Sunrise Channel 7

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 09:19
ThreadID: 35869 Views:4483 Replies:15 FollowUps:19
It is about to happen again people this morning on 7 the great debate 'should 4x4's be banned rfrom city/suburban street's.When do they ever get it???

Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:16

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:16
I wander what she would say if you show her your Zuk and said this is one of those 4WDs you reckon is dangerous. Our my MU some people dont have any idea.
Cheers Bruce.
AnswerID: 183728

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:22

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:22
Just had a though new Commodore VE will be unveiled this morning (www.ninwmsn.video.msn.com) at 10.30am. Anyway my point is we talk about fuel efficient vehicles the new dunny door you get a V6 or V8 6 litre petrol engines, so what would that lady say about that.
Cheers Bruce.
FollowupID: 440344

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:11

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:11
Sunday Mail give me the bum steer should just be www.ninemsn.com.au
FollowupID: 440359

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 12:44

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 12:44
And they got rid of the 5.7 because they needed a new engine to combat Ford’s 5.4 V8 and the Gen 3 couldn’t meet emission laws if they upped the power, so I have heard.

V6 or V8 6 litre petrol engines, so what would that lady say about that> F**kall as she wouldn’t know what she was talking about, the same as she doesn’t know what she is talking about with 4WD’s.

We all have a right to drive what we like and if Joe what’s to go out and by a 6Litre commodore SS wile that’s his business, if he can afford to buy it and run it who gives a chit, I sure the hell don’t. Just like we choose to go and buy a 4WD because it’s the car we what to drive for what ever reason that may be.

So who dose this Bitch think she is coming out and telling us that one type of car is acceptable for the city and suburbs and the other is not, well that’s just discrimination. The same as every other pin head like her who just need’s too come out and make it there little mission to spread Bull bleep and make this country a slightly less enjoyably place to live.

FollowupID: 440379

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:29

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:29
if they keep throwing enough bleep , it will stick
AnswerID: 183732

Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:31

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:31
Morning Bob,

Seen it as well. The woman on there really doesn't like 4wd's does she. Pity she will never see parts of the country that some of you guy's see(lucky buggers). I was going to email 7 this morning regarding her comments, but unfortunately my fingers can't type that quick, and she has the right to have an opinion, albeit one that is severely lacking in research and foundation. I feel sorry for these people, because it must feel horrible trying to breathe with their head buried sooooo deep in the sand.;))) (I wonder if she is the second member of s sss ssccru.... {I can't get the word out hahaha} you know that little group that doesn't like us either.

If they want to ban 4wd's from the city, that's fine but don't come to my place unless you are in a 4wd LOL

Wonder who else seen the show??

AnswerID: 183734

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:25

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:25
G'day Greg , i think their heads so far up where the' sunrise' no more.I don't think it is their fault they are only reading what the small minded Director's or management give them to read. Happy 4x4ing.
FollowupID: 440365

Follow Up By: 1arm - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:30

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:30
The woman didnt have much idea did she.
However it was good to see the other panelist have a go at her over her attitude.
Evan
FollowupID: 440367

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:34

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:34
Bruce my were along those that you mentioned as well,i can understand them wanting to ban the other 4x4's sa they are much higher than pantec's ,Semi's', tilt tray's , & so on but as i said in a response last week if all drove the same 4x4 there would be no problem as no one would see past or over the other.They have no idea on the fuel efficiency of the vehicles they are talking about.They get on a particular horses back & they flog it to death till some other story is more important.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 183736

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:40

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 10:40
Just another little P.I.t.A group who seem get heard , like the Daylight saving mob in Qld who come out of the woodwork every year , Anti Smoking mob who gain a little ground each year ,[ I don't smoke]and of course we have anti Bull-bar campaign, well my solution to Anti 4X4ers is that they be banned from having a holiday outside a 200klm radius of thier City unless they have a 4X4 fitted with a bull bar

AnswerID: 183738

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:28

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:28
The trouble with these like minded people they fly to there holiday destinations then stay put for entire time or hire a 4by when they get so they don't get identified.
FollowupID: 440366

Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:19

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 11:19
The commercial TV channels are woeful. You would think that if the Howard government is propping the cartel of commercial stations and it is, then the government would put some pressure on to improve programming.

But no, all the federal govt does is knobble the only alternative, the ABC.

The commercial channels make news. Isn't that sad!

We should be shooting emails off to federal members to complain about the rubbish that is commercial TV and its dumbing out of the Oz population. Did I mention cheap 3rd rate American shows too!
AnswerID: 183741

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 12:39

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 12:39
Last week they were aproved to have more extra channels & they can play what they like more of the same crap.
FollowupID: 440377

Reply By: Frank_Troopy - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 12:42

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 12:42
I didn't see the show. Could someone post what they said about 4WDs.

Cheers Frank.
AnswerID: 183753

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:01

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:01
Nether did I, but it would have been something like this

4WD are bad, because they are just ummm. Bad, they are evil killing machines.

Then they would of pulled out some fact’s that have been twisted and rearranged to support there argument, so in fact they are no longer facts but just bull bleep .

Dribbled bleep for a bit longer, and perhaps a few happy snaps of mum dropping little princess off at school in a shiny new 100 series 1 block from where they live X that by 50 (Side note# and you wonder why kids today are so unfit)

Maybe even bring up the rear visibility argument (I am guessing they have never driven a Holden or Ford Ute).

And that’s it, every body hates 4WD for another month Ch7 has successfully broadcast some more pointless crap.

Then they would of moved on and talked to some “Expert” about fuel prices just to keep the fear campaign going, and then over to the news desk for 30 seconds of actual real news (well as close to it as you will get).
FollowupID: 440380

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:30

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 13:30
Unfortunately or fortunate i did not see it either,i heard it was coming up so i went & did something else it took more time to do so i missed it .I put the post up expecting to see it & to alert those who were quick enough to look at what the ywere going on aboutBob.
FollowupID: 440384

Follow Up By: 1arm - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 17:45

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 17:45
Due to time zone differences I was given advanced warning thanks to the forum so I had the show on in the background.
Basically one of their guest panellists lumped all 4wd owners and drivers in one bag and said none of them could drive, called them SUV's , blamed them for all manner of accidents and carnage on the road.
The other guest panellist then had a go at her saying what about those people who undertake driving courses,use them for camping ,offroading etc .Well she didnt like that and refused to accept anything that was said and kept replying about fuel guzzing machines and the like. Much like that other idiot.
Probably more to it than that but thats the gist of it.
Evan
FollowupID: 440413

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:22

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:22
Thank's for the update Evan,they have obviously all got Tunnel Vision & narrow mindedness. Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 440419

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 11:24

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 11:24
>>> Basically one of their guest panellists lumped all 4wd owners and drivers in one bag and said none of them could drive

anyone wanna guess who this was?
FollowupID: 440511

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 15:44

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 15:44
funny though that apparently a show a while back (never saw the show but saw an add about it) they had one of the crew broadcasting live from the sydney or melbourne 4x4 show!
and last thursday night Spoonman (talk show guy who is on for all us night workers) jumped on his bandwagon and had people ringing in about 4wd's.
Some callers defending us, some saying well I can't see in front of you because the vehicle is too big rah rah rah.... well what about the diesel smokin stinkin unroadworthy dodgy vans? minivans, taragos etc etc, when there is one of them in front of you you can't see either but no one tries to get them off the road. Just going on with crap. I was talking to Pezza on the phone (he's night shift to) when the show was on and if it wasn't for the simple fact that they like to pic topics to so annoy the crap out of people that he gets them to ring in, hence increases their ratings then we would have rung and had our say... but by ringing in that has just given him exactly what he wanted, people irate with his comments and sent his ratings up higher.
They want to take cars off the road, take away the cars that the 'invincible generation' think they can handle. there are more accidents involving 'normal' cars then what there are 4wds.

Jo
AnswerID: 183761

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 16:22

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 16:22
No offence to diesel drivers intended! You know which cars/vans I am talking about, the ones where you can't see in front of you from the smoke pouring out of their exhaust!
FollowupID: 440403

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:26

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:26
Hi there Mark & Jo, I know where your coming from in regards to not replying to there comments as yes they love it as it boosts there ratings up, problem also is if we dont then every bleep out there that has no idea will believe every thing they say, so we need to fight back or otherwise eventually they will win with there bull bleep and we will have no tracks left or we will be required to take our bull bars on and off every time we head into the city and back out again, sounds crazy but thats what will eventually happen the way its going, but they do forget who does get involved with clean up australia day and all the 4bys who drag out cars from creeks and stuff like that with there bull bars with winches attached, my commodore uses more fuel than my hilux same as a V8 commodore will use more fuel than a diesel patrol/landcruiser, there all a buch of wankers and have no idea. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 440420

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 03:38

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 03:38
The way to reduce petrol/diesel consumption is to have a cheap and viable public transport system. That would ease traffic and stop people being irrational about these things.

And yes commercial stations are crap, the only exceptions are when channel 9 has the cricket, and when the footy's on.
FollowupID: 440477

Reply By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 16:13

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 16:13
We were in Mildura this morning and just happened to be watching Sunrise. Luckily we don't get it here. The woman was reading out e-mails and one she read was from some woman who said "We have a friend who has a 4WD and all she uses it for is to drive down to the shops and kills 7 kids on the way" Reading out such stupid crap gives our cause some assistance as any pea brain would see that the comment was just plain stupid and she is equally as stupid for reading it out. All she achieved was to loose credibility.
AnswerID: 183768

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:26

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 18:26
Got into trouble with SWMBO over that silly cow on sunrise, had only been up for 1/2 hr or so when she started dribbling that crap while I was sitting at the table enjoying a cuppa, don't need any more of that b/s first thing in the mornig and lost the plot and went off my tree at her ( the narrow minded excuse for a female on telly that is, not SWMBO ) Figured she could give me a chance to prove the "killing machine" thing if she ever walked out in front of me, have to be fair, she stopped short calling them a " killing machine".
Missus was saying that at least the rest of the panel gave a differing view, a couple did manage to get a couple of words in edgeways in between her rantings, but my point was that they let her rantings continue and put them to air, the problem I have with this is exactly what Truckster said.
I know that I said to Jo the other night that I don't let these 'ratings hounds' get to me, purely because I think there a just too many of us 4x4 users out there for our 'brainwashing-do-anything-to-get-a-vote' G'ment to take the risk and do anything about it. She was just one too many at the wrong time of day is all.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 183796

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 19:38

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 19:38
It was funny with you perry on the phon the other night when we were talking about it ( can tell you are a truckie!!!) would have loved to have been a fly on he wall at your house that morning!!!!!!!

Jo
FollowupID: 440438

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 19:39

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 19:39
Perry i am glad you are feeling sooooooooooooo much better for it now(losing the plot) that is. They certainly are full of crap.
Cheer's bob.
FollowupID: 440439

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:06

Sunday, Jul 16, 2006 at 20:06
While the current rod rules allow you to tow a 20 foot Caravan with NO ADDITIONAL TESTING beyond a normal driver's licence, I wouldn't worry about controls on vehicle ownership.

Of course to show the stupidity of this anti-4WD movement, we could have a counter-proposal.

a. Anyone can own a Mini-Minor.
b. You can only own a Commodore-Falcon if you have at least 3 kids.
c. You can only own a 7-seater if you have more than three kids.
d. You can only own a van if you need it for business purposes.
e. You can only a performance car if you earn money from in races etc.

??????????

AnswerID: 183820

Reply By: Barnesy - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 03:24

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 03:24
They won't be able to ban 4wds from cities. I admit the 'shopping trolley' range rover drivers can be a pest but those people dont exploroz and use this site do they?

I think the question in the years to come for city dwellers will be 'do you own a car?' rather than 'do you own a 4wd?'.

These people should focus their efforts on getting the public transport systems cheap and widely expanded. That's the way to reduce oil consumption and ease traffic rather than getting 4wds off the roads.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 183854

Reply By: Shawsie (Bris) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 09:54

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 09:54
Here's my bob's worth...... I stopped at a major servo on the highway in nsw yesterday and out of the 6 cars at the servo filling up, 4 of them were 4x4s. If they're that bad for us, then stop selling em to us ;o)
AnswerID: 183870

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 10:51

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 10:51
semi - related gripe with the tv, 2 weeks ago 48 minutes of bull bleep (+12 min commercials)(plagerised from Austentatious) painted the mining industry in WA as a vandalising menace, this week they were the greatest industry in the country that we all owe our tax breaks to. Waiting for a positive story on 4x4's next.......still waiting.........still wa.....
AnswerID: 183875

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 11:01

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 11:01
Look up the Government's Greenguide website - a Pajero Diesel uses LESS fuel than a Commodore !

FollowupID: 440505

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 11:52

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 11:52
Mike, the TV stations' secret service will hunt you down adn kill you for bringing this to peoples attention - imagine if the got to mainstream tele?

LMAO In my wettest dream
FollowupID: 440513

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 11:01

Monday, Jul 17, 2006 at 11:01
I wonder what Karl Kruszelnicki, a regular of theirs, has to say to Melissa Doyle? He's a 4WD unthusiast like the rest of us, and he has to work there. Poor bugga!
AnswerID: 183877