Yeti

Submitted: Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:48
ThreadID: 35497 Views:3474 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
Poor Yeti,

hope the gang didnt scare you off, unfortunately as a new player, you would be unaware of certain 'do not ask questions' that are too frequently asked.

From my observations, I have developed the following list(but are not limited to):
- Which is better, Waeco or an Engel?
- What improvement will I get from a hiclone (obvious from thread 35473)?
-What battery should I buy?
-I currently have Goodriches, but am thinking of Coopers. Are they better?
-Why is my __insert vehicle name___ not as good as a ___insert vehicle name__?
-I have brought a fitch, but it doesnt seem to improve my economy as it claims?
-Issues associated with 3.0TD GU Patrols

You get the picture. The more you use the site, you will gain an understanding of how it works and the 'unwritten rules' that govern this site (e.g. dont ask wether you should buy an engel, as clearly Waeco is the only choice!!LOL)

Sometimes the question you ask has already been asked. Take some time to use the search function, then if you cant find the anser you need, post your question. David has also included some very interesting articles in the tab features at the top of the page (trip planning, on the road etc) that answer some of those frequently asked questions. This site is constantly evolving, and is so much more than just a forum about 4wd and camping, it is a 'one stop shop' with many user features that, for myself, have helped me in my 4wd and camping endeavours, and Im sure will help you and many others to find the best way to enjoy your chosen past time.

Good luck with the site, and the best of luck with your travels and plans

See you on the rough stuff...

Mike W

Reply By: The Yeti - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:52

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:52
Thanks Mike,

I am going to Karajini and places beyond in a couple of weeks for a while so I'll kep the dumb questions to myself

Yeti
AnswerID: 181652

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:56

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 19:56
Not dumb, just not archived searched!!

Karijini is a lovely spot, some mates of mine from the WA Holden club will be up that way around the same time. Keep a look out for them and dont be shy to say g'day. A very approachable bunch. They usually use UHF 24. Enjoy your trip, and make sure you post a trip report, really cheeses off guys and gals like me stuck in the office.

Haveagooden.
FollowupID: 437940

Follow Up By: angler - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 20:14

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 20:14
theres no such thing as a dumb question, only dumb answers and you will get a few here.
It's a great forum, bit hard to follow threads at times.
More knowledge generally here than any other forum.

Pooley
FollowupID: 437943

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:44

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:44
Hey ro-dah-o, a little while back you were trying to post a link to an mpeg but it didn't work.

Any luck lately? I was kinda looking forward to watching you put the ute through it's paces.

Muzz
FollowupID: 437965

Follow Up By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:47

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:47
[URL= Site Link

give that a whirl. If the link doesnt work, copy and paste
FollowupID: 437966

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:03

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:03
Yeti, I think there was a poser question - yours this morning where everyone is just so sceptical of the product and everyone let their collective hair down with the funny responses. You can sort of get used to it, but please allow others to continue to have some fun ;-) Keep smiling
FollowupID: 437967

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:50

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:50
Yeti, don't be worried about asking a question that you might think is dumb. Not asking and letting Murphy's Law happen is a lot dummer. Besides there would be others out here thinking of the same question.
Ask away my son.
FollowupID: 437986

Follow Up By: Nick R - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:02

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 23:02
Would've been a great question for fridayzzzzzzz!!!!!
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 437992

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 20:32

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 20:32
Good advice Mike. Well done.

Can I add, "I am thinking of getting a camper trailer, which one should I get'? Perhaps the auto censor could recognise and bleep out the questions you have listed ;-)

Better than picking on oil companies I that rhyme with 'chooks' I suppose.

AnswerID: 181658

Reply By: Dizne - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:01

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:01

I just wanted to add that as a newbie to this forum (but a regular at quite a few other online forums/discussion lists etc.), I am finding it quite difficult to follow the discussions. Most lists I follow place the post that has the latest reply at the top of the forum, but here the post stays 'down' the list?! Also, most forums have sub-sections. but here all posts are pooled together?!

There's lots of room for improvement ... just my 2.0 cents - cheers,
Diz
AnswerID: 181662

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:21

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:21
Diz,

At the top of the Forum index page, select Sort by Response Time in Sort Options. That will display Posts with the latest replies at the top.

We've taled about subsections previously but it seems most .... some..... whatever....like it as is.
FollowupID: 437959

Follow Up By: Dizne - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:32

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:32
Thanks Gramps ... much appreciated tip!

Diz
FollowupID: 437961

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:33

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:33
Another classic "do not ask" question starts with: "What is the best...??", with no other information given about the items intended proposed usage. Suffix the question with tyre, 4WD, fridge, winch, tent, camper trailer, etc., and you get what I mean.

Generally it is better to ask for peoples experiences with items and make up your own mind from the feedback.
AnswerID: 181671

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:55

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 21:55
I know what you mean man!!!!

I worked in a shop selling work clothing for about 7 years and I quite often got the question "what are the best boots mate?"

My response was always....what kinda work do you do mate? and it would go from there.

Amazingly, lots of guys would come in with the wife/girlfriend and walk out with the absolutely wrong boots for the job cos she would usually say "your not going to buy those are you? What about these? these look nice! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Imagine going shoe shoping with your other half and saying "your not gonna buy those are you?"

HA. I recon most blokes would spend the night out with the dog!
AnswerID: 181678

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:11

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 22:11
"...Imagine going shoe shoping with your other half and saying "your not gonna buy those are you?"

HA. I recon most blokes would spend the night out with the dog!..."

"It takes the attention away from your face"

Enjoy the dogs hair and Good-O's....................
FollowupID: 437969

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:46

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 00:46
There is no such thing as a question that is too frequently asked. EVER.

The one thing on this forum that really p i z z e s me off, is the smart arzed comment from more experienced forumites, "why don't you use the search function".

For the new user, there can be nothing so off putting as having one's first post slammed by others as a stupid question. Even if it's been asked 156449967946 times. That just drives would be users and contibutors away. Not really bright at all.

People seem to quickly forget that it takes time for the newer visitor to the site to become familiar with all it's functions. In fact I can think of many long time users who suddenly "discover" something new they didn't know about.
Now, there is nothing wrong with the unique layout, or functionality of this forum, it just takes a little time to learn how to "drive" it to get the best out of it.

So, how about everybody giving others the respect they deserve when they ask a question about anything. If you can help with an appropriate answer, GIVE IT!
Even a brief answer plus a suggestion that the Poster may find further information, or discussion in the archives, which you can obtain by doing........such and such is a much cleverer approach, than giving little more than abuse. If you can't provide constructive input, you are better off not responding at all, because the comment you end up giving, may well be more stupid than the question originally asked.

We all like a laugh now and again and sometimes even at other's expense, but scaring off new visitors to the forum does nothing to promote ExplorOz for what it is really intended to be.

That's my opinion anyway.

AnswerID: 181704

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 08:16

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 08:16
ditto...
notwithstanding that some threads have digressed into other topics that have nothing to do with the original post, one can be forgiven why he & and or SHE was perusing or replying to the post in the first place.........

there's so much to learn from this site
FollowupID: 438024

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 07:46

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 07:46
I'm with sand man...... someone new finds the forum, thinks... "wow, these guys will know...." posts a question and gets the daylights bagged outta him for daring to ask something that has been asked before!

Remember people, there was a time when each of you DIDN'T know everything..... when you didn't know the diference between fridges, tyres, camper trailers, trucks, tracks & tricks........ so nowadays when you DO know..... why not take the time to pass on some of your hard earned knowledge..... or stay out of the thread!

You don't HAVE to read a post that has been asked 15789654853529724510 times before, do you.....
AnswerID: 181716

Reply By: chump_boy - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 08:44

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 08:44
Yeti,

Please don't get scared off! There is a lot of collective knowledge here, bit Bill S and his Feltches are a pet peeve of a lot of forum members. I guess for a first question, you struck out big time!....lol

As to those tools on here that instantly say "use the search tool", i rekon you should grow up a bit. If you are going to tell someone to use the search tool, at least point them in the right direction first...... It's a bit like saying "talk to the hand...".

Anyways, I think we need fresh people on here - knowledge does tend to go stale, and without fresh input, this forum would fall by the wayside.....

Cheers, and ask whatever you want - I for one won't bite!

Chump
AnswerID: 181725

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 08:57

Tuesday, Jul 04, 2006 at 08:57
To everyone who has replied along the lines of " just ask, don't be afraid and don't be put off that it may be called a "dumb question"

Thank you.

It's true sometimes we think that we'd like to ask but are a bit wary of being shot down. But the old saying is true "if you don't ask, you'll never learn". So better to look silly and learn what you need to know than to be afraid of looking silly and never ask.

This forum is great. Keep up the good work.

Viv
AnswerID: 181727