admit not to knowing all there is about DC, yes, but i do have knowledge about DC.

Well as i said before im sorry if i took your comment the wrong way but i did take offence to it and i appologise if i did take it the wrong way.

Peace?
FollowupID: 437694

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 15:40

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 15:40
Cipher

In FolowUp7 you say “i looked up a standard 7pin trailer plug and they are rated at 30amps per pin.” What do you call the standard round 7 pin – the large one like the Victorians like or the small one that the NS Welshmen like? The large ones have a 30-35A rating – the small ones 5-7A

FollowupID: 437700

Follow Up By: cipher - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 22:04

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 22:04
I was talking about the Larger, older ones mate.

Atleast someone agrees with me that they are rated around 30 amps.. Arr well..

Thanks disco
FollowupID: 437744

Reply By: Cram - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:02

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:02
Good to see that a number of you have been able to post an answer or suggestion to my question. Its just ashame that half of them are aimed at ripping someones post apart. A simple be careful doing this stuff yourself would have been sufficient or even some suggestion on how to do it.

AnswerID: 181269

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:13

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:13
Cram if i seemed as though i was ripping up someone elses idea, i appologise, i didnt mean too..

Just out of curiosity what sort of what do you have?
FollowupID: 437602

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:14

Always a problem when talking auto electrics, it seems.

Someone did post a suggestion, someone thought that was incorrect information given, so-on, so-on. Unfortunately you will not get one correct answer to your question....too open-ended :-)

Hope you find what you are looking for, and get outdoors to enjoy your new acquisition :-)

FollowupID: 437604

Follow Up By: Cram - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:22

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:22
Thanks Andrew, I appreciate your honesty. I sort of understand what I need to do and as I said, I just dont want to get ripped off. Of course I also need to be careful because I dont want to void my new car warranty.
FollowupID: 437612

Reply By: Cram - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:17

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:17
Cipher, NO that post was meant in support of you..."ripping" was meant to say that they were basically getting stuck into your post....I appreciate your suggestions and help. As I said I have no experience and am not going to get out the front tomorrow and start wiring up....lol

Thanks mate :)
AnswerID: 181272

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:20

oh ok, hehe

Thanks cram..

If you live in melbourne and need a hand with it or what someone to do it, ill do it for you if you want..?
FollowupID: 437609

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:20

oh ok, lol no where near melbourne..

FollowupID: 437611

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:25

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:25
Cram ,type in dual battery into the search function ,also try batteries /charging /wire size /voltage drop , ect ect . allow youself a few days reading and then you will be able to see what you need and dont need ,,
AnswerID: 181273

Follow Up By: Cram - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:37

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:37
Thanks Alloy, I have read some good articles on this site and others and have some idea what I need or dont need.

I am wondering what battery boosters are?? Someone today told me that is all I need but what I have read about them doesnt really seem to be what I am after.
FollowupID: 437617

Follow Up By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:53

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 18:53
cram, i believe a battery booster is like a battery bank..

Its basically i think a battery pack like an 18AH SLA battery 12V, in a plastic casing with maybe some capacitors in them and usually a 12 Cig socket on them and some jumper cables.. Typically used for jump starting a car, handy to have!

I think that is what is meant by the term battery booster, could be wrong, anyone else know of anything different?

Justin
FollowupID: 437621

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:54

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:54
My unedumacated guess is that they are talking about devices like the Arrid Twin Charge. Keep searching through the forum to find some more info.

FollowupID: 437626

Follow Up By: GeoffMc - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:21

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:21
Cram, let me begin by saying that I’ve never ”taken a shot at anyone” one this site, but this one just really got to me. It seems that you are genuine in your quest for knowledge which makes “cipher’s” replies even more disturbing. His suggestions to you couldn’t be further from the fact if he had planned it that way (and I’m not sure that he hasn’t).

To refute some of his “suggestions” …..
“typical trailer plug would be rated to about 50a prob same for cables” …. ABSOLUTE rubbish. the rating on most 7 pin plugs is 15 amps.

“v drop would be minimal, maybe bout .5v or something “ ….. as a first year apprentice we were taught that 0.2 VDC was the MAXIMUM voltage drop allowable.

“if you were to put an anderson plug at the back of your car with a hard active there, how would it be for when it gets wet” …… we’re talking DC voltage here …. not AC. Who cares if it gets wet?

battery booster is like a battery bank.. Its basically i think a battery pack like an 18AH SLA battery 12V, in a plastic casing with maybe some capacitors in them and usually a 12 Cig socket on them and some jumper cables.. Typically used for jump starting a car, handy to have” ….. again, any first year apprentice would know EXACTLY what this is. Go to the ARRID Twin Charge link that Andrew (Qld) post for further information.

The rest of his responses were just as bad, so if you want some sound advice, PLEASE do some more research on the web by yourself or find a reputable auto electrician to give you some sound advice.

And if it seems as though I’m “getting stuck into Cipher” …. then I am, but I’d rather be accused of that than letting you be completely ripped off.

PS: If “im a sparky so i guess it all seems pretty easy” means you’re an AC guy, then may I suggest that you (Cipher) stick to that phase of your trade and leave the rest to the Auto Electricians.

Geoff M (Qld)
FollowupID: 437630

Reply By: STEVE069 - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:26

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:26
Hi Cram, Very interesting reading lol. I have a 2002 Prado I ran 6mm twin core in condute down the inside of the LH chassis rail to a HD 2 pin plug on the bumper, then on to the battery on the trailer. Just make sure you fuse it at the car battery and on the trailer befor the battery.( I used 30a at both ends) I have no problems with this set up sofar, hope this helps.

AnswerID: 181279

Reply By: mrturtle - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:57

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 19:57
Here is what I have done to fix my problem. It is available for anyone to rip apart... I don't care. It works for me.
I used 35mm2 cable, black and red. Run the full length with a 50a circuit breaker as close to each battery as possible. An Anderson plug between the trailer and car.
The end result... no voltage drop, fully secure and safe with the battery on my trailer getting full charge whilst driving.
Hope this helps you.

Warm Regards
Turtle
AnswerID: 181283

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:04

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:04
cram,
There are a myriad of ways of doing this job.

At the simplest level you can parallel the battery in your car with the battery in your camper.
Down side of this one is you must remember to disconnect the camper from the car when stationary. If you don't disconnect you risk having a dead flat starter battery in the car. Also, vehicle alternators aren’t designed to fully charge storage batteries.

From there you can move onto simple relay or solenoid or switch based isolators. These work by installing a manually operated connection between the two batteries. When the engine is running you parallel the camper and the car. When the engine is off you break the connection.
Down side, same as above.

Next step up the tree is an automatic voltage sensing type of device. These devices sense the voltage of the vehicle starting battery. Once the starting battery reaches a preset voltage or state of charge they connect the trailer battery into the circuit. The system then starts to charge the camper battery.
Down side, Vehicle alternators aren’t designed to fully charge storage batteries.

Beyond these you’re getting into the realm of smart charging systems with 3 or 4 stage charge algorithms. These systems offer true 100% charge of your auxiliary batteries and also perform some smart battery maintenance. These are a whole topic unto themselves!

A final thing to note is,
Because the camper battery and car battery are so far apart in 12 Volt terms the cables and connectors need to be as large as possible to minimise voltage drop.
The only plug brand worth looking at for this project are Anderson Plugs and anything smaller than 100 Amps is at best useless. Why do I say that? These larger plugs are the only ones that will accept a cable size that minimises your voltage drop at the camper battery and therefore maximises your charge.
My favourite cable for these applications is Double Insulated Welding Cable of a minimum 25mmsq. Note: Cable should always be measured by the conductor area or diameter of the conductor, never the overall diameter of the cable including insulation.

Note: The trailer lighting plug is totally unsuitable for this project.

Hope this helps,

Geoff.

AnswerID: 181286

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:24

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:24
Nice one , but will digress ,100amp anderson seems a bit of overkill and that "vehicle altenators arnt designed to fully charge storage batteries ' funny that my 6 yes 6 Fullriver AGM HGL 80 amp batteries ,[ 3 under bonnet and 3 in camper trailer ] are Fully charged by the altenator ,then each to his own , batts in c/t are charged thru 50amp anderson and 8mm sq twin core copper tinned in parra from the 2nd under bonnet aux which is in parra from no1 aux which is isolated through a redarc copy , nil voltage drop anywhere in the system ,as I say each to their own.
FollowupID: 437631

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:53

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:53
" but will digress "
Of course,
NB, I mentioned my preferred cable of 25mmsq Double Insulated Welding Cable. It will not fit into a 50 Amp Anderson Plug.

"then each to his own "
Yep, never disputed that idea.

Alloy, if it works for you, go for it.
The man asked a question and oddly enough I put quite a deal of time into my answer. Probably noteable from its length v's the brevity and vitriole of others.
I was also very careful to only speak from MY experience and not deride others ideas.

As to alternators not fully charging batteries, well again as you say, each to their own. Sufficient to say, check the charging voltage of your batteries and the output voltage of your alternator at full output. Then check the alternator output voltage again when you believe your batteries are charged.
It would surprise me greatly if these numbers matched.
Vehicle manufacturers follow the old army adage, "when you're up to your arse in trouble, remember, all your equipment was supplied by the lowest tender"

Geoff.

FollowupID: 437636

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 22:03

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 22:03
Geoff ,never mind the old army adage about the lowest tender , AGM batteries will and do fully charge from a "standard " alternator ,will thoroughly agree that no hope of fully charging a "wet cell" however ,,thats the whole point in using the AGM HGL being a hybrid they have all the advantages of easy recharge as a starter and the longevity of a deep cycle.
FollowupID: 437644

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:25

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:25
Geoff, I have a question.....

to quote your earlier follow up
"if you were to put an anderson plug at the back of your car with a hard active there, how would it be for when it gets wet” …… we’re talking DC voltage here …. not AC. Who cares if it gets wet? "

I have often wondered why it doesn't matter if it gets wet.... I know why it matters if AC gets wet ..... (I hold a restricted electrical license in all things 240V)

But am curious as to the technical reasons about DC and water.....

FollowupID: 437658

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:40

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:40
If you have two wet terminals with AC on them you will get minimal corrosion because there is no net current flow from one terminal to the other. If you have a contact-type water level sensor you always use AC across to ensure there will be no corrosion of the electrodes.

If you have DC you will have more corrosion, depending on the materials the terminals are made of.

Anderson Style connectors are silver, but you have exposed copper in the wire. If the connectors are crimped then there will be lots of little crevices which will fill with water and stay wet long after the immersion. This could eventually cause the cable to break.

FollowupID: 437662

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:42

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:42
Hi Brian,
Different Geoff.
The one your question should be directed to is "GeoffMc"

I'll have a crack at the other Geoff's intent though. If he doesn't agree then he can set the record straight.
For me at least 12 Volt really doesn't have enough EMF to track across the plug in fresh water even with total immersion.
Total immersion in brine or salt water would be an entirely different thing. I'd imagine if you where immersed in salt water to that depth a tracking Anderson plug would be the least of your problems!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 437663

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:46

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 08:46
Ahhhh... Trust me to get it wrong!!!! LOL......

Thanks for the responses guys, I get the drift!

FollowupID: 437664

Follow Up By: GeoffMc - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 14:29

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 14:29
To Geoff (Newcastle) ..... spot on mate. Couldn't have said it any better myself.

Geoff Mc (Qld)
FollowupID: 437693

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:26

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:26
Cram

Here's my suggestion.

Battery - put in an AGM battery, costs a bit more but it will last longer and charge quicker without needing a $300 voltage booster. Commonly used brands that don't cost a fortune are Fullriver and Remco.

Wiring - nothing less than 4 Gauge - this means that the Copper diameter is at least 6mm and outer diameter of 10mm.
Site Link

Connector - if you use an Anderson SB50 there is a good chance that if you ever need to exchange power with another camper, you will have the same Connector - this is becoming the standard. BUT it is not weather proof and even though the contacts are silver you will still have corrosion if it is wet with 12 volts on it. The contact surface will not work well for long if they are covered in dirt. Ensure that it is sealed with Neutral-cure silicon around the cable entry and mounting screws and it has a Rubber Plug when not in use.
Site Link

Fuse - you must have a Fuse or Circuit Breaker (less than 70 amps) in the Plus wire at BOTH the engine compartment and the Trailer Battery.
Site Link

Battery Isolator - dozens to choose from.

If you don't want to do this yourself, tell an AutoElectrician EXACTLY what you want, rather than giving him a blank cheque.

AnswerID: 181290

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:59

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:59
>Anderson SB50 there is a good chance that if you ever need to exchange
>power with another camper, you will have the same Connector - this is
>becoming the standard.

Only on this forum.

FollowupID: 437637

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 21:22

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 21:22
What....there's other forums ;-)

I've even wired up my air compressor with a SB50 (using 2 as a connector) so i can just plug it in without lifting the bonnet :-)

FollowupID: 437640

Reply By: Boo - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:46

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:46
Evening Cram...
Started to read your thread and figured it would be an "interesting one" so to speak...
Have NO intension of getting into a debate over who said what or who's right or wrong , but happy to tell what I did in the same situation...

First off, I too am qualified in the electrical industry although when it comes to this particular topic I did several months reading and research on the subject before deciding on my own path...

Firstly I installed a Redarc isolator under the bonnet of my patrol between the auxilary battery and the main cranking battery, from the auxilary battery I run all my extras within the vehicle such as 2 fridge points in the back and the uhf radio etc. At the rear of the vehicle I mounted a 150amp Anderson plug on the bumper in a protected area and ran double insulated 200amp cable directly to the auxilary battery. Note.. ALL wiring between batteries and to the back bumper are 200 amp cable. On the battery end I have an automatic 50amp circuit breaker for protection purposes. On the camper I ran the same cable from the Anderson plug that connects to the back of the car to the 2 deep cycle AGM 120amphr batteries I installed in the battery box (also with the 50amp circuit breakers for protection). From that point I dropped the cable size down (not sure what size) into a fusable link type setup to protect individual circuits I ran throughout the camper for various lighting freezer etc.

Reasons.... The voltage drop in small wires will prevent the camper from getting the maximum possible charge thus the reason for the 200amp cable to ensure no voltage drop, as for the 150 amp Anderson plug between the car and the camper... also to minimise the voltage drop also as mentioned earlier , the large cable simply wont fit into the smaller plugs and the larger plugs are very robust .

From the large cable I ran through the car I tapped into it at the rear corner panel and wired in 2 50amp Anderson plugs (1 on each side of the vehicle, and also protected with a seperate fuse) and from these I run my 2 fridges and 12v oven etc, all with the 50amp Anderson plugs. I also put one on my 12v compressor so it can run from my rear points also...

Something to consider with your camper batteries is, recharge time and how low they can be discharged before you start to damage them. Different brands/types of batteries have different characteristics. I went with the 120amphr Fullriver deepcycle batteries as they accept a very fast charge rate thus maximising the recharge durring travel and they can be discharged slightly lower than a lot of other brands, and then the price which was pretty good at the time for what we got (about $260 each).

Happy to supply more details or pictures if that can help (just drop me a line)

Some will say its over board some of my specks... not realy interested in the debate... this is simply what I did to ensure my system works the way I wanted it too while also allowing expansion on the elctrical side if ever wanted..

Hope that helps...
Boo

AnswerID: 181317

Follow Up By: Boo - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:03

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 00:03
Just another quick point I left out... In regards to trying to charge your camper batteries through the existing trailer plug and wiring. While you will be able to charge them unless the cable is of a substantual size, you will get voltage drop which will prevent you from getting a full charge to the batteries and it will also increase the amount of driving time required to get the charge. Be aware that a 1/2 voltage drop is a significant amount of your usable voltage at your batteries which may effect how long you can camp in one spot and how long you need to be travelling to recharge them .
Can email you a chart if interested on battery charge voltages showing the voltage compared to the % charged/discharged.

Boo
FollowupID: 437648

Reply By: cipher - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:47

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:47
GeoffMc Cut me real deep mate, cut me real deep.

Disapointed, i never meant to offend anyone in this post, if i have a sincerly appologise. I did not mean to inflict my point of view to anyone rather share what i have done.

As for the comment about Sparkies sticking to AC, Not sure if you are aware but DC is also a major part of the whole kit and kaboodole.

Regardless of that, instead of saying my ideas were virtually 'crap' why not just say wouldnt this be a better way of doing it, instead of just purely insulting me.

As i said above i do appologise for losing my temper before, but alloy was really getting on my nerves as i was only trying to help and he kept getting stuck into me.

Justin

AnswerID: 181318

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:13

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:13
Cram,

I make no claim to knowing what I am doing with auto electrics ( my efforts usually end with a puff of smoke, a frying smell and a call for professional help). I have 210 Ah worth of batteries in the CT and I use the trailer plug (30A rating) with 8mm cable either side from a Redarc controller. Works well for my setup and you only need to have one plug on the back of the car Still, most advice suggests that there is no such thing as cable or sockets which are too heavy, so hefty cable and Anderson plugs seem to be the go.

I skipped most of the pathetic abuse in this thread, but no one seems to have suggested a 240v charger in addition to your car setup. A good three stage charger will give you battery power when 240v is available and help you to maintain your batteries when at home. I believe, and I could be shot down here, that a multi stage charger will do a better job of charging your batteries than simply relying on the alternator.

Anyhow, I am off to measure the voltage drop in my current setup as I am interested to see what I am losing by using the trailer plug.

AnswerID: 181330

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:39

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:39
Auto electrical component specifications (to the general public) are often a load of rubbish and should always be treated with caution.

It is normal to specify the current rating of a connector (technical term for a plug or socket etc) as it's making and breaking current because this is the worst condition for the connector to operate under. If you insert or remove the plug with a (significant) load applied then arcing between the male/female connectors will occur and with DC current will burn the pins much more than AC - which is why switches are always specified for a lighter DC load than AC. Sometimes connectors are rated for a maximum number of insertions for their spec. to be maintained. So if your trailer plug is rated for 30A it's current carrying capability outside connection situations may well be significantly more before it becomes hot enough to cause other issues. Additionally keep in mind that the voltage drop is related to the length of the conductor so a connector pin which has an overall length of. perhaps, 15mm will not produce a significant voltage drop at normal current levels – providing it’s a good quality close fitting connector.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 437666

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:10

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:10
Mike,

So, notwithstanding the connection/de-connection issue, my setup is probably fine? Noting that I use fairly heavy wire in the car and trailer and provided that the connection is a good positive one. I opted not to go for an Anderson plug thinking that, as you suggested, the voltage drop would not be significant with a big (35mm) 7 pin plug.

Thanks for the confirming salvo,

FollowupID: 437672

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:33

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:33
I would think so. Just avoid connection / disconnection under load (as should all users of high current DC, irrespective of the plug type) and check the plug from time-to-time to ensure it's not getting warm.

Given that screws loosen and connectors wear and burn over time the hand temperature test is well worth doing on all areas of the installation occasionally.

FollowupID: 437678

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 12:05

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 12:05
Cheers Mike.
FollowupID: 437684

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:15

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:15
Here are the manufacturers ratings for the Anderson SB50

Contact/Disconnect - 250 hot plug cycles at 120 V - 50 amp

50 amps continuous with 6 AWG - 22 deg temp rise.

65 amps continuous with 6 AWG - 40 deg temp rise.

130 amps for 8 second pulse with 6 AWG

260 amps for 0.5 second pulse with 6 AWG

FollowupID: 437702

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 17:27

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 17:27
DC, I assume? F or C temp?

I suspect they are being conservative with the make/break current. Also a temp rise of 22 (especially C!) seems pretty damn high to me for a 50A connector running at rated value.

FollowupID: 437713

Reply By: Ray Bates - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:54

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 09:54
My System may sound crude but I am using 4 ASWG from my main battery to a 175amp Anderson plug and 4ASWG to my auxillery battery on my caravan. There is an ignition operated soliniod rated at 100amps in the engine bay and an 80amp fuse int the engine bay and another near the auxillery battery.
The cable was purchased from Jaycar and the soliniod and fuses were purchased from a local auto electrician. The whole set up (DIY) cost me approximately $100.00. It all works very well. When not being used the caravan battery is kept fully charged by a small solar panel I baught from Supercheap.
This system has been in service now for about three years and give no trouble.
I don't know where some of these installations come up with very high prices using fancy gismos.
My only regret is that I did not use an AGM battery instead of a wet cell DSB
AnswerID: 181337

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 10:04

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 10:04
Your use of an ignition activated relay is a perfectly acceptable and very cost effective way to carry out dual battery charging. You could put a manual switch in the relay coil circuit too if you choose such that charging of the second battery won’t start until you judge the main battery has been topped up.

Does this bloody stupid cable size scheme which is used in auto electrics refer to the American Wire Gauge or is it some other wondrous system? Why they can't use cross sectional area like everybody else is beyond me!

FollowupID: 437669

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:04

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:04
Mike,

"Does this bloody stupid cable size scheme which is used in auto electrics refer to the American Wire Gauge or is it some other wondrous system? Why they can't use cross sectional area like everybody else is beyond me!"

Couldn't agree more. Generally this gauge caper is American Wire Gauge. Occasionally you'll see B&S Gauge which is actually Brown & Sharp Gauge, the precursor to AWG.
Cross sectional area of the conductor in mm squared is the way to go.

This notion of using diameter including the insulation along with a blanket arbitrary labelling of a cables current carrying capacity is a fire waiting for a venue.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 437671

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 18:34

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 18:34
Australian Standard Wire Gauge is exactly the same as British Standard Wire Gauge but the exact opposite to the American Standard Wire gauge. In the former the higher the number the thinner the wire but in the American standard the higher the number the thicker the wire. I am using ASWG (BSWG) No. 4 which is about 18mm2.
Where all these wires come from that measure the OD of the insulation I do not know. Dam stupid to me
FollowupID: 437719

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:05

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:05
Unique to the world of Automotive cable, it is specified by the outside diameter of the insulation - a 6mm automotive wire will fit through a 6mm hole - it doesn't give you any other useful info about the wire.

AWG (American Wire Gauge) and B&S (Browne and Sharpe) are the same.

AnswerID: 181340

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:26

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 11:26
Thanks Geoff and Mike.

A crazy system. As you guys, no doubt know, calculating the current carrying capability of a wire is not a trivial thing and, amongst many other issues, depends on whether the wire is bundled with other wires thus causing it's temperature to rise.

Anyway here is a table (of sorts) which may help people figure out the wire gauge they need - if in doubt always buy the larger size and check the wire temperature after it has been running at full load for 20 minutes or so - it should be virtually no warmer than the ambient temperature - if it is get an auto elec. to have a look at it for you - it's embarrassing when your vehicle catches fire in the middle of nowhere.

Site Link

FollowupID: 437675

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 14:46

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 14:46
Thanks Mike,
That's a handy ready reckoner. Gets you in the ball park.
It appears to take into account voltage drop by using circuit length.
All that's left is ambient de-rating.

Yes, fire is embarassing. Funny thing, reams of information is written about spinifex and under vehicle fires. Nobody ever mentions Pitt St fires from poor vehicle electrical installations!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 437695

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:42

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:42
Yeh, good Mike, but where does it equate to mm² for the usual descriptor like 8mm for the back of the vehicle to a fridge or trailer?

What size wire would you put through to a camper trailer or van?
FollowupID: 437706

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:58

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:58

See REPLY 9 above for a practical answer - 4 Ga is about 0.001 ohms per metre and 21mmsq and rated at 110 amps max.

FollowupID: 437710

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 19:58

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 19:58
Ah, but Mike, all this calculation.............. I think the heavy cable I used between the two secondaries to be able to pull back for the winch should be good. The one to a camper of course should be pretty good too. Think Nick used what I did for the tweeny for the secondaries. Never get deep cycles charged unless you do. 8mm should nearly be enough with Anderson plugs.
FollowupID: 437727

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 11:01

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 11:01
Mike H

"Anyway here is a table (of sorts) which may help people figure out the wire gauge they need "

This table is based on accepting a voltage drop of 10%, which is what car manufacturers accept to keep cost and weight down. The Rear Power Socket in a Pajero (Gen II and III) is labelled 10 Amps - but you get a 15% voltage drop.

For Fridges and battery-charging, most people seem to design for a 3% voltage drop, so they should keep that in mind when using this table.

FollowupID: 437770

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 17:35

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 17:35
We're talking connecting batteries here aren't we so why muck around with tables, just use 35mm² welding cable. It was a no brainer for me. So much energy in this thread over something so simple.

FollowupID: 437787

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 17:52

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 17:52
Easy for you to say - but what type and colour of welding cable - the photon emission effect of the orange cables has a significant effect on current handling capabilities - during the period of sunset (when orange light is prevalent) such cable may be reduced in it's ability by as much as 33%! This whole cable thing is not as simple as people make out....

PS. I need to talk to you about APRS, Winlink etc etc before I go totally insane - some would say it’s too late.
FollowupID: 437792

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 18:22

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 18:22
Mike, it really is so simple, have you hever heard of chameleon cable...yes we can have all bases covered :)

APRS I can help you with, the tones can be produced either by software using a computer soundcard or with hardware, both methods being cheap. I use both methods, hardware on VHF and the soundcard for HF. The space station also has an APRS digipeater onboard which will help get your position through to the web.

Winlink is used for email over HF and can be used for position reports. It requires a pactor modem which is quite expensive, no soundcard programs can tx this mode as it is a licensed mode. I don't use winlink

What is it exactly you want to achieve Mike.
FollowupID: 437794

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 19:10

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 19:10
Good Mike, sounds like the colour tempreature emitted by the red cable I used should render it pretty fast. I have to follow IFRS these days or at least understand them.
FollowupID: 437801

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 19:42

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 19:42
"but what type and colour of welding cable - the photon emission effect of the orange cables has a significant effect on current handling capabilities - during the period of sunset (when orange light is prevalent) such cable may be reduced in it's ability by as much as 33%! This whole cable thing is not as simple as people make out.... "

Ahhhhh nooo, please tell me how to get out of this one!!
I just bought some orange welding cable on Saturday. If the inner layer is white does that help????

;-)

Geoff.

FollowupID: 437807

Reply By: disco1942 - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 18:28

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 18:28
Mat has given some clues to efficient battery charging in message 12. “but no one seems to have suggested a 240v charger in addition to your car setup. A good three stage charger will give you battery power when 240v is available and help you to maintain your batteries when at home. I believe, and I could be shot down here, that a multi stage charger will do a better job of charging your batteries than simply relying on the alternator.”

Three (or four) stage battery chargers produce a higher voltage out put than an alternator over the complete bulk and absorption stages of battery charge. Why? Because competent battery engineers have established that is what is required to charge a battery to 100% of its rated capacity. Deep cycle batteries are generally stored in places that are not effected by the high temperatures. Thus charging voltages can be set higher without running into overcharging problems.

There are several ideas of “a fully charged battery.” To people providing power for use when there is no charging present fully charged means 100% capacity. To an auto electrician it means sufficient to get a vehicle started in Arctic winters and sufficient to prevent sulphation.

The under bonnet temperatures of a vehicle is probably the worst situation for lead acid batteries. Batteries have a wide rang maximum voltages over which a charger can operate. A battery at a working temperature of 50-70 degrees requires around 1V less to charge it than one working at Arctic temperatures. Alternators are built to charge a battery to 100% of rated capacity over these operating ranges. They have a temperature sensor to measure the temperature of the battery. You will find these in marine installations. How many vehicle electrical systems have you seen that incorporate this sensor – if you have one then you will have to re-glue it to the side of the new battery when you change them. Because of this problem alternator output voltages are turned down so that the battery will not be overcharged under any operating condition. The result is you will thus rarely get a battery charged to over 65-70% of its rated capacity. This is OK in auto situations as a battery charged over 60% will not sulphate and batteries will produce most of their rated cranking current at much lower capacities.

To cope with the ranges of temperatures mentioned in the previous paragraph alternator voltage regulators have built in temperature compensation. We have all observed alternator outputs of over 14V when we are measuring them in the back yard with the bonnet open. How many of you have closed the bonnet and gone for a drive lasting over ½ an hour whilst keeping an eye on the volt meter. Every vehicle I have owned has had an operating temperature system voltage of 13.4 to 13.8V. This is not sufficient to charge even an AGM battery to 100% capacity.

All using extremely heavy wiring and plugs will do is to get your battery closer to an auto electricians idea of “fully charged.” If you require your battery to be charged to 100% capacity then you need a booster that will give an output (over 14V) to match the specified charging voltage. Without a booster you will probably be operating your battery over a range of 20-70% instead of 50-100% which is not being kind to it. Before trips and when in caravan parks using a well matched three stage charger will be of great benefit. A multi stage charger will definitely do a better job of charging your batteries than simply relying on the alternator.

REMEMBER – BATTERIES DON'T JUST DIE – MOST ARE KILLED.

AnswerID: 181375

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 18:50

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 18:50
I wouldn't argue with much of what you have said but I do take issue with the following:

>Every vehicle I have owned has had an operating temperature system
>voltage of 13.4 to 13.8V. This is not sufficient to charge even an AGM
>battery to 100% capacity.

The nominal fully charged cell voltage of a lead acid cell is 2.1V or 12V6 for a 6 cell battery therefore it follows that any charging source with a voltage over 12V6 (generally less) at the battery terminals and a sufficiently low impedance _will_ force current into the battery - full stop. The only other variable in the equation is time. Obviously the lower the charging voltage the lower the charge being forced into the battery but, eventually, the battery _will_ reach full charge and with a 13V6 source we are not talking weeks...?

FollowupID: 437721

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 19:10

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 19:10
A fully charged AGM battery at rest will give a volt reading of 13.78v ,furthermore the very nature of an AGM allows a wide variation in recharging voltages that the battery will "accept" ,anywhere upto 15v ,, no not a book/spec sheet/answer ,practical in use ,, I have left a campsite with my c/t mounted AGMs reading 10.98v and running fridges on the way home, after a 2.5 hr drive home park c/t ,unpack ect . 6weeks later AGMs volt reading 13.78v ,,oh no my alternator cant recharge my AGMs ,bull.
FollowupID: 437723

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 20:16

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 20:16
"Three (or four) stage battery chargers produce a higher voltage out put than an alternator over the complete bulk and absorption stages of battery charge."
- no they don't, they use the same maximum voltage. The benefit of Three stage chargers is that they will charge a battery in the minimal possible time with minimal impact on battery lifetime. If they have Pulse Charging they may put in a few extra percent.

"The result is you will thus rarely get a battery charged to over 65-70% of its rated capacity. This is OK in auto situations as a battery charged over 60% will not sulphate and batteries will produce most of their rated cranking current at much lower capacities."
- whenever a battery is at less than 100% there is lead Sulphate on the plates. A battery which is never charged above 60% capacity will not last 3 to 4 years. Use a Hydrometer and you will see how far the chemical reactions have gone.

"Every vehicle I have owned has had an operating temperature system voltage of 13.4 to 13.8V. This is not sufficient to charge even an AGM battery to 100% capacity."
- read the data sheets for AGM batteries, you will see that it is enough to charge AGMs fully.

You haven't substantiated your claims, so I won't take the time to add lnks to verify mine.

FollowupID: 437728

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 20:41

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 20:41

The magic figure for a lead acid battery is 2.2V per cell (13.4V) for a fully charged battery – You must exceed this value to induce charging. 13.8V is considered the float voltage where the charge current will exceed the self discharge current by a small amount – yes there is self discharge current even while you are charging a battery, its like a water tank with a small hole, the hole does not magically close up while the rain is falling. If you are starting with a well discharged battery (as you would with a car fridge drawing from it) the battery will draw a considerable charge current for a short while until the temperature compensation in the alternator's regulator suppresses the charge voltage when the car reaches working temperature. During this time the internal voltage of the battery will also rise and the charge current will reduce considerably. At the end of a day with 6-8 hours of towing you will have no where near a 100% charged battery. Add to that when you are commencing the next days towing without 100% in your battery your charge at the end of succeeding days will be less each time.

I am not telling you you will not get any charge into your battery. I am trying to tell you you will not get over 70% of full charge and on a few weeks of travelling you may be down to a maximum of 50-55% full charge. Get yourself a booster and increase the level of charge in your battery.

Alloy

It is impossible to have a voltage reading of 13.78V six weeks after only 2.5-3 hours charge from your alternator. My van has Fullriver a 110A/H battery charged with an 80W panel. With the van sitting idle (and no 240V power) for a couple of months the battery terminal voltage just before sun up is only 12.9V. I believe 13.78V is fairy land stuff. You are not telling the full story.

FollowupID: 437729

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 11:09

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 11:09
For Fridges and battery-charging, most people seem to design for a 3% voltage drop.

Here is a table run length in feet based on 3% drop in a 12 volt system with Amps on the left and AWG(B&S) across the top.

www.freesunpower.com/wires_cables.php

AnswerID: 181425

Reply By: madmax - Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:17

Tuesday, Jul 25, 2006 at 11:17
Hi Cram,

If you are charging batteries that are not in use a 5 or 10W solar panel and regulator will keep your battery topped up (costs less than $150.) If the batteries are in use a bigger panel and regulator can give you the charge you need.

You can determine your solar and battery needs using this calculator:

AC and DC solar calculators and battery sizers

Of i am biased towards solar .. :)

Max
Information Manager
Energy Matters - Solar and Battery Sales
www.energymatters.com.au
AnswerID: 185202