Vic high country . Can some wonderful person give me directions .

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 19:54
ThreadID: 35743 Views:3042 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
I am going to spend two weeks in the Vic high country this summer and will approach through the Snowy Mtns ( which I know well ).

I have never been there and was wondering if one of you guys or gals familiar with the area , could give me an itinerary / route as to where I should go in that two week period .

I will be doing a fair bit of fly fishing and I want to travel at a very liesurely pace . I would like to stay more than one night in most spots if they are on a river or creek with fish in it .

I have only been back three weeks and I am itching to leave again .

Thanks a lot ,

Willie .

Reply By: Member - uncle - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:22

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 21:22
Hi Willie, a friend that flyfishes with me recommended Taylors crossing.They said the camping was good and river access was also good for fishing, they even got fish! Plenty of room to camp, they were there last march with a CT in tow.
AnswerID: 183026

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 13:41

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 13:41
Thanks Uncle ,
I am getting some maps today and will check out Taylors crossing .
Willie .
FollowupID: 439679

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:15

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:15
Willie, from your place, head South by South West and you can't miss it. It's those tall hills on your left with the fluffy white tops. Don't forget your IceAxe to dig a hole to drop your line into. Have fun.
AnswerID: 183067

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 13:43

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 13:43
Mr Lexic ,
I shall travel confidently with those co-ordinates you have supplied .
Willie .
FollowupID: 439680

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 14:07

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 14:07
Just written a DVD for you Mr Lexic so you can assume you will have the fluffy white tops visible. Reckon though the ice axe may be needed round your area with -6 degree nights if you want to drop the line in.
FollowupID: 439686

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 18:53

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 18:53
Willie, just follow the instructions and you will have no problems "Guaranteed"
Thanks John, I look forward to the DVD. Fortunately, haven't needed the Iceaxe lately although the wind has been coming direct from the motherin-laws heart today. Brrrr.
FollowupID: 439725

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:28

Tuesday, Jul 11, 2006 at 23:28
Try this trip report. Not a bad trip if you have the time - which it looks like you do.

Site Link

AnswerID: 183074

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 14:02

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 14:02
Thanks Dave ,
I have printed out this report their track on my map to check out exactly where they went .
Cheers ,
Willie
FollowupID: 439685

Reply By: allanmac856 - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:31

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:31
Willie,

2 weeks will give you ample time to enjoy the H/C, but remember if you are there between Xmas & the new year, it will be extremely busy. Actually I'm heading up that way for 5 days starting Jan 2, so we may cross paths if you are there around this time. Anyway, for what it is worth, I would come in via Omeo/Swifts Creek & do the Haunted Stream track. In regard to spots, you will find plenty but not all imo are suitable for longer than 1 or 2 nights at best. From there head towards Dargo where you can have a good pub meal, refuel etc etc. I would reccomend setting up camp for at least 2 or 3 days at Talbotville. 30klm from Dargo, big open area on the river, & pit toilets. From there you have many options for 4wd tracks taking anywhere from 3 to 6 hrs back to camp. Vist Blue Rag Lookout, the old Grant township, 4wd along the Crooked River Tk with its 21 river crossings, steep climbs on Collingwood & Bulltown Spurs & Randall Track. In other words it has a bit of everything. From, there head towards Eaglevale, not bad for camping, on the river pit toilets etc, & the famous Billy Goat Bluff & Pinnacles lookout is an easy drive there & back in a few hours. From there to Wonnangatta Station, a few days here, up Zeka Spur to Howitt Rd then head towards Lake Cobbler, visiting various huts along the way. Camp here for a few days or so again, visit Craig Hut etc then head home via Mansfield. Big trip, but you do have plenty of time & PLENTY TO SEE/DO

AnswerID: 183167

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:42

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 16:42
Allan ,
That is great info , thanks a lot . I might leave it until the school hols finish . Less people and the fish might have got over being hit on the head with lead spinners by then .
Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 439706

Follow Up By: allanmac856 - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 20:09

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 20:09
Willie,

It wont be 2 bad during the school holidays; it is the week between Xmas & New Year that is 'busier than Bourke St'. (That is why I'm heading up on the 2nd). As Crackles said, Rooftop Maps along with the 'tracks of the high Country'. Bit pricey, but well worth it. Alot of 4wd/camping shops sell it, or have a look on the web.

FollowupID: 439738

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:40

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:40
Allan ,
Where do I get "Tracks of the High Country ".
Thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 439761

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 17:44

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 17:44
Gaday Willie. How hard do you like your driving? Are you towing a camper?Probably the most important conciderations when recomending tracks in the Vic High Country.
As a start I'd suggest getting a few of the Rooftop maps
to better plan the route. They are currently the best touring maps available showing locations of camps, historical features & even some fishing spots.
Have a look at maps 6, 13 & 15 to cover the main areas.
Cheers Craig..........

AnswerID: 183188

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:38

Wednesday, Jul 12, 2006 at 21:38
Hi Craig ,

I can handle a bit of rough stuff without too much stress . My car has front and rear diff locks etc and I am leaving the Trak Shak at home . The only weakness I have is my auto - on really steep decents - but I usually manage to snake and slither my way down with without damage .

Thanks for that map info . I have just gone to the ExplorOz shop and ordered the maps you suggested .

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 439760

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 19:28

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 19:28
Gaday Willie. Plenty of options but here's one with some great views, a bit of history & heaps of fishing opportunity.
Cross the Murray at Tom Groggin then climb Mt Pinnabar to wheelers creek(Fish) past Mitta river (F) to Swifts creek then up the Haunted Stream to Cassilis (History) Restock at Dargo then up to Harrisons cut (F). over past Grant (H) crooked river to Talbotville(H). Blue Rag Range then down to the Wongungarra river (F) accross to Mayfords (F). Past Mt Murray, Mt Selwyn then down to Humphfray river (F). Through Wonnangatta (H), up to Howitt plains, Butcher country, Macalister River (F), Caledonia river (F) up Dingo hill to Arbuckle Junction. Pinnacles lookout, down Billy Goat Bluff to lower Wonnangatta River (F) Time to go home.
About a weeks driving all up. When you've got your new maps if you have any specific questions drop me a line.
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 439969

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 11:39

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 11:39
That is great Craig - I printed it out and as you said I will plot it on my maps when I get them next week .
A weeks driving sounds good . I can make it in two weeks with plenty of fishing .
Willie .
FollowupID: 440079

Reply By: Darryn - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:36

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 09:36
Hi Willie, a good flyfishing spot is Mayford, high on the Dargo River below Mt Hotham. Take the King Spur track just south of Lankey's Plain (Dargo High Plains rd), its steep in parts and its the only way in and out. Once your at the bottom head upstream to the flat where the town/homestead was, there's plenty of campsites but wood could be in short supply. When your set up put on the waders and head up or downstream and you will find plenty of holes in the river to flick the fly into. Don't try the Mayford Spur track that heads toward Dinner Plain as its is not open or passable. This is a great place to camp and spend a few days. If I can answer any further questions please don't hesitate to ask.
Regd's Darryn
AnswerID: 183293

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 15:50

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 15:50
Darryn ,
I have printed and filed your instructions . When I get my maps , I will see where I have to go . Sounds like a beautiful spot .
Thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 439914

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:47

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 20:47
Just a follow up on Mayfords - i wouldn't suggest it with a single vehicle if it is wet or rain is forecast. The steep bits of the track are clay and impassable when wet, and theres only one track in and out.
However the other comments are valid, its a great spot.
FollowupID: 439988

Follow Up By: allanmac856 - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 21:25

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 21:25
Agree with Andrew. Dont think it is advisabvle to do the H/C with only one vehicle, especially on some of the tracks I have suggested.

FollowupID: 439998

Reply By: Rick - Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 22:58

Thursday, Jul 13, 2006 at 22:58
g'day willie

you can check some pics of my high country trips here.

2004 trip was our first and a touristy treck from mansfield to buckland valley.

tinyurl.com/ovcca

2005 I went back with some 4wd clubmates to tackle some tougher tracks from mansfield to dargo.

tinyurl.com/dtqye

Rick
AnswerID: 183431

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 11:36

Friday, Jul 14, 2006 at 11:36
Thanks for the photos Rick . I tlooks like that second trip was pretty hard on the cars .
Willie .
FollowupID: 440078