Sleeping Bags

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:07
ThreadID: 35589 Views:3536 Replies:13 FollowUps:23
Anyone used sleeping bag covers to improve the performance of sleeping bags? Better still has anyone made them from canvas or similar?

We use silk bag liners and have polyprop long johns but we got a bit caught with some extra frost recently.

I know the usual answer is to have -5 or -10bags but we have very little use for them and have bags variously rated at 3 degrees or zero. An external cover could be used for rougher camps and for boosting the temp rating when needed.

Yes I know swags can be better for flexibility.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:27

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:27
If its not going to be enough of an issue often enough to buy different bags, then why bother with anything?
AnswerID: 182187

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:33

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:33
Teens need 'em.
FollowupID: 438578

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 17:11

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 17:11
The whole problem is keeping the cold from penetrating the top of the bag - try our idea of a travel blanket - the type with rubber backing over the top - rubber side up - has a variety of uses and takes up not much room, and they are relatively cheap to buy - we have a camper trailer - canvas top - and in really cold weather this is the best thing - the cold does not penetrate the rubber at all.
Try it and see -
jules
FollowupID: 439185

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:37

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:37
We have 0 deg bags and on cold nights down to -5 and lower have a cooler sleeping bag we can zip open and throw over the top.
Also has been known to have good underwear and a pair of trackkies on :-)
This has been good down to -15.
AnswerID: 182194

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:37

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:37
Good idea to bring the other bags.

This is why a cheap bivy bag might be the go though.

Some armies now use a bivy bag. However their surplus stuff is usually for tapered bags. We prefer the more generous size bags ffor car camping.
FollowupID: 438580

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:57

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 21:57
I have used the fleecy sleeping bag liners that you can get at Ray's Outdoors for $19.95.

Great addition to regular bag when it is really cold and it also makes a fantastic lightweight bag by itself for warmer nights.

Muddy
AnswerID: 182199

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:40

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:40
Muddy doe

Sounds like a good idea. Do the fleecy liners twist aroungd you of a night or are they better behaved?

I notice the fleecy material is available on rolls from Lincraft and others so I am also wondering if we can make our own (only to get the looser fit).
FollowupID: 438582

Follow Up By: slave - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:28

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:28
The guy that sold the kids -5 bags to us said he had used the same brand on a trip to the snow. For extra warmth he had used a cheap ( as in $2 shop type of cheap) polar fleece rug made into a bag inside his with satisfactory result. No doubt by buying polar fleece off the bolt at a store like Lincraft you would get a much better quality fleece.

YMMV

Mrs S
FollowupID: 438621

Follow Up By: Mazdan - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 13:31

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 13:31
When I was a boy, my Mum made sleeping bag liners out of flannelette........same sort of stuff they make winter sheets out of.

The main purpose was to keep the bags clean but I imagine they would also add extra warmth.

I didnt like them because even though they were the same size as the sleeping bag inside, they would always get tangled up. Mum made them so they were actually longer than the bag and the extra bit folded arroiund the outside if that makes sense.

I own -12 degree bags and they work for all year round using the open zipper method and would recomned them or alternately take some spare blankets or a doona.

I also agree that protection from underneath is very important if you are not lieing on a good foam mattress.

Air beds are very cold in winter.
FollowupID: 438652

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 14:29

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 14:29
That's the problem with liners - they tangle. I'm sure there must a market for a quality -5C bag with a built in liner (press studs or zips or something?) which could be removed for washing, even if it put $50 on the bag price I'd buy it.

Liners do aid warmth a fair bit, it's the "layers" method - each layer traps air and it's mainly the air which provides the insulation. Having said that; long ago I decided I could not sleep in a liner, comfort wise, so I just use the bag and air it each day and wash it more often.

FollowupID: 438659

Follow Up By: johannagoanna - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 15:08

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 15:08
Hey Mike, my daughters new Roman sleeping bag has an inner liner that can be removed by simply unzipping it. Fantastic for a little girl that usually falls asleep by the fire in the filthy clothes she has had on all day! LOL.

We bought it from Boots if it is of any help to you!

Jo
FollowupID: 438672

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:33

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:33
Thanks Jo, I'll check it out.

Who are Boots? The only one I recall is Boots the Chemist from a _long_ time ago in th UK and, I suspect, you did not buy your sleeping bag from them? :)

FollowupID: 438765

Follow Up By: johannagoanna - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:39

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:39
Not sure where you are Mike! Boots in Sydney - Boots, The Great Outdoors!

But, I am sure that Roman sleeping bags are sold in most good camping shops!

Jo
FollowupID: 438768

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 23:33

Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 23:33
" I have used the fleecy sleeping bag liners " of course Muddy you now don't need a fleecy liner for the swag. Just bought a double did you?
FollowupID: 439040

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:14

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:14
I have a bivy bag which folds up to a very small bundle and it improves the bags efficiency a lot . Important to have a good insulator between you and the ground or you and the canvas stretcher - those really thin closed sell roll up mats are great for this .
Cheers ,
Willie .
AnswerID: 182213

Follow Up By: ev700 - Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:30

Thursday, Jul 06, 2006 at 23:30
Willie
Is the bivy bag one of the army types (eg Goxtex)?

Where did you get it from?
ev700
FollowupID: 438577

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:14

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:14
Agree with that one Willie.
Sometimes it makes more difference putting a blanket under you than over.
The ground can really suck the heat out of you.
FollowupID: 438607

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:55

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:55
ev700 ,
Yes , it is Gortex on top and a nylon base .
Did I really write closed sell foam ?

Old Plodder ,
We arn't just a pair of pretty wrinklies are we .

Willie
FollowupID: 438622

Reply By: Scrubcat - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 00:01

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 00:01
Try puting your good s/bag inside another. I have often used two, the outside one is an older rectangular type and is a bit larger than my good one,works terrific.
cheers,
S.Cat.
AnswerID: 182225

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 01:11

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 01:11
I bought some polyprop liners from Kathmandu for my recent trek through Cradle Mountain. They are supposed to add 7°C to the bag and although pricey even on special it was cheaper than buying a new -5° bag for basically a week of use and they would be too hot in normal WA camping conditions.

I 'think' the polyprop liners are better than silk or cotton. They are mummy shaped and I didn't find myself getting tangled up. I slept on a thermarest, 38mm, and wore cotton thermals to bed but it WAS inside huts so the -5° outside didn't come inside too much, and with the heat from 30 bodies it was kinda cosy really.

On a desert trek last year I used camp beds to get us off the ground, then put a thin blue hiking mat from Big W under the air mattress. Still got pretty cold in -2° temps, but that was before I had the polyprop liners which I believe are great and would make all the difference. A lot of cold comes up from underneath - newspaper might even make a difference if you're on the ground - you won't dare roll over too much, be crinkling all night :-)

Tim
AnswerID: 182236

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 23:39

Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 23:39
Tim, you mention polyprop liners and cotton thermals. I would rather the polyprop longjohns and undies if it gets really cold. They are fantastic against the skin as they wick any moisture away from the body. I have used them white water kayaking too, even drying out weasily after an inversion they are fantastic.

I reckon air mattresses are a real pain as they don't insulate you at all. fwiggin cold
FollowupID: 439041

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 23:50

Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 23:50
Agreed about air mattresses, and the poly prop thermals - but as always it was a matter of using what we bought before we knew better. Now I know better, I'll never buy cotton thermals again, and never buy an air mattress again even as part of a camp bed. At least we now have the campbeds that we can lay on and invest in thermarests to put on top of them, or direct on the ground if we need to.

On my 7 day Overland Trek hike out of Cradle Mountain, I treated my lovely white cotton thermals as my saviours at the end of days hiking in snow. They were my special dry treat! and worked well for that purpose.

On a couple of mornings the daywear polyprop thermals, two layers, hadn't dried overnight so I put them on damp and cold in the morning. Such an exilerating experience sure to brighten the day :-)

Tim
FollowupID: 439043

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:27

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:27
Complicated stuff some of you guys are into.

I have one bag which is rated to minus 5C, recently (when it was -5C) I put the car rug on top of the bag because I was a _little_ cold, that solved the problem.

I have used the same bag through the whole range of temps up to 45C (days - don't know what the night temp was but it was hot). I just use the zip to control the temperature - the hotter I am the more I open the zip and vice versa.

I sleep on either a 3" foam mattress in the swag or a 4" self inflating one in the tent.

Works for me.

AnswerID: 182256

Follow Up By: Member - Paul J (ACT) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:56

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 08:56
I reckon the foam mattresses are great, comfy and warm, I use a 4" one, which when not in use, it is rolled up and kept together with an old belt around it.
FollowupID: 438614

Reply By: zam045 - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:25

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 09:25
I guess you havea couple of options, and it all comes down to how much you have to spend.

I use a Bivvy Bag made of gortexwhich have served me very well over the last 8yrs, however, this was expensive $400, back then, I think they have come down a little in price now but great if you dont have a swag, as they are light, windproof, waterproof and keep the dew off.

But a cheaper otpion as others have suggested would be a sleeping bag liner or a rug over the top.

But the most important thing is some sort of insulation between you and the ground.

Zam
AnswerID: 182270

Follow Up By: ev700 - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:50

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:50
Thanks Zam
FollowupID: 438697

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 10:20

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 10:20
We all use -5 deg bage and use hot water bottles, one each in the boys bags and 2 in our double. If you have a kettle with a spout, its as easy as filling them at home but if you have just a round billy then you may find it a problem. EASY!!!!!! Michael
AnswerID: 182281

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 10:21

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 10:21
Forgot to mention, we just pour the water from the Hot water bottles back into the kettle the next night and recycle the water... Michael
FollowupID: 438625

Reply By: ev700 - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:57

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:57
Thanks everybody.

I think our first step will be to add some Coleman or similar self inflating mattresses.

We will take our extra bags to throw over as doonas.

After thought I realized that any cover with weight in it will compress the loft of the sleeping bags and reduce their effectiveness.

By explanation, we are starting to go more often in winter because the kids are older and to escape the heat, flies etc of summer.
AnswerID: 182331

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 10:55

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 10:55
You're right about the weight compressing and reducing effectiveness. The weight of your body on the bottom of the sleeping bag squashes it. That's why its more benificial to have your rug under you, or else, news paper under and rug on top.

Laurie.
FollowupID: 438819

Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:21

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:21
I well recall going doing some bush camping on school trips in the mountains around Gippsland, Vic in July. Very bloody cold.

My parents shelled out the readies for a good, down filled bag for me. The bloke I shared a tent with had parents who weren't quite as well heeled and he used a cheapie bag and put a "space" blanket (one of those big sheets of foil you can pick up for a few dollars at camping stores). It kept him as warm as toast. It seemed to reflect the warmth in and the cold away.
AnswerID: 182340

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:40

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:40
G'day Evie, :)

spent a night at the headwaters of the Turon wks ago, -10 degrees, tent covered in ice and my large billy half filled was frozen. 3, 4.5, 7.5 sprogs and me were snug in our Roman bags but the clincher is having a hood. Don't know if you have hoods on yours mate but as you prolly know, the head being one of the major points of body heat release:if you have a hood it works wonders to keep you snug.

ps: got to write my name on the ground in the morning (well the initials at least..)
AnswerID: 182344

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:05

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:05
Good point to mention - my bag does have a hood but I don't really like using it so I take a beanie with me instead for the cold times and, as you suggest, it makes one hell of a difference.

FollowupID: 438729

Follow Up By: ev700 - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 21:39

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 21:39
bushfix

What rating were the Roman bags?

EV700
FollowupID: 438871

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 18:44

Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 18:44
suprisingly on -2 mate but in addition to the hood, keep the socks on, another point of release for body heat.

g'day Mike, yeah i forget i have the beanie on (coz it's always on in the cold) but i can't keep it on in a swag/bag anyway, but the hood means your shoulders are well tied away too.

cheers.
FollowupID: 438978

Reply By: froomey - Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 00:52

Sunday, Jul 09, 2006 at 00:52
ev 7oo

try sleeping with fewer clothes on , in a sleeping bag , the heat is reverse , the lesser clothes the warmer you get, sounds irish , but try it , it really does work,

froomey
AnswerID: 182506