REALLY ^$%%ED OFF!!!

Submitted: Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 15:54
ThreadID: 35607 Views:4873 Replies:21 FollowUps:28
well, just found out that coopers are a load of crap when it comes to warranty!!

after being told that we have 80,000km warranty from the shop owner i have now been told by him that we do not have the warranty because it only comes on 2 types of tyres, not the ones we bought, and ONLY ON CAPITAL CITY PURCHASES!!!!

i had even read somewhere that all cooper tyres have warranty,as long as you get a wheel alignment every 10,000km and now i cant find it a usual.

just having a whinge, sorry!!!!!

Laura B

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 15:59

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 15:59
With all that crap will they take the weight from it.Told by a tyre person at Innaminka the other week that Coopers are tooo soft for out that way.
AnswerID: 182318

Follow Up By: Laura B - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:04

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:04
dont tell me that....ive been told by people who travel out that way all the time that coopers are the nly ones they havent had flats on! dunno what to believe anymore!!

LB
FollowupID: 438688

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:08

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:08
With regard to tyres...? No one.
FollowupID: 438690

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:01

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:01
Laura ,i not out to scare you with what i have said.I was out there with the Winebago on michelin low profiles & there is not a mark( 8ply light truck) on them despite having 4 flat tyres due to the valve extensions (to much vibration )with the exta lenght of them.I was running 60psi in the front & 46psi in the back but that was a couple of psi lower than what it should have been,but then again i had to drive to the conditions about 15- 25 klm/ph for lots of klms 100s.All you have to do is drive sensibly & to the condition of the road you traverse,have a good & safe trip when you go,Bob.
FollowupID: 438727

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:26

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:26
Disappointed to here that Laura ......... I also have Cooper tyres MTRs 225/75/16 and I have done some 20000 on them, both black top and dirt. I got them last August for a Cape trip and performed very well I could not fault them.

I have had a whell alignment but have problems now but i feel that is one of the rims on the front has to much weight to balance it. I don't feel it is the tyre so will get it changed around ASAP.

Fair enough whinge as I see it, not sure what the go is there. What tyres have the warranty ?????????

I was told mine had 60000 which I figured was fair enough, currently with the wear they has I figure I will get that at least.

I still feel the Coopers are a good tyre ....... of course at each new purchase it is a new deal as tyres do change.

May i ask what happened to your tyres??? and why not covered by warranty.

AnswerID: 182322

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:11

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:11
MTRs are GoodYear Tyres not Coopers...
Coopers got STT's which are very similar in tread pattern to MTRs....
FollowupID: 438709

Follow Up By: Blaze - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 00:49

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 00:49
Right On Stan,

And if they are the MTR's then no wonder he had no problems, as for Coopers I dont drink it and I wouldn't put it on any vehicle than was doing gibber country. Mind you they are a good tyre if you stay on the Black top :-)
FollowupID: 438788

Follow Up By: Laura B - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 13:06

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 13:06
our other tyres are in the shed for when we get back - they are just standard roadies that still have a good 30,000k to go out of them...
FollowupID: 439121

Follow Up By: Laura B - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 14:30

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 14:30
Brian,
well from what i can inderstand from the website its the LT's and HT's (Light terrain and Highway Terrain) bought from capital cities and i think soeone said that that only includes syd, melb and brisy.....

basically they'll only cover city slicker driving and not the real stuff they say they are the best at....whih the bridgstone tyre dude said as well......that they are the best....but that ould have been to keep me happy!!

Laura
FollowupID: 439140

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:28

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:28
The warranty only covers faulty workmanship NOT 4WDing ROAD HAZARDS (Sorry about the Capital letters I was not shouting)

So if you shred a tyre on a the canning or something, There is no Warranty

If how ever the tyre fails due to poor workmanship or wears out very quickly like 50,000 instead of 80,000 then you will be covered under the warranty.

But unless your tyre guy is a compleat wanker he would just replace the tyre that was faulty if it was used for normal use, so once agene if you are on the canning and rip 3 lugs off, over heat the tyre and get a Blow out ,or what ever he would not replace the tyre and nether would Coopers or any other tyre company for that matter.

Every tyre comes with a warranty so to speak Coopers is the only one who chooses to advertise that warranty and put a Mileage guarantee on the tyre.

They also choose to put restrictions on where this warranty applies as is there right, You need to remember that Cooper sell a lot of tyre in a lot of countries so they can’t say this tyre will do 80,000k on all road surfaces as it won’t. What they do is say this tyre will do this many K’s on this type of surface I.E Capital city Type roads, The Website says this quite clearly and it also say’s some surfaces will cause a high rate of tyre were.

Lastly Laura, I am definitely not having a Go at you, and is the warranty a load of bleepwell that’s debatable, Is it just marketing> Yes most likely.

I think I read you Got the STT’s, well I don’t think you will have a problem jugging by some of the posts on hear, Wayne and William to name 2, between them they have given the STT tyres one hell of a thrashing over some ruff as bleep country with out a problem.

Anyway I have Coopers and I am about to buy my second set of Coopers in a few weeks, I didn’t by them for the warranty I brought them because I herd good things about them, and I drove a Cruiser around for a Week up north 4WDing with Coopers fitted and they preformed well (At that stage I had not even heard of coopers and thought they were just a Cheep tyre, I was BFG all the way then, I now have Coopers and Like em.

PS I am expecting to cop a internet beating over this post by some LOL
AnswerID: 182323

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:28

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:28
Laura, there are heaps of posts here, some by myself, giving truthful accounts of the inadequacies of Cooper tyres in both the Outback & the High Country.
The warranty is also not worth the paper that it's written on, & you will only get empty promises from their representatives.

You will also find that the "Capital Citys" that they refer to are, Melbourne, Sydney & Brisbane only, because the others are too close to the Outback!
AnswerID: 182324

Follow Up By: Laura B - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 13:10

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 13:10
i wouldnt be suprised if the others werent included!!
FollowupID: 439122

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:35

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 16:35
I haven't yet seen what everyones' beef is with Cooper Tyres.

I've had my set of ST's on for 84,000km now, and there's still around 8mm left on each tyre. I've rotated them at every 15,000 or so.

So far I've lost two lugs on the inside edge of the rear passenger tyre - and so what.

I constantly remember to air-down to around 18psi on rock and rarely spin them. I use torque, not power to climb rocks. I take care of my vehicle and tyres. They're all too expensive to abuse.

Having said all that I'd have no hesitation in going another round with them....if they weren't so damn expensive.
AnswerID: 182325

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:04

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:04
So on your calculations you are going to get 154,000kms out of your tyres?
I'd like to see that!
Also that isn't allowing for the Coopers drivel that the second half wears much better than the first.
FollowupID: 438703

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:10

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:10
Did I calculate anything? I don't think so! I'm only stating what I've done so far on my set. No - I don't think I'll get that sort of mileage. I wouldn't use them for road driving with anything less than 4-5mm of available tread left. They're not safe in heavy rain after that.

I know of one bloke who reached 100,000 on his set of 245/75-16 ST's on a Discovery, and still had tread enough to make them OK for a rough spare. It's not a rare occurrence, but if you don't like them for whatever reason, that's certainly no grounds to necessarily disbelieve others.
FollowupID: 438708

Follow Up By: Joombi - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:28

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:28
I've had my ST's on for about 70k now on my Constant 4WD 80, no lugs gone no damage at all actually, I've got no complaints & I'm gonna go the STT's next, give them a go.
when I bought the tyres I got on now, the salesman told me I should get about 100k out of them, I laughed & said yeah, righto, but he might end up being right, Dunno
FollowupID: 438712

Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:57

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:57
It's not only Coopers that give good distance you know.

I had a set of Aussie made Bridgestone Dueller AT 693 Pattern go for 90,000 towing a van and Off road camper most of the time. Still got one of em as a spare for the latest set of the same.
FollowupID: 438718

Follow Up By: Joombi - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:57

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:57
Notso, you're right, but the thread is about coopers & warranty
FollowupID: 438725

Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 20:20

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 20:20
Ah well, just get sick of hearing how good Coopers are. At the end of the day they are still made of rubber and good till the next sharp rock or stake. Not the first post on the forum thats got a little "Off topic"
FollowupID: 438749

Follow Up By: Joombi - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 20:53

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 20:53
I think this is the only post I've seen about "how good coopers are" a lot of the other post I've seen on this & other forums bag the CRP out of coopers, have a look at the first line on Omaroo post.
dont get me wrong mate, I dont give a rats arse if coopers, bfg, bridgies are the best, I've just had a good run with the ones I got now & Ill give them a go again, thats all I was saying, but thats a while off & I might change my mind, Dunno, BTW I'm putting Simex on my ute.....
FollowupID: 438753

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:54

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 17:54
The warranty information can be found on the Cooper Tires website located here

It is more of a pro-rata arrangement for future purchases. In any case, i bought them based on other reasons, as i couldn't get the warranty where i live, and nobody else would give one either, so it didn't affect the purchasing decision.

Though i would be more peeved off with the business owner, not the tyre manufacturer. Maybe a friendly call to the Cooper distributor/rep etc to report your issue......may get some support out of them.

AnswerID: 182337

Reply By: OLLY - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:39

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:39
I was told exactly the same thing as well. and when I told them that I was wanting to buy them before the trip to WA, the salesperson asked what sort of road I would be travelling to which I replied DIRT (as if he should have asked). And then he promptly informed me 'that will probably void your warranty anyway'.
So I ask you, How can they claim to be the worlds best offroad tyre and not have the balls to back it up?
I'll be sticking with the BFG AT's ,70,000klms and no drama's.

Olly
AnswerID: 182343

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:33

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:33
You want to tell me how you are meant to warrant a tyre for off-road use, the tyres will be dealing with Rock, Sand, Gravel, Mud, Tree stumps, old railway spikes, bunt timber, People running to high,/ to low a pressure, Overloaded rigs, Spinning tyres, travelling to fast and so on and so on

Every trip off road is different, every body drives differently and every Rig is different it would be impossible to Do Warranty on a tyre for off-road use, as every winging wining bleep would be in with a warranty clam for a new set of tyres, then people would be on hear complaining that Coopers didn’t warrant there tyre after they shredded the set doing 110k’s down the Birdsville track at 50PSI

I wonder if Toyota would warrant you if you went in with a Busted front Diff and told them you broke it wile doing a reverse snatch recovery of Bogged 4WD off-track in the simpsion desert???
FollowupID: 438736

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 00:49

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 00:49
Exploder,

I agree with what you are saying, and I've got nothing against the Coopers (they are on my short list for next time round). But it does seem strange to market a product designed for 4WDs and (if what people here are saying is true) to void the warranty if they are used off road. It is a bit like selling a plane and voiding the warranty if you actually leave the ground in it. What else was the thing designed for?

These tyres are made, and marketed for, the 4WD community who pay big dollars for them (as with any other 4WD tyre brand). Doesn't that seem like a bit of a cynical marketing ploy?

The again, maybe I am being cynical, and Cooper provide the warranty as a sign of their faith in a good product, recognising that many people are going to abuse them in the ways you suggested.
FollowupID: 438789

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 23:18

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 23:18
Well said Matt M.

The ad on TV show's that bloke who gets lost all the time [mike leyland] doing a river crossing in his 100 series with cooper tyres.

They are aiming this ad directly at me, and you, for when we want to buy tyres for our 4WDrives. They spice it up by saying how tuff they are and they "even come with a written factory warranty"

BAH HUMBUG I say !!!
FollowupID: 438882

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 15:55

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 15:55
Expoder, my Goodyear MTR's have a warranty, they balance them every 10k for free for the life of the tyre and fix all punctures free of charge. They said that they will do sidewall repairs as well free of charge as long as they can do them "in house", if they have to send it away for major repairs they will charge you. That's a warranty, not coopers pathetic excuse for a warranty. They void the warranty even if you drive your car outside the metro area according to their website, what a load of crap.
FollowupID: 439161

Reply By: JR - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:47

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:47
Ived had four sets of ST and ST-C now and cant speak highly enough. Each set has done 80000km + making them good value considering where I drive. Ive had blowouts and delaminations but far less than other brands so Im happy, and will buy them again.
No tyre warranty does what we expect irrespective of brands, it covers faulty manufacture only in "normal" conditions
Buy tyres based on specs and reputation and suitability to what you are going to do
I use 10ply, 265/65/16 ST-C and have had an exceptionally good run with them on a Patrol weighing 3T or more all the time. I travel western NSW on all roads and conditions.
JR
AnswerID: 182346

Follow Up By: Laura B - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 14:16

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 14:16
JR,

Looking back on it all and doing the reading myself not the hubby - not that i dont trust him but anyway.....the st-c would have suited us better but hey we got the big chunkers!!!

The warranty sucks cos the "bridgestone" owner where i bought them told me that they had the warranty and then back fired on the phone saying they dont.

im just peeved cos of that, if they fail us on the roads/conditions they are made to do i will be taking them back no matter what.....my thinking is that the stt's are going to have major blow outs etc if always used on tar seeing that they are 20% road/dirt and i dont classify that as normal conditions for the tyre. the guy told me that they are designed for bush work (dar!!!) and no one would ever guarrentee that they will last in that condition - there is my prob.....that is the condition that they are designed to work in if they fail there then Bobs me aunty!!!

I will prob buy coopers again but ive only done 120km on them so who knows!!LOL!!

Laura

thanks for the confidence
FollowupID: 439138

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:52

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 18:52
Come on Laura. Your REALLY ^$%%ED OFF with yourself for not reading properly?

If you didn't discuss warranty with the dealer, and given that every Cooper brochure says: "Consult your authorised Coooper Tires dealer for terms and conditions" (for the Australia Wide Warranty), and specifically highlights the Capital City Mileage Warranty (yep - that's what they call it) separately, I would say you don't have too many legs to stand on. Their warranty support I have found to be much more than your average tyre manufacturer.

Like most products, warranties have T&Cs and if you don't read them, or make assumptions, you can't expect the poor dealer to take the can for you.

"read somewhere" won't help you.

If the dealer told you, that's another matter. You can have him up for Misleading & Deceptive Conduct, and make him wear the warranty implications, but if you've got STTs no one was going to tell you there was a specific distance warranty on them anyway - and I know for a fact that Cooper Dealers are very well trained on their programs and products.

If you have a real problem with them - which I doubt, call them up and discuss it. I just swapped my 75,000 k's ATs (they still have 5-8mm treat) for STTs all around and I can't be happier with Cooper.

If you are going to call it a load of crap, have you actually spoken to 1300 COOPER or is that too embarassing? If you have a real problem with them in reasonable circumstances, I am sure you will find these guys standing behind their product.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
AnswerID: 182348

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:18

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:18
Andrew,what your'e saying is probably right But you say & quote:-but if you've got Stt'sno one was going to tell you there was a specific distance warranty on them anyway-and i know for a fact that Cooper Dealer's are very well trained on their programs and products. When i bought my set of Cooper STT's for the zuk they the Dealer told me they had a 50,000klm WARRANTY.I proceeded & asked about a set for the F250 & again was told that they had a WARRANTY of 100,000klm on them.I bought them yet as i only have 18,000klm on my original tyre's.Bob.
FollowupID: 438731

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:30

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:30
Hmmm. Was it an authorised dealer? - I suggest calling 1300 COOPER (during the day) and getting the low down (perhaps telling them the name of the dealer telling porkies of one sort or other). Their dealers are listed www.coopertyres.com.au/dealers/index.htm

I have what I think are the most recent brochures for the range which say, as a guide:

Zeon XST: 50,000 Capital City Warranty
HT Plus: 60,000 Capital City Warranty
Sport HP: ditto
Lifeliner SLE: 70,000 Capital City Warranty
HT: 80,000 Capital City Warranty
ATR: 90,000 Capital City Warranty
ST: 80,000 Capital City Warranty
and nothing mentioned for ST-C and STT

but it is not as simple as that either (see www.coopertyres.com.au/tyres/atr_specs.htm for instance)

I don't recall any of them being 100k's but their LT tyres tend to have longer warranties.

So best to get it in writing first from the dealer, and then the dealer will have to live with it.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 438734

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 20:16

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 20:16
Yep are authorised alright got it in writing for the zuk,good enough for me ,but the way things have been for me lately would not surprise me on missing out again,Bob.
FollowupID: 438748

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:19

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:19
Another happy Coopers owner here,

I had the A/T's on the Prado and they did very well. 37,000km before I changed them as 1/2 worn tyres to use on trailer. I replaced them with the newer pattern Cooper ATR which have been fantastic. Mimimal problems with chipping with either tyre type and the have done plenty of gibber work around Innamincka and Oodnadatta.

I think the people that have problems with ANY tyre in this country are possibly not using correct tyre pressures and driving speeds.

I was already aware that the so called warranty on Cooper tyres is only a marketing ploy for city slickers that don't do any real off roading or remote area work however I still think this is silly of Cooper because unless you actually abuse them they do seem to take the punishment pretty well.

My ATRs have now done near 40,000 and have about 7 to 8mm of the original 11mm tread depth left so I expect a good life from them. Having said that you do see posts from people who have replaced them after 50,000 km or less so either I got a good batch or those other people drive them too hard or with too much weight.

Having said all that - my next set of tyres I am looking to go more aggressive pattern to see how they go and am tossing between Goodyear MTR and Cooper STT. I have Club members that give the MTR a really good rap and they seem to be very popular on this site so the MTR may well get the gig. I may be happy with Coopers but it does not mean that I am unwilling to try other brands.

Muddy
AnswerID: 182349

Reply By: On Patrol - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:20

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:20
Laura B
I can only praise Coopers. I had a sidwall blister in a Cooper tyre a couple years ago and I knew it was a stress fracture caused by a washout i did'nt see in time.

I left the damaged tyre with my dealer on the off chance they can do something about it.

I was contacted by Coopers and told that it was an impact fracture, however in good faith and goodwill they wanted to give me a demo tyre of the same type and similar milage to help me out, which I refused, as i had since traded the car in on my Patrol, that is now shod happily with Cooper ATR's, but as mentioned prev. I also look after my tyres and respective pressures etc.

In respect to your problem have you contacted the HO ? I think you should.
info@exclusivetyres.com.au

On Patrol
AnswerID: 182350

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:27

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:27
Coopers could be good tyres but their "warranty" is rubbish - always has been. They will only give you a rebate on the next set ? Since when do you have to buy more goods, to satisfy a "warranty" on previous goods ?
With regard to the city only - how could a tough, go anywhere tyre for serious 4W drivers be warranted city only ?
We have to recognise rubbish when you see it - their warranty is rubbish.
AnswerID: 182353

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:35

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 19:35
This is just the distance warranty.

They have an Australia-wide warranty and of course, must provide fit for purpose statutory warranties, and do stand by their product.

Even the capital city warranty is not "city only" - just that it only applies for tyres sold in the city. Suggest you call in at Jack Baker's or Cotton Tyres and look for yourself at the details if you have a need to claim, or are thinking of buying.

Ciao for now
Andrew.
FollowupID: 438737

Follow Up By: atoyot - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 22:34

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 22:34
>>Coopers could be good tyres but their "warranty" is rubbish - always has been. >>They will only give you a rebate on the next set ? Since when do you have to >>buy more goods, to satisfy a "warranty" on previous goods ?
>>With regard to the city only - how could a tough, go anywhere tyre for serious >>4W drivers be warranted city only ?
>>We have to recognise rubbish when you see it - their warranty is rubbish.
>>

I got a cash pro-rate refund on 4 ST's with 40000k's on them (chunks of tread missing) and it was cash, not just a rebate on the next set, in fact, I bought a different brand for my next set (wouldv'e got the new STT's if they were out then). I can't complain about their service as they were great to deal with. They recomended ST/C's for the type of roads I had been doing, but showed good faith with the pro-rata refund. I found the ST's great in every respect except the shedding of chunks of tread over gibbers and rough rocky roads. I always used appropriate pressures and balanced and rotated the tyres regularly, and the dealer would've taken that into consideration when they went in to bat for me with the Australian distributor. I'll be going back there as I felt they went the extra mile for me.

FollowupID: 438774

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:28

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:28
Darian is 100% correct. Any "mileage" warranty is rubbish. It costs way too much for all the alignments and balances, and for that money, you may as well buy another tyre anyway.

I've had 2 very good experiences related to Goodyear tyres and I say at the outset, I am merely a fully paying customer - I don't get kickbacks, cheap tyres or anything else.

My Goodyear MTRs did 2 years and 45,000km of desert and high country trips - I've always had 2 sets of tyres and these were just for the hard trips. No punctures, but after the last trip, they started to delaminate - presumably from low pressures in 45 degree heat on the Anne Beadell and Gunbarrel Hwy. The Goodyear rep inspected them and gave me pro-rata credit for the 8mm of unused tread. No questions asked, and no arguments.

I replaced them with the Goodyear Silent Armours last month, and immediately took them on the Madigan Line. I purchased Beaurepaire's $16 puncture and damage warranty. Now this is a serious warranty. I got one small stake in one of the new tyres and plugged it in the desert. Back in Adelaide it was replaced with a new tyre - no questions asked - and at zero cost as they could not measure any wear after 5000km. So I'd suggest that if you're after a warranty, this one is worth the $16 per tyre. The guy at Beaurepaires also said that if I needed a repair done in the desert, they would look at it and consider reimbursing the cost. And it will be honoured by Beaurepaires australia wide. It makes the Cooper mileage guarantee look rather weak. But it does have similar conditions - $32 cost every 10,000km.

And regarding Cooper tyres, a few friends have had them on desert trips, and now run other brands. They have a very strong tread, but weakish sidewalls, so in my experience, they stake easily, but don't often puncture thru the tread. So its possible to get a good run out of them if you stay on the bitumen and formed tracks. Any high mileage tyre does so, by having thin sidewalls so that heat is quickly dissipated. Hot tyres wear quickly.
AnswerID: 182368

Follow Up By: navaraman - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:50

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 21:50
I got the $16 Beaurepaires warranty and next month I'll be changing the MTRs for another set. 50000kms trouble free so the warranty wasn't needed to be called on.Two tyres will be kept for spares, the other two probably get used as trailer tyres so I'm happy with the mileage I've had. I was a tad concerned about beaurepaires ripping me off for the regular balance and rotation that you need with their warranty, but have had them rotated and balanced free every 5000km because the dealer wanted to keep my custom.
I can't recommend Kahn at Beaurepaires Warradale highly enough.
Cheers Pat
FollowupID: 438769

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 19:03

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 19:03
Hi Pat,

Yeah, like you I'm a bit concerned about the cost of keeping the warranty - figured that I'd probably get them done while the tread is very good, and opt out when they start to wear down. Its a real PITA to have to take them in and waste an hour in a tyre shop.
FollowupID: 438857

Reply By: Nick R - Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 22:58

Friday, Jul 07, 2006 at 22:58
I owned some coopers once, only got a few weeks out of em but I was still fairly happy with them and would purchase them again

Pale Ale is my preference!!!!!
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 182382

Follow Up By: Laura B - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 14:21

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 14:21
must have been some work done in those few weeks!!LOL!!

Laura
FollowupID: 439139

Reply By: Member - Ray - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 00:41

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 00:41
90000 on STs and I'm leaving Perth next week to go across the Central road and on to Qld. I reckon I will get there and back easily on them.
AnswerID: 182387

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 08:23

Saturday, Jul 08, 2006 at 08:23
Fix up of my error in post earlier my tyres are NOT MTRs ..................... but ATRs :) which are Coopers

And they are great .......... not sure about on gibber roads as someone said hereabouts.

As I have only done 20000 on them .......... I'm guessing the real test will be Simpson and surrounding roads neat year.

AnswerID: 182399

Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 10:36

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 10:36
It's amazing what good Marketing & Advertising can do!!
Caveat Emptor.
AnswerID: 182663

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 11:31

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 11:31
Got to admit, this is an interesting post. It always polarises people on their preferences and experience. I have no real preferences and have merely stuck with my Bridgestones - however I was very tempted to go with Coopers a few years ago based on their advertising and spoke to a rep at one of the 4WD shows. Remained interested so had some marketing forwarded to me.

It was pretty dissapointing to read all the conditions placed on their warranty as well as the limitations on off road use so I felt it a bit of a con. That is not to say they are a bad tyre (or tire) and I'm sure there are plenty of happy users, it was just that the adds seemed deceptive so it made me nervous about the extent they would support me if anything did go wrong. I know people will tell me to read the fine print etc but they were subtly trying to suggest that your new tyres would be good for 80,000 K which is a play on words.

AnswerID: 182672

Reply By: Laura B - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 14:24

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 14:24
thanks all.....i guess that even if they did have warranty it wouldnt matter cos i dont live in a capital city or intend to go there for wheel alignments etc to cover the warranty.....

Laura
AnswerID: 182703

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 23:39

Monday, Jul 10, 2006 at 23:39
2 sets of ST's now and no problems getting one that was maybe faulty maybe track damage replaced gratis. And another that was probably definately track damage replaced pro rata.

Very happy with my ST's I'll keep going with Coopers thanks.

I don't live in the city. I hardly go to the city.

I emailed Exclusive and had a perfectly polite conversation with them regarding my problem instead of flaming them first in a public forum.

My dealer knew what I was there for before I walked in the door (Hi Dave. You're here about your tyres ....) as Exclusive had emailed them re: my problem.

One look, one phone call to confirm what I said and a new tyre.

And they are great in the outback, on the dirt and all over the high country. Who ever said they weren't I can't figure that out. On a night drive with the local club they went up stuff that young bucks in lifted hiluxes with muddies failed on - could be that knowledge, pressures, technique and wheel placement helped but it stumped the others on the UHF asking what tyres I was running.

Can't beat that service. I'd like to see it from some of the other brands....

AnswerID: 182846