Nissan Dealer Attitude

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 20:04
ThreadID: 35863 Views:4183 Replies:26 FollowUps:18
Just what do you have to do to buy a new Nissan Navara ST-X.

After reading all the reports and tests I became convinced that a ST-X Dual Cab was a suitable replacement for our 04 Rodeo LX 4x4 Dual Cab.

So naturally I call the closest Nissan Dealer in Innisfail, only to be told by the dealer principal, (this is a small town and a small dealer) that there is no stock and a wait, OK I said, no real surprise but I'm not in a hurry anyway.

Can I have a look at your demonstrator? "Nah mate we don't keep 'em"
OK do you have any ordered cars comimg through that I could have look at.
"Nah mate could't do that they go out as fast as they come in".

Onto the Nissan Dealer in Cairns.
Yes there was a car I could look at, even drive, things ar looking up.
The drive confirmed what I had aleady read, I liked it, so did my wife, things are looking good.
Back into the dealership, deatails are taken of options required, my trade in is valued, Fax Numbers and email address duly taken down and double checked, with a solemn promise to get written quote "within 24 hours" (this is a purchase for a small fleet we run, so we have to follow procedure)
Two weeks later still nothing.

Onto Nissan Townville. 11am Monday morning.
Into the showroom 3 salespeople on the phone chatting, one other couple looking at a Murano and judging by their body language getting pretty anoyed.
A flustered recepionist turns up, I ask is there soemone who can help me with a Navara. She tells me, No there all on the phone,sorry.
Any idea when someone might be available? "Nah couldn't really say, sorry, they're very busy.

All right I'll call Nissan direct to see if they can refer me to a dealer that is actually interested in selling cars. Think music and a message that there is a wait to talk to a customer service representative, OK that's fine, after 25 minutes of hanging on same message. I don't think so.

All I can assume is that Nissan is the worlds most succesful car manufacturer and so can afford to treat its potential customers like dirt. Obviuously they must spend quite a bit of training time with their dealers so that the same cr*p attidude can be uniformly applied.

Congratulations Nissan I'll give the Navara a miss.

There, now that I've got that of my chest it feels much better.

I'm interested to know of other people's experiences, Is this just a North Queensland thing or is it more widespread, and what car do I now buy?

Frustrated Nissan Buyer

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 20:27

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 20:27
The tow test in one of the big 4WD Mags does not give the Nissans, new Pathy or GU a good write up. Towing a 2 tonne van they did not come up too good.
I would have thought that the new 2.5 TDI would have done better. Anyway that's all on paper. Put a 3 inch mandrel bent exhauzt system on the Radeo buy a chip and you will blow the Nissans away.
Cheers Bruce
AnswerID: 183667

Reply By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 20:27

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 20:27
Sorry to hear of you frustrating expierence mate. Hell, I wouldnt have bothered after the second dealer attempt. If they are so wealthy up there that they dont need new car sales then good luck to them all.

The more I hear about Nissan's reluctance to serve customes weather they are new or existing ones, the more i am sure that my next car wil not be a nissan. Considering i have 3 nissans in the family at the moment, Im pretty sure there wont be a replacement nissan in my driveway.

Very sad indeed.
Ange
AnswerID: 183668

Reply By: itsdave - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 20:34

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 20:34
Glad I have not had the same experience as you with dealers.
I tried the Gold Coast Nissan dealer to find no demo"s available as they sell without them needing any. Went to Brissy and could"nt find a more helpful dealer.
Vehicle due sometime Aug which will be a 3 1/2 month wait but am sure it will be worth it. I would suggest you contact the dealer principal nearest you and tell him your grievences and see if you can get some action. Worked for me in the past

Cheers dave
AnswerID: 183669

Reply By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 20:46

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 20:46
Yeah that is the worst treatment. Those guys must sell so many cars the can choose who they sell too. I own a nissan and like the new navara but I would hate to give those punks a deal after that. I have always been in sales and at one time thought I might try selling cars. I got a job at a new car dealership and lasted 3 weeks!!! not my style, customers were treated with "tolerance" while in the showroom but as soon as those doors would slide shut out would come the swear words from staff about the just left customers. Anyway it is true that even customers go into buy a car with a crappy attitude, but I think thats because they feel like they are going to be treated bad, its an endless cycle. Got to say tho, some dealerships staff are starting to not sell, but just relax a bit and realise that the reason there is someone standing in front of them is probably because they want to buy a car! Maybe another dealership will ship a care to you at a good price if you call them and say you will do a deal over the phone without any selling on their part, dealers love easy deals.
AnswerID: 183670

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 09:40

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 09:40
Guess that explains why you get the vibes that "you're the enemy" when you walk in, rather than the reason for them being in employment.
FollowupID: 440338

Reply By: Leroy - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 21:02

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 21:02
Customer service! It's a hard thing to find these days. I was ARB in Albury today and when I walked in, there were 3 sales guys. 1 with a customer and I didn't take much notice of what the others were doing. I had the cash in my pocket ready to buy ski racks for my Rhino bars. i waited and waited (partner had time to change a nappy and me go out and dispose of it) and I came back in the show room and waited thinking the guy would say be with you in a moment or call and get someone to assist. 3 more customers came in and we waited and in the end I just decided to leave. I just find I get a better result from the net. I emailed that mob in Camberwell during the week that someone recomended that sells roofracks and they replied, sent me pics, answered questions. With the price of petrol it's easier to mail order. You seem to get better service!

Leroy
AnswerID: 183674

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 22:57

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 22:57
Leroy, Please, Please, Please do what I did, and send ARB a letter of complaint. The state manager sent me an email the next day to apolagise about the service I recieved.

The owner of the store that I complained about phoned me at work and gave me attitude about my complaint !!! HAH

In the end I drove from Ferndale [south] to Wangara [lots north] to buy what I wanted, but after being made to wait around in that shop as well I figure it must be a 4WD thing and they can all get stuffed.

Nissan customer service is crap and always has been crap!

How they manage to sell cars is betond me!!!
FollowupID: 440315

Follow Up By: Leroy - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 12:14

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 12:14
Look I don't know what I was thinking even contemplating buying something from ARB as I swore I never would shop there again ages ago. In a momnet of weakness I strayed, but luckily I saw the light and the bad service and walked out.

Leroy

PS and that state manager is not worth a pinch of ****.
FollowupID: 440375

Follow Up By: Roddesh - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:33

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:33
Hi Leroy, I had a similar experience... I drove to the Camberwell business last week with cash in my pocket to buy roofracks for my Cruiser and had the exact experience you describe with ARB. I walked out after around ten minutes and have decided never to go back there... Maybe I should have emailed them instead.
FollowupID: 440453

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 09:18

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 09:18
Just goes to show that mail order on the net is the way to go these days. I haven't been to that Camberwell business yet so i can't comment.

Leroy
FollowupID: 440496

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 09:23

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 09:23
It's funny, I should also mention that I bought some Rhrino commercial bars that were on a Hiace van. I have had to order 4 new clamps that connect the legs and go around under the gutter. I actually ordered them last week from a Rhrino dealer that fobbed me off a few years ago when I need racks made for my last vehicle. Appart from the initial conversation on the phone, the rest of the corespondance has been via email.

When I organise my home loan, all corespondance was via email. I think I am onto something.

Leroy
FollowupID: 440497

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 21:26

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 21:26
I must agree with crap nissan service (or lack thereof) but am surprised to hear it coming from Parry's in Townsville. I have been to most dealerships on the east coast for one problem in particular and Parry's was one of only two who I would consider going back to for anything else on my Nissan.

Problem with trying to avoid buying another Nissan for me is what do I replace it with.... Have tried most of the others without success :-((( now have the Nissan doing what it is supposed to do and handling things OK (compared to other makes).

If you have decided that the Navara is to be your next vehicle and no other manufacturers tickle your fancy then maybe worth ringing a few of the "smaller country dealers" to see if they want your money over the phone. After all it will be the same car whether you buy by phone or in person. Satisfaction may come from giving the big dealers a wide berth and putting some money into a smaller community????

Decisions decisions......

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 183676

Reply By: warrioroz - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 21:38

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 21:38
I have just picked up my new ST-X diesel manual a few weeks ago, although i had to wait nearly 3 months for it.
Might as well give the dealer a plug as i found them very good, Gary Crick in Nambour on the Sunshine Coast.
They had no ST-X in stock to test drive but have a new one that is being prepared for delivery that i can show you and go over the features, then if you like you can drive the base models we have in stock, which was a diesel manual and a petrol auto, then he got me to take the pathfinder diesel auto and petrol manual to compare the different engine/transmission arrangements. Ended up going with what i wanted in the first place but was good to test drive them all. They did the deal i wanted and knew there was a few months wait which didnt bother me.
I am very impressed with it so far, i have not done much towing with it yet but it has plenty more power and torque than my 3ltr STR i traded in on it, and the six speed box is a dream, ( was not very impressed with the auto in the diesel).

AnswerID: 183678

Reply By: andymitch - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 21:45

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 21:45
Have to say that DC Motors in Rockhampton are very helpfull especially Bob Jamieson.
AnswerID: 183679

Follow Up By: snow - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:54

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:54
Geez Andy I'm glad you have had a better experience with DC than I have...although I do concede my experience has been with service rather than sales...
FollowupID: 440387

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 22:23

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 22:23
Yep my friends had the same problem here in Sydney, went to a few dealer ships here and were treated like a piece of dirt, when they were looking and deciding between the navara and pathfinder they were approached by a sales person, my mate said we are trying to decide which one to get and just looking and sitting in each one to decide the saleman said to them you know where you will find them and can look at all day my mate said where, (not realising they were taking a shot a him) and he pointed to the westfields car park accross the road needless to say my mate was going to punch his lights out and said a few things to him that I cant repeat on here and ended buying one from a dealership in melbourne and had it transported up here to sydney. But if it was me I would be writing a letter to the manager of nissan and informing them of your treatment, I wouldnt let a few dealerships spoil what you really want, then again with what Ive read on here in regards to there service in regards to warranty's and general services maybe you might be better going another brand eg Toyota. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 183690

Reply By: Member - Banjo (WA) - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 23:00

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 23:00
Toyota (Perth metro) wern't much better last time I tried to get a new Troopy.

Went into the dealer and made enquiries etc and the 'salesman' only wanted to know how much trade in I wanted. Many times I said I have no idea, just give me a change-over figure.

"No, no, no - you must have some idea what you want"

Ok I say, around $30,000. (It was probably worth $20,000)

'Salesman says we'll get back to you with a price".

3 days later, nothing!

I ring and he tells me it wasn't worth giving a change-over price, because "you want too much for your current vehicle"'.

Huh?

So I ring back and speak to the Sales Manager who totally agreed with his employee and wouldn't take it any further.

On to the next dealer and a helpful young bloke. They did a test drive etc, etc and would get back to me with a price.

2 days later rang to find out where it was to be told the salesman had gone and there were no details of my request.

So, kept the current car. I saved a packet and Toyota lost a sale.

AnswerID: 183693

Reply By: extfilm - Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 23:56

Saturday, Jul 15, 2006 at 23:56
I have to agree...... Nissan sales are shocking..... Took me 4 months before i could find a dealer to even get me a quote..... and then with persistance it took another 6 weeks. I picked up a d22 and wanted boxes underneath. So part of the problem there was the tray company.
One dealer in Parramatta told me to walk out of the shop if I wasn't prepared to sign the paperwork there and then.
If their after sales is the same I will go back to hilux in 12mths.
I am not very happy with the service..... Spot light cracked within a week of having the car with no stonechips in it...... The dealer said bad luck it was ok when u left the yard........
AnswerID: 183697

Reply By: Cannon - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 00:15

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 00:15
I must admit, I can't believe the attitude of car dealers as reported by people on this forum.
Either they must, as suggested, be confident in their overall sales figures that they don't need any aditional sales, or they must be absolute dimwits.
In light of fuel prices, the ant-4wd brigade, and the overall economy, you would imagine they would be sucking up everyone's a$$ to get sales.
I've decided in the current climate to stick with what I've got. My 4x4 is more than adequate. It does what I need it to. Its comfortable. Stuff going into more debt. Stuff crappy dealership service and their imbecile salespeople. Stuff depreciation! I'm going to rebel !!
AnswerID: 183700

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 05:53

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 05:53
Why is anyone really surprised? Just because they wear a suit and tie doesn't make them a professional. It just makes them look like one. Looks can and often are deceiving.

Anyone got any idea what the prerequisite qualification is to get a job in new car sales ???

There isn't one that I know of. That is one of the major reasons I reckon you get lousy service at many dealerships and used car lots. It's one of those jobs you get into when you can't do anything else.

It has a reputation (deserved or not) for attracting people who will tell you what ever they need to (truth or otherwise) to get your business.

The guys who own them have generally just climbed the greasy pole from the floor to the top, and they employ people just like themselves.

I've only ever had one really good experience at a dealership. That was in Melbourne when my local Holden dealer didn't take a special order request very seriously for a wagon I wanted. The guy in Melbourne was one I'd dealt with before and had been impressed by so I went back. He got a $50k sale. The local guy missed out. I won't name the dealership I went to as the guy I dealt with has moved on and my last call to them got the usual responses so they have now lost me too.

Car dealers and real estate agents. Buying houses and cars should be an exciting and pleasant experience given the effort we put into earning our money and for the fact that we seldom do either, but it rarely is.

AnswerID: 183706

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 08:40

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 08:40
Put Car salespeople, real estate salespeople and politicians all in the same category. You don't need any qualifications to do any of the above jobs. Just a lot of gaul. As far as ties are concerned, I don't trust anybody who wears one as they are only trying to impress people. Who wants to wear a tie in Australia? Only the vein
FollowupID: 440331

Reply By: dags666 - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 06:48

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 06:48
seagulls I call them fly in,sh*t everywhere and leave. found over the years going into a car yard I walk into the yard in work cloths (tradesman) they don’t wont to talk to you went back later in a suit and and they where all over me like a fat kid over a cup cake just shows how full of it they are. If I walk into a car yard and no one talks to me within 2 minutes they don’t won’t my business dags
AnswerID: 183707

Follow Up By: Marn - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:22

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:22
Had the same thing happen to me. Pulled up in my busted up sierra ute, spent 20 mins walking around the yard and no-one even bothered to come out and say hello. Ended up driving my v8 commodore ute to adelaide and trading it in there. (main north nissan) As soon as i started looking at a str, a bloke was all over me. Very pleasent person who got himself a sale. The local dealer in broken hill still wonders why people wont buy localy..........
FollowupID: 440381

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 06:57

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 06:57
GTM,Buy FOOOOOOOOORD Fseries you won't be toooooooo disapointed,Bob.
AnswerID: 183708

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 09:24

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 09:24
Seems I may have touched something of a raw nerve here. Ouch!!!
I am heartend that I'm not the only one, (I was starting to think it was ME)

I'm also disappointed that this is the norm rather than the exeption.
I have also spent most of the last 30 years in sales and sales management, and have always tought my sales people to treat every customer like gold because you don't know when you'll get the next one.

All this has me wondering (I'm just thinking this through so don't jump on me)
if with a readership of lots and a collective buying power of lots more, there is not a way to leverage ozexplorer membership to get a better deal (service and price) from one or two dealers in each state. We're talking the main makes of interest here.

I appreciate there are all sorts of logistical and organizational problem to overcome. BUT it seems we are collectively pretty unhappy about what we're getting.

It's the old story. If you're not prepared to do someting about it, you'd better shut up and put up with it.

What does everyone think? Has this been raised before?
Will the old enemy, apathy, sink this idea?

AnswerID: 183723

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 22:10

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 22:10
Chris,

You have hit a raw nerve have'nt you?

Is a good idea about banding together to do "bulk purchases" of a particular make. Logistically would be a nightmare but would not hurt to put up a post when ready to buy said vehicle and see if anybody else in the same position of purchase wants to talk numbers to a dealer or two.

Good luck.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 440462

Reply By: kesh - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 09:32

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 09:32
Its interesting that for the past few weeks Nissan have done very little vehicle advertising in the Sat. Sydney Morning Herald, in fact this weekend nothing at all.
With all the other usual suspects offering their special winter 4wd deals either Nissan has it by the throat or is slipping out sideways.
Another forum has a raft of complaint issues with the ST-X and the GU 3.0 Patrol engine disaster must have cost them heaps.
kesh
AnswerID: 183726

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 09:38

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 09:38
Are you saying there are issues with the ST-X and the 2.5l?
FollowupID: 440336

Reply By: revhead307 - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 14:08

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 14:08
Having never bought a new car, I've never had a problem lol.

But yes, it is amazing when people in 'customer service' positions have no customer service skills..

You would think they werent in the business of selling cars.

Rev
AnswerID: 183755

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 19:27

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 19:27
I personally buy used vehicles and except for one occasion buy them privately.
The one occasion i bought from a dealer i got a roar deal. Rego didn't roll up when due. Contacted the dept of transport and they said the car was unregistered. I phoned the licenced dealer and said what is the deal? 2 hours later they picked the car up and registered it. The dept of transport also said vehicle was stolen and recovered and was found in salt water on the gold coast. I was driving around for 3 months in an unregistered car thanks to the shyster dealer. Bad experience. Nowdays i buy privately and quiz the owner about how long he has owned it etc.

AnswerID: 183815

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:01

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:01
you can give me a call tomorrow if you like , amd ill hook ou up witha Nissan dealer that will help you

0418364781 Eric
AnswerID: 183819

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:42

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:42
Good to see that this thread moved on from the initial post re NISSAN delaers. All dealers are no worse and no better than all the others, sure there is the odd good one but the rest are only after a sale.
Which brings us to the point of the original post - surely if you have done all the homework, costings test drive etc and decided on a vehicle - then thats the one for you. Why the hell would you change your mind cos the bleep s who tried to sell it you are just that?
Lets face it you will probably never see the salesman after you have paid, and only see the dealer 2 or 3 times a year. You are buying a car, not marrying the bloody dealer!!
Last point just to really stir it up - if you are buying a vehicle that everyone else wants and there is a 3 month waiting list, how the hell do you expect dealers to be sat on demo models in all makes and varaitions just in case you decide to want a test drive.
have alook at the vehicles that dealers have heaps of choic over - they are all the crap ones that no-one wants. Learn a bit about supply and demmand and running a business people!!!
AnswerID: 183826

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:20

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:20
" Learn a bit about supply and demmand and running a business people!!! "

Yeah, I've learnt a bit about running my own business and that is YOU CAN'T SELL WHAT YOU DON"T HAVE. Much easier if your customers can feel touch and smell the product their hard earned is going on.

A reputable way of doing business need not apply if you don't give a S**t whether you are in the job in 5 yrs or not but if you are in business for the long haul then you will need to lift your game. (Not directed at you personally)

A long time ago Lindsay Fox walked into an International dealership in Sydney with the bum hanging out of his tracky daks asking info on a new Inter. Salesman didn't give him the time of day but I am sure he kicked himself when the Kenworth dealer rang him and said thanks for sending business his way as Lindsay had just ordered 10 Kenworths. Moral: your breakfast comes from those that look like they can't afford weet-bix for themselves.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 440451

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:39

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:39
'YOU CAN'T SELL WHAT YOU DON'T HAVE'!!!!! - what absolute bull bleep ! Go and try and see if you can touch or feel a Porsche or a Bently or a Jag - or in this forums area a Cayenne.
Its the simple law of supply and demand - where demand exceeds supply normal levels of service will not apply. This happens the world over and right or wrong we have to accept that and act accordingly.
Point I am trying to make is don't expect everything to be laid out on a bed of roses for you. Dealers of in demand models know they don't need to bend over backwards for your business as there will always be another punter along soon. So accept it, stop wingeing about service, and strike the best deal you can cos they have you by the short and curlies in cases like this!!
FollowupID: 440454

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:54

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:54
Andrew,

It can also be said, where normal levels of service do not apply, supply will shortly exceed demand.
As I said, no probs if you only want 5 mins of business.

Not whinging either. Have bought a few newies in my short time frame on this planet but not from smart allicks that wouldn't give me the time of day.
FollowupID: 440458

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 22:14

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 22:14
Hey Andrew,
Any chance of putting up what sort of bussiness you own or what it is you sell and where it is so that I can save myself some time and cross you off my list right now in case I ever want one.

Pezza
FollowupID: 440463

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 07:35

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 07:35

Your's must be among the most ill informed posts on this forum.

I wasn't thinking of marrying the dealer, I'm strictly heterosexual, and proud of it.

The key to my post lies in the third word of the title "attitude".
My experience and by the sound of it that of most others is that "the attitude in the showroom mirrors the aptitude in the service department"

As to supply and demand, looks like the sum total of your knowledge on this can fit on the back of a postage stamp. I go along with Pezza let us know what business you're in so we can stay away.

Any first year economics student will tell you that this years wordbeater in short supply is next years eggbeater on special. It's often called the leapfrog effect.

The Nissan dealer in Cairns even admitted as much when he said "it's great to finally have a vehicle to complete with Hilux and Rodeo"

Finally, Trevor, I like the story about Lindsay Fox.I can just imagine waht he told the International dealer
FollowupID: 440480

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:23

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:23
On Thursday I was looking at a used 100 series TD auto and when I asked the salesman what was his best price for cash and no trade, I was told they will not enter into negotiations on price unless I put down a $1000 deposit to show I was serious, then I would have to make an offer which he would then take to his manager.

Told him politely where to shove it.
AnswerID: 183837

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:38

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 21:38
GTM [fnq] my advice to you is to get yourself a broker. He will get the best price, can organise the finance if you wish, and a good one will also organise extra's [tray, tinting, accesories] into the deal.

Muzz
AnswerID: 183841

Reply By: 95ToyoLandcruiser - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 09:49

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 09:49
Go and call Simon Morrisey from www.carsearchbrokers.com.au on 1300650890
We bought a brand New Ford Focus through him for $5000 less then the dealer in Townsville, when we told the dealer he still couldn't come less then $1500 from the Delivered price we got from Simon. (I will just add we did have a trade in so maybe he had a better price for it) Thevehicle was sourced from Brisbane and moved to Townsville for $500 (I think) It was delivered to our Residential address and the trade in was picked up that day too.
All in all a very good experience.
Tell Simon Anita Rose sent you (my wife arranged it all while I was away).

AnswerID: 183869

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 15:38

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 15:38
Thanks Richard I'll do that
FollowupID: 440553

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 10:44

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 10:44
>> All I can assume is that Nissan is the worlds most succesful car manufacturer and so can afford to treat its potential customers like dirt

What would you like them to do, hang up on customer on the phone? What would the customer on the phone then do? How does the moronic chick know how long they will be on the phone for..?

They cannot supply one, would you like them to pull one out of their arse?

AnswerID: 183874

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 18:15

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 18:15
I buy lots of vehicles from dealers for family and friends, and I don't mind salesmen. They are just trying to make a living like the rest of us.

Just tell them what they want to hear - that you're paying cash, have no trade and will buy today. Then they sit up and take notice. I appeciate the problem with trying to get a test drive from a small dealer - theres way too many models out there.

AnswerID: 183952