City kids and the bush
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 15:59
I live on the edge of suburbia and my house backs on to a large (about 15H I think) bush reserve. The reserve is, essentially, untended bush – the council keep the firebreak clear and I think they spray weeds every six months or so otherwise Mother Nature cares for the reserve.
This morning (a beautiful cool but sunny day) I went for a walk around the reserve and it occurred to me that, in my 6 years here, I had never really seen children playing in the reserve, once or twice maybe? This pondering took me back to my own childhood and that of my children (now mid 20s) and I recalled the sorts of things we got up to when we had the opportunity to access similar land – let alone have it outside our back doors permanently. We would have made secret dens deep in the bush, had
camp fires and cooked potatoes and sausages, made bows and arrows, had secret signs and calls, strung ropes through the trees, made assault courses and goodness knows what else :)
Where have all the children gone? Are they watching TV or playing computer games? Or are their parents scared they’ll be injured or abducted or sued or something…? Such a beautiful country, such a wonderful amenity – has this generation of children forgotten the bush? Will they be city kids only?
PS. I startled a fox as he walked through the reserve at noon in
bright sunlight – these urban foxes are becoming a little too brash.
mike_harding@fastmail.fm
Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 16:02
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 16:02
Unfortunately .... Yes to all of the above.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 16:24
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 16:24
Yep, agree with Shaker - all of the above.
Never happier as a kid than when out in the "bush", such as it was, and raiding the local orchards etc. Definitely know how foxes feel when chased by someone with a shottie hahahahahahaha ouch
Reply By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 16:49
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 16:49
I grew up just outside town on 5 acres (lifestyle block), complete with fruit trees, a a horse and milking goats (laugh about the goats if you will :-)
used to make shanghai's (gings), bows and arrows, spears. Used the air rifle from early primary school age to keep the parrots out of the orchard.
Old peppermint tree was the fav cubby house...and i'd sit up there for hours by myself playing, and shooting at birds with the shangai.
Bike riding and exploring with friends.
Bushwalks, beachwalks, fishing and daytrips were the weekend family mainstay.
No-one in my family had a 4x4 tho until I bought one at 17 (am now 26).
Sadly, these days 'most' city kids have less and less in common with their country counterparts.
Rev
Reply By: Alan H - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:06
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:06
Yes they're all indoors "playing" games on the computer. My grandson reckons going out in our little boat fishing is boring.
Don't know how he'd survive the way we did having to make our own fun with our bikes, bows and arrows, catapults and later air rifles and shot guns. I loved getting out in the woods in the UK and my dad showed me where the pheasents and other birds were nesting.
I got caught poaching once but bluffed it out and walked off from the gamekeeper and then ran like hell and he had no chance. He was like I am now....... getting too old and ugly and can't run anymore!
Thank goodness I had the chance to get out and about, no way could I have stayed indoors.
Kids don't even seem to get out for sports at school these days either, Mum writes a letter saying they can't do it for whatever reason.
Hopeless and must effect them later in life.
Alan.
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 21:51
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 21:51
Geez you were lucky he didn't catch you or you could have been transported out to Australia.
Some people would only wish for that.
Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:12
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:12
I dont let my kids go to the local
park or reserve because the play equipment is covered in spit, snot and is usually broken and the grass has too much broken glass in it.(
Alice Springs)
Although the parks are out of the equation doesnt mean they play video games all day, they are usually helping in the garden, helping fix the car, chopping wood, tieing knots or doing something constructive.
As often as time permits we head out bush and and the kids have a ball as long as they are covered in dirt. They usually have there own fire and
cook there own meals. Given a choice between going bush or going to the show they pick bush every time.
Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 00:34
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 00:34
I agree. My kids didn't like the grotty parks in
Alice Springs generally, so we got out of town as much as possible to go
camping - in fact I might have overdone it as they refused to go on the last trip LOL.
The funny thing is that they grizzle about being dragged away from the TV and computer, but always have a ball once we hit the bush.
PS I you think AS parks are grubby, come visit
Hermannsburg LOL.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 12:46
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 12:46
I can imagine!
Dont uaually call in there, go straight past if I can help it.
Do you know Andy? ( runs the solar stuff out there)
Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 00:09
Friday, Jul 21, 2006 at 00:09
Hi Hairy
I do now! After reading his post last week about the rain in
Hermannsburg, I put 2 and 2 together, came up with 5, and dropped in for a visit.
Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:19
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:19
I don't live in the bush or even near it... I do live near 2 parks and quite frankly, my childrens play time will be reserved for when we go away. Everytime we go to the
park, I have to go 30mins before them to pick up syringes and broken glass... I'm just sick of doing the councils job for them. We, as a community, have requested a light in the
park to deter kids during the night, request fell on deaf ears even though it was accompanied by pictures of syringes and broken bottles... They mow it once every 6 weeks or so and that's it. This doesn't mean they sit inside and and play computer games, they are just confined to our yard is all...
Reply By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:27
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:27
Its the way life is today Mike. Monday the kids do swimming Tuesday Dean has soccer training , Wednesday Natalie has Gym , Thursday Dean has Karate Natalie does Dancing , Friday Dean does chess club. Saturday Dean does Karate Natalie does dancing , Sunday is Soccer Match . In between they have to do homework.
Is this to much ? In my eyes , way to much , if I don't take them , there upset because they love there sports / activities .
If you didn't do
well at school in our days, we ended up with a trade etc. Today its a different ball game. I wish my kids could grow up the way we did , bu we didn't have to make sure marks were above standard , had to know how to use computers etc etc etc .
This is why I bought a 4by and use it with the kids as often as possible.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:34
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:34
RC,
You are a superdad !!!! Buggered if I know how you do it.
Mine had one sports training session per week and a game on the weekend. That was all I could handle.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:40
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 17:40
lol would love to chat more but about to have a quick dinner and take Dean to Soccer lol
1 sport , I wish lol They better pick the one the like most soon lol
Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:22
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:22
Rocky isn't the sport you,i & others on this
forum like/liked how we got them (kids) in the first place. If i could turn back time. Llots.Bob.
Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 22:09
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 22:09
I actually hope my kids do learn a trade, for two reasons;
1. Skills shortage means lots of jobs and very respectable pay.
2. Dont want them to be a uni wanker and sit in an office all day not really producing anything of any worth.
Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 05:53
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 05:53
Was that a joke Off-track? If not, was a very stupid comment.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 08:25
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 08:25
well off track , not as easy as you think bud. To learn a trade today , you need to have uni under you to get anywere. Forget the days you became a mechanic and drained oil. If you dont understand electronics and computers , you will get a job at the back street workshop for $400 a week.
If you want to be a skilled worker , it takes hard work at school to maby , make it .
Follow Up By: Skinny- Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 16:36
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 16:36
I grew up also in the country and feel that my kids are so busy with organised activites because the average home is on a tiny block of land in
Sydney and they would go mad at home and get abducted if let play on the street. Keep a balance with 4x4 but soon to move to the burbs to get larger land for my kids and a vegie garden.
Skinny
Follow Up By: Chucky - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:40
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:40
I can see offtracks point.
I did my trade first and then went to uni to further my trade skills. You can tell the people who were from the 'Real World' and those living off hand outs, both from mummy and daddy and from the government.
And I met many uni wankers, and I have met many wankers doing trades.
The differnece it the wankers who are doing a trade get sorted out quickly, while those at uni get encouraged.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:59
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 18:59
i had to laugh when I read your reply Chucky. Many years ago , I ran a workshop in Gleniris and was asked by a customer, if I could give her brother work experience. We agreed ( very good looking customer lol) , so the school principle came down to have a chat.
We warned us, that the fellow was a bit of a hard nut and a hand full. We still agreed to take him on ( very very good looking customer lol) .
Your right , it took 2 days to turn in from a herd nut to a cry baby. The smarter he got , the greezy jobs he got lol . A couple of backhanders didnt go astray also when he got smart.
2 weeks after he finished , the principle came down to have a chat. He wanted to know, what happened ? Apparantly , he went back to school and started to behave and study hard. 360 deg. turn around.
Its amazing what the old school treatment could do. But today with all these laws , due to afew who dont know were to draw the line , its non existent.
Thanks for bringing back some memories lol
Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 23:15
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 23:15
Stupid comment? Please elaborate as to why Moggs. Uni degree to have a
well paying and decent skilled trade, definately not a requirement. If you meant Yr12 then this would be closer.
Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:33
Thursday, Jul 20, 2006 at 08:33
Not concerned by the Uni bit - to me Uni is more about committment and learning to learn - not so much coming out fully skilled. It sorts the motivated people from those who "fall" into jobs.
IMO it is a stupid and niave comment to state that people who "sit in an office all day" are not "really producing anything of any worth". You do not need to produce an end product with a physical prescence to produce something of worth.
I work in corporate treasury and make a damn fine living off it - unfortunately I have many mates who reckon sitting in front of a couple of trading systems means I do nothing - just can't stand the "unless your hands are dirty and there is something made at the end of the day then you do nothing" thinking.
Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:20
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:20
The answer is obvious Mike. There is a great shortage of childhood coaches, you know, the equivalent of the adults life style coach.------------O.K, O.K I' taking the bleep , but you have to wonder about the state days society when we DON'T see kids running wild as my friends and I did.
Reply By: skichic - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:25
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:25
We also back onto council reserve, walk the dogs out there regularly, where they love to chase the kangaroos. The kids come with me, and my eldest (9) has occasionally walked the dogs on a leash out there, but he stays close to the houses. When I was their age we would have been out there all day, catching tadpoles in the
creek etc etc. Dunno. I encourage independance in my kids but also need to know where they are at all times. The occasions my eldest has ridden his bike alone, or walked the dogs, he takes his mobile with him so he can check in. Gone are the days when mum stood at the front door and yelled your name for dinner. I guess we are less of a community now, less mums at home, less people watching out for you. Nobody keeps an eye on my kids except me. When we were kids, all the neighbourhood mums would be watching out for you.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:36
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 18:36
Good point.
Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 19:33
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 19:33
That's a main point. Two working parents, both come home and are too tired to supervise kids they say 'go and watch the tv and give me some time'. Only
places where they can be supervised and safe is organised activities.
They spend so much time watching tv etc they don't want to do anything else. Also fewer other kids from neighbouring houses as they are in organised activities not hanging around the house looking for other kids to play with. Things change, not always for the best but the children will survive. No wonder many
young families move from the city to the country.
Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 19:42
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 19:42
I've come across a few dairy farm kids locally that are that way, even though they live on a farm! Most however are right into the outdoors, but this IS the bush.
Apparently urban foxes live under houses and right in the central parts of capital cities. They are just about as adaptable as the cats and rats.
Reply By: Joombi - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 21:39
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 21:39
Mike, I must thank you for taking me back to my own childhood when there was nothing we couldn't do with a bit of rope, a tomahawk & a daisy airgun.
get home from school & didnt see mum & dad till tea time & on weekends gone on my pushy before they got up & home at dark with my old red dog
it was the biggest shock of my life when I got to highschool & had to wear bloody shoes.
kids today miss out big time....
Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 21:43
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 21:43
If a boy appeared within sight of habitation on a bike with a ging or a Daisy air rifle the local "30 something" year old women would panic to the phones and shortly thereafter a bus load of riot police would appear.
Australia has changed - the sad fact is that the education system has been feminised, the 'PC' police have declared all that is boyish about boys to be dangerous and dirty and we have all been party to it.
People say it is the kids who sit in front of the computer but in truth it is so often the fathers who are hooked to the Net and filling in their time. Most have no time for their boys (or girls).
As a parent I was chairman of two scouting groups over recent years and I can tell you that there are many boys and girls who want outdoor adventure (basic
camping, canoeing, hiking and good campfires) and are keen to go bush but many (not some!) parents would not even bother to give their kid a lift to scouts let alone take the child bush themselves.
Probably the men and women who frequent this site get out and about, but Australians are mainly city folk who are afraid of the bush and are wedded to the TV, the internet and cafe latte.
Reply By: atoyot - Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 21:45
Tuesday, Jul 18, 2006 at 21:45
We have 5 acres of mainly bush, with a dam, a
creek, a little waterfall (under the roots of a big old gum) and our 2 kids (now 8 and 11) love disappearing down the back and making up their own adventures, finding secret
places etc. We travelled around Aust. when the kids were 4 and 7, and we can honestly say that they were never bored with anything we did or anywhere we went. They're the sorts of kids that have more fun playing with the box the new fridge came in for months than playing an Xbox or whatever. We don't have and never will have a DVD in the car; what else are the rear windows for? Our kids have travelled since thay were born and have been taught to appreciate the things in life that matter, and they can make their own entertainment out of nothing, just like we did as kids.
When I was a kid, I lived on the edge of suburbia with a big patch of bush, with rainforest, old mines,
ruins etc to explore and we had to make our own entertainment as
well. I have a theory that these days, it's too easy to be entertained by electronic gadgets and there isn't the inventiveness that we had to develop as kids. That's why I refuse to have a DVD in the car. Trouble is, when we're busy it's just too convenient to stick them in front of the puter, TV or XBox and get some peace and quiet. But then again, the
population is largely urban these days and kids just don't have the access to the bush like we did. I spose thats a part of the lifestyle that we've chosen by living away from the big smoke, and I hope the kids will appreciate it in years to come....
Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 03:17
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 03:17
Wow, great post Mike and some very interesting replies.Times certainly have changed and not knowing where your kids are while there are so many freaks out there is a real worry. I grew up in
Sydney but was always outdoors at
the beach, in the
park or
camping with the family.
I am glad that Jen and I moved to the Nth Coast before the kids came along; smaller communities still retain more of a community feel than the big smoke. Although only renting, we are fortunate enough to live on 200 acres of bush with great
views, rainforest, river, causeway and bridge, and loads of wildlife. I spend loads of time playing with Cooper (4yo) doing stuff like throwing twigs into the river then trying to bomb them with rocks and he loves it. He loves bushwalking and alot of it is making our own tracks although I sometimes forget he's only 4 and have to carry him half the way home! I'm pretty happy to have a
young boy that can identify half the birds he sees and so far doesn't know what McDonalds is.
Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 07:58
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 07:58
Hi Mike,
It does seem the way of the world now, doesn’t make it right though, I grew up in suburbia but we still managed to get into mischief somewhere, we’d leave the house in the morning and be back for lunch and then go off again. There was vacant land at the end of the street and we’d go down there, one boy lost his clothes and we had to go back and find them [we were all about 8 at the time and it was the age of innocence..haha…and a long time ago, imagine if that happened today! .] we used to go tadpoleing in the Merri Creek, do kids still do that? Probably not enough frogs around. My kids luckily live on a couple of acres, and get up to mischief with the dog, making mud pies and the like, even on these cold days, my son has wanted to rug up and go out and run around for a bit with LJ excitedly telling me about the wood ducks that had landed down the back, but as I said, they’re lucky to live on acreage and in a small quiet town, not sure how I’d feel about them disappearing if I lived in suburbia now. It’s sad really.
Lyn
Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:06
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 09:06
ahhh those were the days!!!
Reply By: Michael B - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:02
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 11:02
Mike,
Can but echo your sentiments, and those others above.
What do you see the next generation doing? Maybe, just maybe we will go the full circle and the children of tomorrow will again be able to enjoy, what I would term, the simpler things in life.
Reading your post, and the others, one memory of years ago stood out and that was getting a clip under the ear from our local Mr Plod. I was committing the deadly sin of giving a mate a lift on the crossbar of my bike, and Mr Plod snuck up behing me on his deadly treadly.......lol
Didn't tell mum either 'cos I would have got another one.
Those indeed were good times. (not the thick ear tho')
Michael B (SA)
Reply By: Jodi - Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:22
Wednesday, Jul 19, 2006 at 13:22
Mike, I compeletly agree with you. Being mid (now late) 20's myself, I have fond memories of spending days in the backyard with the sprinkler and when weather didn't permit coming up with all kinds of games with friends (one of our favourites was covering the billard table with every sheet we could find to make a cubby house). We did not live on a large block (although by today's standards it was huge) and we made the best fun. Our parents used to let the grass grow longish then mow a bike track into it. We used to put our 3man tents up in the backyard over summer holidays and at the end they were taken down to reveal a nice little square yello/brown patch of grass. And the camping trips - they were the best. The opportunity to run around dirty ALL the time with mum happy to know she could just wash us off at the end of the day and send us to bed in time for her to relax near the fire.
I see friends' kids now and have the same sentiments as you. With one exception, we now live on 3 acres mostly bush and the neighbours have 3 kids from 13yrs down. I recently saw them out running all day playing games with the walkietalkies we got them for Christmas and they were having a ball. It made me very sentimental. I thought for a moment, Geez they don't know how lucky they are - but you know what, they shouldn't have to know. That is one of the great joys I think; to look back with those fond memories. Yes the kids next door are very lucky and I only wish more kids that age now could grow up with the memories of a care free childhood spent doing stuff that will make them healthy adults!
Now we are happy to invite as many friends along camping with us as will come and enjoy the sounds of their kids doing stuff their friends at school will never believe.